DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's response with amendments filed on 02/18/2026 has been received and entered. Applicant has amended claims 1, 11 and 15. Claims 1-20 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abbasian et al. (US 20210318888 A1), hereinafter Abbasian.
Regarding claim 1, Abbasian discloses a method, comprising: (Reference is made to Figs. 3 and 4, [0056-78].)
transmitting, by a client device of a first device user who is unauthenticated to a software application that is other than a video conference software, a request to access the software application within a client application at the client device (at block 402, an electronic device such as electronic device 110 receives a uniform resource locator (URL) associated with an application – see [0071]; at block 404, the electronic device determines that the application is not installed on the electronic device – see [0072]; at block 406, the electronic device determines, based on at least a first portion of the uniform resource locator, that at least a version of the application is available without user authentication – see [0073], emphasis added; at block 408, the electronic device may provide information associated with the uniform resource locator to one or more remote servers such as server 120; the information associated with the uniform resource locator may include an identifier of at least the version of the application (e.g., an identifier of the application and/or one or more identifiers of one or more reduced-functionality or transient versions of the application) – see [0074]; see also [0056-70]); and
accessing, by the client application, the software application in an instant apps mode based on the request, based on the first device user remaining unauthenticated to the software application, and independent of an invitation to access the software application from a second device user who is authenticated to the software application (at block 410, the electronic device may receive, from the one or more remote servers (e.g., from the same server that provided the information associated with the URL or from another server such as an application server) and responsive to the information, code for at least the version of the application; the code for the version of the application may be smaller than code for the full application – [0075]; at block 412, the electronic device may provide a request (e.g., a request 300 as shown in FIG. 3) for user authorization from a user to install and launch at least the version of the application – see [0076]; at block 414, the electronic device may receive the user authorization (e.g., via a selection of a selectable option 302 to authorize the installation and launch); in one or more implementations, the user authorization is received without receiving user authentication – see [0077], emphasis added; at block 416, responsive to receiving the user authorization, the electronic device may install and launch at least the version of the application – see [0078]).
Regarding claim 4, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above. Furthermore, Abbasian discloses the method, wherein transmitting the request to access the software application within the client application at the client device comprises: transmitting, using a web browser of the client application, the request to a uniform resource locator associated with the software application (the uniform resource locator (URL) for the application may be obtained when the user clicks a link (e.g., a link on a web page, in an email or a text message, or a link within another application, such as a social media application, a voice-activated assistant application or any other application, running on electronic device 110) – see [0046-47]).
Regarding claim 5, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above. Furthermore, Abbasian discloses the method, wherein accessing the software application based on the request, based on the first device user being unauthenticated to the software application, and independent of an invitation to access the software application from a second device user who is authenticated to the software application comprises: accessing, within the client application, a subset of functionality enabled for a guest mode user of the software application (the electronic device determines, based on at least a first portion of the uniform resource locator, that at least a version of the application is available without user authentication; the version of the application may be a reduced-functionality version of the application that has less functionality than a full version of the application; the version of the application may be a transient version of the application that has less functionality than a full version of the application; the version of the application may be referred to herein as an application clip or an app clip – see [0073]).
Regarding claim 8, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above.
Abbasian discloses the method, comprising: transmitting, from the client device, a second request to authenticate the first device user to the software application (at block 502, an electronic device such as electronic device 110 receives a request to obtain the full application (e.g., a full application corresponding to an application clip that has been installed on the electronic device) – see [0084]; at block 504, the electronic device stores data generated during operation of the reduced-functionality version of the application (e.g., locally at the electronic device or in cloud storage such as storage at a remote server such as server 120); access to the stored data generated by the reduced-functionality version, by applications other than the full application, can be prevented; in one or more implementations, user authentication information (e.g., for authentication with server 120) can be provided via the reduced-functionality version of the application, after the reduced-functionality version of the application has been installed on the electronic device (e.g., to enhance the performance of the reduced-functionality version of the application such as by allowing longer or remote storage of the data generated by the reduced-functionality version of the application, and/or access to other user data stored at the remote server 120 or on the electronic device 110 in association with an account of the user) – [0085]; see also [0086-87]).
Regarding claim 9, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above. Furthermore, Abbasian discloses the method, wherein the request is transmitted within a webpage associated with the software application (the uniform resource locator (URL) for the application may be obtained when the user clicks a link (e.g., a link on a web page, in an email or a text message, or a link within another application, such as a social media application, a voice-activated assistant application or any other application, running on electronic device 110) – see [0046-47]).
Regarding claim 11, Abbasian discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations (see [0111-116], Fig. 8) comprising the method of claim 1. The remaining limitations of claim 11 are similar in scope to those of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 11 above. Furthermore, Abbasian discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium, the operations comprising: outputting, for display within a graphical user interface of the client application, an interactive element indicating access to the software application within the client application, wherein the request is transmitted based on an interaction with the interactive element (the device can select the appropriate application metadata with which to provide the appropriate launch user interface using the identifier, and can include a request for authorization to install and launch the version of the application in the launch user interface; upon receiving authorization to install and launch the version of the application, the code for the version of the application can be downloaded, installed, and launched – see [0039]; see also [0058-59] and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Abbasian discloses a system, comprising: a memory subsystem; and processing circuitry configured to execute instructions stored in the memory subsystem (see [0111-116], Fig. 8). The remaining limitations of claim 15 are similar in scope to those of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 15 above. Furthermore, Abbasian discloses the system, wherein the request is transmitted based on an interaction at the client device with a user interface element output within a graphical user interface of a video conference, an application marketplace, or a webpage associated with the software application (the uniform resource locator (URL) for the application may be obtained when the user clicks a link (e.g., a link on a web page, in an email or a text message, or a link within another application, such as a social media application, a voice-activated assistant application or any other application, running on electronic device 110) – see [0046-47]; examiner’s note: Abbasian teaches the interaction with a webpage associated with the software application; since the claim is written in alternative form (“or”), Abbasian teaches the claim limitations).
Regarding claim 18, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 15 above. Furthermore, Abbasian discloses the system, wherein the access is limited to a subset of functionality enabled for a guest mode user of the software application (the electronic device determines, based on at least a first portion of the uniform resource locator, that at least a version of the application is available without user authentication; the version of the application may be a reduced-functionality version of the application that has less functionality than a full version of the application; the version of the application may be a transient version of the application that has less functionality than a full version of the application; the version of the application may be referred to herein as an application clip or an app clip – see [0073]).
Regarding claim 19, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 15 above. Furthermore, Abbasian discloses the system, wherein the client application is configured to open at the client device to enable the access to the software application (electronic device 110 may determine, based on at least the first portion of the uniform resource locator, that at least the version of the application is available without user authentication, in part, by determining, at the electronic device, whether the URL is associated with an identifier of any application; the electronic device may navigate directly to the URL using a web browser – see [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbasian et al. (US 20210318888 A1), hereinafter Abbasian, in view of Jones et al. (US 20110271210 A1), hereinafter Jones and Dunn et al. (US 20130263021 A1), hereinafter Dunn.
Regarding claim 2, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above.
Abbasian fails to disclose the method, wherein transmitting the request to access the software application within the client application at the client device comprises: transmitting the request based on an interaction at the client device with an interactive element output for display within a video conference graphical user interface.
However, Jones discloses systems, methods, and computer programs are disclosed for providing a conferencing application store including the method, wherein transmitting the request to access the software application within the client application at the client device comprises: transmitting the request based on an interaction at the client device with an interactive element output for display within a (an apps component 11914 may launch a menu 12502 (FIG. 125) for enabling a participant 104 to launch conference applications; as described above, the conferencing system 106 may host a conference apps store for purchasing various conference applications; an app store component 12504 may launch the app store where the participant 104 may purchase conference applications; a my apps component 12506 may launch a display for enabling the participant 104 to select from applications that have already been purchased or are otherwise available to the participant 104; a host apps component 12508 may display conferencing applications that have been made available by the host of the online conference – see [0375] and Fig. 125; see also [0198-0199] and Fig. 43-45).
Jones discloses that there are a number of conference solutions for enabling people to conduct live meetings, conferences, presentations, or other types of gatherings via the Internet, the public switched telephone network (PSTN), or other voice and/or data networks, and that these meetings include an audio component and a visual component, such as, a shared presentation, video, whiteboard, or other multimedia, text, graphics, etc. (see [0002]).
Jones does not explicitly disclose a video conference.
However, Dunn discloses systems and methods for providing applications during video communication including video conference (the method is illustrated generally by reference numeral 400; the method begins at block 402, with a video communication exchange, for example, a video conference, video chat, or any user communication in a virtual forum, facility, or room, among multiple users; the method proceeds to block 404, at which point, within the user interface display module 305, the method provides one or more personal applications to individual users from the multiple users engaged in a video communication; the personal applications are designed to enhance an individual user's experience in the video communication, without involving other users with whom the individual user is engaged in a group video communication session – see [0054]; see also [0064-66] and Figs. 6-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Abbasian to include a communication platform wherein transmitting the request to access the software application within the client application at the client device comprises: transmitting the request based on an interaction at the client device with an interactive element output for display within a [[audio]] conference graphical user interface, as taught by Jones; and, using a video conference, as taught by Dunn. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide various enhanced communication features such as a conferencing system with interfacing/interacting capabilities because is a convenient solution form of communication for businesses and individuals, as recognized by Jones (see [0002], [0240], [0253]); and because the popularity of electronic communications, in particular, via online communities or services, for example, social networks, has grown dramatically over the years so it makes sense to enhance the ongoing trends in video communication, it would certainly be beneficial to find ways to access applications, provided by third parties, for both personal and shared use, to enhance group video communications, as recognized by Dunn (see [0002-0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above.
Abbasian fails to disclose the method, wherein accessing the software application based on the request, based on the first device user being unauthenticated to the software application, and independent of an invitation to access the software application from a second device user who is authenticated to the software application comprises: accessing, while the client application is connected to a video conference, the software application within a graphical user interface of the video conference
However, Jones discloses systems, methods, and computer programs are disclosed for providing a conferencing application store including the method, wherein accessing the software application based on the request, based on the first device user being unauthenticated to the software application, and independent of an invitation to access the software application from a second device user who is authenticated to the software application comprises: accessing, while the client application is connected to a (an apps component 11914 may launch a menu 12502 (FIG. 125) for enabling a participant 104 to launch conference applications; as described above, the conferencing system 106 may host a conference apps store for purchasing various conference applications; an app store component 12504 may launch the app store where the participant 104 may purchase conference applications; a my apps component 12506 may launch a display for enabling the participant 104 to select from applications that have already been purchased or are otherwise available to the participant 104; a host apps component 12508 may display conferencing applications that have been made available by the host of the online conference – see [0375] and Fig. 125; see also [0198-0199] and Fig. 43-45).
Jones discloses that there are a number of conference solutions for enabling people to conduct live meetings, conferences, presentations, or other types of gatherings via the Internet, the public switched telephone network (PSTN), or other voice and/or data networks, and that these meetings include an audio component and a visual component, such as, a shared presentation, video, whiteboard, or other multimedia, text, graphics, etc. (see [0002]).
Jones does not explicitly disclose a video conference.
However, Dunn discloses systems and methods for providing applications during video communication including video conference (the method is illustrated generally by reference numeral 400; the method begins at block 402, with a video communication exchange, for example, a video conference, video chat, or any user communication in a virtual forum, facility, or room, among multiple users; the method proceeds to block 404, at which point, within the user interface display module 305, the method provides one or more personal applications to individual users from the multiple users engaged in a video communication; the personal applications are designed to enhance an individual user's experience in the video communication, without involving other users with whom the individual user is engaged in a group video communication session – see [0054]; see also [0064-66] and Figs. 6-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Abbasian to include a communication platform wherein accessing the software application based on the request, based on the first device user being unauthenticated to the software application, and independent of an invitation to access the software application from a second device user who is authenticated to the software application comprises: accessing, while the client application is connected to a video conference, the software application within a graphical user interface of the video conference, as taught by Jones; and, using a video conference, as taught by Dunn. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide various enhanced communication features such as a conferencing system with interfacing/interacting capabilities because is a convenient solution form of communication for businesses and individuals, as recognized by Jones (see [0002], [0240], [0253]); and because the popularity of electronic communications, in particular, via online communities or services, for example, social networks, has grown dramatically over the years so it makes sense to enhance the ongoing trends in video communication, it would certainly be beneficial to find ways to access applications, provided by third parties, for both personal and shared use, to enhance group video communications, as recognized by Dunn (see [0002-0007]).
Regarding claim 13, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 15 above.
The remaining limitations of claim 13 are similar in scope to those of claim 6. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Claims 3, 7, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbasian et al. (US 20210318888 A1), hereinafter Abbasian, in view of Jones et al. (US 20110271210 A1), hereinafter Jones.
Regarding claim 3, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above.
Furthermore, Abbasian discloses the electronic device 110 receiving the request to obtain the full application when the user launches an additional application for accessing a remote application store or repository (e.g., at server 120), locating the full application in the application store; and selecting the full application for download and installation (see [0084]).
Abbasian fails to disclose the method, wherein transmitting the request to access the software application within the client application at the client device comprises: transmitting the request based on an interaction at the client device with an interactive element output for display within an application marketplace graphical user interface.
However, Jones discloses systems, methods, and computer programs are disclosed for providing a conferencing application store including the method, wherein transmitting the request to access the software application within the client application at the client device comprises: transmitting the request based on an interaction at the client device with an interactive element output for display within an application marketplace graphical user interface (an apps component 11914 may launch a menu 12502 (FIG. 125) for enabling a participant 104 to launch conference applications; as described above, the conferencing system 106 may host a conference apps store for purchasing various conference applications; an app store component 12504 may launch the app store where the participant 104 may purchase conference applications; a my apps component 12506 may launch a display for enabling the participant 104 to select from applications that have already been purchased or are otherwise available to the participant 104; a host apps component 12508 may display conferencing applications that have been made available by the host of the online conference – see [0375] and Fig. 125; see also [0197-0199] and Fig. 43-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Abbasian to include a communication platform wherein transmitting the request to access the software application within the client application at the client device comprises: transmitting the request based on an interaction at the client device with an interactive element output for display within an application marketplace graphical user interface, as taught by Jones. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide various enhanced communication features such as a conferencing system with interfacing/interacting capabilities because is a convenient solution form of communication for businesses and individuals, as recognized by Jones (see [0002], [0240], [0253]).
Regarding claim 7, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above.
Furthermore, Abbasian discloses the electronic device 110 receiving the request to obtain the full application when the user launches an additional application for accessing a remote application store or repository (e.g., at server 120), locating the full application in the application store; and selecting the full application for download and installation (see [0084]).
Abbasian fails to disclose the method, wherein accessing the software application based on the request, based on the first device user being unauthenticated to the software application, and independent of an invitation to access the software application from a second device user who is authenticated to the software application comprises: accessing the software application within a graphical user interface of an application marketplace available within the client application.
However, Jones discloses systems, methods, and computer programs are disclosed for providing a conferencing application store including the method, wherein accessing the software application based on the request, based on the first device user being unauthenticated to the software application, and independent of an invitation to access the software application from a second device user who is authenticated to the software application comprises: accessing the software application within a graphical user interface of an application marketplace available within the client application (an apps component 11914 may launch a menu 12502 (FIG. 125) for enabling a participant 104 to launch conference applications; as described above, the conferencing system 106 may host a conference apps store for purchasing various conference applications; an app store component 12504 may launch the app store where the participant 104 may purchase conference applications; a my apps component 12506 may launch a display for enabling the participant 104 to select from applications that have already been purchased or are otherwise available to the participant 104; a host apps component 12508 may display conferencing applications that have been made available by the host of the online conference – see [0375] and Fig. 125; see also [0197-0199] and Fig. 43-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Abbasian to include a communication platform wherein accessing the software application based on the request, based on the first device user being unauthenticated to the software application, and independent of an invitation to access the software application from a second device user who is authenticated to the software application comprises: accessing the software application within a graphical user interface of an application marketplace available within the client application, as taught by Jones. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide various enhanced communication features such as a conferencing system with interfacing/interacting capabilities because is a convenient solution form of communication for businesses and individuals, as recognized by Jones (see [0002], [0240], [0253]).
Regarding claim 14, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 15 above.
The remaining limitations of claim 14 are similar in scope to those of claim 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 17, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 15 above.
The remaining limitations of claim 17 are similar in scope to those of claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 7 above.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbasian et al. (US 20210318888 A1), hereinafter Abbasian, in view of Jones et al. (US 20110271210 A1), hereinafter Jones, and Amin et al. (US 20220350466 A1), hereinafter Amin.
Regarding claim 10, Abassian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above. Furthermore, Abbasian discloses that the software application is software external to the (the uniform resource locator (URL) for the application may be obtained when the user clicks a link (e.g., a link on a web page, in an email or a text message, or a link within another application, such as a social media application, a voice-activated assistant application or any other application, running on electronic device 110) – see [0046-47]; examiner’s note: the application is not installed in the electronic devices and it is retrieved from an application repository at a remote server – see [0026-27])
Abbasian fails to disclose the method, wherein the client application is software of a unified communications as a service platform (i.e., Abbasian does not disclose a UCaaS).
Jones discloses systems, methods, and computer programs for providing a conferencing application store (see abstract) including the software application is software external to the (an apps component 11914 may launch a menu 12502 (FIG. 125) for enabling a participant 104 to launch conference applications; as described above, the conferencing system 106 may host a conference apps store for purchasing various conference applications; an app store component 12504 may launch the app store where the participant 104 may purchase conference applications; a my apps component 12506 may launch a display for enabling the participant 104 to select from applications that have already been purchased or are otherwise available to the participant 104; a host apps component 12508 may display conferencing applications that have been made available by the host of the online conference – see [0375] and Fig. 125; see also [0198-0199] and Fig. 43-45).
However, Amin discloses an extensible user experience framework by way of a unified communications as a service (UCaaS) platform which includes telephony services, conferencing services, messaging services, and the like (see [0001-0018]) including the method, wherein the client application is software of a unified communications as a service platform and the software application is software external to the unified communications as a service platform (software platform 300 is a UCaaS platform accessible by clients of a customer of a UCaaS platform provider – see [0052]; the software platform 300 includes software services accessible using one or more clients including conferencing software 314 enables audio, video, and/or other forms of conferences between multiple participants, such as to facilitate a conference between those participants [e.g., video conference client application] – see [0052-58]; first party software applications or services are native to the software platform and third party software applications or services are external to the software platform – see [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Abbasian to include software applications external to a communication platform, as taught by Jones; and the method, wherein the client application is software of a unified communications as a service platform, as taught by Amin. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because is a convenient solution form of communication for businesses and individuals, as recognized by Jones (see [0002]); and to deliver a complete communication experience regardless of physical location and enable users to identify and action real-time communications in an efficient manner, as recognized by Amin (see [0001] and [0018]).
Regarding claim 20, Abbasian discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 15 above.
The remaining limitations of claim 20 are similar in scope to those of claim 10. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cisco. (2021, November 29). Embedded Apps in Webex.
Cisco (2024, April 13). Join a Webex Meeting for the first time as a guest.
Dey, P. (2024, March 2). Insights about Instant app in Android.
Kathuria, D. (2022, June 15). Embedded Apps In Webex Meetings.
Microsoft Teams. (2024, January 23). Manage anonymous participant access to Teams meetings, webinars, and town halls (IT admins).
Thornsby, J. (2017, July 31). What Are Android Instant Apps?
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DORIANNE ALVARADO DAVID/Examiner, Art Unit 2499 /PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499