DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 08/13/2024, 01/29/2025, 05/06/2025 and 09/15/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12094007. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12094007. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the patent teaches all the limitations of the claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12094007. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of the patent teaches all the limitations of the claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12094007. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 13 of the patent teaches all the limitations of the claim 14 of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11682082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11682082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the patent teaches all the limitations of the claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11682082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 13 of the patent teaches all the limitations of the claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11682082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 18 of the patent teaches all the limitations of the claim 14 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson; Randall M. et al. US 10354230 (hereinafter Hanson) in view of Zachary Christopher L. US 20180342036 (hereinafter Zachary).
As per claim 1, Hanson teaches: A computer-implemented method for interacting with a distributed ledger maintained by a plurality of participants, the method comprising:
receiving, via one or more processors, sensor data indicative of a vehicle accident from:
(i) a camera mounted about a vehicle involved in the vehicle accident, and (ii) a roadside camera (Hanson: “application 222 has determined that the mobile device 220 is in a vehicle 210 that was potentially involved in an accident. As discussed above in step 301, this determination may be performed solely by the mobile device 220 or in conjunction with the vehicle 210 and/or other external devices (e.g., V2V systems in other vehicles 210, roadside cameras and traffic servers 250, etc.).”col. 15, lines 42-49);
determining, via the one or more processors, that the vehicle accident has occurred based upon the received sensor data (Hanson: col. 15, lines 42-49);
Hanson does not teach;however,
generating, via the one or more processors, a transaction including an identifier for the vehicle involved in the vehicle accident (“the vehicle 100 having a blockchain data processor system 110 is shown in accordance with exemplary embodiments. The vehicle 100 includes a plurality of sensors 120, and a blockchain processor module 140 of the blockchain data processor system 110. The sensors sense observable conditions of the vehicle 100 and can include, but are not limited to, image sensors, LIDAR sensors, and radar sensors. Generally, each sensor of the plurality of sensors is specifically is coupled to the blockchain processor module 140 of the vehicle 100 and configured to sense external surroundings of the vehicle 100. The blockchain processor module 140 receives sensors signals generated by the sensors 120, processes the sensor signals to obtain sensor data, and sends block data to the blockchain exchange (not shown) for further processing” Zachary: para. 31); and
transmitting, via the one or more processors, the transaction including the identifier for the vehicle involved in the vehicle accident to at least one other participant via the distributed ledger (Zachary: para. 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hanson with the teachings of Zachary to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to share data among participants in a group wherein the block data of the blockchain once validated is substantially unalterable.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Hanson teaches:
the sensor data is vehicle data indicative of speed, position, orientation, location, impact, or combinations thereof (“Some mobile devices may include movement sensors, such as an accelerometer, gyroscope, speedometer, and/or GPS receivers, capable of detecting movement.” Hanson: col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 2).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Hanson teaches:
analyzing a plurality of vehicle components to assess potential damage by:
collecting, via the one or more processors, accident data from the plurality of vehicle components (Hanson: col. 12, lines 41-56).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Hanson teaches:
generating a damages dataset based upon an analysis of a plurality of vehicle components, the analysis including:
determining, via the one or more processors, a component status for each member of the plurality of vehicle components (“In some cases, the mobile device 220 may receive the list of vehicle repairs 401c from an internal diagnostic system of the vehicle 210. As discussed above, the vehicle sensors 211 and other vehicle-based systems may collect the vehicle damage information after an accident and transmit the data to the user's mobile device 220.” Hanson: col. 20, lines 50-67).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Hanson teaches:
generating a damages dataset based upon an analysis of a plurality of vehicle components, wherein the damages dataset includes an insurance provider for the vehicle involved in the vehicle accident (Hanson: col. 21, lines 14-35).
As per claim 8, this claim defines a system that corresponds to method of claim 1 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 9, this claim defines a system that corresponds to method of claim 2 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 10, this claim defines a system that corresponds to method of claim 3 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 3.
As per claim 11, this claim defines a system that corresponds to method of claim 4 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 4. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 12, this claim defines a system that corresponds to method of claim 5 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 5.
As per claim 14, Hanson teaches: A computer system for interacting with a distributed ledger, the system
comprising:
a network interface configured to interface with one or more processors (Hanson: fig. 1, interface123);
a memory configured to store non-transitory computer executable instructions and configured to interface with the one or more processors (Hanson: fig. 1, memory 121); and
the one or more processors configured to interface with the memory (Hanson: fig. 1, processors 103), wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the non-transitory computer executable instructions to cause the one or more processors to:
receive sensor data indicative of a vehicle accident from: (i) a camera mounted
about a vehicle involved in the vehicle accident, and (ii) a roadside camera (“application 222 has determined that the mobile device 220 is in a vehicle 210 that was potentially involved in an accident. As discussed above in step 301, this determination may be performed solely by the mobile device 220 or in conjunction with the vehicle 210 and/or other external devices (e.g., V2V systems in other vehicles 210, roadside cameras and traffic servers 250, etc.).” Hanson: col. 15, lines 42-49);
determine that the vehicle accident has occurred based upon the received sensor data (Hanson: col. 15, lines 42-49);
Hanson does not teach;however, Zachary discloses: generate a transaction including an identifier for the vehicle involved in the vehicle accident (“the vehicle 100 having a blockchain data processor system 110 is shown in accordance with exemplary embodiments. The vehicle 100 includes a plurality of sensors 120, and a blockchain processor module 140 of the blockchain data processor system 110. The sensors sense observable conditions of the vehicle 100 and can include, but are not limited to, image sensors, LIDAR sensors, and radar sensors. Generally, each sensor of the plurality of sensors is specifically is coupled to the blockchain processor module 140 of the vehicle 100 and configured to sense external surroundings of the vehicle 100. The blockchain processor module 140 receives sensors signals generated by the sensors 120, processes the sensor signals to obtain sensor data, and sends block data to the blockchain exchange (not shown) for further processing” Zachary: para. 31);
and
transmit the transaction including the identifier for the vehicle involved in the vehicle accident to at least one other participant via the distributed ledger (Zachary: para. 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hanson with the teachings of Zachary to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to share data among participants in a group wherein the block data of the blockchain once validated is substantially unalterable.
As per claim 15, this claim defines a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to method of claim 4 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 4. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 16, this claim defines a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to method of claim 5 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 5.
As per claim 17, this claim defines a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to method of claim 2 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 18, this claim defines a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to method of claim 3 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 3.
Claims 6, 7, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson in view of Zachary and further in view of Nagla; Gaurav et al. US 20180018723 (hereinafter Nagla).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Hanson and Zachary does not teach; however, Nagla discloses: generating the transaction, further comprises:
augmenting, via the one or more processors, the transaction with identity data for the vehicle (Nagla: para. 6);
generating, via the one or more processors, a cryptographic signature based upon the transaction (Nagla: para. 6); and
augmenting, via the one or more processors, the transaction with the cryptographic signature (Nagla: para. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hanson and Zachary with the teachings of Nagla to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to share data among participants in a group wherein the block data of the blockchain once validated is substantially unalterable.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Hanson and Zachary does not teach; however, Nagla discloses: transmitting the
transaction to at least one other participant further comprises: transmitting, via the one or more processors, the transaction to a smart contract stored on the distributed ledger (Nagla: para. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hanson and Zachary with the teachings of Nagla to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to share data among participants to facilitate automatic execution of terms and conditions of a contract.
As per claim 13, this claim defines a system that corresponds to method of claim 6 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 6. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 6.
As per claim 19, this claim defines a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to method of claim 6 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 6. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 6.
As per claim 20, this claim defines a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to method of claim 7 and does not define beyond limitations of claim 7. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same rational as in the rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
/GHODRAT JAMSHIDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493