Claim Rejections -35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (2025/0364720).
Regarding Claim 1, Chang et al. (2025/0364720) discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a housing (inherent feature to enclose electronic component in order to provide protection); and
an antenna module (abstract) disposed on the housing and including:
a feeding radiation element (4) electrically connected to a feeding element (annotated fig. 1 below), wherein the feeding radiation element includes a first radiating portion (42 or 41) (fig. 2);
a switching circuit (6);
a radiating element (3) electrically connected to the switching circuit (6) (fig. 1), wherein the radiating element (3) (fig. 1) and the first radiating portion (42 or 41) (fig. 2) are separated from and coupled with each other; and
a floating radiation element (2) separated from and coupled with the radiating element (3), wherein the floating radiation element (2) and the switching circuit are separated from each other (6).
Claim 10 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 2, Chang discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the feeding radiation element (4) further includes a second radiating portion (41 or annotated below), a part of the floating radiation element (annotated below) is located between the radiating element (3) and the second radiating portion, and the part of the floating radiation element is separated from and coupled with the radiating element and the second radiating portion (41 or annotated below).
Claim 11 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 4, Chang discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the feeding radiation element (4) further includes a second radiating portion (42 or annotated in figure 1 below), a part of the radiating element (3) is located between the floating radiation element (2) and the second radiating portion (42), and the part of the radiating element is separated from and coupled with the floating radiation element (2) and the second radiating portion (42 or annotated in figure 1 below).
Claim 13 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 6, Chang discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the radiating element (3) includes a connection end, the radiating element (3) is electrically connected to the switching circuit (6) through the connection end, the feeding radiation element (4) further includes a feeding portion (Center of 4. Annotated below) and a second radiating portion (41),
the feeding portion is connected to the first radiating portion (42) and the second radiating portion (41), and the feeding element (signal source) feeds a signal through the feeding portion (center of 4. Annotated below);
wherein the signal is transmitted to the connection end through a first signal transmission path (annotated), and the first signal transmission path includes the feeding portion (center of 4. Annotated below), the first radiating portion (42), and the radiating element (3);
wherein the signal is transmitted to the connection end through a second signal transmission path (annotated below), the second signal transmission path includes the feeding portion (center 4. Annotated below), the second radiating portion (41), the radiating element (3), and the floating radiation element (2), and a length of the first signal transmission path is different from a length of the second signal transmission path (first signal transmission path is longer. Annotated below).
Regarding Claim 7, Chang discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the switching circuit (6 or 62) includes a first path, and the first path has a first switch (fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 9, Chang discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising a proximity sensing circuit (61), wherein the proximity sensing circuit is electrically connected to the radiating element (paragraphs [0009], [0038] to [0040]).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-11, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qian et al. (2024/0304991).
Regarding Claim 1, Qian et al. (2024/0304991) discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a housing (abstract); and
an antenna module disposed on the housing (Abstract) and including:
a feeding radiation element (46) electrically connected to a feeding element (6) wherein the feeding radiation element (46) includes a first radiating portion (41);
a switching circuit (7);
a radiating element (5) electrically connected to the switching circuit (7), wherein the radiating element (5) (fig. 2 shows radiating element 5 is connected to the switch 7) and the first radiating portion (41) (“switching circuit 7 is switched to the first mode, the first radiating portion 41…are excited by the feeding element 6”, paragraph [0034] shows first radiating portion 41 is coupled to the switch) are separated from and coupled with each other (Fig. 2 shows that they are separated but coupled with each other via switch 7); and
a floating radiation element (2, or 21/22) separated from and coupled with the radiating element (5) (since they have different function, they are also functionally separated but coupled together electrically) (See annotated Figure 3 below), wherein the floating radiation element (2, 21/22) and the switching circuit are separated (functionally or physically separated) from each other (Fig. 2).
Claim 10 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 2, Qian discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the feeding radiation element (46) further includes a second radiating portion (42), a part of the floating radiation element (2 or 21/22) is located between the radiating element (5) and the second radiating portion (42), and the part of the floating radiation element (2 or 21/22) is separated from and coupled with the radiating element (5) and the second radiating portion (42) (Figure. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Qian discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the feeding radiation element (46) further includes a second radiating portion (42), a part of the radiating element (5) is located between the floating radiation element (2 or 21/22) and the second radiating portion (42), and the part of the radiating element (5) is separated from and coupled with the floating radiation element (2 or 21/22) and the second radiating portion (42) (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Qian discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the radiating element (5) includes a connection end, the radiating element is electrically connected to the switching circuit (7) through the connection end, the feeding radiation element (46) further includes a feeding portion and a second radiating portion (42), the feeding portion is connected to the first radiating portion (41) and the second radiating portion (42), and the feeding element (46) feeds a signal through the feeding portion (annotated below);
wherein the signal is transmitted to the connection end through a first signal transmission path, and the first signal transmission path includes the feeding portion, the first radiating portion (41), and the radiating element (5) (paragraphs [0034], [0038], [0041]);
wherein the signal is transmitted to the connection end through a second signal transmission path, the second signal transmission path includes the feeding portion, the second radiating portion (42), the radiating element (5), and the floating radiation element (2 or 21/22), and a length of the first signal transmission path is different (e.g. length of the path to 41 is longer than the path to 42, fig. 2) from a length of the second signal transmission path (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Claim 15 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 7, Qian discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the switching circuit includes a first path, and the first path has a first switch (SW1) (Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 8, Qian discloses the electronic device according to claim 7, wherein the first path further includes a first passive element (E1), the switching circuit further includes a second path, and the second path has a second switch (SW2) and a second passive element (E2); wherein, in response to the first switch (SW1) and the second switch (SW2) being turned on or off, the switching circuit is switched to a first mode or a second mode; wherein an equivalent impedance of the switching circuit in the first mode is different from an equivalent impedance of the switching circuit in the second mode (fig. 3; “can be adjusted by different equivalent impedances generated by the switching circuit 7 in different modes”, paragraphs [0031] to [0033]).
Regarding Claim 9, Qian discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising a proximity sensing circuit (P), wherein the proximity sensing circuit (P) is electrically connected to the radiating element (5) (paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding Claim 11, Qian discloses the antenna module according to claim 10, wherein the feeding radiation element (46) further includes a second radiating portion (42), a part of the floating radiation element (2 or 21/22) is located between the radiating element (5) and the second radiating portion (42), and the part of the floating radiation element (2 or 21/22) is separated from and coupled with the radiating element (5) and the second radiating portion (42) (fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Qian discloses the antenna module according to claim 10, wherein the feeding radiation element (46) further includes a second radiating portion (42), a part of the radiating element (5) is located between the floating radiation element (2 or 21/22) and the second radiating portion (42), and the part of the radiating element (5) is separated from and coupled with the floating radiation element (2 or 21/22) and the second radiating portion (42) (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 8, 12, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (2025/0364720).
Regarding Claim 3, as discussed above, Chang essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the radiating element and the first radiating portion have a first coupling gap therebetween, and the first coupling gap ranges from 0.1 mm and 3 mm; wherein the part of the floating radiation element and the second radiating portion have a second coupling gap therebetween, and the second coupling gap ranges from 0.05 mm and 2 mm; wherein the floating radiation element and the radiating element have a third coupling gap therebetween, and the third coupling gap ranges from 0.1 mm and 3 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the gap between element within the claimed ranges (between 0.1mm and 3mm, 0.05mm and 2mm, etc) in order to fit or accommodate the antenna device into a desired size or shape compact printed circuit board in Chang since it has been held that changing in size merely involves routine skill in the art.
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package “of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck” were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) (“mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled.” 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Claim 12 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 5, as discussed above, Chang essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the radiating element and the first radiating portion have a first coupling gap therebetween, and the first coupling gap ranges from 0.1 mm and 3 mm; wherein the part of the radiating element and the second radiating portion have a second coupling gap therebetween, and the second coupling gap ranges from 0.05 mm and 2 mm; wherein the part of the radiating element and the floating radiation element have a third coupling gap therebetween, and the third coupling gap ranges from 0.1 mm and 3 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the gap between element within the claimed ranges (between 0.1mm and 3mm, 0.05mm and 2mm, etc) in order to fit or accommodate the antenna device into a desired size or shape compact printed circuit board in Chang since it has been held that changing in size merely involves routine skill in the art.
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package “of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck” were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) (“mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled.” 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Claim 14 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 8, Chang discloses the electronic device according to claim 7, wherein the first path (annotated below) further includes a first passive element (623), the switching circuit (62) further includes a second path (annotated below), and the second path has a second switch and a second passive element (621); wherein, in response to the first switch and the second switch being turned on or off, the switching circuit is switched to a first mode or a second mode (see mode, in paragraphs [0039] to [0042]).
As discussed above, Chang essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose wherein an equivalent impedance of the switching circuit in the first mode is different from an equivalent impedance of the switching circuit in the second mode.
However, since Chang teaches the first path comprising an inductor (623) and the second path comprising a capacitor (621), and all the paths sharing a variable capacitor (622), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modify the various impedance in each mode in order to adjust the switching frequency and obtain a desired voltage at the load.
Claim 15 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al. (2024/0304991).
Regarding Claim 3, as discussed above, Qian essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the radiating element and the first radiating portion have a first coupling gap therebetween, and the first coupling gap ranges from 0.1 mm and 3 mm; wherein the part of the floating radiation element and the second radiating portion have a second coupling gap therebetween, and the second coupling gap ranges from 0.05 mm and 2 mm; wherein the floating radiation element and the radiating element have a third coupling gap therebetween, and the third coupling gap ranges from 0.1 mm and 3 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the gap between element within the claimed ranges (between 0.1mm and 3mm, 0.05mm and 2mm, etc) in order to fit or accommodate the antenna device into a desired size or shape compact printed circuit board in Qian since it has been held that changing in size merely involves routine skill in the art.
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package “of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck” were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) (“mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled.” 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Claim 12 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 5, as discussed above, Qian essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the radiating element and the first radiating portion have a first coupling gap therebetween, and the first coupling gap ranges from 0.1 mm and 3 mm; wherein the part of the radiating element and the second radiating portion have a second coupling gap therebetween, and the second coupling gap ranges from 0.05 mm and 2 mm; wherein the part of the radiating element and the floating radiation element have a third coupling gap therebetween, and the third coupling gap ranges from 0.1 mm and 3 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the gap between element within the claimed ranges (between 0.1mm and 3mm, 0.05mm and 2mm, etc) in order to fit or accommodate the antenna device into a desired size or shape compact printed circuit board in Qian since it has been held that changing in size merely involves routine skill in the art.
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package “of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck” were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) (“mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled.” 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Claim 14 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844