DETAILED ACTION
Claims 130-131, 148-159 and 167-172 are pending.
A preliminary amendment filed on 07/31/2024 adding a “Related Applications” and a “Reference to an Electronic Sequence Listing” section to the application is acknowledged.
A preliminary amendment filed on 11/06/2024 cancelling claims 1-129, 132-147 and 160-166, amending claims 130, 131, 148, 150, 151 and 154-159 and adding new claims 167-172 is acknowledged.
Priority
This application is a divisional of US application 17/057,398 filed on 11/20/2020 and claims domestic priority under 35 U.S. C. 119(e) to provisional application No. 62/675,726 filed on 05/23/2018.
Drawings
Figure 1A is objected to because it is illegible. The figure is small and makes it hard to make out all of the details needed to understand the figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 157 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 157 is indefinite in the recitation of a broader range followed by a narrow range “at least 80%...99%” Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 130 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (GenBank Accession ELK10432, 2013).
Claim 130 is directed in part to a cytidine deaminase comprising an amino acid sequence that is at least 80% identical to the amino acid sequence of any one of SEQ ID Nos: 6-9.
Zhang et al. (GenBank Accession ELK10432) is an 84.5% match to SEQ ID NO:6 (see sequence alignment below), which is a C->U-editing enzyme APOBEC-1 (a zinc-dependent cytidine deaminase) from Pteropus alecto (black flying fox).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 130, 148-159 and 167-169 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (GenBank Accession ELK10432, 2013), Maianti et al. (US 10,745,677 B2, filed on 12/22/2017), Liu et al.1(US 11,306,324 B2, filed on 10/13/2017) and in view of Liu et al.2 (US 11,268,082 B2, filed on 03/23/2018).
Zhang et al. teaches a cytidine deaminase that has 84.5% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 6 of the instant application.
Maianti et al. teaches a fusion protein comprising a Cas9 nickase-nucleic acid editing domain fused to a cytidine deaminase and a Gam protein, which is further fused to a UGI domain (see column 119, last paragraph). Maianti et al. teaches that the fusion proteins in some embodiments further comprise a nuclear localization sequence (NLS) (see column 121, second paragraph). Maianti et al. teaches that the Cas9 nickase cleaves the target strand that is base paired to a gRNA (see column 93, first paragraph). Maianti et al. teaches the Cas9 domain of SEQ ID NO: 3 of the instant application as SEQ ID NO: 704 (see alignment below). Maianti et al. teaches the UGI domain of SEQ ID NO: 108 as SEQ ID NO: 361 (see alignment below). Maianti et al. teaches a fusion protein comprising the structure: NH2- [cytosine deaminase domain]-[optional linker sequence]-[guide nucleic sequence programmable DNA-binding protein domain]-[optional linker sequence]-[UGI domain]-COOH (see claim 21).
Maianti et al. does not teach a cytidine deaminase with at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 6-9 as recited in claim 1. Maianti et al. does not teach the use of two UGI domains.
Liu et al.1 teaches a nuclear localization sequence that comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application as SEQ ID NO: 375 (see alignment below). Liu et al.1 teaches the use of bipartite nuclear localization sequences (see column 2, 5th paragraph).
Liu et al.2 teaches a nuclear localization sequence that comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application as SEQ ID NO: 740 (see alignment below). Liu et al.2 teaches a fusion protein that comprises a nucleic acid programmable binding protein (napDNAbp): a cytidine deaminase domain; and (iii) two uracil glycosylase inhibitor domains (see claim 1).
SEQ ID NO: 3 alignment with SEQ ID NO: 704 of Maianti et al.
SEQ ID NO: 108 alignment with SEQ ID NO: 361 of Maianti et al.
SEQ ID NO: 1 alignment with SEQ ID NO: 375 of Liu et al.1
SEQ ID NO: 2 alignment with SEQ ID NO: 740 of Liu et al.2
Claim 130 is directed in part to a cytidine deaminase comprising an amino acid sequence that is at least 80% identical to the amino acid sequence of any one of SEQ ID Nos: 6-9. Claim 148 is directed to a fusion protein comprising (i) a nucleic acid programmable DNA binding protein (napDNAbp; and (ii) the cytidine deaminase of claim 130. Claim 149 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 148, wherein the fusion protein further comprises (iii) one or more UGI domains. Claim 150 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 148, wherein the fusion protein further comprises (iv) one or more nuclear localization sequences. Claim 151 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 148, wherein the nucleic acid programmable DNA binding protein is a Cas9 domain. Claim 152 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 151, wherein the Cas9 domain is a Cas9 nickase domain. Claim 153 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 152, wherein the Cas9 nickase domain cuts a nucleic acid target strand of a nucleotide duplex, wherein the nucleotide target strand is the strand that binds a gRNA. Claim 154 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 151, wherein the Cas9 domain comprises an amino acid sequence that is at least 80% identical to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:3. Claim 155 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 151, wherein the Cas9 domain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3. Claim 156 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 149, wherein the fusion protein comprises two UGI domains. Claim 157 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 149, wherein the one or more UGI domains comprise an amino acid sequence that is at least 80%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 98%, or 99% identical to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 108. Claim 158 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 149, wherein the one or more UGI domains comprise the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 108. Claim 159 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 148, wherein the fusion protein comprises the structure: NH2-[cytidine deaminase of claim 130]-[Cas9 domain]- COOH;(ii) NH2-[cytidine deaminase of claim 130]-[Cas9 domain]-[UGI domain]-COOH:(iii) NH2-[cytidine deaminase of claim 130]-[Cas9 domain]-[first UGI domain]-[second UGI domain]-COOH:(iv) NH2-[cytidine deaminase of claim 130]-[Cas9 domain]-[nuclear localization sequence]-COOH:(v) NH2-[first nuclear localization sequence]-[cytidine deaminase of claim 130]-[Cas9 domain]-[second nuclear localization sequence]-COOH: or (vi) NH2-[first nuclear localization sequence]-[cytidine deaminase of claim 130]-[Cas9 domain]-[first UGI domain]-[second UGI domain]-[second nuclear localization sequence]-COOH:, and wherein each instance of "-" comprises an optional linker. Claim 167 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 150, wherein the one or more nuclear location sequences are bipartite nuclear localization sequences. Claim 168 is directed to the fusion protein of claim 150, wherein the one or more nuclear localization sequences comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 or SEQ ID NO: 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the cytidine deaminase of Zhang et al. for the cytidine deaminase domains taught by Maianti et al., Liu et al.1 and Liu et al.2.
A person of ordinary skill in the art is motivated to substitute the cytidine deaminase of Zhang et al. because the protein was known in the prior art to catalyze the cytidine to uridine posttranslational editing of a variety of mRNAs.
One of ordinary skill in the art has a reasonable expectation of success at substituting the cytidine deaminase of Zhang et al. for the cytidine deaminase domains taught by Maianti et al., Liu et al.1 and Liu et al.2 to arrive at the claimed invention because it was well known in the art to have the same activity as the cytidine deaminase of claim 130. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 130, 148-149, 151-155 and 159 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,745,677 (‘677) in view of Zhang et al. Claim 130 of the instant application requires a cytidine deaminase that is at least 80% of any of the amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 6-9. U. S Patent No. 10,745,677 does not disclose this limitation in the claims but does recite in claims 9 and 22 that the cytosine deaminase comprises an apolipoprotein B mRNA-editing complex (APOBEC) family deaminase. Zhang et al. teaches an APOBEC-1 protein that has 84.5% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 6 of the instant application and therefore, it would be obvious to substitute the cytosine deaminase of claim 1 of U.S Patent 10, 745, 677 with the APOBEC-1 protein of Zhang et al. to arrive at claims 130 of the instant application. Claim 1 of ‘677 comprises the limitations of claims 148-149 of the instant application in view of Zhang et al. Claim 3 of ‘677 comprises the limitations of claims 151-153 of the instant application in view of Zhang et al. Claim 4 of ‘677 comprises the limitations of claim 155 of the instant application as SEQ ID NO: 1 of ‘677 is at least 80% identical to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:3 of the instant application in view of Zhang et al. Claim 21 of ‘677 teaches the limitation of NH2-[cytidine deaminase of claim 130]-Cas9 domain]-[UGI]-COOH in view of Zhang et al.
Claims 130, 148-149, 151, 156 and 159 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 10 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,319,532 (‘532) in view of Zhang et al. Claim 130 of the instant application requires a cytidine deaminase that is at least 80% of any of the amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 6-9. U. S Patent No. 10,745,677 does not disclose this limitation in the claims. However, claim 1 of ‘532 teaches a cytidine deaminase domain. Zhang et al. teaches an APOBEC-1 protein that has 84.5% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 6 of the instant application and therefore, it would be obvious to substitute the cytidine deaminase of claim 1 of U.S Patent 11,319, 532 with the APOBEC-1 protein of Zhang et al. Claim 1 of ‘532 teaches the limitations of claim 148 of the instant application in view of Zhang et al. Claim 2 of ‘532 further limits with a UGI domain which is recited in claim 149 of the instant application in view of Zhang et al. Claim 3 of ‘532 further limits the napDNAbp domain to a Cas9 domain which is recited in claim 151 of the instant application in view of Zhang et al. Claim 6 recites that the fusion protein has a second UGI domain and claim 156 of the instant application requires two UGI domains in view of Zhang et al. Claim 159 of the instant application recites a fusion protein comprising the same limitations as claims 10 and 11 of ‘532.
Claims 130, 148-149, 151, 156 and 159 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-8 ,12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,932,884 (‘884) in view of Zhang et al. Claim 130 of the instant application requires a cytidine deaminase that is at least 80% of any of the amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 6-9. U. S Patent No. 11,932,884 does not disclose this limitation in the claims. However, claim 1 of ‘884 teaches a cytidine deaminase domain. Zhang et al. teaches an APOBEC-1 protein that has 84.5% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 6 of the instant application and therefore, it would be obvious to substitute the cytidine deaminase of claim 1 of U.S Patent 11,932,884 with the APOBEC-1 protein of Zhang et al. Claim 1 of ‘884 teaches the limitations of claim 148 of the instant application in view of Zhang et al. Claim 2 of ‘884 further limits with a UGI domain which is recited in claim 149 of the instant application in view of Zhang et al. Claim 3 of ‘884 further limits the napDNAbp domain to a Cas9 domain which is recited in claim 151 of the instant application in view of Zhang et al. Claim 7 of ‘884 teaches a second UGI domain which is recited in claim 156 of the instant application. Claim 159 of the instant application recites a fusion protein comprising the same limitations as claims 10 and 11 of ‘884.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 131 and 170-172 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. SEQ ID Nos: 6-9 are free of prior art. SEQ ID Nos: 12-14 are free of prior art.
Conclusion
No claim is in condition for allowance.
/DALTON EDWARD KIEFER/Examiner, Art Unit 1652
/ROBERT B MONDESI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1652