Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31, 35-36, 43-48 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell (US 2023/0365357).
Regarding claim 31, Campbell discloses a robotic system configured for performing a task of loading and unloading goods, the robotic system comprising:
a mobile base assembly (160) configured to move the robotic system along a ground surface (Fig.1);
a dynamic conveyer (120) mounted on the mobile base assembly, wherein the dynamic conveyer comprises a platform and a conveyer belt on the platform (Fig.1), wherein a tilt angle of the platform is adjustable (Fig.7);
a sensor configured to collect sensor data indicative of a position of an object (Para.88); and a control unit configured to:
receive the sensor data from the sensor,
based on the sensor data, adjust the tilt angle of the platform to align a first end of the platform with the object (Para.39-40), and
control the conveyer belt to transfer the object (Para.12-13, 87-91).
Regarding claim 35, Campbell further discloses:
a hinge assembly positioned at an opposite end of the platform to the first end, wherein the hinge assembly is configured to facilitate a pivotal movement of the platform relative to the mobile base assembly (Fig.7-9); and
at least one connecting link comprising:
a first end coupled to a lower surface of the platform of the dynamic conveyer (Fig.7-9), and
a second end movable along a rail unit on the mobile base assembly (Fig.7-9),
wherein movement of the second end of the at least one connecting link causes adjustment of the tilt angle of the platform (Para.78).
Regarding claim 36, Campbell further discloses at least one sensor arranged on the mobile base assembly and beneath the dynamic conveyer (Para.51-52, 84-85).
Regarding claim 43, Campbell further discloses the sensor is included in the dynamic conveyer (Para.88).
Regarding claim 44, Campbell further discloses the sensor comprises a camera (Para.83).
Regarding claim 45, Campbell further discloses the mobile base assembly comprises a set of columns extending upward from a base platform of the mobile base assembly, wherein the platform of the dynamic conveyer pivotably coupled with the set of columns (Fig.4-6).
Regarding claim 46, Campbell further discloses the set of columns is positioned at an opposite end of the platform to the first end (Fig.4-6).
Regarding claim 47, Campbell further discloses the sensor is indicative of a height of the object, and wherein the control unit is configured to align the first end of the platform with the height of the object (Para.88).
Regarding claim 48, Campbell further discloses the first end of the platform is outside a footprint of the mobile base assembly (Fig.4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-34, 37-42 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US 2023/0365357) in view of Menon et al (US Pub App 2021/0002163).
Regarding claim 32, Campbell further discloses
an actuation assembly mounted on the dynamic conveyer, wherein the actuation assembly is configured to translate along a length of the dynamic conveyer (Fig.19); and
wherein the control unit is configured to:
actuate a linear actuator to translate the actuation assembly (Para.49, Fig.71).
Campbell does not further specifically disclose at least one manipulation arm coupled to the actuation assembly so as to translate with the actuation assembly, to hold the object and transfer the object to the conveyer belt.
Menon teaches a robotic system to load/unload trucks and containers wherein a manipulator arm (406) performs tasks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Campbell in view of Menon to at least one manipulation arm coupled to the actuation assembly so as to translate with the actuation assembly, to hold the object and transfer the object to the conveyer belt in order to minimize operator work load and increase efficiency.
Regarding claim 33, Campbell, as modified above, further discloses at least one rail (536) affixed to the dynamic conveyer, wherein the actuation assembly is configured to translate along the at least one rail (Para.78).
Regarding claim 34, Campbell, as modified above, further discloses the linear actuator comprises a motor (Para.42, 49).
Regarding claim 37, Campbell does not further specifically disclose a head assembly comprising a camera, wherein the camera is arranged to obtain a downward view unoccluded by other portions of the head assembly.
Menon teaches a robotic system to load/unload trucks and containers wherein a manipulator arm performs tasks and cameras (120, Fig.1 and 412, Fig.4A-B) are hung unoccluded.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Campbell in view of Menon to have a head assembly comprising a camera, wherein the camera is arranged to obtain a downward view unoccluded by other portions of the head assembly in order to increase safety of the system.
Regarding claim 38, Campbell, as modified above, further teaches the camera has an underhung position with respect to the head assembly (Menon 120, Fig.1).
Regarding claim 39, Campbell does not further specifically disclose
a first manipulation arm comprising a first manipulation payload, and
a second manipulation arm comprising a second manipulation payload,
wherein the first manipulation arm and the second manipulation arm are mounted at opposite lateral sides of the platform of the dynamic conveyer.
Menon teaches a robotic system to load/unload trucks and containers wherein manipulator arms (406) perform tasks (Para.32-35, Figs.4A-4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Campbell in view of Menon to have manipulation arms are mounted at opposite lateral sides of the platform of the dynamic conveyer in order to minimize operator work load and increase efficiency.
Regarding claim 40, Campbell, as modified above, further teaches the control unit is configured to:
move the first manipulation payload out of a footprint of the mobile base assembly, and
move the first manipulation payload into the footprint of the mobile base assembly (Menon Figs.4A-4B).
Regarding claim 41, Campbell, as modified above, further teaches the first manipulation payload comprises a vacuum cup or a modular gripping tool (Menon 408).
Regarding claim 42, Campbell, as modified above, further teaches the first manipulation arm comprises a plurality of arm links pivotably coupled to one another and controllable by at least one motor tasks (Menon Para.32-35, Figs.4A-4B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ma, Lertkultanon, Criswell and Mizogucki further disclose elements of a robotic system configured for performing a task of loading and unloading goods.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652