DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 05/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 7, 15, 20, and 21 have been amended. Claims 1-21 are still pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“separating element” in claims 1 and 21,
“collecting element” in claims 1, 17, 20, and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-13, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub 2017/0176338 A1)(hereinafter, “Wu”) in view of Barnard (US Patent 5,565,983), further in view of Becker-Ross et al. (US 2008/0094626 A1)(hereinafter, “Becker-Ross”).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches an optical system (2500), comprising:
an optical source (2510) to provide an excitation light (2501/2502);
a collecting element (objective 2570 and lenses 2520 d-f, [0424]) to:
direct an optical signal, received from a sample in response to incidence of the excitation light on the sample(discloses objective 2570 collects fluorescent light 2504 from the sample, [0424]), to an optical device (discloses lenses 2520 d-f direct the collected light toward SLM 2550 and imaging device 2590, [0424]); the optical device comprising:
a separating element (2610) to separate the optical signal into a plurality of spectral bands that are spatially (discloses each excitation spot produces a different spectral band, which is spatially separated on the detector, [0406]) or angularly separated along a band separation direction,
wherein spectral ranges differ among each spectral band of the plurality of spectral bands(discloses multiple excitation spots produce distinct, spatially separated fluorescence spectra 2632, [0406]),
a dispersive element (2610, grating or Amici prism, [0411]) comprising a plurality of dispersive regions (discloses uses a pair of double Amici prisms, each prism can be considered a separate dispersive region, [0411]),
a plurality of optical elements (lens 2520e, 2520f, SLM 2550, [0394]), in association with imaging the respective spectral band (lenses 2520e and 2520f, [0394]) onto a detector area of a detector array (“…imaged to imaging device 2590…”, [0394]), and
the detector array (CMOS sensor, a CCD sensor, a 2-D array of silicon avalanche photodiodes (APDs), [0421]) comprising the detector area (discloses a portion of the 2-D sensor that receives one dispersed spectral band, spectra do not overlap, [0409]); and a controller to obtain one or more read-out signals from the detector array (“controller…acquire 2-D images 2592 … store the datasets”, [0422]).
However, Wu fails to disclose wherein each dispersive region of the plurality of dispersive regions is to disperse spectral components of a respective spectral band, of the plurality of spectral bands, along a dispersion direction to form a plurality of dispersed spectral bands; wherein each optical element of the plurality of optical elements is to manipulate a respective dispersed spectral band of the plurality of dispersed spectral bands.
Barnard teaches a dispersive element (22) comprising a plurality of dispersive regions (Col. 4, lines 18-19), wherein each dispersive region of the plurality of dispersive regions (Col. 4, lines 21-26) is to disperse spectral components of a respective spectral band (Col. 4, lines 18-40), of the plurality of spectral bands (discloses orthogonal to the first dispersion direction, Col. 3, lines 45-52), along a dispersion direction to form a plurality of dispersed spectral bands (Col. 3, lines 56-60);
a plurality of optical elements (discloses concave spherical reflector 26, flat mirror 28, and field flattener lens 30, Col. 3, lines 57-60), onto a detector area (pixel locations are arranged to receive selected spectral lines, Col. 4, lines 36-38) of a detector array (discloses two dimensional array of small photodetectors (CCD), Col. 4, lines 1-2 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a dispersive element having multiple independently acting dispersive regions, with each region assigned to a different spectral band of Barnard to Wu to improve spectral resolution.
Barnard fails to disclose wherein each optical element of the plurality of optical elements is to manipulate a respective dispersed spectral band of the plurality of dispersed spectral bands, in association with imaging the respective spectral band.
Becker-Ross teaches wherein each optical element of the plurality of optical elements is to manipulate a respective dispersed spectral band (discloses the first spectrometer 14 processes a first wavelength range; the second spectrometer 12 processes a different wavelength range. Each spectrometer has its own optical element set, [0036]) of the plurality of dispersed spectral bands (discloses each Echelle grating generates a two-dimensional spectrum for its assigned wavelength range, [0034] and [0037]), in association with imaging the respective spectral band (discloses camera mirrors 38 and 66 focus the respective spectra into the imaging plane 40, [0033] and [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the independent imaging optical paths for the different spectral ranges of Becker-Ross to Wu in view of Barnard to improve wavelength-specific optical performance.
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches further comprising a scanning element (SLM 2540) to dither or scan the excitation light(2510, laterally shifted, [0427]) incident on the sample (“directed towards the sample and illuminates the sample in a two-dimensional excitation pattern”, [0424]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches wherein the one or more read-out signals comprise a plurality of read-out signals (discloses each 2-D image 2592 is generated by the 2-D sensor of imaging device 2590, each captured image corresponds to a read-out signal, [0428-0429]), each to be obtained during a different acquisition window of a plurality of acquisition windows (discloses sequential image acquisition cycles, [0427-0428]).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches wherein a length of time of a first acquisition window, of the plurality of acquisition windows (discloses performs imaging in repeated acquisition cycles, inherently includes multiple acquisition windows, [0427-0428]), is different from a length of time of a second acquisition window of the plurality of acquisition windows (discloses controller operated exposure allows different durations, [0422]).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches wherein the one or more read-out signals comprise a plurality of read-out signals (multiple pixels in 2-D image 2592 capture multiple spectra simultaneously, [0406] and [0428]), each to be obtained concurrently (discloses acquired in a single exposure of imaging device 2590, [0422] and [0428]) during a single acquisition window (discloses one exposure period of imaging device 2590, [0422]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches wherein the controller ([0422]) is configured to time sampling of a read-out signal (discloses the controller coordinates imaging device exposure to acquire 2D images, [0422]), of the one or more read-out signals ([0422]), with excitation of the sample (discloses controller coordinates lateral shifting of excitation pattern and image acquisition, [0428]) to enable time-resolved Fluorescence spectroscopy(discloses measures fluorescence spectra, [0403]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches wherein the detector array (CMOS sensor, a CCD sensor, a 2-D array of silicon avalanche photodiodes (APDs), [0421]) is partitioned into a plurality of detector areas (discloses a portion of the 2-D sensor that receives one dispersed spectral band, spectra do not overlap, [0409]), each being associated with a different spectral band in the plurality of spectral bands (discloses records multiple non-overlapping emission spectra, [0409], each trace corresponds to a different excitation location, [0429], each occupies a different region of the 2-D detector, [0421]).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches wherein the detector area comprises multiple pixels in the dispersion direction (discloses each spectrum is spread over multiple pixel horizontally, [0406], each spectral band occupies separate vertical regions, [0409]) and multiple pixels in the band separation direction(“array 2630… corresponding to the areas on the sample illuminated by the excitation pattern” and “spectra 2632 do not overlap”, [0407-0409]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches wherein the optical system is configured to synchronize an acquisition window(discloses each 2-D image is captured corresponding to a specific excitation pattern, [0422]), associated with obtaining one or more read-out signals(discloses the controller coordinates imaging device exposure to acquire 2D images, [0422]), to the excitation light and one or more other elements of the optical system associated with manipulating at least one of the excitation light, the optical signal, one or more of the plurality of spectral bands, or one or more of the plurality of optical elements (discloses excitation light manipulated by SLM, [0426], fluorescent light manipulated by dispersive element, [0406]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches further comprising a filter (clean-up filter, notch filter, [0415] and [0418]) to remove one or more excitation wavelengths from the optical signal (“a notch filter that may substantially reflect the wavelengths or a narrow spectral band of excitation light 2502, thereby blocking excitation light 2502 from reaching imaging device 2590”, [0418]).
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches an optical system (2500), comprising:
an optical source (2510) to provide an excitation light (2501/2502);
a collecting element (objective 2570 and lenses 2520 d-f, [0424]) to direct an optical signal, received in response to incidence of the excitation light on a sample (discloses objective 2570 collects fluorescent light 2504 from the sample, [0424]), to an optical device (discloses lenses 2520 d-f direct the collected light toward SLM 2550 and imaging device 2590, [0424]);
the optical device to:
separate the optical signal into a plurality of spectral bands that are spatially (discloses each excitation spot produces a different spectral band, which is spatially separated on the detector, [0406]) or angularly separated along a band separation direction, each spectral band of the plurality of spectral bands having a different spectral range (discloses multiple excitation spots produce distinct, spatially separated fluorescence spectra 2632, [0406]),
and a controller to obtain one or more read-out signals from the detector array (“controller…acquire 2-D images 2592 … store the datasets”, [0422]).
However, Wu fails to disclose disperse spectral components of each spectral band, of the plurality of spectral bands, along a dispersion direction to form a plurality of dispersed spectral bands, manipulate each dispersed spectral band in association with imaging the spectral band onto a detector area of a detector array of the optical device.
Barnard teaches disperse spectral components of each spectral band (Col. 4, lines 18-40), of the plurality of spectral bands (discloses orthogonal to the first dispersion direction, Col. 3, lines 45-52), along a dispersion direction to form a plurality of dispersed spectral bands (Col. 3, lines 56-60);
a plurality of optical elements (discloses concave spherical reflector 26, flat mirror 28, and field flattener lens 30, Col. 3, lines 57-60), onto a detector area (pixel locations are arranged to receive selected spectral lines, Col. 4, lines 36-38) of a detector array (discloses two dimensional array of small photodetectors (CCD), Col. 4, lines 1-2 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a dispersive element having multiple independently acting dispersive regions, with each region assigned to a different spectral band of Barnard to Wu to improve spectral resolution.
Barnard fails to disclose manipulate each dispersed spectral band in association with imaging the spectral band.
Becker-Ross teaches wherein each optical element of the plurality of optical elements is to manipulate each dispersed spectral band (discloses the first spectrometer 14 processes a first wavelength range; the second spectrometer 12 processes a different wavelength range. Each spectrometer has its own optical element set, [0036]) in association with imaging the spectral band (discloses camera mirrors 38 and 66 focus the respective spectra into the imaging plane 40, [0033] and [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the independent imaging optical paths for the different spectral ranges of Becker-Ross to Wu in view of Barnard to improve wavelength-specific optical performance.
Claims 2-4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub 2017/0176338 A1)(hereinafter, “Wu”) in view of Barnard (US Patent 5,565,983), in view of Becker-Ross et al. (US 2008/0094626 A1)(hereinafter, “Becker-Ross”), further in view of Hashimoto et al. (US Pub 2010/0232459 A1)(hereinafter, “Hashimoto”).
Regarding claim 2, Wu fails to disclose wherein the optical source is a pulsed laser source such that the excitation light comprises optical pulses with a high repetition rate, a low energy, and a narrow linewidth.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the optical source is a pulsed laser source such that the excitation light comprises optical pulses with a high repetition rate, a low energy, and a narrow linewidth (“the first pulse laser light source 11 and the second pulse laser light source 12 are not limited to pico-second pulse laser lights”, [0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a pulsed laser source of Hashimoto to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to enable ultrashort excitation pulses, thereby improving temporal resolution and enabling efficient two-photon fluorescence detection at the scanned focal spots ([0096] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu fails to disclose wherein the optical source is configured to reduce timing jitter in the excitation light or to perform synchronization to account for jitter in the excitation light.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the optical source is configured to reduce timing jitter in the excitation light or to perform synchronization to account for jitter in the excitation light (discloses reduces timing jitter and performs synchronization using feedback control, [0104-0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate timing-jitter stabilization of Hashimoto to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to enhance temporal resolution and enabling efficient two-photon fluorescence detection at the scanned focal spots ([0096] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 4, Wu fails to teach wherein the optical source is one of a plurality of optical sources, each configured to at least one of: emit at a different wavelength, generate excitation light with different pulse characteristics or operate in a different operation mode.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the optical source is one of a plurality of optical sources (discloses two separate pulse laser sources, [0122]), each configured to at least one of: emit at a different wavelength, generate excitation light with different pulse characteristics (discloses Pico-second pulses and femto-second pulses, [0122]) or operate in a different operation mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to add a differential signal feedback loop and pulse timing actuator of Hashimoto to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to enhance temporal resolution and enabling efficient two-photon fluorescence detection at the scanned focal spots ([0096] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches the controller ([0422]) but fails to explicitly disclose is configured to perform synchronization to account for timing jitter in the excitation light.
Hashimoto teaches the controller (41) is configured to perform synchronization (“the timing jitter τ can be reduced…the differential signal Sdiff being zero”, [0106-0107]) to account for timing jitter in the excitation light(discloses measures differential signal reflecting timing jitter τ and corrects it, [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to add a differential signal feedback loop and pulse timing actuator of Hashimoto to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to enhance temporal resolution and enabling efficient two-photon fluorescence detection at the scanned focal spots ([0096] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches wherein the controller ([0042]) is configured to coordinate sampling of a read-out signal (discloses the controller coordinates imaging device exposure to acquire 2D images, [0422]), of the one or more read-out signals ([0422]), with excitation of the sample (discloses controller coordinates lateral shifting of excitation pattern and image acquisition, [0428]), however, Wu fails to explicitly disclose to enable time-resolved Raman spectroscopy.
Hashimoto teaches to enable time-resolved Raman spectroscopy (discloses feedback control portion 41 monitors read-out detection signals, and synchronizes excitation pulses, for use in CARS microscopy, [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to add a differential signal feedback loop and pulse timing actuator of Hashimoto to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to enhance temporal resolution and enabling efficient two-photon fluorescence detection at the scanned focal spots ([0096] and [0122]).
Claims 14, 16-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub 2017/0176338 A1)(hereinafter, “Wu”) in view of Barnard (US Patent 5,565,983), in view of Becker-Ross et al. (US 2008/0094626 A1)(hereinafter, “Becker-Ross”), further in view of White (US Patent 6,687,000 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches wherein pixels of the detector area (discloses a portion of the 2-D sensor that receives one dispersed spectral band, spectra do not overlap, [0409]), however, Wu fails to disclose a plurality of macro-pixels.
White teaches a plurality of macro-pixels (inherently implements a plurality of macro-pixels by binning multiple detector channels into combined units under DSP control, Col. 12, lines 9-13, and 52 - 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate macro-pixels binning of White to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to improve signal-to-noise ratio and data management (Col. 12, lines 52-65).
Regarding claim 16, Wu fails to disclose wherein the optical system is configured to synchronize the acquisition window and the one or more other elements in association with performing time-gated Raman spectroscopy, time-resolved Fluorescence spectroscopy, dynamic real-time spatial offset Raman spectroscopy (SORS), laser induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS), or photoacoustic spectroscopy.
White teaches wherein the optical system is configured to synchronize the acquisition window and the one or more other elements in association with performing time-gated Raman spectroscopy, time-resolved Fluorescence spectroscopy (discloses TDPSS detector synchronizes acquisition windows with the pulsed laser to perform time-resolved measurements, Col. 14, lines 31-46 and 50-57), dynamic real-time spatial offset Raman spectroscopy (SORS), laser induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS), or photoacoustic spectroscopy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate time-gated photon counting with sequential time bins and the DSP-based fluorescence lifetime processing of White to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to improve signal-to-noise ratio and data management (Col. 12, lines 52-65).
Regarding claim 17, Wu fails to disclose further comprising a sampling interface mounted on a hermetic package that houses the optical device or that houses the optical device, the collecting element, and the optical source.
White teaches further comprising a sampling interface (microscope stage/ slide holding the specimen, Col. 9, lines 56-64) mounted on a hermetic package that houses the optical device or that houses the optical device, the collecting element, and the optical source(discloses the spectrometer and detector can be enclosed or packaged separately; optionally coupled via fiber, , Col. 9, lines 56-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate time-gated photon counting with sequential time bins and the DSP-based fluorescence lifetime processing of White to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to improve signal-to-noise ratio and data management (Col. 12, lines 52-65).
Regarding claim 18, Wu fails to disclose further comprising a shifting element to dynamically adjust a spatial separation between an illumination optical path of the optical system and a detection optical path of the optical system.
White teaches further comprising a shifting element (discloses dichroic mirrors, scanning mirrors, and optional fiber/prism routing adjust beam paths, Col. 9, lines 20-47) to dynamically adjust a spatial separation between an illumination optical path of the optical system and a detection optical path of the optical system (discloses scanning mirrors and mirror/dichroic positioning allow real-time adjustment, Col. 8, lines 63-68 and Col. 9, lines 62-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate dichroic mirrors, movable scanning mirrors, and adjustable mirrors/prisms of White to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to improve signal-to-noise ratio and data management (Col. 12, lines 52-65).
Regarding claim 21, Wu teaches an optical system (2500), comprising:
an optical source (2510) to provide an excitation light (2501/2502);
a collecting element (objective 2570 and lenses 2520 d-f, [0424]) to direct an optical signal, received in response to incidence of the excitation light on a sample (discloses objective 2570 collects fluorescent light 2504 from the sample, [0424]), to an optical device;
the optical device comprising:
a separating element (2610) to separate the optical signal into a plurality of spectral bands (discloses each excitation spot produces a different spectral band, which is spatially separated on the detector, [0406]); wherein spectral ranges differ among each spectral band of the plurality of spectral bands (discloses multiple excitation spots produce distinct, spatially separated fluorescence spectra 2632, [0406]);
a dispersive element (2610, grating or Amici prism, [0411]) comprising a dispersive region (discloses uses a pair of double Amici prisms, each prism can be considered a separate dispersive region, [0411]);
an optical element (lens 2520e, 2520f, SLM 2550, [0394]),and
the detector array (CMOS sensor, a CCD sensor, a 2-D array of silicon avalanche photodiodes (APDs), [0421]) comprising the detector area (discloses a portion of the 2-D sensor that receives one dispersed spectral band, spectra do not overlap, [0409]); and
a controller (“controller…acquire 2-D images 2592 … store the datasets”, [0422]).
However, Wu fails to disclose wherein the dispersive region is to disperse spectral components of a spectral band, of the plurality of spectral bands, along a dispersion direction to form a dispersed spectral band; manipulate the dispersed spectral band in association with imaging the spectral band onto a detector area of a detector array; coordinate operation of the optical source with operation of the collecting element or one or more elements of the optical device such that timing of receipt of the optical signal is synchronized with timing of an acquisition window of the detector area .
Barnard teaches wherein the dispersive region is to disperse spectral components of a spectral band (Col. 4, lines 18-40), of the plurality of spectral bands (discloses orthogonal to the first dispersion direction, Col. 3, lines 45-52), along a dispersion direction to form a plurality of dispersed spectral bands (Col. 3, lines 56-60).
an optical element (discloses concave spherical reflector 26, flat mirror 28, and field flattener lens 30, Col. 3, lines 57-60), onto a detector area (pixel locations are arranged to receive selected spectral lines, Col. 4, lines 36-38) of a detector array (discloses two dimensional array of small photodetectors (CCD), Col. 4, lines 1-2 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a dispersive element having multiple independently acting dispersive regions, with each region assigned to a different spectral band of Barnard to Wu to improve spectral resolution.
Barnard fails to disclose an optical element to manipulate the dispersed spectral band in association with imaging the spectral band onto a detector area of a detector array.
Becker-Ross teaches an optical element to manipulate the dispersed spectral band (discloses the first spectrometer 14 processes a first wavelength range; the second spectrometer 12 processes a different wavelength range. Each spectrometer has its own optical element set, [0036]) in association with imaging the spectral band (discloses camera mirrors 38 and 66 focus the respective spectra into the imaging plane 40, [0033] and [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the independent imaging optical paths for the different spectral ranges of Becker-Ross to Wu in view of Barnard to improve wavelength-specific optical performance.
White teaches coordinate operation of the optical source with operation of the collecting element or one or more elements of the optical device (DSP 61) such that timing of receipt of the optical signal is synchronized with timing of an acquisition window (temporal channels and delay line) of the detector area (discloses TDPSS detector synchronizes acquisition windows with the pulsed laser to perform time-resolved measurements, Col. 14, lines 31-46 and 50-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate time-gated photon counting with sequential time bins and the DSP-based fluorescence lifetime processing of White to Wu in view of Barnard in view of Becker-Ross to improve signal-to-noise ratio and data management (Col. 12, lines 52-65).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.X./ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877