DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/791,365 filed on 04/11/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 07/31/2024, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-Claims 1-6, 10-14, 16-20 are rejected.
-Claims 7-9, 15 are objected.
Priority
4. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 5, 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding claim 5 this claim recites the terms "the at least one second sub-configuration to be associated to the channel state information reference signal resource" which is not a positively cited claim language. Language that suggests or makes optional/intended use (for example, “so that”; “thereby”; “capable of”; “adapted to”; “able to”; “enable to”; “can be”; “may be”; “should be”; “….able”; “combinable”; “configurable”) but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation(s). Such clauses may render parts of the claims optional (see MPEP 2106 and 2111.04). Note: the limitations recited after “to be” clause is not given patentable weight because it is optional for the positively processing steps. The term may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. A similar alternative term such as a positive action verb to perform the function without any unnecessary ambiguity is suggested.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify its objective for the referred to claim language.
B. Regarding Claim 15 - Claim 15 recites “determine whether the channel state information at least one sub-configuration of the first plurality of sub-configurations and the channel state information of at least one sub-configuration of the second plurality of sub-configurations”, where to avoid questions of ambiguity, claim 15 is interpreted as intended to possibly recite “determine whether the channel state information” of “at least one sub-configuration of the first plurality of sub-configurations and the channel state information of at least one sub-configuration of the second plurality of sub-configurations”.
Should applicant contend otherwise and for verification, applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding Claims 1, 18, 20 (i.e. utilizing Claim 1 as an example) – Claim 1 recites terms “transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information” a second time after a preceding recitation of “transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information” a first time in Claim 1, where the office action presents a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “at least one indicator” recited the second time in Claim 1 finds antecedent basis, i.e. whether the recitation of “at least one indicator” recited the first time serves as the antecedent basis for the terms “at least one indicator” recited the second time, or whether the terms “at least one indicator” recited the second time refers to a separate instance of “at least one indicator”, different from the recitation of “at least one indicator” recited the first time.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Regarding Claims 2-17, 19 which depend from respective independent claims 1, 18, these claims (i.e. Claims 2-17, 19) are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph at least via dependency to the respective independent claims.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
9. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 12, 13, 16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 20210320703 A1), i.e. “Choi” in view of Onggosanusi et al. (US 20180062724 A1), i.e. “Onggosanusi”.
Regarding Claim 1. Choi teaches: An apparatus (Choi – FIG. 13 & ¶0331 […] a method for a terminal to report a plurality of channel state information ; FIG. 15 & ¶0380 […] the second device 1520 may be a UE; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0380 i.e. a UE and per ¶0331 i.e. a terminal reads on: An apparatus )
comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Choi FIG. 15 & ¶0383 […] The processor 1521 implements the functions, processes or steps, and/or methods proposed above in connection with FIGS. 1 to 13. Wireless interface protocol layers may be implemented by the processor. The memory 1522 is connected with the processor and stores various pieces of information for driving the processor.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0383 i.e. The processor 1521 reads on: comprising: at least one processor i.e. memory 1522 is connected with the processor and stores various pieces of information for driving the processor reads on: and at least one memory storing instructions that , and i.e. processor 1521 implements the functions, processes or steps, and/or methods proposed above in connection with FIGS. 1 to 13 and i.e. stores various pieces of information for driving the processor reads on: when executed by the at least one processor , where i.e. The processor 1521 implements the functions, processes or steps, and/or methods proposed above in connection with FIGS. 1 to 13 reads on: cause the apparatus at least to ):
determine whether channel state information of at least one first sub-configuration of a channel state information report configuration and channel state information of at least one second sub-configuration of the channel state information report configuration are associated to a channel state information reference signal resource (Choi & ¶0249 […] The base station may configure or indicate, in/to the UE, association information between the CSI for a specific TRP and CSI or beam report information for another TRP […] ; ¶0250[…] When reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs, the UE may reduce the amount of feedback by using the association information; ¶0252[…] Embodiment 1 […] association information between different reporting settings. […] if embodiment 1 is applied, the base station may configure association information for a plurality of specific reporting settings. When the association information is configured, the UE may select and report a beam or a precoding matrix indicator from among only the associated beams or precoding matrix indicators according to the association information; ¶0263 The association information may be association information between downlink reference signal resources ; ¶0265 […] downlink reference signal resource may be […] a CSI-RS resource, and the association between resource IDs may be considered as the association information; ¶0266 […] the association information may indicate association between CRS-RS resource indicators (CRIs) through CSI-RS in a reporting setting corresponding to the resource set or setting of a specific TRP (or BS or CC or Beam or Panel). […] The CRIs, SSB IDs, and SSB ID CRIs in the reporting setting in each TRP (or BS or CC or Beam or Panel) may be used as association information between reporting settings […]; ¶0267 […] CRI association information when the number of TRPs (or BSs or CCs or Beams or Panels) connected to the UE is 5 and there is a one-to-one association between CRIs based on a specific TRP0 (BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane0) ; ¶0331 […] a method for reporting a plurality of channel state information in a wireless communication system may include an association information reception step S1310 and a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 13 & ¶0249 i.e. the CSI for a specific TRP reads on: determine whether channel state information , where per 0249 i.e. the CSI for a specific TRP as it pertains to i.e. FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 i.e. reads on: of at least one first sub-configuration of , as it relates to i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 reads on: a channel state information report configuration . Furthermore per FIG. 13 & ¶0249 i.e. CSI or beam report information for another TRP reads on: channel state information , where per 0249 i.e. CSI or beam report information for another TRP as it pertains to i.e. FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 i.e. reads on: of at least one second sub-configuration as it relates to the same per ¶0331 i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 and per ¶0250 i.e. When reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs reads on: of the channel state information report configuration . Furthermore per ¶0250 i.e. When reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs the UE may reduce the amount of feedback by using the association information and per ¶0252 i.e. the base station may configure association information for a plurality of specific reporting settings reads on: are associated to i.e. channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs are associated to the association information. Furthermore i.e. per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. reporting a plurality of channel state information in a wireless communication system may include an association information and per ¶0250 i.e. When reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs i.e. involves i.e. using the association information, and where per ¶0263 i.e. The association information may be association information between downlink reference signal resources and per ¶0265 i.e. downlink reference signal resource may be […] a CSI-RS resource, and the association between resource IDs may be considered as the association information, and per ¶0267 i.e. there is a one-to-one association between based on a specific TRP0 (BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane0). Therefore the i.e. reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs i.e. using the association information based on i.e. a CSI-RS resource, and the association between resource IDs considered as the association information, and i.e. there is a one-to-one association between CRIs based on a specific TRP0 (BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane 0) reads on: a channel state information reference signal resource i.e. linking CSI-RS of specific TRP to all other CSI-RS CRIs of other TRPS );
determine to transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration (Choi & ¶0249 See above ; ¶0250 See above; ¶0252 See above; ¶0263 See above; ¶0265 See above; ¶0267 See above; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 […] based on TRP0, CRI0 set 3=CRI1 set 1=SSB ID2 set 1=SSB ID3 set 2 =CRI4 set 2 may be pre-determined as association information or set by the higher layer; ¶0276 […] When the UE feeds back CRI0 set 3 for TRP0, the UE may reduce the amount of feedback according to the association information and report the channel state information; ¶0277 […] the UE may transmit channel state information composed of resource IDs having a reduced payload for each TRP; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. an association information reception step S1310 and a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 where per ¶0276 i.e. the UE may reduce the amount of feedback according to the association information and report the channel state information and per ¶0277 i.e. the UE may transmit channel state information composed of resource IDs having a reduced payload reads on: determine to transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information . Furthermore per 0249 i.e. the CSI for a specific TRP as it pertains to i.e. FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 i.e. where per ¶0275 i.e. based on TRP0 and per ¶0276 i.e. the UE feeds back CRI0 set 3 for TRP0 reads on: of the at least one first sub-configuration , as it relates to i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320),
in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration being associated to the channel state information reference signal resource (Choi & ¶0249 See above ; ¶0250 See above; ¶0252 See above; ¶0263 See above; ¶0265 See above; ¶0267 See above; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See above; ¶0277 See above; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. reporting a plurality of channel state information in a wireless communication system may include an association information and per ¶0250 i.e. When reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs i.e. involves i.e. using the association information reads on: in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration . Furthermore, per ¶0263 i.e. The association information may be association information between downlink reference signal resources and per ¶0265 i.e. downlink reference signal resource may be […] a CSI-RS resource, and the association between resource IDs may be considered as the association information, and per ¶0267 i.e. there is a one-to-one association between based on a specific TRP0 (BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane0) and per ¶0275 i.e. based on TRP0 and per ¶0276 i.e. the UE feeds back CRI0 set 3 for TRP0 reads on: being associated to the channel state information reference signal resource );
and determine to not transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration (Choi & ¶0249 See above ; ¶0250 See above; ¶0252 See above; ¶0263 See above; ¶0265 See above; ¶0267 See above; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 […] See above; ¶0276 See above; ¶0277 See above; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. an association information reception step S1310 and a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 where per ¶0276 i.e. the UE may reduce the amount of feedback according to the association information and report the channel state information and per ¶0277 i.e. the UE may determine that the number of bits of the resource ID for TRP1 associated with CRI0 set 3 is log.sub.2 4(=2), the number of bits of the resource ID for TRP2 is log.sub.2 2(=1), TRP3 is 1, and TRP4 is 1 and i.e. the UE may transmit channel state information composed of i.e. resource IDs having a reduced payload as it pertains to other TRPS associated via CRI i.e. TRP1 – TRP3 are reduced as opposed to not reduced reads on: and determine to not transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information i.e. as it pertains to other TRPS associated via CRI i.e. TRP1 – TRP3 reads on: of the at least one second sub-configuration),
in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration being associated to the channel state information reference signal resource(Choi & ¶0249 See above ; ¶0250 See above; ¶0252 See above; ¶0263 See above; ¶0265 See above; ¶0267 See above; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See above; ¶0277 See above; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. reporting a plurality of channel state information in a wireless communication system may include an association information and per ¶0250 i.e. When reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs i.e. involves i.e. using the association information reads on: in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration . Furthermore, per ¶0263 i.e. The association information may be association information between downlink reference signal resources and per ¶0265 i.e. downlink reference signal resource may be […] a CSI-RS resource, and the association between resource IDs may be considered as the association information, and per ¶0267 i.e. there is a one-to-one association between based on a specific TRP0 (BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane0) and per ¶0275 i.e. based on TRP0 and per ¶0276 i.e. the UE feeds back CRI0 set 3 for TRP0 reads on: being associated to the channel state information reference signal resource ).
While Choi teaches: determine whether channel state information of at least one first sub-configuration of a channel state information report configuration and channel state information of at least one second sub-configuration of the channel state information report configuration are associated to a channel state information reference signal resource as noted above, where comprised in a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320, the CSI for a specific TRP and CSI or beam report information for another TRP are interpreted as at least one first sub-configuration and at least one second sub-configuration associated with multiple-channel state information reporting comprising channel state information report configuration, assuming arguendo configuration is implied, and therefore:
Choi (i.e. assuming arguendo) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): first sub-configuration and second sub-configuration
Onggosanusi teaches: determine whether channel state information of at least one first sub-configuration of a channel state information report configuration and channel state information of at least one second sub-configuration of the channel state information report configuration are associated to a channel state information reference signal resource (Onggosanusi – FIG. 11 & ¶0282 […] the CSI measurement and generation configuration includes the mapping linked between N CSI reporting configurations and M CSI-RS configurations, where N and M may not be the same and one-to-one is not necessary. For instance, FIG. 11 illustrates an example of CSI-RS and CSI reporting mapping for N=3 (n=0, 1, 2) and M=2 (m=0, 1), where the links are configured as: CSI reporting configured in settings 0 and 1 are calculated based on a CSI-RS measurement configured in CSI-RS setting 0 (0.fwdarw.0, and 1.fwdarw.0 in the figure), while CSI reporting configured in setting 2 is calculated based on a CSI-RS measurement configured in CSI-RS setting 1 (2-1 in diagram 1100). These links can be included in CSI measurement configuration.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 11 & ¶0282 i.e. CSI reporting configured in settings 0 reads on: determine whether channel state information of at least one first sub-configuration as per FIG. 11 pertains to CSI measurement configuration comprising CSI reporting 0, CSI reporting 1 CSI reporting 2 as depicted reads on: of a channel state information report configuration , and furthermore per ¶0282 i.e. CSI reporting configured in settings i.e. 1 reads on: and channel state information of at least one second sub-configuration as per FIG. 11 pertains to CSI measurement configuration comprising CSI reporting 0, CSI reporting 1 CSI reporting 2 as depicted reads on: of the channel state information report configuration , which per ¶0282 i.e. are calculated based on a CSI-RS measurement configured in CSI-RS setting 0 and depicted in FIG. 11 reads on: are associated to a channel state information reference signal resource );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with teachings of Onggosanusi, since Onggosanusi enables a reduced dimensional form of explicit CSI be configured to be reported, to reduce overhead and complexity of the explicit CSI reporting (Onggosanusi - ¶0264).
Regarding Claim 2. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Choi teaches: wherein: the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration comprises a precoding matrix indicator(Choi ¶0269 […] the association information in a one-to-many form may be configured. Specifically, the association between a single PMI and Resource ID in the reporting setting for a specific TRP (or BS or CC or Beam or Panel) and multiple PMIs and Resource IDs for other TRPs (or BSs or CCs or Beams or Panels) may be set; TABLE 7 & ¶0270 […] When the UE reports 1 as the PMI value for TRP0, the UE reports a PMI selected from 17 or 18 for TRP3 according to the one-to-many association information between PMIs. If there is a one-to-one association in the above association information, reporting for the remaining TRPs may be omitted, and if there is a one-to-many association, a PMI or CRI may be selected and reported in a reduced range according to the relevant association information. NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0269 i.e. the association between a single PMI and Resource ID in the reporting setting for a specific TRP (or BS or CC or Beam or Panel) i.e. TABLE 7 PMI 1 0 for TRP 0 may be selected or reported reads on: the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration comprises a precoding matrix indicator. Also See FIG. 11 where PMI is included for CSI reporting Setting #2, CSI reporting Setting #3, CSI reporting Setting #4);
and the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration comprises a precoding matrix indicator (Choi ¶0269 See above; TABLE 7 & ¶0270 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0269 i.e. the association between a single PMI and Resource ID in the reporting setting for a specific TRP (or BS or CC or Beam or Panel) and multiple PMIs and Resource IDs for other TRPs (or BSs or CCs or Beams or Panels) & per ¶0270 i.e. may be selected and reported i.e. CRI in Table 7 for TRP0 may be mapped to PMI listed for TRP 1, TRP2, TRP3 etc. reads on: and the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration comprises a precoding matrix indicator . Also See FIG. 11 where PMI is included for CSI reporting Setting #2, CSI reporting Setting #3, CSI reporting Setting #4 ).
Regarding Claim 4. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Onggosanusi teaches: wherein the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration are associated to the channel state information reference signal resource based on the channel state information report configuration (Onggosanusi – FIG. 11 & ¶0282 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 11 & ¶0282 i.e. CSI reporting configured in settings 0 reads on: wherein the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration, and furthermore per ¶0282 i.e. CSI reporting configured in settings i.e. 1 reads on: and the channel state information of at least one second sub-configuration, which per ¶0282 i.e. are calculated based on a CSI-RS measurement configured in CSI-RS setting 0 and depicted in FIG. 11 reads on: are associated to the channel state information reference signal resource , and as per FIG. 11 pertains to CSI measurement configuration comprising CSI reporting 0, CSI reporting 1 CSI reporting 2 as depicted reads on: based on the channel state information report configuration );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi in view of Onggosanusi , further with the teachings of Onggosanusi, since Onggosanusi enables a reduced dimensional form of explicit CSI be configured to be reported, to reduce overhead and complexity of the explicit CSI reporting (Onggosanusi - ¶0264).
Regarding Claim 5. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Choi teaches: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: select at least one channel state information reference signal resource indicator(Choi & ¶0249 See Claim 1 ; ¶0250 See Claim 1; ¶0252 See Claim 1; ¶0263 See Claim 1; ¶0265 See Claim 1; ¶0267 See Claim 1; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See claim 1; ¶0276 See claim 1; ¶0277 See claim 1; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. an association information reception step S1310 and a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 where per ¶0276 i.e. the UE may reduce the amount of feedback according to the association information and report the channel state information and per ¶0277 i.e. the UE may transmit channel state information composed of resource IDs i.e. TABLE 5 shows one to one mapping i.e. on the basis of CRI0 0 for TRP 0 reads on: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: select at least one channel state information reference signal resource indicator);
and determine the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration to be associated to the channel state information reference signal resource, based on the selected at least one channel state information reference signal resource indicator ((Choi & ¶0249 See Claim 1 ; ¶0250 See Claim 1; ¶0252 See Claim 1; ¶0263 See Claim 1; ¶0265 See Claim 1; ¶0267 See Claim 1; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See claim 1; ¶0276 See claim 1; ¶0277 See claim 1; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. an association information reception step S1310 and a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 where per ¶0276 i.e. the UE may reduce the amount of feedback according to the association information and report the channel state information and per ¶0277 i.e. the UE may transmit channel state information composed of resource IDs i.e. TABLE shows one to one mapping i.e. on the basis of CRI0 0 for TRP 0 reads on: and determine the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration. Furthermore, where per one to one mapping of TABLE 5 TRP 1 correspondingly lists CRI1 2 i.e. is also included in the per FIG. 13 1320 i.e. transmitted channel state information composed of resource IDs reads on: and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration, where TABLE 5 based on one to one mapping of CRI 0 of TRP 0 is the basis for the association information reads on: to be associated to the channel state information reference signal resource, based on the selected at least one channel state information reference signal resource indicator ).
Regarding Claim 6. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Choi teaches: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to determine the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration to be associated to the channel state information reference signal resource in response to at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a channel state information reference signal resource for the at least one first sub-configuration being linked to a channel state information reference signal resource for the at least one second sub-configuration (Choi & ¶0249 See above ; ¶0250 See above; ¶0252 See above; ¶0263 See above; ¶0265 See above; ¶0267 See above; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See above; ¶0277 See above; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. reporting a plurality of channel state information in a wireless communication system may include an association information and per ¶0250 i.e. When reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs i.e. involves i.e. using the association information reads on: in response to. Furthermore, per ¶0263 i.e. The association information may be association information between downlink reference signal resources and per ¶0265 i.e. downlink reference signal resource may be […] a CSI-RS resource, and the association between resource IDs may be considered as the association information, and per ¶0267 i.e. there is a one-to-one association between based on a specific TRP0 (BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane0) and per ¶0275 i.e. based on TRP0 and per ¶0276 i.e. the UE feeds back CRI0 where per the association one to one association of TABLE 5 CRI for TRP 0 reads on: a channel state information reference signal resource for the at least one first sub-configuration maps to CRI for TRP 1, TRP 2 etc. reads on: being linked to a channel state information reference signal resource for the at least one second sub-configuration i.e. Therefore i.e. reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs i.e. using the association information based on i.e. a CSI-RS resource, and the association between resource IDs considered as the association information, and i.e. there is a one-to-one association between CRIs based on a specific TRP0 (BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane 0) per TABLE 5 ),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a channel state information reference signal resource for the at least one first sub-configuration being linked to a channel state information reference signal resource for the at least one second sub-configuration, wherein at least one or a selected channel state information reference signal resource indicator for the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration points to the channel state information reference signal resource for the at least one first sub-configuration, and at least one or a selected channel state information reference signal resource indicator for the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration points to the channel state information reference signal resource for the at least one second sub-configuration(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a selected channel state information reference signal resource indicator for the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration being the same as a selected channel state information reference signal resource indicator for the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 12. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Choi teaches: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: transmit the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration within a channel state information report, based on the channel state information report configuration (Choi & ¶0249 See above ; ¶0250 See above; ¶0252 See above; ¶0263 See above; ¶0265 See above; ¶0267 See above; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See above; ¶0277 See above; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 13 & ¶0249 i.e. the CSI for a specific TRP reads on: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: transmit the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration, and per 0249 i.e. CSI or beam report information for another TRP as it pertains to i.e. FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 i.e. reads on: and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration, where per 0249 i.e. the CSI for a specific TRP i.e. and i.e. of another TRP as it pertains to i.e. FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 i.e. reads on: within a channel state information report, based on the channel state information report configuration , as it relates to i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320.).
Regarding Claim 13. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Onggosanusi teaches: wherein one or more of the following (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one or more of the following” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) applies to the at least one first sub-configuration and the at least one second sub-configuration:
the at least one first sub-configuration and the at least one second sub-configuration share a same parameter (Onggosanusi – FIG. 11 & ¶0282 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 11 & ¶0282 i.e. CSI reporting configured in settings 0 reads on: wherein one or more of the following applies to the at least one first sub-configuration and the at least one second sub-configuration: the at least one first sub-configuration, and furthermore per ¶0282 i.e. CSI reporting configured in settings i.e. 1 reads on: and the at least one second sub-configuration, which per ¶0282 i.e. are calculated based on a CSI-RS measurement configured in CSI-RS setting 0 and depicted in FIG. 11 reads on: share a same parameter ),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the at least one first sub-configuration and the at least one second sub-configuration correspond to a same domain adaptation (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one or more of the following” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the at least one first sub-configuration and the at least one second sub-configuration do not comprise a parameter(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one or more of the following” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the at least one first sub-configuration and the at least one second sub-configuration have a special configuration element or belong to a group of sub-configurations(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one or more of the following” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi in view of Onggosanusi , further with the teachings of Onggosanusi, since Onggosanusi enables a reduced dimensional form of explicit CSI be configured to be reported, to reduce overhead and complexity of the explicit CSI reporting (Onggosanusi - ¶0264).
Regarding Claim 16. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Choi teaches: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine to transmit the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration(Choi & ¶0249 See Claim 1 ; ¶0250 See Claim 1; ¶0252 See Claim 1; ¶0263 See Claim 1; ¶0265 See Claim 1; ¶0267 See Claim 1; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See Claim 1; ¶0276 See Claim 1; ¶0277 See Claim 1; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. an association information reception step S1310 and a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 where per ¶0276 i.e. the UE may reduce the amount of feedback according to the association information and report the channel state information and per ¶0277 i.e. the UE may transmit channel state information composed of resource IDs having a reduced payload reads on: determine to transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information . Furthermore per 0249 i.e. the CSI for a specific TRP as it pertains to i.e. FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 i.e. where per ¶0275 i.e. based on TRP0 and per ¶0276 i.e. the UE feeds back CRI0 set 3 for TRP0 reads on: of the at least one first sub-configuration , as it relates to i.e. a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320),
in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration being associated to a same or linked channel state information reference signal resource(Choi & ¶0249 See Claim 1 ; ¶0250 See Claim 1; ¶0252 See Claim 1; ¶0263 See Claim 1; ¶0265 See Claim 1; ¶0267 See Claim 1; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See Claim 1; ¶0276 See Claim 1; ¶0277 See Claim 1; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. reporting a plurality of channel state information in a wireless communication system may include an association information and per ¶0250 i.e. When reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs i.e. involves i.e. using the association information reads on: in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration . Furthermore, per ¶0263 i.e. The association information may be association information between downlink reference signal resources and per ¶0265 i.e. downlink reference signal resource may be […] a CSI-RS resource, and the association between resource IDs may be considered as the association information, and per ¶0267 i.e. there is a one-to-one association between based on a specific TRP0 (BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane0) and per ¶0275 i.e. based on TRP0 and per ¶0276 i.e. the UE feeds back CRI0 set 3 for TRP0 i.e. association information comprising TRP0 CRI0 reads on: being associated to a same or linked channel state information reference signal resource );
and determine to not transmit an indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration(Choi & ¶0249 See Claim 1 ; ¶0250 See Claim 1; ¶0252 See Claim 1; ¶0263 See Claim 1; ¶0265 See Claim 1; ¶0267 See Claim 1; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See Claim 1; ¶0276 See Claim 1; ¶0277 See Claim 1; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. an association information reception step S1310 and a multiple-channel state information reporting step S1320 where per ¶0276 i.e. the UE may reduce the amount of feedback according to the association information and report the channel state information and per ¶0277 i.e. the UE may determine that the number of bits of the resource ID for TRP1 associated with CRI0 set 3 is log.sub.2 4(=2), the number of bits of the resource ID for TRP2 is log.sub.2 2(=1), TRP3 is 1, and TRP4 is 1 and i.e. the UE may transmit channel state information composed of i.e. resource IDs having a reduced payload as it pertains to other TRPS associated via CRI i.e. TRP1 – TRP3 are reduced as opposed to not reduced reads on: and determine to not transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information i.e. as it pertains to other TRPS associated via CRI i.e. TRP1 – TRP3 reads on: of the at least one second sub-configuration ),
in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration being associated to the same or linked channel state information reference signal resource(Choi & ¶0249 See Claim 1 ; ¶0250 See Claim 1; ¶0252 See Claim 1; ¶0263 See Claim 1; ¶0265 See Claim 1; ¶0267 See Claim 1; FIG. 10 & ¶0275 See Claim 1; ¶0276 See Claim 1; ¶0277 See Claim 1; FIG. 13 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 13 & ¶0331 i.e. reporting a plurality of channel state information in a wireless communication system may include an association information and per ¶0250 i.e. When reporting channel state information (CSI) for the plurality of TRPs i.e. involves i.e. using the association information reads on: in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration . Furthermore, per ¶0263 i.e. The association information may be association information between downlink reference signal resources and per ¶0265 i.e. downlink reference signal resource may be […] a CSI-RS resource, and the association between resource IDs may be considered as the association information, and per ¶0267 i.e. there is a one-to-one association between based on a specific TRP0 (BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane0) and per ¶0275 i.e. based on TRP0 and per ¶0276 i.e. the UE feeds back CRI0 set 3 for TRP0 i.e. association information comprising TRP0 CRI0 reads on: being associated to the same or linked channel state information reference signal ).
Regarding Claim 18. Choi teaches: An apparatus (Choi – FIG. 13 & ¶0249 See claim 1; ¶0331 See claim 1 ; FIG. 14 & ¶0355 […]In S1410, the base station sets association information related to a plurality of channel state information and transmits it to a UE. ; FIG. 15 & ¶0380 […] the first device 1510 may be a base station; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0380 i.e. a UE and per ¶0249 & per ¶0355 i.e. the base station reads on: An apparatus )
comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Choi FIG. 15 & ¶0391 […] The processor 1511 may perform the functions, procedures, and/or methods described above. The processor 1511 may perform one or more protocols. For example, the processor 1511 may perform one or more layers of the air interface protocol. The memory 1512 may be connected to the processor 1511 and may store various types of information and/or commands[…] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0391 i.e. The processor 1511 reads on: comprising: at least one processor i.e. memory 1512 may be connected to the processor 1511 and may store various types of information and/or commands reads on: and at least one memory storing instructions that , and i.e. processor 1511 may perform the functions, procedures, and/or methods described above such as with FIGS. 1 to 13 and i.e. . The memory 1512 may be connected to the processor 1511 and may store various types of information and/or commands[…] reads on: when executed by the at least one processor , where i.e. processor 1511 may perform the functions, procedures, and/or methods described above such as with FIGS. 1 to 13 reads on: cause the apparatus at least to ):
transmit, to a user equipment, a channel state information report configuration comprising at least one first sub-configuration and at least one second sub-configuration (Choi & FIG. 13 & FIG. 14 & ¶0249, ¶0355 See above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0249 i.e. The base station may configure or indicate, in/to the UE, association information between the CSI for a specific TRP and CSI or beam report information for another TRP […] per ¶0355 i.e. ¶0355 […]In S1410, the base station sets association information related to a plurality of channel state information and transmits it to a UE reads on: transmit, to a user equipment. Furthermore per ¶0249 i.e. association information between the CSI for a specific TRP reads on: a channel state information report configuration comprising at least one first sub-configuration and i.e. indicate, in/to the UE, association information between the CSI for a specific TRP and i.e. CSI or beam report information for another TRP reads on: and at least one second sub-configuration ;
Similarly Onggosanusi – FIG. 12 ¶0331 i.e. After the TRP is aware of UE's capabilities on the CSI reporting, it configures the CSI reporting process including the CSI-RS/CSI-IM configuration, CSI measurement and calculation configuration, and CSI report or eMIMO-type configuration, and indicates the configuration to the UE also reads on: transmit, to a user equipment, Per FIG. 12 ¶331 i.e. configures the CSI reporting process including the CSI-RS/CSI-IM configuration, CSI measurement and calculation configuration, and CSI report or eMIMO-type configuration, and indicates i.e. the configuration i.e. such as FIG. 11 reads on: a channel state information report configuration comprising at least one first sub-configuration and at least one second sub-configuration );
receive at least one indicator in channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration, in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration being associated to a channel state information reference signal resource(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 18 recites features in conjunction with an apparatus i.e. that performs “receive at least one indicator […]” that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with an apparatus that i.e. performs “transmit at least one indicator […]” , and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate);
and wherein at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration is not received, in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration being associated to the channel state information reference signal resource(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 18 recites features in conjunction with an apparatus i.e. that performs “determine to not transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration […]” that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with an apparatus that i.e. performs “wherein at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration is not received […]” , and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. Choi teaches: A method (Choi – FIG. 13 & ¶0331 […] a method for a terminal to report a plurality of channel state information ; FIG. 15 & ¶0380 […] the second device 1520 may be a UE; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0331 i.e. a method for a terminal reads on: A method )
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites reciprocal features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
comprising: determining whether channel state information of at least one first sub-configuration of a channel state information report configuration and channel state information of at least one second sub-configuration of the channel state information report configuration are associated to a channel state information reference signal resource; determining to transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration, in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration being associated to the channel state information reference signal resource; and determining to not transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration, in response to the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration and the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration being associated to the channel state information reference signal resource(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites reciprocal features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
10. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Onggosanusi, further in view of HUANG et al. (US 20230071931 A1), i.e. “HUANG”.
Regarding Claim 3. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
Choi in view of Onggosanusi does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): first sub-configuration comprises a layer indicator; and the at least one second sub-configuration comprises a layer indicator;
HUANG teaches: wherein: the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration comprises a layer indicator; and the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration comprises a layer indicator (HUANG - ¶0222 […]the UE and the base station operating in a multiple transmission and reception point (multiple-TRP) communication mode, the report configuration message requesting a multiple-TRP transmission value including at least one of a quantity of layer indicator (LI) values and a strongest TRP indicator (STI) value; ¶0223 […] generating of the CSI information including the quantity of LI values includes: determining a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) for each TRP or TRP group associated with the multiple-TRP communication mode; determining a strongest spatial layer for a precoding matrix indicated by each of the PMIs; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0222 i.e. the report configuration message requesting a multiple-TRP transmission value and per ¶0223 i.e. generating of the CSI information including the quantity of LI values includes: determining a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) reads on: wherein: the at least one indicator in the channel state information. Furthermore per ¶0223 i.e. for each TRP or TRP group reads on: of the at least one first sub-configuration associated with the multiple-TRP communication mode. Furthermore per ¶0223 i.e. generating of the CSI information including the quantity of LI values includes: determining a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) reads on: comprises a layer indicator for each TRP or TRP group. Likewise per ¶0222 i.e. the report configuration message requesting a multiple-TRP transmission value and per ¶0223 i.e. generating of the CSI information including the quantity of LI values includes: determining a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) reads on: and the at least one indicator in the channel state information. Furthermore per ¶0223 i.e. for each TRP or TRP group i.e. the other TRP of the more than one TRP reads on: of the at least one second sub-configuration associated with the multiple-TRP communication mode. Furthermore per ¶0223 i.e. generating of the CSI information including the quantity of LI values includes: determining a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) reads on: comprises a layer indicator for each TRP or TRP group ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi in view of Onggosanusi with teachings of HUANG, since HUANG enables a base station and a UE, that are operating in a multiple-TRP communication mode, to improve the performing of the channel state feedback procedure by employing a CSI report configuration that configures the information included in the CSI report (HUANG - ¶0009).
11. Claim 10, 11, 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Onggosanusi, further in view of Chen et al. (US 20150201429 A1), i.e. “Chen”.
Regarding Claim 10. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
Choi in view of Onggosanusi does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): wherein: the at least one indicator in the at least one first sub-configuration comprises a wideband precoding matrix indicator; and the at least one indicator in the at least one second sub-configuration comprises a wideband precoding matrix indicator;
Chen teaches: wherein: the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration comprises a wideband precoding matrix indicator; and the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration comprises a wideband precoding matrix indicator (Chen FIG. 16 & ¶0159 At block 1615, […] determining a first priority level of a first reporting type of CSI for the first cell; ¶0160 […] At block 1620, […] determining a second priority level of a second reporting type of CSI for the second cell; ¶0161 […] determining the first priority level of the first reporting type of CSI for the first cell, at block 1615, and determining the second priority level of the second reporting type of CSI for the second cell, at block 1620, may include: determining a top priority level when a reporting type of CSI includes at least one of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding type indicator (PTI), or a wideband precoding matrix indicator (PMI) (e.g., a reporting type of 3, 5, 6, or 2a); determining a medium priority level when a reporting type of ¶0162] CSI includes at least one of a wideband channel quality indication (CQI), or a wideband CQI with PMI (e.g., a reporting type of 2, 2b, 2c, or 4); and/or determining a low priority level when a reporting type of CSI includes at least one of a subband CQI, or a subband CQI with PMI (e.g., a reporting type of 1, 1a).; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0161 i.e. determining the first priority level of the first reporting type of CSI for the first cell, at block 1615, may include: determining a top priority level when a reporting type of CSI includes at least one of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding type indicator (PTI), or a wideband precoding matrix indicator (PMI) reads on: wherein: the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration comprises a wideband precoding matrix indicator; Furthermore per ¶0161 i.e. and determining the second priority level of the second reporting type of CSI for the second cell, at block 1620, may include: determining a top priority level when a reporting type of CSI includes at least one of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding type indicator (PTI), or a wideband precoding matrix indicator (PMI) reads on: and the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration comprises a wideband precoding matrix indicator ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi in view of Onggosanusi with teachings of Chen, since Chen enables procedures to resolve existing resource conflict in an uplink subframe, where reporting of the uplink control information for each of the first cell, the second cell, the third cell, the fourth cell, and the fifth cell may be prioritized such that uplink control information for one of the first cell, the second cell, the third cell, the fourth cell, and the fifth cell is transmitted during a particular instance of the resource (Chen - ¶0084).
Regarding Claim 11. Choi in view of Onggosanusi and Chen teaches: The apparatus of claim 10,
furthermore Chen teaches: wherein a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration is different from a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration (Chen FIG. 16 & ¶0161 See claim 10; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0161 determining a top priority level when a reporting type of CSI includes at least one of a rank indicator (RI) reads on: wherein a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration. Furthermore per ¶0161 i.e. determining a medium priority level when a reporting type of ¶0162] CSI includes at least one of a wideband channel quality indication (CQI), or a wideband CQI with PMI (e.g., a reporting type of 2, 2b, 2c, or 4) i.e. no RI included reads on: is different from a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration i.e. a lack of a RI in second configuration where priority is based on RI presence ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi in view of Onggosanusi and Chen with further with the teachings of Chen, since Chen enables procedures to resolve existing resource conflict in an uplink subframe, where reporting of the uplink control information for each of the first cell, the second cell, the third cell, the fourth cell, and the fifth cell may be prioritized such that uplink control information for one of the first cell, the second cell, the third cell, the fourth cell, and the fifth cell is transmitted during a particular instance of the resource (Chen - ¶0084).
Regarding Claim 19. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 18,
(See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 19 recites reciprocal features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein: the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration comprises a precoding matrix indicator; and the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration comprises a precoding matrix indicator(See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 19 recites reciprocal features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
12. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Onggosanusi, further in view of Hindy et al. (US 20240414652 A1), i.e. “Hindy”.
Regarding Claim 14. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
Choi in view of Onggosanusi does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): the at least one first sub-configuration comprises a first plurality of sub-configurations;
Hindy teaches: wherein the at least one first sub-configuration comprises a first plurality of sub-configurations (Hindy - ¶0026 a remote unit 102 may receive, from a network entity, a first indication of a network energy saving mode. In some embodiments, the remote unit 102 may receive, from the network entity, a second indication of a CSI reporting setting associated with multiple sub-configurations corresponding to multiple power control offset values based at least in part on receiving the first indication, wherein the CSI report setting is associated with a plurality of CSI report quantities, wherein a first group of values of the plurality of the CSI report quantities is common for a subset of the multiple sub-configurations, and wherein each value of a second group of values of the plurality of the CSI report quantities is exclusive for each sub-configuration of the subset of multiple sub-configurations; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0026 i.e. the remote unit 102 may receive, from the network entity, a second indication of a CSI reporting setting associated with multiple sub-configurations corresponding to multiple power control offset values reads on: wherein the at least one first sub-configuration. Furthermore per ¶0026 i.e. multiple sub-configurations corresponding to multiple power control offset values based at least in part on receiving the first indication, wherein the CSI report setting is associated with a plurality of CSI report quantities, wherein a first group of values of the plurality of the CSI report quantities is common for i.e. a subset of the multiple sub-configurations reads on: comprises a first plurality of sub-configurations ),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the at least one second sub-configuration comprises a second plurality of sub-configurations(Hindy - ¶0026 a remote unit 102 may receive, from a network entity, a first indication of a network energy saving mode. In some embodiments, the remote unit 102 may receive, from the network entity, a second indication of a CSI reporting setting associated with multiple sub-configurations corresponding to multiple power control offset values based at least in part on receiving the first indication, wherein the CSI report setting is associated with a plurality of CSI report quantities, wherein a first group of values of the plurality of the CSI report quantities is common for a subset of the multiple sub-configurations, and wherein each value of a second group of values of the plurality of the CSI report quantities is exclusive for each sub-configuration of the subset of multiple sub-configurations; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0026 i.e. the remote unit 102 may receive, from the network entity, a second indication of a CSI reporting setting associated with i.e. multiple sub-configurations corresponding to multiple power control offset values i.e. the second one of the multiple configurations reads on: or the at least one second sub-configuration. Furthermore per ¶0026 i.e. multiple sub-configurations corresponding to multiple power control offset values based at least in part on receiving the first indication, wherein the CSI report setting is associated with a plurality of CSI report quantities, wherein a first group of values of the plurality of the CSI report quantities is common for i.e. a subset of the multiple sub-configurations i.e. as applied to the second one of the multiple sub-configurations reads on: comprises a second plurality of sub-configurations ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi in view of Onggosanusi with teachings of Hindy, since Hindy enables procedures to reduce UL feedback overhead (Hindy - ¶0042).
13. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Onggosanusi, further in view of HAO et al. (US 20230087003 A1), i.e. “HAO”.
Regarding Claim 17. Choi in view of Onggosanusi teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Choi teaches: wherein a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration is the same as a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration (Choi ¶0262 […] In Table 4, PMI0 1 means that the PMI for TRP0 (or BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane0) is 1. When the UE transmits CQI0=1 and PMI0=1 through TRP0 as feedback of channel state information, TRP2 uses a precoder (PMI2 8) having a PMI of 8 and a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) having a CQI of 7 according to the one-to-one association information. In this case, assuming that each rank indicator (RI) is 1 considering the characteristics of the terahertz communication environment, the UE reports channel state information only for TRP0 while omitting a reporting of channel state information for the remaining TRP1 to TRP4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0262 i.e. In Table 4, PMI0 1 means that the PMI for TRP0 (or BS0 or CC0 or Beam0 or Pane0) is 1. i.e. assuming that each rank indicator (RI) is 1 Reads on: wherein a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration is the same , where i.e. When the UE transmits CQI0=1 and PMI0=1 through TRP0 as feedback of channel state information, TRP2 uses a precoder (PMI2 8) having a PMI of 8 and a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) having a CQI of 7 according to the one-to-one association information and i.e. i.e. assuming that each rank indicator (RI) is 1 reads on: the same as a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration )
While Choi teaches wherein a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration is the same as a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration where the association information is PMI, assuming Choi implies a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration is the same as a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration and therefore
Choi in view of Onggosanusi does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions): wherein a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration is the same as a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration;
HAO teaches: wherein a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration is the same as a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration (HAO FIG. 5 & ¶0115 As shown by reference number 555, the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may be calculated jointly based at least in part on mutual dependency between the CSI-RS 0 and CSI-RS 1, as indicated in the multiple CSI report configurations. In some aspects, based at least in part on using an SDM transmission scheme, a CQI, a PMI, an RI, and/or the like may be calculated assuming interference with each other (e.g., by accounting for cross-layer interference). In some aspects, based at least in part on using an SDM transmission scheme, a CQI, a PMI, an RI and/or the like may be calculated based at least in part on an assumption of a joint transmission using CSI reference resources associated with CSI report configuration 0 and CSI report configuration 1. In some aspects, based at least in part on using an FDM or TDM transmission scheme, a same RI may be reported for both TRPs, a PMI may be calculated independently, and a CQI may be calculated independently; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0115 i.e. the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may be calculated jointly based at least in part on mutual dependency between the CSI-RS 0 and CSI-RS 1 where i.e. the CSI report 0 and i.e. a same RI may be reported for both TRPs reads on: wherein a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration is the same as i.e. the CSI report 1 and i.e. a same RI may be reported for both TRPs reads on: as a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration , where in this case i.e. the CSI report 0 and the CSI report 1 may be calculated jointly based at least in part on mutual dependency between the CSI-RS 0 and CSI-RS 1 i.e. are associated by the CSI-RS resource relationship ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi in view of Onggosanusi with teachings of HAO, since HAO enables communications in a coordinated manner to improve reliability, increase throughput (HAO - ¶0084).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 7-9, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7. The apparatus of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine to transmit the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration, in response to an index of the at least one first sub-configuration being higher or lower than an index of the at least one second sub-configuration; and determine to not transmit the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration, in response to the index of the at least one second sub-configuration being lower or higher than the index of the at least one first sub-configuration”.
Regarding Claim 8. The apparatus of claim 7, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the index of the at least one first sub-configuration and the index of the at least one second sub-configuration correspond to respective positions of the at least one first sub-configuration and the at least one second sub-configuration within the channel state information report configuration”.
Regarding Claim 9. The apparatus of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine to transmit the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one first sub-configuration, in response to a rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration being higher than a rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration; and determine to not transmit the at least one indicator in the channel state information of the at least one second sub-configuration, in response to the rank indicator of the at least one first sub-configuration being higher than the rank indicator of the at least one second sub-configuration”.
Regarding Claim 15. The apparatus of claim 14, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine whether the channel state information at least one sub-configuration of the first plurality of sub-configurations and the channel state information of at least one sub-configuration of the second plurality of sub-configurations are associated to the channel state information reference signal resource; and perform at least one of: determine to transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information of a respective at least one of the first plurality of sub-configurations, and determine to not transmit a plurality of respective indicators in the channel state information of the second plurality of sub-configurations, in response to the channel state information of the at least one sub-configuration of the first plurality of sub-configurations and the channel state information of the at least one sub-configuration of the second plurality of sub-configurations being associated to the channel state information reference signal resource, or determine to transmit a plurality of respective indicators in the channel state information of the first plurality of sub-configurations, and determine to not transmit at least one indicator in the channel state information of a respective at least one of the second plurality of sub-configurations, in response to the channel state information of the at least one sub-configuration of the first plurality of sub-configurations and the channel state information of the at least one sub-configuration of the second plurality of sub-configurations being associated to the channel state information reference signal resource”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414