DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,429,582 to Bian et al.
Bian discloses in the abstract and figure 16, a system for measuring an efficiency of an optical waveguide termination device, comprising:
A splitter (163) having a first side (162) and a second side (164), the first side having a single port and the second side having two ports (figure 16 shows four outputs from the splitter), in operation, configured to connect to a first optical waveguide including a first optical waveguide termination device (165);
An input grating coupler (161) coupled as claimed; and
An output grating coupler (!67) coupled to a third waveguide (any output portion 166)
As to claims 2 and 13, there are at least 4 outputs form the MMI splitter (figure 16).
As to claims 3-4, the termination device (coupler) includes a taper structure (figures 1-2) with a portion being straight (14) and a wider portion on one end compared to the other.
As to claims 9-11, the waveguides are arranged as claimed where the upper has a different refractive index which would require different material compositions. The areas are surrounded and shown in figures 1A-1B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian in view of US 11,841,533 to Bian (hereinafter Bian2).
Bian discloses the invention except for certain disclosures relating to the below claims:
Claims 5-7: doped with n-type/p-type, concentrations and materials.
Claim 8: optical absorption
Claim 16: 3rd waveguide has different lengths from the 4th waveguide.
Bian2 discloses doping of the semiconductor materials to better allow conductivity (column 12, lines 17-59).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to dope the semiconductor materials as claimed and provide the lengths as claimed as taught by Bian2 in Bian to optimize conductivity.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 2024/0159963 to Ling et al.
Bian discloses the invention as claimed except for a vertical taper (claims 14-15) and the splitter being a Y-splitter (claims 17-20). It is noted that these features are commonly known in the art.
Ling discloses such features in the asymmetric taper (115; figure 1) and the splitter in paragraph 45. This optimizes the mode paths.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the features as taught by Lin in Bian to optimize mode separation and paths.
Claim 12: taper has periodic structure
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US 9,671,560 to Fondeur et al.
Bian discloses the invention as claimed except for the periodic structures in the taper area of the coupler.
Fonduer discloses a tapered periodic segmented waveguide coupler to adjust for spot size.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the periodic structures in the taper as taught by Fonduer in Bian to match a spot size of the optical signals being transmitted.
Conclusion
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874