DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 7/31/2024, is being considered by the examiner.
Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a plurality of silicon photodetectors positioned behind the upconversion layer” must be shown or the feature(s) must be canceled from the claims 1-20. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0178337 A1), (“Lin”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Sofronov et al. (US Patent US 12,389,089 B2), (“Sofronov”).
Regarding claim 1, Lin meets the claim limitations as follow.
An image sensor ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]), comprising: an upconversion layer (photo-detecting layer) [Lin: para. 0005] configured to emit visible light (control circuitry controlling the one or more light sources, and/or optical structures for manipulating the light emitted from the one or more light sources. In some embodiments, the light source may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) or vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) emitting light that can be absorbed by the absorption region in the optical sensing apparatus. For example, the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B] in response to infrared light (photo-detecting layer having a second absorption region configured to absorb light in at least a mid-infrared spectrum) [Lin: para. 0005] when electrons in the upconversion layer are charged to a metastable state ((During operation, a voltage bias may be applied between the first contact 164 and the second contact 162 to extract photo-carriers (e.g., electrons) from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 to the first photo-detecting layer 110, so the photo-carriers may be processed by a circuitry (e.g., readout circuit) electrically coupled to the first contact 164. In some implementations, the second photo-detecting layer 140 is formed over a first portion of the first photo-detecting layer 110, and the first contact 164 is formed over a second portion of the first photo-detecting layer 110) [Lin: para. 0025; Figs. 3A-3B]; (The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1E-1F] – Note: Lin describes the charging operation of photodetectors); an energy emitter configured to (a charge region) [Lin: para. 0006] charge the electrons in the upconversion layer to the metastable state ((a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; ( Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184. The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1E-1F]; and a plurality of silicon photodetectors positioned behind the upconversion layer ((Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184. The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1E-1F] – Note: It is clear from Figs. 1E and 1F that the photodetector’s charge region 182 is behind the photo-detecting layer 140 and the photo-detecting layer 120) and configured to detect the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer (One example aspect of the present disclosure is directed to an optical sensing apparatus includes a first photo-detecting layer having a first absorption region configured to absorb light in at least a visible spectrum) [Lin: para. 0005].
Lin does not explicitly disclose a metastable state (Emphasis added).
a metastable state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
the metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31].
a plurality of silicon photodetectors positioned behind the upconversion layer ((In another aspect, the invention provides a photodetector that includes a silicon substrate having a microstructured layer incorporating inclusions containing an electron-donating constituent. The microstructured layer is adjacent an
underlying bulk silicon portion and forms a diode junction therewith. The term "diode junction" is known in the art and generally refers to a junction that can exhibit current rectification (e.g., a junction that exhibits drastically different 20
conductivities in one bias direction relative to the other). A well-known example of a diode junction is a p-n junction) [Mazur: col. 3, line 12-22]; (The exemplary photodetector 46, functioning as a photodiode, also includes a plurality of metallic electrical contacts 52, which have a finger grid geometry, that are disposed on the micro-structured surface layer. In addition, an electrical contact 54, in the form of a metallic coating layer, is disposed on the back surface of the silicon substrate (i.e., the undisturbed silicon surface opposite the micro-structured surface) that substantially covers the entire surface. In this exemplary embodiment, a chromium/gold alloy (Cr/Au) is employed for fabricating the electrical contact) [Mazur: col. 15, line 9-18]; (By way of example, FIG. 11A schematically illustrates a photodetector 46 according to one embodiment of the invention that includes a microstructured silicon wafer 48 having a microstructured surface layer that is formed in a silicon substrate 51 by irradiating a plurality of locations on a substrate's surface) [Mazur: col. 14, line 61-66; Figs. 11A-11B] – Note: It is clear in Figs. 11A and 11B that the Cr/Au electrical contact 54 of the photodetector is at the bottom. Hence, it is behind the upconversion layer).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor, Sofronov further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
an upconversion layer configured to emit visible light in response to infrared light (The thermal sensor includes a first region onto which first infrared light is incident, a visible light radiation region configured to radiate visible light generated by incidence of the first infrared light on the first region, a second region onto which the thermal image is incident, and an image sensor provided at a position to receive the visible light radiated from the visible light radiation region, and the
first region, the second region, and the visible light radiation region each may include a nonlinear optical material) [Sofronov: col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 7; Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin and Mazur with Sofronov to program the system to implement of Sofronov’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin and Mazur with Sofronov will improve sensitivity of the thermal
sensor [Sofronov: col. 7, line 64-65].
Regarding claim 2, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the energy emitter (a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006] includes a high energy light ((In some cases, the transmitter unit 214 is implemented by two different semiconductor chips, such a laser emitter chip on III-V substrate and a Si laser driver chip on Si substrate) [Lin: para. 0033] – Note: Laser is a high energy light) or an electronic charge pump.
Regarding claim 7, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein each of the plurality of silicon photodetectors (the photodetector 100e/100f may include) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1E and 1F] include one or more light scattering structures.
Lin does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
one or more light scattering structures.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows.
one or more light scattering structures ((Light Scattering and Trapping in Different Thin Film Photovoltaic Devices) [Mazur: page 11]; (Rutherford backscattering spectroscopy (RBS)) [Mazur: col. 8, line 17-18]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Regarding claim 8, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the upconversion layer is a first upconversion layer (photo-detecting layer) [Lin: para. 0005], wherein the upconversion layer is further configured to emit a first visible light in response to short wave infrared (SWIR) light (the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B], wherein the metastable state is a first metastable state, wherein the energy emitter is a first energy emitter ((a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; ( Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184. The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1A-1F] – Note: Lin describes the charging operation of photodetectors to reach the metastable state), and
wherein the image sensor ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003])further comprises:
a second upconversion layer (photo-detecting layer) [Lin: para. 0005] positioned in front of the plurality of silicon photodetectors (the photodetector 100e/100f may include) [Lin: para. 0030; Please see more details in Figs 1A to 1F]. and configured to emit a second visible light in response to near infrared (NIR) light (the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B] when electrons in the second upconversion layer are charged to a second metastable state (a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; and
a second energy emitter configured to charge the electrons in the second upconversion layer to the second metastable state ((a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; ( Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184. The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1A-1F] – Note: Lin describes the charging operation of photodetectors to reach the metastable state).
Lin does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the metastable state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows.
the metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31]
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor, Sofronov further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
an upconversion layer configured to emit visible light in response to infrared light (The thermal sensor includes a first region onto which first infrared light is incident, a visible light radiation region configured to radiate visible light generated by incidence of the first infrared light on the first region, a second region onto which the thermal image is incident, and an image sensor provided at a position to receive the visible light radiated from the visible light radiation region, and the
first region, the second region, and the visible light radiation region each may include a nonlinear optical material) [Sofronov: col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 7; Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin and Mazur with Sofronov to program the system to implement of Sofronov’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin and Mazur with Sofronov will improve sensitivity of the thermal
sensor [Sofronov: col. 7, line 64-65].
Regarding claim 9, Lin meets the claim limitations as follow.
An image system ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]), comprising: an upconversion layer (photo-detecting layer) [Lin: para. 0005] configured to emit visible light (control circuitry controlling the one or more light sources, and/or optical structures for manipulating the light emitted from the one or more light sources. In some embodiments, the light source may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) or vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) emitting light that can be absorbed by the absorption region in the optical sensing apparatus. For example, the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B] in response to infrared light (photo-detecting layer having a second absorption region configured to absorb light in at least a mid-infrared (MIR) spectrum) [Lin: para. 0005] when electrons in the upconversion layer are charged to a metastable state ((During operation, a voltage bias may be applied between the first contact 164 and the second contact 162 to extract photo-carriers (e.g., electrons) from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 to the first photo-detecting layer 110, so the photo-carriers may be processed by a circuitry (e.g., readout circuit) electrically coupled to the first contact 164. In some implementations, the second photo-detecting layer 140 is formed over a first portion of the first photo-detecting layer 110, and the first contact 164 is formed over a second portion of the first photo-detecting layer 110) [Lin: para. 0025; Figs. 3A-3B]; (The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1E-1F] – Note: Lin describes the charging operation of photodetectors); a controller configured to (a controller 212) [Lin: para. 0033] charge the electrons in the upconversion layer to the metastable state ((a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; (Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184. The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1E-1F] – Note: Lin describes the charging operation of photodetectors to reach the metastable state); and a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) (the silicon-based substrate using a CMOS) [Lin: para. 0024] image sensor configured to ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]) detect the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer (One example aspect of the present disclosure is directed to an optical sensing apparatus includes a first photo-detecting layer having a first absorption region configured to absorb light in at least a visible spectrum) [Lin: para. 0005].
Lin does not explicitly disclose a metastable state (Emphasis added).
a metastable state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
the metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31].
a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor ((Munck: Generic building blocks for 3D integration and their application on hybrid CMOS image sensors, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Kapeldreef 75 - B-3001 Heverlee, Sep. 2008, 328 pages) [Mazur: Reference Cited on page 11]; (Solhusvik, J. et al. "A 1280x960 3.75um pixel CMOS imager with Triple Exposure HDR," Proc. of 2009 International Image Sensor Workshop, Bergen, Norway, Jun. 22-28, 2009) [Mazur: Reference Cited on page 9]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor, Sofronov further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
an upconversion layer configured to emit visible light in response to infrared light (The thermal sensor includes a first region onto which first infrared light is incident, a visible light radiation region configured to radiate visible light generated by incidence of the first infrared light on the first region, a second region onto which the thermal image is incident, and an image sensor provided at a position to receive the visible light radiated from the visible light radiation region, and the
first region, the second region, and the visible light radiation region each may include a nonlinear optical material) [Sofronov: col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 7; Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin and Mazur with Sofronov to program the system to implement of Sofronov’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin and Mazur with Sofronov will improve sensitivity of the thermal
sensor [Sofronov: col. 7, line 64-65].
Regarding claim 15, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Lin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
A cooling layer configured to reduce thermal noise in the CMOS (the silicon-based substrate using a CMOS) [Lin: para. 0024] image sensor ((imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]).
Lin does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
A cooling layer configured to reduce thermal noise.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lin further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows.
A cooling layer configured to reduce thermal noise (A photodetector formed according to the teachings of the invention can operate within a wide range of temperatures. In some cases, it may be advantageous to cool the photodetector
to decrease its average noise level. By way of example, FIG. 19A presents current-voltage curves corresponding to an n-doped microstructured silicon sample
made with femtosecond pulses at a fluence of about 4 kJ/m2 and annealed at 825 K at different operating temperatures. The measured current in both the back bias and forward bias conditions decreases with decreasing the temperature. At very low temperatures (below 100 K), conduction becomes very low for both forward and back biases. FIG. 19B shows the responsivity of such a micro structured wafer to incident radiation having a wavelength of 1064 nm (a wavelength close to the band gap of silicon at room temperature) at a back bias of -0.5 Vas a function of operating temperature. The measured responsivity drops with temperature. This behavior may be, however, different if the wavelength of the illuminating light is far from the silicon band gap. A graph of the dark current at a bias voltage of -0.5V as a function of temperature, however, shows that the noise decreases
much more rapidly that the responsivity) [Mazur: col. 20, line 30-51; Figs. 19A-B]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Regarding claim 16, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Lin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the upconversion layer is further configured to emit a first visible light in response to short wave infrared (SWIR) light (the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B], wherein the upconversion layer is a first upconversion layer (photo-detecting layer) [Lin: para. 0005], wherein the metastable state is a first metastable state, wherein the energy emitter is a first energy emitter ((a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; ( Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184. The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1A-1F] – Note: Lin describes the charging operation of photodetectors to reach the metastable state), and
wherein the image system (an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005] further comprises:
a second upconversion layer (photo-detecting layer) [Lin: para. 0005] configured to emit a second visible light in response to near infrared (NIR) light (the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B] when electrons in the second upconversion layer are charged to a second metastable state (a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; and wherein the controller configured to (a controller 212) [Lin: para. 0033] charge the electrons in the second upconversion layer to the second metastable state ((a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; ( Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184. The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Please see more details in Figs 1A-1F].
Lin does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the metastable state is a first metastable state
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows.
the metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31]
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Regarding claim 18, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Lin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the imaging system is included in at least one selected from the group consisting of an automobile, a vehicle, a camera, a cellular telephone, a tablet computing, a webcam, a video camera, a video surveillance system, and a video gaming system (Sensors are being used in many applications, such as smartphones, robotics, autonomous vehicles, proximity sensing, biometric sensing, image sensors, high-speed optical receiver, data communications, direct/indirect time-off light (TOF) ranging or imaging sensors, medical devices, etc. for object recognition, image enhancement, material recognition, and other relevant applications) [Lin: para. 0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Lin meets the claim limitations as follow.
A method for imaging low energy photons ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]), the method comprising:
charging the electrons in the upconversion layer to the metastable state ((a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; (Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184. The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1E-1F]; (During operation, a voltage bias may be applied between the first contact 164 and the second contact 162 to extract photo-carriers (e.g., electrons) from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 to the first photo-detecting layer 110, so the photo-carriers may be processed by a circuitry (e.g., readout circuit) electrically coupled to the first contact 164. In some implementations, the second photo-detecting layer 140 is formed over a first portion of the first photo-detecting layer 110, and the first contact 164 is formed over a second portion of the first photo-detecting layer 110) [Lin: para. 0025; Figs. 3A-3B] – Note: Lin describes the charging operation of photodetectors)); and
emitting visible light with the upconversion layer (control circuitry controlling the one or more light sources, and/or optical structures for manipulating the light emitted from the one or more light sources. In some embodiments, the light source may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) or vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) emitting light that can be absorbed by the absorption region in the optical sensing apparatus. For example, the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B] in response to infrared light (photo-detecting layer having a second absorption region configured to absorb light in at least a mid-infrared (MIR) spectrum) [Lin: para. 0005]; and detecting the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer (One example aspect of the present disclosure is directed to an optical sensing apparatus includes a first photo-detecting layer having a first absorption region configured to absorb light in at least a visible spectrum) [Lin: para. 0005] with a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) (the silicon-based substrate using a CMOS) [Lin: para. 0024] image sensor configured to ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]).
Lin does not explicitly disclose a metastable state (Emphasis added).
a metastable state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
the metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31].
a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor ((Munck: Generic building blocks for 3D integration and their application on hybrid CMOS image sensors, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Kapeldreef 75 - B-3001 Heverlee, Sep. 2008, 328 pages) [Mazur: Reference Cited on page 11]; (Solhusvik, J. et al. "A 1280x960 3.75um pixel CMOS imager with Triple Exposure HDR," Proc. of 2009 International Image Sensor Workshop, Bergen, Norway, Jun. 22-28, 2009) [Mazur: Reference Cited on page 9]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Claims 2, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0178337 A1), (“Lin”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”) , in view of Sofronov et al. (US Patent US 12,389,089 B2), (“Sofronov”), in view of Myrick et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0266291 A1), (“Myrick”).
Regarding claim 2, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the energy emitter (a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006] includes a high energy light ((In some cases, the transmitter unit 214 is implemented by two different semiconductor chips, such a laser emitter chip on III-V substrate and a Si laser driver chip on Si substrate) [Lin: para. 0033] – Note: Laser is a high energy light) or an electronic charge pump.
In the same field of endeavor Myrick further discloses the electronic charge pump as follows:
an electronic charge pump ((transistor NMOS pixel circuitry 5 micron pixel pitch with 1 % crosstalk, 250 Hz mean dark count rate (DCR) at 20 C, 36% photon
detection efficiency at 410 nm (PDE) and 107 ps FWHM jitter. 5-stage capacitive charge pump generates the 11V breakdown voltage from a standard 2.5V supply obviating external high voltage generation)) [Myrick: para. 0716]; (High-power fiber-laser pumped mid-infrared laser sources)) [Myrick: para. 1225]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin and Mazur with Myrick to program the system to implement of Myrick’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin and Mazur with Myrick will enable for a CCD imaging arrays providing improved functionality and performance [Myrick: para. 0245].
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 9 and 19. Lin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
reset a pixel array in the CMOS (the silicon-based substrate using a CMOS) [Lin: para. 0024] image sensor ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]) after the electrons in the upconversion layer are charged to the metastable state ((a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region) [Lin: para. 0006]; (Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184. The charge region 182 is configured to amplify photo-carriers generated from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 when operated above the breakdown voltage, such that the photodetector 100e/100f can be operated as an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD)) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1E-1F]; (During operation, a voltage bias may be applied between the first contact 164 and the second contact 162 to extract photo-carriers (e.g., electrons) from the second photo-detecting layer 140 and/or the third photo-detecting layer 120 to the first photo-detecting layer 110, so the photo-carriers may be processed by a circuitry (e.g., readout circuit) electrically coupled to the first contact 164. In some implementations, the second photo-detecting layer 140 is formed over a first portion of the first photo-detecting layer 110, and the first contact 164 is formed over a second portion of the first photo-detecting layer 110) [Lin: para. 0025; Figs. 3A-3B]); arrange the pixel array (the structures described herein can be spatially arranged in any orientation or manner, provided that the merits of embodiments of this disclosure are not deviated by such arrangement) [Lin: para. 0020] to be sensitive to the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer ((control circuitry controlling the one or more light sources, and/or optical structures for manipulating the light emitted from the one or more light sources. In some embodiments, the light source may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) or vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) emitting light that can be absorbed by the absorption region in the optical sensing apparatus. For example, the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B]; (The first photo-detecting layer 110 includes a first absorption region configured to absorb light in the visible spectrum and/or the NIR spectrum) [Lin: para. 0022]) for an integration time (time-of-flight) [Lin: para. 0003]; and capture an image frame generated by the CMOS (the silicon-based substrate using a CMOS) [Lin: para. 0024] image sensor ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]).
Lin does not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
reset a pixel array in the CMOS image sensor after the electrons in the upconversion layer are charged to the metastable state; arrange the pixel array to be sensitive to the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer for an integration time (the silicon-based substrate using a CMOS) [Lin: para. 0024]; and capture an image frame generated by the CMOS image sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a pixel array in the CMOS image sensor (Focal-Plane-Arrays and CMOS Readout Techniques of Infrared Imaging Systems) [Mazur: : Reference Cited on page 10];
the metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Lin and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
reset a pixel array; capture an image frame.
In the same field of endeavor Myrick further discloses the electronic charge pump as follows:
reset a pixel array (The imager circuitry can be in non-collecting reset mode to minimize "swamping" of the pixels by VIS or UV photons in the first image cycle) [Myrick: para. 0112]; capture an image frame generated by the CMOS image sensor (In "backside" CCD and CMOS imagers, image light image enters from the "backside" of the chip. The image photons generate electrons in the silicon substrate near respective image pixel circuits on the "frontside" of the imager. These image pixel electrons are captured, digitized and transmitted off-chip by circuitry on the "front side" of the imager) [Myrick: para. 0115].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin and Mazur with Myrick to program the system to implement of Myrick’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin and Mazur with Myrick will enable for a CCD imaging arrays providing improved functionality and performance [Myrick: para. 0245].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0178337 A1), (“Lin”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Sofronov et al. (US Patent US 12,389,089 B2), (“Sofronov”), in view of Lin et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0395847 Al), (“Lin_847”).
Regarding claim 3, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lin further meets the claim limitations as follow.
a plurality of microlenses positioned above the upconversion layer (photo-detecting layer) [Lin: para. 0005].
Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses positioned above the upconversion layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lin_847 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a plurality of microlenses positioned above the upconversion layer ((Turning to FIG. 40, the filter layer 210 and the micro-lens layer 332 are formed over and/or on the buffer oxide layer 328) [Lin_847: para. 0085; Figs. 4O]; (In some implementations, a micro-lens layer 332 is included above and/or on the filter layer 210. The microlens layer 332 may include a plurality of micro-lenses. In particular, the micro-lens layer 332 may include a respective micro-lens for pixel sensors in a pixel sensor array (e.g., each of the pixel sensors 204 included in the pixel sensor array 202)) [Lin_847: para. 0059; Figs. 4O]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Lin_847 to program the system to implement of Lin_847’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Lin_847 will enable for a CIS device for an image detection system that is used in a low-light environment. [Lin_847: para. 0016].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0178337 A1), (“Lin”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Sofronov et al. (US Patent US 12,389,089 B2), (“Sofronov”), in view of Xakhoni et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0162271 A1), (“Xakhoni”).
Regarding claim 4, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lin and Mazur do not disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses positioned between the upconversion layer and the plurality of silicon photodetectors.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xakhoni further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a plurality of microlenses positioned between the upconversion layer and the plurality of silicon photodetectors (In an embodiment, the image sensor arrangement further comprises a lens or an array of lenses being arranged between the first sensor layer and a source of electromagnetic radiation to be detected. The lens or the array of lenses is configured to direct incoming light towards the first sensor
layer and the second sensor layer. The lens or the array of lenses can be used to direct the light through openings of metals layers (for example metal layers comprised by the pixel wirings or the hybrid bonding interface) between the
first sensor layer and the second sensor layer. The lens can be a microlens, and the array of lenses can be an array of microlenses) [Xakhoni: para. 0051]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Xakhoni to program the system to implement of Xakhoni’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Xakhoni will enable the image sensor arrangement is capable of sensing light in at least two wavelength ranges and provides improved image perception and quantum efficiency [Xakhoni: para. 0008].
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0178337 A1), (“Lin”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Sofronov et al. (US Patent US 12,389,089 B2), (“Sofronov”), in view of Gartner et al. (US Patent 7.693,260 B2), (“Gartner”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 9. Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur do not disclose the following limitation.
a low-pass light filter positioned in front of the upconversion layer and configured to block high energy photons.
However, in the same field of endeavor Gartner further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a low-pass light filter positioned in front of the upconversion layer and configured to block high energy photons (filtering, the resulting spectrum contains a greater
amount of high energy photons than low energy photons, essentially a low-pass filter) [Gartner: col. 63, line 13-15].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Gartner to program the system to implement of Gartner’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Gartner will allow for an improved safety profile because less radiation will be applied to the retina and choroid normal blood vessels. [Gartner: col. 60, line 61-63].
Claims 6, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0178337 A1), (“Lin”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Sofronov et al. (US Patent US 12,389,089 B2), (“Sofronov”), in view of Jones et al. (US Patent 12,114,081 B2), (“Jones”).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Lin and Mazur meet the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 9. Lin and Mazur further meet the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer in response to the infrared light is inside a predetermined wavelength range (control circuitry controlling the one or more light sources, and/or optical structures for manipulating the light emitted from the one or more light sources. In some embodiments, the light source may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) or vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) emitting light that can be absorbed by the absorption region in the optical sensing apparatus. For example, the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B], wherein the image sensor further comprises a band-pass light filter positioned between the upconversion layer ((One example aspect of the present disclosure is directed to an optical sensing apparatus includes a first photo-detecting layer having a first absorption region configured to absorb light in at least a visible spectrum) [Lin: para. 0005]; (photo-detecting layer having a second absorption region configured to absorb light in at least a mid-infrared (MIR) spectrum) [Lin: para. 0005]) and the plurality of silicon photodetectors (Referring to FIGS. 1E and 1F as another example photodetectors 100e or 100f, in some implementations, the photodetector 100e/100f may include a charge region 182 and a well region 184) [Lin: para. 0030; Figs 1E-1F], and wherein the band-pass light filter is configured to block light having wavelengths outside the predetermined wavelength range.
Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a band-pass light filter.
wherein the band-pass light filter is configured to block light having wavelengths outside the predetermined wavelength range.
However, in the same field of endeavor Jones further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a band-pass light filter (with tailored band block or band pass, a device as disclosed can make a certain lasers, such as a certain wavelength near-IR laser, appear as a certain color for rapid identification by a viewer. As another example of the benefits of limited, selective filtering on the "unfiltered" channel described herein, there 30 may be a subtle spectral difference between a camouflage material and a natural background where the two look the same to the naked eye or a color sensor, but by putting a band block or a band pass in one of the two channels, a device as disclosed can produce a difference in how the color of the camo material is rendered, allowing the viewer to easily differentiate the material from the background. Likewise, for example, there may be a subtle spectral difference) [Jones: col. 18, line 24-37]).
wherein the band-pass light filter is configured to block light having wavelengths outside the predetermined wavelength range (Thus, the perceived color in the image of a specific laser, LED or other light source may be adjusted by including a narrow band blocking filter in the "unfiltered channel" selected to block the wavelength of that light source of interest. In a like manner, a narrow band pass can be used in the blocking band of the filtered channel) [Jones: col. 18, line 13-15].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Jones to program the system to implement of Jones’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Jones will allow viewers to see different images from different spectrum [Jones: col. 60, line 61-63].
Regarding claim 17, Lin and Mazur meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur further meet the claim limitations as follow.
block visible light with wavelengths outside the first predetermined wavelength range from entering at least a first portion of a pixel array (the structures described herein can be spatially arranged in any orientation or manner, provided that the merits of embodiments of this disclosure are not deviated by such arrangement) [Lin: para. 0020] in the CMOS (the silicon-based substrate using a CMOS) [Lin: para. 0024] image sensor ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]), and block visible light with wavelengths outside the second predetermined wavelength range from entering at least a second portion of the pixel array (the structures described herein can be spatially arranged in any orientation or manner, provided that the merits of embodiments of this disclosure are not deviated by such arrangement) [Lin: para. 0020].
Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
block visible light with wavelengths outside the first predetermined wavelength range, and block visible light with wavelengths outside the second predetermined wavelength range.
However, in the same field of endeavor Jones further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
block visible light with wavelengths outside the first predetermined wavelength range (Thus, the perceived color in the image of a specific laser, LED or other light source may be adjusted by including a narrow band blocking filter in the "unfiltered channel" selected to block the wavelength of that light source of interest. In a like manner, a narrow band pass can be used in the blocking band of the filtered channel) [Jones: col. 18, line 13-15].
block visible light with wavelengths outside the second predetermined wavelength range (Thus, the perceived color in the image of a specific laser, LED or other light source may be adjusted by including a narrow band blocking filter in the "unfiltered channel" selected to block the wavelength of that light source of interest. In a like manner, a narrow band pass can be used in the blocking band of the filtered channel) [Jones: col. 18, line 13-15].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Jones to program the system to implement of Jones’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Jones will allow viewers to see different images from different spectrum [Jones: col. 60, line 61-63].
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0178337 A1), (“Lin”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Sofronov et al. (US Patent US 12,389,089 B2), (“Sofronov”), in view of Lin et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0395847 Al), (“Lin_847”), in view of Myrick et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0266291 A1), (“Myrick”).
Regarding claim 11, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur do not disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to collimate the infrared light before the infrared light enters the upconversion layer (photo-detecting layer) [Lin: para. 0005].
Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to collimate the infrared light before the infrared light enters the upconversion layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lin_847 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a plurality of microlenses ((Turning to FIG. 40, the filter layer 210 and the micro-lens layer 332 are formed over and/or on the buffer oxide layer 328) [Lin_847: para. 0085; Figs. 4O]; (In some implementations, a micro-lens layer 332 is included above and/or on the filter layer 210. The microlens layer 332 may include a plurality of micro-lenses. In particular, the micro-lens layer 332 may include a respective micro-lens for pixel sensors in a pixel sensor array (e.g., each of the pixel sensors 204 included in the pixel sensor array 202)) [Lin_847: para. 0059; Figs. 4O]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Lin_847 to program the system to implement of Lin_847’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Lin_847 will enable for a CIS device for an image detection system that is used in a low-light environment. [Lin_847: para. 0016].
Lin, Mazur, and Lin_847 do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to collimate the infrared light.
In the same field of endeavor Myrick further discloses the deficient claim limitation as follows:
collimate the infrared light ((The broadband LED light was collimated with a condenser lens)) [Myrick: para. 0238]; (The infrared light source of the sensor system 1600 of FIG. 16 may comprise compact semiconductor near- and mid-IR diodes, tunable IR lasers, collimated IR plasmonic light sources tunable in the IR which can have a I-axis spread spectrum, or other suitable infrared spectroscopic light sources 1538) [Myrick: para. 0203; Fig. 16]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin, Sofronov, Mazur, and Lin_847 with Myrick to program the system to implement of Myrick’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin, Sofronov, Mazur, and Lin_847 with Myrick will enable for a CCD imaging arrays providing improved functionality and performance [Myrick: para. 0245].
Regarding claim 12, Lin meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Lin and Mazur do not disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to collimate the visible light (the one or more LEDs or VCSEL may emit light with a peak wavelength within the visible, NIR, SWIR, MIR, or any other applicable wavelengths) [Lin: para. 0034; Figs. 3A-3B] before the visible light enters the CMOS (the silicon-based substrate using a CMOS) [Lin: para. 0024] image sensor ((an optical sensing apparatus) [Lin: para. 0005]; (imaging sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]; (image sensors) [Lin: para. 0003]).
Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to collimate the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer before the visible light enters the CMOS image sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lin_847 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a plurality of microlenses ((Turning to FIG. 40, the filter layer 210 and the micro-lens layer 332 are formed over and/or on the buffer oxide layer 328) [Lin_847: para. 0085; Figs. 4O]; (In some implementations, a micro-lens layer 332 is included above and/or on the filter layer 210. The microlens layer 332 may include a plurality of micro-lenses. In particular, the micro-lens layer 332 may include a respective micro-lens for pixel sensors in a pixel sensor array (e.g., each of the pixel sensors 204 included in the pixel sensor array 202)) [Lin_847: para. 0059; Figs. 4O]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin, Sofronov, Mazur with Lin_847 to program the system to implement of Lin_847’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin, Sofronov, and Mazur with Lin_847 will enable for a CIS device for an image detection system that is used in a low-light environment. [Lin_847: para. 0016].
Lin, Sofronov, Mazur, and Lin_847 do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to collimate the visible light.
In the same field of endeavor Myrick further discloses the deficient claim limitation as follows:
collimate the visible light (The broadband LED light was collimated with a condenser lens)) [Myrick: para. 0238].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin, Sofronov, Mazur, and Lin_847 with Myrick to program the system to implement of Myrick’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin, Sofronov, Mazur, and Lin_847 with Myrick will enable for a CCD imaging arrays providing improved functionality and performance [Myrick: para. 0245].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information