DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
The Non-Final Rejection mailed out on 3/23/2026 is vacated. It is replaced by this Non-Final Rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 7/31/2024, is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik (US Patent 12,446,340 B2), (“Paik”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”).
Regarding claim 1, Paik meets the claim limitations as follow.
An image sensor (a sensor with upconversion layer) [Paik: Title] comprising: an upconversion layer (the disclosure describes a sensor having an upconversion layer) [Paik: col. 1, line 32-33] configured to emit visible light in response to infrared light (In some examples, the upconversion layer includes crystals having a dopant selected to absorb the incident electromagnetic radiation at a first range of wavelengths (e.g., greater than or equal to 1100 nm) and to emit electromagnetic radiation at a second range of wavelengths (e.g., less than 1100nm). In this way, the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 36-45] when electrons in the upconversion layer are charged to a metastable state (Additionally, the techniques may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a silicon substrate for a back side illuminated electron-based sensor) [Paik: col. 2, line 8-10]; (The emitted spectrum for a UPNC layer containing Ytterbium (Yb) and Erbium (Er) atoms is shown in FIG. 5. In this example 1550 nm laser energy stimulates upconversion layer 404 to emit mainly green photons having a 540 nm wavelength which may be absorbed by silicon and generate an electron signal) [Paik: col. 19, line 2-7; Fig. 5]); an energy emitter ((Crystals 110 may comprise a dopant configured to absorb light 106 and emit light 112) [Paik: col. 5, line 16-17]; (a negative electric charge) [Paik: col. 1, line 53]) configured to charge the electrons in the upconversion layer to the metastable state ((Additionally, the techniques may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a silicon substrate for a back side illuminated electron-based sensor) [Paik: col. 2, line 8-10]; (For example, an ytterbium dopant may absorb SWIR light by exciting an electron to populate the 5f orbital of an ytterbium atom, 10 which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light having a frequency that excites an electron of an erbium dopant atom to populate an orbital of its fourth shell, which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light 112) [Paik: col. 7, line 8-14; Fig. 5]); and a plurality of silicon photodetectors positioned below the upconversion layer (FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional block diagram illustrating an example sensor 100, in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. In the example shown, sensor 100 includes
upconversion layer 104 and photo-sensitive silicon substrate 102 (also referred to herein as "silicon substrate 102"). Sensor 100 may be configured to sense electromagnetic radiation 106 and electromagnetic radiation 108 (also referred to herein as "light 106" and light "108")) [Paik: col. 4, line 51-58; Figs. 1-4B] and configured to detect the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer (Silicon substrate 102 may be configured to detect and/or sense light 108) [Paik: col. 4, line 59-60; Figs. 1-3]; (the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 41-45].
Lin does not explicitly use a term “metastable” (Emphasis added).
a metastable state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses this limitation as follows:
a metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Regarding claim 2, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the energy emitter (Crystals 110 may comprise a dopant configured to absorb light 106 and emit light 112) [Paik: col. 5, line 16-17] includes a high energy light ((The material may have any or all of a substantially high absorption of light 108, a substantially high reflectivity, or a substantially high backscatter of light 108) [Paik: col. 6, line 60-63]; (higher frequency/energy light having wavelengths) [Paik: col. 11, line 53-54]) or an electronic charge pump (a negative electric charge) [Paik: col. 1, line 53].
Regarding claim 7, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein each of the plurality of silicon photodetectors include one or more light scattering structures (Non-limiting example applications for crystal layers applied to silicon imagers are disclosed. These may include scattering photon angle at detector photon input to increase NIR QE, optical up-conversion to allow SWIR wavelengths such as typical LIDAR wavelengths, e.g., 1500 nm, to be detected using silicon imagers, and providing a negative charge to stabilize silicon detectors) [Paik: col. 16, line 61-67].
In the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows.
one or more light scattering structures ((Light Scattering and Trapping in Different Thin Film Photovoltaic Devices) [Mazur: page 11]; (Rutherford backscattering spectroscopy (RBS)) [Mazur: col. 8, line 17-18]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Regarding claim 8, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the upconversion layer is a first upconversion layer (sensor 1600 includes upconversion layers 1604 and 1606 which may be substantially similar to upconversion layer 104) [Paik: col. 18, line 19-21; Figs 1, 16], wherein the upconversion layer is further configured to emit a first visible light in response to short wave infrared (SWIR) light (one or more upconversions layers, may be used to move wavelengths in the SWIR range (e.g., which are not otherwise detectable by silicon) into the NIR range which may be detectable by silicon. In some examples, upconversion efficiency may be low, e.g., less than 1 %, but the process may
be useful for relatively bright SWIR sources such as is used for laser designators and fiberoptic systems.) [Paik: col. 19, line 66 – col. 20, line 6], wherein the metastable state is a first metastable state, wherein the energy emitter is a first energy emitter (the upconversion layer may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a photo-sensitive silicon substrate of a back side
illuminated (BSI) sensor) [Paik: col. 1, line 52-55; Fig. 1], and
wherein the image sensor (sensors utilizing silicon as a photo-sensitive substrate, e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) or charge coupled device (CCD) sensors) [Paik: col. 1, line 61-63] further comprises:
a second upconversion layer (one or more upconversions layers) [Paik: col. 19, line 66] positioned in front of the plurality of silicon photodetectors (Although not illustrated in the figures, sensors that accord with techniques of this disclosure may include anodes, cathodes, support wires, a microlens, silicon doping, filters, and/or additional layers to support the operation of the sensor to convert detected electromagnetic radiation into electrical signals. Upconversion layer 104 may include a plurality of crystals 110, and each crystal of the plurality of crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of light 106 to shorter range of wavelengths similar to the range of wavelengths of light 108. For example, crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation 106 comprising a first range of wavelengths greater than 1100 nm to electromagnetic radiation 112 comprising a second range of wavelengths less than or equal to 1100 nm) [Paik: col. 5, line 16-17; Figs 1-3] and configured to emit a second visible light in response to near infrared (NIR) light (In some examples, the upconversion layer includes crystals having a dopant selected to absorb the incident electromagnetic radiation at a first range of wavelengths (e.g., greater than or equal to 1100 nm) and to emit electromagnetic radiation at a second range of wavelengths (e.g., less than 1100nm). In this way, the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 36-45] when electrons in the second upconversion layer are charged to a second metastable state (the upconversion layer may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a photo-sensitive silicon substrate of a back side illuminated (BSI) sensor) [Paik: col. 1, line 52-55; Fig. 1]; and
a second energy emitter configured to charge the electrons in the second upconversion layer to the second metastable state (Additionally, the techniques may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a silicon substrate for a back side illuminated electron-based sensor) [Paik: col. 2, line 8-10]; (The emitted spectrum for a UPNC layer containing Ytterbium (Yb) and Erbium (Er) atoms is shown in FIG. 5. In this example 1550 nm laser energy stimulates upconversion layer 404 to emit mainly green photons having a 540 nm wavelength which may be absorbed by silicon and generate an electron signal) [Paik: col. 19, line 2-7; Fig. 5]).
Paik does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the metastable state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows.
the metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31]
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Regarding claim 9, Paik meets the claim limitations as follow.
An image system (systems) [Paik: col. 4, line 4] comprising: an upconversion layer (the disclosure describes a sensor having an upconversion layer) [Paik: col. 1, line 32-33] configured to emit visible light in response to infrared light (In some examples, the upconversion layer includes crystals having a dopant selected to absorb the incident electromagnetic radiation at a first range of wavelengths (e.g., greater than or equal to 1100 nm) and to emit electromagnetic radiation at a second range of wavelengths (e.g., less than 1100nm). In this way, the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 36-45] when electrons in the upconversion layer are charged to a metastable state (Additionally, the techniques may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a silicon substrate for a back side illuminated electron-based sensor) [Paik: col. 2, line 8-10]; (The emitted spectrum for a UPNC layer containing Ytterbium (Yb) and Erbium (Er) atoms is shown in FIG. 5. In this example 1550 nm laser energy stimulates upconversion layer 404 to emit mainly green photons having a 540 nm wavelength which may be absorbed by silicon and generate an electron signal) [Paik: col. 19, line 2-7; Fig. 5]); a controller (a negative electric charge) [Paik: col. 1, line 53] configured to charge the electrons in the upconversion layer to the metastable state ((Additionally, the techniques may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a silicon substrate for a back side illuminated electron-based sensor) [Paik: col. 2, line 8-10]; (For example, an ytterbium dopant may absorb SWIR light by exciting an electron to populate the 5f orbital of an ytterbium atom, 10 which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light having a frequency that excites an electron of an erbium dopant atom to populate an orbital of its fourth shell, which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light 112) [Paik: col. 7, line 8-14; Fig. 5]); and a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor (sensors utilizing silicon as a photo-sensitive substrate, e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) or charge coupled device (CCD) sensors) [Paik: col. 1, line 61-63] and configured to detect the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer (Silicon substrate 102 may be configured to detect and/or sense light 108) [Paik: col. 4, line 59-60; Figs. 1-3]; (the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 41-45].
Lin does not explicitly use a term “metastable” (Emphasis added).
a metastable state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses this limitation as follows:
a metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Regarding claim 15, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
A cooling layer configured to reduce thermal noise in the CMOS image sensor (sensors utilizing silicon as a photo-sensitive substrate, e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) or charge coupled device (CCD) sensors) [Paik: col. 1, line 61-63].
Paik does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
A cooling layer configured to reduce thermal noise.
However, in the same field of endeavor Paik further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows.
A cooling layer configured to reduce thermal noise (A photodetector formed according to the teachings of the invention can operate within a wide range of temperatures. In some cases, it may be advantageous to cool the photodetector
to decrease its average noise level. By way of example, FIG. 19A presents current-voltage curves corresponding to an n-doped microstructured silicon sample
made with femtosecond pulses at a fluence of about 4 kJ/m2 and annealed at 825 K at different operating temperatures. The measured current in both the back bias and forward bias conditions decreases with decreasing the temperature. At very low temperatures (below 100 K), conduction becomes very low for both forward and back biases. FIG. 19B shows the responsivity of such a micro structured wafer to incident radiation having a wavelength of 1064 nm (a wavelength close to the band gap of silicon at room temperature) at a back bias of -0.5 Vas a function of operating temperature. The measured responsivity drops with temperature. This behavior may be, however, different if the wavelength of the illuminating light is far from the silicon band gap. A graph of the dark current at a bias voltage of -0.5V as a function of temperature, however, shows that the noise decreases
much more rapidly that the responsivity) [Mazur: col. 20, line 30-51; Figs. 19A-B]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Regarding claim 16, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the upconversion layer is further configured to emit a first visible light in response to short wave infrared (SWIR) light (For example, an ytterbium dopant may absorb SWIR light by exciting an electron to populate the 5f orbital of an ytterbium atom, 10 which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light having a frequency that excites an electron of an erbium dopant atom to populate an orbital of its fourth shell, which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light 112) [Paik: col. 7, line 8-14; Fig. 5], wherein the upconversion layer is a first upconversion layer (sensor 1600 includes upconversion layers 1604 and 1606 which may be substantially similar to upconversion layer 104) [Paik: col. 18, line 19-21; Figs 1, 16], wherein the metastable state is a first metastable state, wherein the energy emitter is a first energy emitter (the upconversion layer may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a photo-sensitive silicon substrate of a back side illuminated (BSI) sensor) [Paik: col. 1, line 52-55; Fig. 1], and
wherein the image system (systems) [Paik: col. 4, line 4] further comprises:
a second upconversion layer (sensor 1600 includes upconversion layers 1604 and 1606 which may be substantially similar to upconversion layer 104) [Paik: col. 18, line 19-21; Figs 1, 16] configured to emit a second visible light in response to near infrared (NIR) light (In some examples, the upconversion layer includes crystals having a dopant selected to absorb the incident electromagnetic radiation at a first range of wavelengths (e.g., greater than or equal to 1100 nm) and to emit electromagnetic radiation at a second range of wavelengths (e.g., less than 1100nm). In this way, the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 36-45] when electrons in the second upconversion layer are charged to a second metastable state (the upconversion layer may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a photo-sensitive silicon substrate of a back side illuminated (BSI) sensor) [Paik: col. 1, line 52-55; Fig. 1], and wherein the controller configured to (a negative electric charge) [Paik: col. 1, line 53] charge the electrons in the second upconversion layer to the second metastable state ((Additionally, the techniques may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a silicon substrate for a back side illuminated electron-based sensor) [Paik: col. 2, line 8-10]; (For example, an ytterbium dopant may absorb SWIR light by exciting an electron to populate the 5f orbital of an ytterbium atom, 10 which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light having a frequency that excites an electron of an erbium dopant atom to populate an orbital of its fourth shell, which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light 112) [Paik: col. 7, line 8-14; Fig. 5]).
Paik does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the metastable state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows.
the metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31]
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Regarding claim 18, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the imaging system is included in at least one selected from the group consisting of an automobile, a vehicle, a camera (night vision cameras) [Paik : col. 16, line 7], a cellular telephone, a tablet computing, a webcam, a video camera, a video surveillance system, and a video gaming system.
Regarding claim 19, Paik meets the claim limitations as follow.
A method (systems) [Paik: col. 4, line 4] low energy photons, the method comprising: charging electrons in an upconversion layer to a metastable state (Additionally, the techniques may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a silicon substrate for a back side illuminated electron-based sensor) [Paik: col. 2, line 8-10]; (The emitted spectrum for a UPNC layer containing Ytterbium (Yb) and Erbium (Er) atoms is shown in FIG. 5. In this example 1550 nm laser energy stimulates upconversion layer 404 to emit mainly green photons having a 540 nm wavelength which may be absorbed by silicon and generate an electron signal) [Paik: col. 19, line 2-7; Fig. 5]; (For example, an ytterbium dopant may absorb SWIR light by exciting an electron to populate the 5f orbital of an ytterbium atom, 10 which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light having a frequency that excites an electron of an erbium dopant atom to populate an orbital of its fourth shell, which may then decay to a lower orbital by emitting light 112) [Paik: col. 7, line 8-14; Fig. 5]); emitting visible light with the upconversion layer in response to infrared light (In some examples, the upconversion layer includes crystals having a dopant selected to absorb the incident electromagnetic radiation at a first range of wavelengths (e.g., greater than or equal to 1100 nm) and to emit electromagnetic radiation at a second range of wavelengths (e.g., less than 1100nm). In this way, the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 36-45]; and detecting the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer (Silicon substrate 102 may be configured to detect and/or sense light 108) [Paik: col. 4, line 59-60; Figs. 1-3]; (the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 41-45] with a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor (sensors utilizing silicon as a photo-sensitive substrate, e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) or charge coupled device (CCD) sensors) [Paik: col. 1, line 61-63].
Lin does not explicitly use a term “metastable” (Emphasis added).
a metastable state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses this limitation as follows:
a metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lin with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lin with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik (US Patent 12,446,340 B2), (“Paik”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Lin et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0395847 Al), (“Lin_847”).
Regarding claim 3, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
a plurality of microlenses positioned above the upconversion layer (Although not illustrated in the figures, sensors that accord with techniques of this disclosure may include anodes, cathodes, support wires, a microlens, silicon doping, filters, and/or additional layers to support the operation of the sensor to convert detected electromagnetic radiation into electrical signals. Upconversion layer 104 may include a plurality of crystals 110, and each crystal of the plurality of crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of light 106 to shorter range of wavelengths similar to the range of wavelengths of light 108. For example, crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation 106 comprising a first range of wavelengths greater than 1100 nm to electromagnetic radiation 112 comprising a second range of wavelengths less than or equal to 1100 nm) [Paik: col. 5, line 16-17; Figs 1-3].
Paik and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses positioned above the upconversion layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lin_847 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a plurality of microlenses positioned above the upconversion layer ((Turning to FIG. 40, the filter layer 210 and the micro-lens layer 332 are formed over and/or on the buffer oxide layer 328) [Lin_847: para. 0085; Figs. 4O]; (In some implementations, a micro-lens layer 332 is included above and/or on the filter layer 210. The microlens layer 332 may include a plurality of micro-lenses. In particular, the micro-lens layer 332 may include a respective micro-lens for pixel sensors in a pixel sensor array (e.g., each of the pixel sensors 204 included in the pixel sensor array 202)) [Lin_847: para. 0059; Figs. 40]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik and Mazur with Lin_847 to program the system to implement of Lin_847’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik and Mazur with Lin_847 will enable for a CIS device for an image detection system that is used in a low-light environment. [Lin_847: para. 0016].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik (US Patent 12,446,340 B2), (“Paik”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Xakhoni et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0162271 A1), (“Xakhoni”).
Regarding claim 4, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
a plurality of microlenses positioned between the upconversion layer and the plurality of silicon photodetectors (Although not illustrated in the figures, sensors that accord with techniques of this disclosure may include anodes, cathodes, support wires, a microlens, silicon doping, filters, and/or additional layers to support the operation of the sensor to convert detected electromagnetic radiation into electrical signals. Upconversion layer 104 may include a plurality of crystals 110, and each crystal of the plurality of crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of light 106 to shorter range of wavelengths similar to the range of wavelengths of light 108. For example, crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation 106 comprising a first range of wavelengths greater than 1100 nm to electromagnetic radiation 112 comprising a second range of wavelengths less than or equal to 1100 nm) [Paik: col. 5, line 16-17; Figs 1-3].
Paik and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses positioned between the upconversion layer and the plurality of silicon photodetectors.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xakhoni further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a plurality of microlenses positioned between the upconversion layer and the plurality of silicon photodetectors (In an embodiment, the image sensor arrangement further comprises a lens or an array of lenses being arranged between the first sensor layer and a source of electromagnetic radiation to be detected. The lens or the array of lenses is configured to direct incoming light towards the first sensor
layer and the second sensor layer. The lens or the array of lenses can be used to direct the light through openings of metals layers (for example metal layers comprised by the pixel wirings or the hybrid bonding interface) between the first sensor layer and the second sensor layer. The lens can be a microlens, and the array of lenses can be an array of microlenses) [Xakhoni: para. 0051]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik and Mazur with Xakhoni to program the system to implement of Xakhoni s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik and Mazur with Xakhoni will enable the image sensor arrangement is capable of sensing light in at least two wavelength ranges and provides improved image perception and quantum efficiency [Xakhoni: para. 0008].
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik (US Patent 12,446,340 B2), (“Paik”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Gartner et al. (US Patent 7.693,260 B2), (“Gartner”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 9. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
a low-pass light filter positioned in front of the upconversion layer and configured to block high energy photons (Although not illustrated in the figures, sensors that accord with techniques of this disclosure may include anodes, cathodes, support wires, a microlens, silicon doping, filters, and/or additional layers to support the operation of the sensor to convert detected electromagnetic radiation into electrical signals. Upconversion layer 104 may include a plurality of crystals 110, and each crystal of the plurality of crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of light 106 to shorter range of wavelengths similar to the range of wavelengths of light 108. For example, crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation 106 comprising a first range of wavelengths greater than 1100 nm to electromagnetic radiation 112 comprising a second range of wavelengths less than or equal to 1100 nm) [Paik: col. 5, line 16-17; Figs 1-3].
Paik and Mazur do not disclose the following limitation.
a low-pass light filter positioned in front of the upconversion layer and configured to block high energy photons.
However, in the same field of endeavor Gartner further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a low-pass light filter positioned in front of the upconversion layer and configured to block high energy photons (filtering, the resulting spectrum contains a greater
amount of high energy photons than low energy photons, essentially a low-pass filter) [Gartner: col. 63, line 13-15].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik and Mazur with Gartner to program the system to implement of Gartner’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik and Mazur with Gartner will allow for an improved safety profile because less radiation will be applied to the retina and choroid normal blood vessels. [Gartner: col. 60, line 61-63].
Claims 6, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik (US Patent 12,446,340 B2), (“Paik”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Jones et al. (US Patent 12,114,081 B2), (“Jones”).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Paik and Mazur meet the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 9. Paik and Mazur further meet the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer in response to the infrared light is inside a predetermined wavelength range (In some examples, the upconversion layer includes crystals having a dopant selected to absorb the incident electromagnetic radiation at a first range of wavelengths (e.g., greater than or equal to 1100 nm) and to emit electromagnetic radiation at a second range of wavelengths (e.g., less than 1100nm). In this way, the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 36-45], wherein the image sensor further comprises a band-pass light filter positioned between the upconversion layer and the plurality of silicon photodetectors (Although not illustrated in the figures, sensors that accord with techniques of this disclosure may include anodes, cathodes, support wires, a microlens, silicon doping, filters, and/or additional layers to support the operation of the sensor to convert detected electromagnetic radiation into electrical signals. Upconversion layer 104 may include a plurality of crystals 110, and each crystal of the plurality of crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of light 106 to shorter range of wavelengths similar to the range of wavelengths of light 108. For example, crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation 106 comprising a first range of wavelengths greater than 1100 nm to electromagnetic radiation 112 comprising a second range of wavelengths less than or equal to 1100 nm) [Paik: col. 5, line 16-17; Figs 1-3], and wherein the band-pass light filter is configured to block light having wavelengths outside the predetermined wavelength range.
Paik and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a band-pass light filter.
wherein the band-pass light filter is configured to block light having wavelengths outside the predetermined wavelength range.
However, in the same field of endeavor Jones further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a band-pass light filter (with tailored band block or band pass, a device as disclosed can make a certain lasers, such as a certain wavelength near-IR laser, appear as a certain color for rapid identification by a viewer. As another example of the benefits of limited, selective filtering on the "unfiltered" channel described herein, there 30 may be a subtle spectral difference between a camouflage material and a natural background where the two look the same to the naked eye or a color sensor, but by putting a band block or a band pass in one of the two channels, a device as disclosed can produce a difference in how the color of the camo material is rendered, allowing the viewer to easily differentiate the material from the background. Likewise, for example, there may be a subtle spectral difference) [Jones: col. 18, line 24-37]).
wherein the band-pass light filter is configured to block light having wavelengths outside the predetermined wavelength range (Thus, the perceived color in the image of a specific laser, LED or other light source may be adjusted by including a narrow band blocking filter in the "unfiltered channel" selected to block the wavelength of that light source of interest. In a like manner, a narrow band pass can be used in the blocking band of the filtered channel) [Jones: col. 18, line 13-15].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik and Mazur with Jones to program the system to implement of Jones’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik and Mazur with Jones will allow viewers to see different images from different spectrum [Jones: col. 60, line 61-63].
Regarding claim 17, Paik and Mazur meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Paik and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
block visible light with wavelengths outside the first predetermined wavelength range, and block visible light with wavelengths outside the second predetermined wavelength range.
However, in the same field of endeavor Jones further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
block visible light with wavelengths outside the first predetermined wavelength range (Thus, the perceived color in the image of a specific laser, LED or other light source may be adjusted by including a narrow band blocking filter in the "unfiltered channel" selected to block the wavelength of that light source of interest. In a like manner, a narrow band pass can be used in the blocking band of the filtered channel) [Jones: col. 18, line 13-15].
block visible light with wavelengths outside the second predetermined wavelength range (Thus, the perceived color in the image of a specific laser, LED or other light source may be adjusted by including a narrow band blocking filter in the "unfiltered channel" selected to block the wavelength of that light source of interest. In a like manner, a narrow band pass can be used in the blocking band of the filtered channel) [Jones: col. 18, line 13-15].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik and Mazur with Jones to program the system to implement of Jones’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik and Mazur with Jones will allow viewers to see different images from different spectrum [Jones: col. 60, line 61-63].
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik (US Patent 12,446,340 B2), (“Paik”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Myrick et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0266291 A1), (“Myrick”).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 9 and 19. Paik further meets the claim limitations as follow.
reset a pixel array in the CMOS image sensor (sensors utilizing silicon as a photo-sensitive substrate, e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) or charge coupled device (CCD) sensors) [Paik: col. 1, line 61-63] after the electrons in the upconversion layer are charged to the metastable state (the upconversion layer may provide a negative electric charge configured to stabilize the back surface of a photo-sensitive silicon substrate of a back side illuminated (BSI) sensor) [Paik: col. 1, line 52-55; Fig. 1]; arrange the pixel array to be sensitive to the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer for an integration time (FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional block diagram illustrating an example sensor 100, in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. In the example shown, sensor 100 includes upconversion layer 104 and photo-sensitive silicon substrate 102 (also referred to herein as "silicon substrate 102"). Sensor 100 may be configured to sense electromagnetic radiation 106 and electromagnetic radiation 108 (also referred to herein as "light 106" and light "108")) [Paik: col. 4, line 51-58; Figs. 1-4B]; (Silicon substrate 102 may be configured to detect and/or sense light 108) [Paik: col. 4, line 59-60; Figs. 1-3]; (the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 41-45]; (Sensor 140 may be configured to improve/increase a nighttime recognition range) [Paik: col. 8, line 51-52]); and capture an image frame (SWIR imaging) [Paik: col. 16, line 2] generated by the CMOS image sensor (sensors utilizing silicon as a photo-sensitive substrate, e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) or charge coupled device (CCD) sensors) [Paik: col. 1, line 61-63].
Paik does not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
reset a pixel array in the CMOS image sensor after the electrons in the upconversion layer are charged to the metastable state; arrange the pixel array to be sensitive to the visible light emitted by the upconversion layer for an integration time; and capture an image frame generated by the CMOS image sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor Mazur further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a pixel array in the CMOS image sensor (Focal-Plane-Arrays and CMOS Readout Techniques of Infrared Imaging Systems) [Mazur: : Reference Cited on page 10];
the metastable state (to cause a rearrangement of the atomic bonds within the metastable micro structured layer to enhance the density of charge carriers-electrons-within that layer. The term "charge carrier density" is known to those having ordinary skill in the art. To the extent that any further explanation may be required, it refers to density of those charged particles, e.g., electrons, that are primarily responsible for current conduction, e.g., electrons in the conduction
band states or in shallow impurity states below the conduction band) [Mazur: col. 11, line 22-31].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik with Mazur to program the system to implement of Mazur’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik with Mazur will enable the photodetectors according to the teachings of the invention provide a marked improvement over conventional silicon photodiodes where responsivities greater than 1 A/W [Mazur: col. 2, line 50-53].
Lin and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
reset a pixel array; capture an image frame.
In the same field of endeavor Myrick further discloses the electronic charge pump as follows:
reset a pixel array (The imager circuitry can be in non-collecting reset mode to minimize "swamping" of the pixels by VIS or UV photons in the first image cycle) [Myrick: para. 0112]; capture an image frame generated by the CMOS image sensor (In "backside" CCD and CMOS imagers, image light image enters from the "backside" of the chip. The image photons generate electrons in the silicon substrate near respective image pixel circuits on the "frontside" of the imager. These image pixel electrons are captured, digitized and transmitted off-chip by circuitry on the "front side" of the imager) [Myrick: para. 0115].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik and Mazur with Myrick to program the system to implement of Myrick’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik and Mazur with Myrick will enable for a CCD imaging arrays providing improved functionality and performance [Myrick: para. 0245].
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik (US Patent 12,446,340 B2), (“Paik”), in view of Mazur et al. (US Patent US 10,374,109 B2), (“Mazur”), in view of Myrick et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0266291 A1), (“Myrick”), in view of Lin et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0395847 Al), (“Lin”).
Regarding claim 11, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Paik further discloses the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to (Although not illustrated in the figures, sensors that accord with techniques of this disclosure may include anodes, cathodes, support wires, a microlens, silicon doping, filters, and/or additional layers to support the operation of the sensor to convert detected electromagnetic radiation into electrical signals. Upconversion layer 104 may include a plurality of crystals 110, and each crystal of the plurality of crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of light 106 to shorter range of wavelengths similar to the range of wavelengths of light 108. For example, crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation 106 comprising a first range of wavelengths greater than 1100 nm to electromagnetic radiation 112 comprising a second range of wavelengths less than or equal to 1100 nm) [Paik: col. 5, line 16-17; Figs 1-3] collimate the infrared light before the infrared light enters (NIR photons entering an imager) [Paik: col. 16, line 35] the upconversion layer (FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional block diagram illustrating an example sensor 100, in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. In the example shown, sensor 100 includes upconversion layer 104 and photo-sensitive silicon substrate 102 (also referred to herein as "silicon substrate 102"). Sensor 100 may be configured to sense electromagnetic radiation 106 and electromagnetic radiation 108 (also referred to herein as "light 106" and light "108")) [Paik: col. 4, line 51-58; Figs. 1-4B]; (Silicon substrate 102 may be configured to detect and/or sense light 108) [Paik: col. 4, line 59-60; Figs. 1-3]; (the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 41-45]; (Sensor 140 may be configured to improve/increase a nighttime recognition range) [Paik: col. 8, line 51-52]).
Paik and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to collimate the infrared light.
In the same field of endeavor Myrick further discloses the deficient claim limitation as follows:
collimate the infrared light ((The broadband LED light was collimated with a condenser lens)) [Myrick: para. 0238]; (The infrared light source of the sensor system 1600 of FIG. 16 may comprise compact semiconductor near- and mid-IR diodes, tunable IR lasers, collimated IR plasmonic light sources tunable in the IR which can have a I-axis spread spectrum, or other suitable infrared spectroscopic light sources 1538) [Myrick: para. 0203; Fig. 16]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik and Mazur with Myrick to program the system to implement of Myrick’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik and Mazur with Myrick will enable for a CCD imaging arrays providing improved functionality and performance [Myrick: para. 0245].
In the same field of endeavor, Lin further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
a plurality of microlenses ((Turning to FIG. 40, the filter layer 210 and the micro-lens layer 332 are formed over and/or on the buffer oxide layer 328) [Lin: para. 0085; Figs. 40]; (In some implementations, a micro-lens layer 332 is included above and/or on the filter layer 210. The microlens layer 332 may include a plurality of micro-lenses. In particular, the micro-lens layer 332 may include a respective micro-lens for pixel sensors in a pixel sensor array (e.g., each of the pixel sensors 204 included in the pixel sensor array 202)) [Lin: para. 0059; Figs. 40]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik, Mazur and Myrick with Lin to program the system to implement of Lin’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik, Mazur and Myrick with Lin will enable for a CIS device for an image detection system that is used in a low-light environment. [Lin: para. 0016].
Regarding claim 12, Paik meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Lin and Mazur do not disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to (Although not illustrated in the figures, sensors that accord with techniques of this disclosure may include anodes, cathodes, support wires, a microlens, silicon doping, filters, and/or additional layers to support the operation of the sensor to convert detected electromagnetic radiation into electrical signals. Upconversion layer 104 may include a plurality of crystals 110, and each crystal of the plurality of crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of light 106 to shorter range of wavelengths similar to the range of wavelengths of light 108. For example, crystals 110 may be configured to convert at least a portion of electromagnetic radiation 106 comprising a first range of wavelengths greater than 1100 nm to electromagnetic radiation 112 comprising a second range of wavelengths less than or equal to 1100 nm) [Paik: col. 5, line 16-17; Figs 1-3] collimate the visible light before the visible light enters (FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional block diagram illustrating an example sensor 100, in accordance with the techniques of the disclosure. In the example shown, sensor 100 includes upconversion layer 104 and photo-sensitive silicon substrate 102 (also referred to herein as "silicon substrate 102"). Sensor 100 may be configured to sense electromagnetic radiation 106 and electromagnetic radiation 108 (also referred to herein as "light 106" and light "108")) [Paik: col. 4, line 51-58; Figs. 1-4B]; (Silicon substrate 102 may be configured to detect and/or sense light 108) [Paik: col. 4, line 59-60; Figs. 1-3]; (the sensor may be used to detect, in the normal case, both shorter wavelength light within the first range of wavelengths, e.g., UV, visible, and NIR light, as well as longer wavelength light within the second range of wavelengths) [Paik: col. 1, line 41-45]; (Sensor 140 may be configured to improve/increase a nighttime recognition range) [Paik: col. 8, line 51-52]) the CMOS image sensor (sensors utilizing silicon as a photo-sensitive substrate, e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) or charge coupled device (CCD) sensors) [Paik: col. 1, line 61-63].
Paik and Mazur do not explicitly disclose the following limitation.
a plurality of microlenses configured to collimate the infrared light.
In the same field of endeavor Myrick further discloses the deficient claim limitation as follows:
collimate the infrared light ((The broadband LED light was collimated with a condenser lens)) [Myrick: para. 0238]; (The infrared light source of the sensor system 1600 of FIG. 16 may comprise compact semiconductor near- and mid-IR diodes, tunable IR lasers, collimated IR plasmonic light sources tunable in the IR which can have a I-axis spread spectrum, or other suitable infrared spectroscopic light sources 1538) [Myrick: para. 0203; Fig. 16]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik and Mazur with Myrick to program the system to implement of Myrick’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik and Mazur with Myrick will enable for a CCD imaging arrays providing improved functionality and performance [Myrick: para. 0245].
In the same field of endeavor, Lin further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
a plurality of microlenses ((Turning to FIG. 40, the filter layer 210 and the micro-lens layer 332 are formed over and/or on the buffer oxide layer 328) [Lin: para. 0085; Figs. 40]; (In some implementations, a micro-lens layer 332 is included above and/or on the filter layer 210. The microlens layer 332 may include a plurality of micro-lenses. In particular, the micro-lens layer 332 may include a respective micro-lens for pixel sensors in a pixel sensor array (e.g., each of the pixel sensors 204 included in the pixel sensor array 202)) [Lin: para. 0059; Figs. 40]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paik, Mazur and Myrick with Lin to program the system to implement of Lin’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Paik, Mazur and Myrick with Lin will enable for a CIS device for an image detection system that is used in a low-light environment. [Lin: para. 0016].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information