DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in People’s Republic of China on March 4, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202220472166.3 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. An attempt by the Office to electronically retrieve priority documents, under the priority document exchange program, has been made on September 12, 2024, but has failed.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 8 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 4, the recitation “the other end” should read –[[the]]an other end--;
In claim 8, line 3, the recitation “surrounds the circle of side plate in a circle” should read --circumscribes the circular side plate
In claim 9, line 2, the recitation “the inside” should read –[[the]]an inside--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “an inner wall of the valve body” in line 5; however, the claim is unclear as to if this recitation refers to the same “an inner wall of the valve body” in claim 2, lines 3-4, or a different element therefrom.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the inside of the first support portion” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “the inside of the valve body” in claim 5, line 4, should read –[[the]]an inside of the valve body--.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a circle of recess” in line 5; however, it is unclear as to what is being claimed by this limitation. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “a circle of recess” in claim 6, line 5, should read –a circular recess--. Similarly, it is assumed that the recitation “the recess” in claim 6, lines 5-6, should read –the circular recess--.
Claim 7 the limitation “circle of side plate” in lines 2, 3 and 6; however, it is unclear as to what is being claimed by this limitation. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that all recitations of “circle of side plate” in claim 7 should read –circular side plate--.
Similarly, claim 8 recites the limitation “circle of side plate” in line 3, and is rejected for the same reason as claim 7, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 and 10, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US11603942 (“Arteta”).
Regarding claim 1, Arteta discloses an automatic drain valve, comprising:
a valve body (mainly defined by “55”), wherein the valve body is provided with an enclosed chamber (“95”) and a first opening (“90”) and second opening (“100”) communicating with the enclosed chamber separately, and the valve body is configured to pass through a drain outlet (“14”) and close the drain outlet (see fig. 3A), the first opening being located on an inner side (upper side, relative to the orientation of fig. 3A) of the drain outlet, and the second opening being exposed from the drain outlet (see fig. 3A); and
a water-soluble assembly (mainly defined by “120”, “105” and “115”), wherein the water-soluble assembly is disposed in the enclosed chamber, the water-soluble assembly is configured to close (see fig. 2A) the second opening and to open (see fig. 2B) the second opening after a water-soluble member (“120”) in the water-soluble assembly is dissolved in water.
Regarding claim 9, Arteta discloses a battery (see specification col. 5, lines 9-14), comprising:
a box (housing “10”), wherein the box is provided with a drain outlet (“14”) communicating the inside and outside of the box; and
the automatic drain valve (see figs. 3A and 3B), wherein the valve body of the automatic drain valve passes through the drain outlet and closes the drain outlet, and the automatic drain valve is fixedly connected to the drain outlet.
Regarding claim 10, Arteta discloses an electric apparatus (“electric vehicle”; see specification col. 5, lines 9-14), comprising: the battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 3-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objection(s) and/or rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the automatic drain valve, wherein: the water-soluble assembly comprises a sealing gasket and an elastic member, wherein the sealing gasket covers the second opening, two ends of the elastic member are connected to an inner wall of the valve body and the sealing gasket respectively, two ends of the water-soluble member abut against the inner wall of the valve body and the sealing gasket respectively, and the elastic member is in a tensile state under the support of the water-soluble member, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious, as best understood, the automatic drain valve, wherein: the valve body comprises a circle of side plate, a bottom plate, and a top cover, wherein the bottom plate and the top cover close two openings at two ends of the circle of side plate respectively, the bottom plate, the circle of side plate, and the top cover fit together to define the enclosed chamber, a radial size of the bottom plate is larger than a hole diameter of the drain outlet, a size of an outer contour of the circle of side plate is smaller than or equal to the hole diameter of the drain outlet, the top cover or the circle of side plate is provided with the first opening, and the bottom plate is provided with the second opening, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Claims 3-6 and 8, as best understood, are allowable because they depend upon an allowable claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE102024004036, US2026/0081331, US2014/0239208 and US2911988 disclose a drain valve comprising an actuator having a dissolvable member.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753