Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki (US 20160091757 A1), in view of Kim (US 20200013766 A1), Kamiya (US 20170250371 A1), Lee (US 20180100956 A1), and Cho (US 20190288212 A1).
Regarding independent claim 2, Miki teaches a display device comprising: a first wavelength-conversion layer overlapping with the second light-emitting element with the first layer and the second layer interposed between the first wavelength-conversion layer and the second light-emitting element (Fig. 4, 23, QD_G; [0050], "...the color layer 23 including the red wavelength conversion layer QD_R and the green wavelength conversion layer QD_G…"); a second wavelength-conversion layer overlapping with the third light-emitting element with the first layer and the second layer interposed between the second wavelength-conversion layer and the third light-emitting element (Fig. 4, 23, QD_R; [0050], "...the color layer 23 including the red wavelength conversion layer QD_R and the green wavelength conversion layer QD_G…");a first coloring layer over and overlapping with the first wavelength-conversion layer (Fig. 4, CF_G; [0049], "The green color layer 23_G includes a green color filter CF_G and a green wavelength conversion layer QD_G."); and a second coloring layer over and overlapping with the second wavelength-conversion layer (Fig. 4, CF_R; [0049], "The red color layer 23_R includes a red color filter CF_R and a red wavelength conversion layer QD_R."), wherein the first wavelength-conversion layer is configured to convert blue light from the second light-emitting element into green light ([0049], "The green color layer 23_G includes a green color filter CF_G and a green wavelength conversion layer QD_G.", [0051], "As the white light source, a white LED is used as an example, and the white LED is a combination of a blue LED and a YAG."), wherein the second wavelength-conversion layer is configured to convert blue light from the third light-emitting element into red light ([0049], "The red color layer 23_R includes a red color filter CF_R and a red wavelength conversion layer QD_R.", [0051], "As the white light source, a white LED is used as an example, and the white LED is a combination of a blue LED and a YAG."), wherein blue light from the first light-emitting element does not enter a wavelength- conversion layer (Fig. 4, CF_B; [0049], "The blue color layer 23_B includes a blue color filter CF_B.", (Notice that there is no wavelength conversion)), wherein the first coloring layer is configured to transmit the green light ([0049], "The green color layer 23_G includes a green color filter CF_G …"), wherein the second coloring layer is configured to transmit the red light ([0049], "The red color layer 23_R includes a red color filter CF_R….").
However, Miki does not teach a first light-emitting element; a second light-emitting element; a third light-emitting element; a first layer over the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element; a second layer over the first layer; wherein each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element comprises: a first light-emitting layer comprising a light-emitting substance emitting blue light, a second light-emitting layer comprising a light-emitting substance emitting blue light, and a charge-generation layer between the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer, wherein the first layer is a silicon oxide layer, and wherein the second layer is in contact with the first wavelength-conversion layer and the second wavelength-conversion layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches a first light-emitting element; a second light-emitting element; a third light-emitting element (Fig. 4, LD1,2,3; [0187], "...the first light emitting element LD1 is a blue light emitting element…", [0192], "...the second light emitting element LD2 is a blue light emitting element…", [0202], "...the third light emitting element LD3 is a blue light emitting element..."); Kamiya teaches a first layer over the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element (Fig. 2, 162; [0034], "A passivation film 160 is arranged over the second electrode 152. The passivation film 160 includes a first layer 162…"); wherein the first layer is a silicon oxide layer (Fig. 2, 162; [0035], "The first layer 162 preferably includes an inorganic compound, and the inorganic compound preferably includes silicon. For example, the inorganic compound is selected from silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, silicon nitride oxide, and the like."), Lee teaches a second layer over the first layer (Fig. 18, 450; [0132], "A band pass filter (BPF) 450 and a planarization layer 575 may be sequentially arranged between the color filter 400 and the in-cell polarization plate 565…"); and wherein the second layer is in contact with the first wavelength-conversion layer and the second wavelength-conversion layer (Fig. 18, 450; [0132], "A band pass filter (BPF) 450 and a planarization layer 575 may be sequentially arranged between the color filter 400 and the in-cell polarization plate 565…"), and Cho teaches wherein each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element comprises: a first light-emitting layer comprising a light-emitting substance emitting blue light (Fig. 2, 112a; [108], "The first light-emitting layer 112a may emit light having a first wavelength…Examples of the light color include blue, green, red, yellow, white, and the like. "), a second light-emitting layer comprising a light-emitting substance emitting blue light (Fig. 2, 112b; [0128], "The second light-emitting layer 112b may emit light having a second wavelength...Examples of the light color include blue, green, red, yellow, white, and the like."), and a charge-generation layer between the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 2, 120a; [0135], "The charge generation layer 120a is interposed between the first light-emitting unit 110a and the second light-emitting unit 110b.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Miki with the individual pixels of Kim "for displaying high-quality images", (Kim, [0003]), the silicon oxide layer of Kamiya so as to "prevent or suppress the reduction of the efficiency and lifetime of the light-emitting element", (Kamiya, [0005]), the second layer of Lee so as to transmit "only light of a color corresponding to the color filter region", (Lee, [0003]), and the layers of Cho so that each light-emitting element has "low driving voltage, high efficiency, and long lifespan characteristics", (Cho, [0007]).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 2. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the second layer is configured to transmit the blue light from each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element, and reflect the green light from the first wavelength-conversion layer and the red light from the second wavelength-conversion layer.
However, Lee further teaches wherein the second layer is configured to transmit the blue light from each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element, and reflect the green light from the first wavelength-conversion layer and the red light from the second wavelength-conversion layer ([0133], "The BPF 450 may transmit blue light and reflect red light and green light. ").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Miki, Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho with the transmission properties of the layer of Lee so as to transmit "only light of a color corresponding to the color filter region", (Lee, [0003]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 2. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the second layer is configured to transmit near-ultraviolet light or violet light and reflect light having longer wavelength than that of blue light.
However, Lee further teaches wherein the second layer is configured to transmit near-ultraviolet light or violet light and reflect light having longer wavelength than that of blue light (Fig. 19, 451; [0139], "...a BPF 451 disposed below the color filter 401 may transmit the UV light.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Miki, Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho with the transmission properties of the layer of Lee so as to transmit "only light of a color corresponding to the color filter region", (Lee, [0003]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 2, and further teaches wherein the first wavelength-conversion layer comprises first quantum dots, and wherein the second wavelength-conversion layer comprises second quantum dots ([0041], "The red wavelength conversion layer QD_R and the green wavelength conversion layer QD_G have fluophor or quantum dots or the like in their resin layers, respectively.").
Regarding dependent claim 10, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 2, and further teaches wherein the first coloring layer is configured to absorb blue light, and wherein the second coloring layer is configured to absorb blue light ([0041], "The red color filter CF_R, the green color filter CF_G and the blue color filter CF_B are resin layers which contain their respective color-material pigments and which absorb light other than the red color, light other than the green light and light other than the blue light, respectively.").
Regarding dependent claim 12, Miki, as previously combined with Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 2. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the light-emitting substance of each of the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer is a fluorescent material.
However, Cho further teaches wherein the light-emitting substance of each of the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer is a fluorescent material ([0108], "This first light-emitting layer 112a may include materials that emits red, green, blue, yellow and white light colors, and it may be formed using phosphorescent or fluorescent materials.", [0128], "This second light-emitting layer 112b may include materials that emits red, green, blue, yellow and white light colors, and it may be formed using phosphorescent or fluorescent materials.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Miki, Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho with the fluorescent material of Cho so that "light having a color corresponding to the changed energy level may be emitted", (Cho, [0127]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 2, and further teaches wherein the first coloring layer is in contact with the first wavelength-conversion layer, and wherein the second coloring layer is in contact with the second wavelength-conversion layer (Fig. 4, 23, QD, CF).
Regarding independent claim 3, Miki teaches a display device comprising: a first wavelength-conversion layer overlapping with the second light-emitting element with the first layer and the second layer interposed between the first wavelength-conversion layer and the second light-emitting element (Fig. 4, 23, QD_G; [0050], "...the color layer 23 including the red wavelength conversion layer QD_R and the green wavelength conversion layer QD_G…"); a second wavelength-conversion layer overlapping with the third light-emitting element with the first layer and the second layer interposed between the second wavelength-conversion layer and the third light-emitting element (Fig. 4, 23, QD_R; [0050], "...the color layer 23 including the red wavelength conversion layer QD_R and the green wavelength conversion layer QD_G…");a first coloring layer over and overlapping with the first wavelength-conversion layer (Fig. 4, CF_G; [0049], "The green color layer 23_G includes a green color filter CF_G and a green wavelength conversion layer QD_G."); and a second coloring layer over and overlapping with the second wavelength-conversion layer (Fig. 4, CF_R; [0049], "The red color layer 23_R includes a red color filter CF_R and a red wavelength conversion layer QD_R."), wherein the first wavelength-conversion layer is configured to convert blue light from the second light-emitting element into green light ([0049], "The green color layer 23_G includes a green color filter CF_G and a green wavelength conversion layer QD_G.", [0051], "As the white light source, a white LED is used as an example, and the white LED is a combination of a blue LED and a YAG."), wherein the second wavelength-conversion layer is configured to convert blue light from the third light-emitting element into red light ([0049], "The red color layer 23_R includes a red color filter CF_R and a red wavelength conversion layer QD_R.", [0051], "As the white light source, a white LED is used as an example, and the white LED is a combination of a blue LED and a YAG."), wherein blue light from the first light-emitting element does not enter a wavelength- conversion layer (Fig. 4, CF_B; [0049], "The blue color layer 23_B includes a blue color filter CF_B.", (Notice that there is no wavelength conversion)), wherein the first coloring layer is configured to transmit the green light ([0049], "The green color layer 23_G includes a green color filter CF_G …"), wherein the second coloring layer is configured to transmit the red light ([0049], "The red color layer 23_R includes a red color filter CF_R….").
However, Miki does not teach a first light-emitting element; a second light-emitting element; a third light-emitting element; a first layer over the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element; a second layer over the first layer; a third layer over the second layer; a fourth layer over the third layer; wherein each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element comprises: a first light-emitting layer comprising a light-emitting substance emitting blue light, a second light-emitting layer comprising a light-emitting substance emitting blue light, and a charge-generation layer between the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer, wherein the first layer is an oxide insulating layer, wherein the second layer is an organic insulating layer, wherein the third layer is an oxide insulating layer, and wherein the fourth layer is in contact with the first wavelength-conversion layer and the second wavelength-conversion layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches a first light-emitting element; a second light-emitting element; a third light-emitting element (Fig. 4, LD1,2,3; [0187], "...the first light emitting element LD1 is a blue light emitting element…", [0192], "...the second light emitting element LD2 is a blue light emitting element…", [0202], "...the third light emitting element LD3 is a blue light emitting element..."); Kamiya teaches a first layer over the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element (Fig. 2, 162; [0034], "A passivation film 160 is arranged over the second electrode 152. The passivation film 160 includes a first layer 162, a second layer 164, and a third layer 166."); a second layer over the first layer (Fig. 2, 164; [0036], "The second layer 164 is formed over the first layer 162 and preferably includes an organic compound."); a third layer over the second layer (Fig. 2, 166; [0041], "The third layer 166 is formed over the second layer 164."); wherein the first layer is an oxide insulating layer (Fig. 2, 162; [0035], "The first layer 162 preferably includes an inorganic compound, and the inorganic compound preferably includes silicon. For example, the inorganic compound is selected from silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, silicon nitride oxide, and the like."), wherein the second layer is an organic insulating layer (Fig. 2, 164; [0038], "As described above, a material preferred for the formation of the second layer 164 is an organic compound."), and wherein the third layer is an oxide insulating layer (Fig. 2, 166; [0041], " It is preferred that at least one of the first layer 162 and the third layer 166 include silicon oxide."), Lee teaches a fourth layer over the third layer (Fig. 18, 450; [0132], "A band pass filter (BPF) 450 and a planarization layer 575 may be sequentially arranged between the color filter 400 and the in-cell polarization plate 565…"); and wherein the fourth layer is in contact with the first wavelength-conversion layer and the second wavelength-conversion layer (Fig. 18, 450; [0132], "A band pass filter (BPF) 450 and a planarization layer 575 may be sequentially arranged between the color filter 400 and the in-cell polarization plate 565…"), and Cho teaches wherein each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element comprises: a first light-emitting layer comprising a light-emitting substance emitting blue light (Fig. 2, 112a; [108], "The first light-emitting layer 112a may emit light having a first wavelength…Examples of the light color include blue, green, red, yellow, white, and the like. "), a second light-emitting layer comprising a light-emitting substance emitting blue light (Fig. 2, 112b; [0128], "The second light-emitting layer 112b may emit light having a second wavelength...Examples of the light color include blue, green, red, yellow, white, and the like."), and a charge-generation layer between the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 2, 120a; [0135], "The charge generation layer 120a is interposed between the first light-emitting unit 110a and the second light-emitting unit 110b.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Miki with the individual pixels of Kim "for displaying high-quality images", (Kim, [0003]), the layers of Kamiya so as to "prevent or suppress the reduction of the efficiency and lifetime of the light-emitting element", (Kamiya, [0005]), the fourth layer of Lee so as to transmit "only light of a color corresponding to the color filter region", (Lee, [0003]), and the layers of Cho so that each light-emitting element has "low driving voltage, high efficiency, and long lifespan characteristics", (Cho, [0007]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the fourth layer is configured to transmit the blue light from each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element, and reflect the green light from the first wavelength-conversion layer and the red light from the second wavelength-conversion layer.
However, Lee further teaches wherein the fourth layer is configured to transmit the blue light from each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element, and reflect the green light from the first wavelength-conversion layer and the red light from the second wavelength-conversion layer ([0133], "The BPF 450 may transmit blue light and reflect red light and green light. ").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Miki, Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho with the transmission properties of the layer of Lee so as to transmit "only light of a color corresponding to the color filter region", (Lee, [0003]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the fourth layer is configured to transmit near-ultraviolet light or violet light and reflect light having longer wavelength than that of blue light.
However, Lee further teaches wherein the fourth layer is configured to transmit near-ultraviolet light or violet light and reflect light having longer wavelength than that of blue light (Fig. 19, 451; [0139], "...a BPF 451 disposed below the color filter 401 may transmit the UV light.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Miki, Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho with the transmission properties of the layer of Lee so as to transmit "only light of a color corresponding to the color filter region", (Lee, [0003]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 3, and further teaches wherein the first wavelength-conversion layer comprises first quantum dots, and wherein the second wavelength-conversion layer comprises second quantum dots ([0041], "The red wavelength conversion layer QD_R and the green wavelength conversion layer QD_G have fluophor or quantum dots or the like in their resin layers, respectively.").
Regarding dependent claim 11, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 3, and further teaches wherein the first coloring layer is configured to absorb blue light, and wherein the second coloring layer is configured to absorb blue light ([0041], "The red color filter CF_R, the green color filter CF_G and the blue color filter CF_B are resin layers which contain their respective color-material pigments and which absorb light other than the red color, light other than the green light and light other than the blue light, respectively.").
Regarding dependent claim 13, Miki, as previously combined with Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 3. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the light-emitting substance of each of the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer is a fluorescent material.
However, Cho further teaches wherein the light-emitting substance of each of the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer is a fluorescent material ([0108], "This first light-emitting layer 112a may include materials that emits red, green, blue, yellow and white light colors, and it may be formed using phosphorescent or fluorescent materials.", [0128], "This second light-emitting layer 112b may include materials that emits red, green, blue, yellow and white light colors, and it may be formed using phosphorescent or fluorescent materials.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Miki, Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho with the fluorescent material of Cho so that "light having a color corresponding to the changed energy level may be emitted", (Cho, [0127]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Miki, as previously modified by Kim, Kamiya, Lee, and Cho, teaches the display device according to claim 3, and further teaches wherein the first coloring layer is in contact with the first wavelength-conversion layer, and wherein the second coloring layer is in contact with the second wavelength-conversion layer (Fig. 4, 23, QD, CF).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200006692 A1, pertaining to a display device with multiple layers.
/TIMOTHY JAMES MATTABONI/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897