DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 3,191,673) in view of Roettgen et al. (US 4,565,177).
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses an heat exchanger comprising: a first header plate (at header 7 where the tubes 9 connect to the header 7); a manifold assembly coupled to a first side of the first header plate (at header 7), wherein the manifold assembly is configured to receive fluid (at tapping 16); and a core assembly positioned adjacent a second side of the first header plate (core unit 6), the core assembly comprising: a plurality of tubes (tubes 9) coupled to the first header plate (at 7) and receiving the cooling fluid from the manifold assembly; a first plurality of fins receiving some of the plurality of tubes (at one of the sets of fins 10 on either side of the cuts 18 and 19); and a second plurality of fins receiving further of the plurality of tubes (at another of the plurality of fins 10 on an opposite side of the cuts 18 and 19, for instance the first plurality of fins could be on the left side of cut 18 and the second plurality of fins could be on the right side of cut 18 as seen in figure 3);, wherein one or more of the first plurality of fins includes a first end that interfaces with a second end of one or more of the second plurality of fins thereby forming a joint therebetween (where the fins are on opposing sides of one of the cuts 18 or 19 as seen in figure 3 with ends of the fins facing each other across the cuts 18 or 19, for instance the first and second ends could be ends of the fins 10 directly facing each other across cut 18).
However Young does not disclose the heat exchanger is an aftercooler for an internal combustion engine with a core assembly is configured to receive and cool a charge air for the internal combustion engine.
Roettgen teaches (figure 1-5) a aftercooler assembly for an internal combustion engine configured to receive and cool charge air (per Col. 1, line 6-33 and claim 1 of Roettgen), where the aftercooler comprises a first header plate and a manifold assembly (at header 50), a plurality of tubes (at conduits 54 and 56 which include additional conduits/tubes beyond those shown in the figure per Col. 4, line 15-18) and a plurality of fins receiving the tubes (at fins 60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the heat exchanger of Young to be an aftercooler of similar construction as disclosed by Roettgen. Doing so would allow for compressed air from a turbocharger to be cooled by a heat exchanger before it enters the engine cylinders as recognized by Roettgen (Per Col. 1, line 7-33). Additionally including the separate fin sections as taught by Young would allow for the prevention of thermal expansion strains of the fins to be transmitted to the headers and including the separate sections of fins can prevent rupture of the tube bonds to the headers as recognized by Young (Per Col. 3, line 36 through Col. 4, line 12).
3. The aftercooler of claim 1, wherein the core assembly is separated into a higher temperature stage and a lower temperature stage, and wherein the joint between the first plurality of fins and the second plurality of fins occurs only for the higher temperature stage.
Regarding claim 3, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Young in view of Roettgen further discloses the core assembly is separated into a higher temperature stage and a lower temperature stage (where Roettgen discloses higher temperature and lower temperature sections at inlet and outlet tubes/conduits 54 and 56), and wherein the joint between the first plurality of fins and the second plurality of fins occurs only for the higher temperature stage (where Young discloses that the joint would allow for the prevention of thermal expansion strains of the fins to be transmitted to the headers and including the separate sections of fins can prevent rupture of the tube bonds to the headers as recognized by Young (Per Col. 3, line 36 through Col. 4, line 12) which would only be necessary in higher temperatures areas where thermal expansion would be a factor for failure.
Regarding claim 4, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Young further discloses the core assembly further includes: a second header plate (at header 8 where the tubes 9 connect to the header 8); a second manifold assembly coupled to the second header plate (at header 8); wherein the first plurality of fins and the second plurality of fins (the first plurality of fins on the left side of cut 18 and the second plurality of fins on the right side of cut 18 as seen in figure 3) are arranged in a plurality of rows between the first header plate and the second header plate ( as seen in figure 1). Roettgen further discloses the core assembly further includes: a second header plate; a second manifold assembly coupled to the second header plate (at header 52); one or more tie bars (at cross tie assemblies 72 with cross bolts 78); and one or more stiffener plates supporting the plurality of tubes (support plates 58), and wherein the one or more stiffener plates are coupled to the one or more tie bars and positioned between the first header plate (at header 50) and the second header plate (at header 52); wherein the plurality of fins (60) are arranged in a plurality of rows between the first header plate and the second header plate (as seen in figure 3). Combining the joint in the fins of Young in the similarly constructed fins of the aftercooler of Roettgen, for the reasons as noted above, would lead to the invention as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Young further discloses at least a third plurality of fins receiving yet further of the plurality of tubes (if fins 10 on either side of the cut 18 from the first and second plurality of fins, the fins to the far right of figure 3 would form a third plurality of fins 10), wherein one or more of the second plurality of fins includes a third end opposing the second end that interfaces with a fourth end of the third plurality of fins thereby forming a second joint between the second plurality of fins and the third plurality of fins (with third and fourth ends on opposite side of cut 19 as seen in figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Young further discloses the joint reduces a thermal stress at a joint between the plurality of tubes and the first header plate (where adding the cuts 18 and 19 reduces stress between the tubes 9 and the header 7 and 8 due to thermal expansion as discussed by Young in Col. 3, line 36 through Col. 4, line 12).
Regarding claim 7, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Young further discloses first end abuts or is separated by a gap from the second end (where the first and second ends of the fins 10 directly facing each other across cut 18 are separated by a gap at cut 18) .
Regarding claim 8, Young discloses a heat exchanger comprising: a first header plate (at header 7 where the tubes 9 connect to the header 7); a core assembly positioned adjacent the first header plate (core unit 6), the core assembly comprising: a plurality of tubes (tubes 9) coupled to the first header plate (at 7); a plurality of rows of fins (fins 10), wherein one or more of the plurality of rows of fins includes a first fin receiving some of the plurality of tubes (at one of the fins 10 on either side of the cuts 18 and 19); and a second fin receiving further of the plurality of tubes (at another of the fins 10 on an opposite side of the cuts 18 and 19, for instance the first fin could be on the left side of cut 18 and the second fin could be on the right side of cut 18 as seen in figure 3), wherein the first fin has a first end and the second fin has a second end, wherein the first end forms a joint with the second end (with ends of the fins facing each other across the cuts 18 or 19, for instance the first and second ends could be ends of the fins 10 directly facing each other across cut 18).
However Young does not disclose the heat exchanger is an aftercooler for cooling a charge air of an internal combustion engine.
Roettgen teaches (figure 1-5) a aftercooler assembly for an internal combustion engine configured to receive and cool charge air (per Col. 1, line 6-33 and claim 1 of Roettgen), where the aftercooler comprises a first header plate and a manifold assembly (at header 50), a plurality of tubes (at conduits 54 and 56 which include additional conduits/tubes beyond those shown in the figure per Col. 4, line 15-18) and a plurality of fins receiving the tubes (at fins 60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the heat exchanger of Young to be an aftercooler of similar construction as disclosed by Roettgen. Doing so would allow for compressed air from a turbocharger to be cooled by a heat exchanger before it enters the engine cylinders as recognized by Roettgen (Per Col. 1, line 7-33). Additionally including the separate fin sections as taught by Young would allow for the prevention of thermal expansion strains of the fins to be transmitted to the headers and including the separate sections of fins can prevent rupture of the tube bonds to the headers as recognized by Young (Per Col. 3, line 36 through Col. 4, line 12).
Regarding claim 10, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 8 above and Young in view of Roettgen further discloses the core assembly is separated into a higher temperature stage and a lower temperature stage (where Roettgen discloses higher temperature and lower temperature sections at inlet and outlet tubes/conduits 54 and 56), and wherein the joint between the first fin and the second fin occurs only for the higher temperature stage (where Young discloses that the joint would allow for the prevention of thermal expansion strains of the fins to be transmitted to the headers and including the separate sections of fins can prevent rupture of the tube bonds to the headers as recognized by Young (Per Col. 3, line 36 through Col. 4, line 12) which would only be necessary in higher temperatures areas where thermal expansion would be a factor for failure.
Regarding claim 11, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 8 above and Young further discloses the core assembly further includes: a second header plate (at header 8 where the tubes 9 connect to the header 8); Roettgen further discloses the core assembly further includes: a second header plate (at header 52); a first side sheet extending between the first header plate and the second header plate (outer sidewall 32 extends between headers 50 and 52); a second side sheet spaced from the first side sheet, wherein the second side sheet extends between the first header plate and the second header plate (inner sidewall 34 extends between headers 50 and 52); and one or more tie bars extending between the first side sheet and the second side sheet (at cross tie assemblies 72 with cross bolts 78); wherein the plurality of rows of fins ( at fins 60) are positioned between the first side sheet and the second side sheet such that the first fin and the second fin together extend from adjacent the first side sheet to adjacent the second side sheet (fins 60 extend between sidewalls 32 and 34 as seen in figure 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 12, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 8 above and Young further discloses at least a third fin receiving yet further of the plurality of tubes (if fins 10 on either side of the cut 18 from the first and second fins, the fins to the far right of figure 3 would form a third fin 10), wherein the second fin includes a third end opposing the second end that interfaces with a fourth end of the third fin thereby forming a second joint between the second fin and the third fin (with third and fourth ends on opposite side of cut 19 as seen in figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 8 above and Young further discloses the joint reduces a thermal stress at a joint between the plurality of tubes and the first header plate (where adding the cuts 18 and 19 reduces stress between the tubes 9 and the header 7 and 8 due to thermal expansion as discussed by Young in Col. 3, line 36 through Col. 4, line 12).
Regarding claim 14, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 8 above and Young further discloses first end abuts or is separated by a gap from the second end (where the first and second ends of the fins 10 directly facing each other across cut 18 are separated by a gap at cut 18) .
Regarding claim 15, Young discloses an method of assembling a heat exchanger: comprising providing a first header plate (at header 7 where the tubes 9 connect to the header 7); coupling a plurality of tubes to the first header plate (tubes 9 are coupled to the header 7); coupling a first number of the plurality of tubes to a first plurality of fins (at one of the sets of fins 10 on either side of the cuts 18 and 19, which are coupled to the tubes 9); coupling a second number of the plurality of tubes to a second plurality of fins (at another of the plurality of fins 10 on an opposite side of the cuts 18 and 19, for instance the first plurality of fins could be on the left side of cut 18 and the second plurality of fins could be on the right side of cut 18 as seen in figure 3); and arranging a respective first end of one or more of the first plurality of fins to interface with a respective second end of one or more of the second plurality of fins (where the fins are on opposing sides of one of the cuts 18 or 19 as seen in figure 3 with ends of the fins facing each other across the cuts 18 or 19, for instance the first and second ends could be ends of the fins 10 directly facing each other across cut 18).
However Young does not disclose the heat exchanger is an aftercooler for an internal combustion engine.
Roettgen teaches (figure 1-5) a aftercooler assembly for an internal combustion engine configured to receive and cool charge air (per Col. 1, line 6-33 and claim 1 of Roettgen), where the aftercooler comprises a first header plate and a manifold assembly (at header 50), a plurality of tubes (at conduits 54 and 56 which include additional conduits/tubes beyond those shown in the figure per Col. 4, line 15-18) and a plurality of fins receiving the tubes (at fins 60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the heat exchanger of Young to be an aftercooler of similar construction as disclosed by Roettgen. Doing so would allow for compressed air from a turbocharger to be cooled by a heat exchanger before it enters the engine cylinders as recognized by Roettgen (Per Col. 1, line 7-33). Additionally including the separate fin sections as taught by Young would allow for the prevention of thermal expansion strains of the fins to be transmitted to the headers and including the separate sections of fins can prevent rupture of the tube bonds to the headers as recognized by Young (Per Col. 3, line 36 through Col. 4, line 12).
Regarding claim 18, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 15 above and Young further discloses arranging the first plurality of fins and the second plurality of fins (the fins 10 on either side of cut 18) in a plurality of rows between the first header plate (at 7) and a second header plate (at header 8 where the tubes 9 connect to the header 8).
Regarding claim 19, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 15 above and Young further discloses coupling a third number of the plurality of tubes with a third plurality of fins (if fins 10 on either side of the cut 18 from the first and second plurality of fins, the fins to the far right of figure 3 would form a third plurality of fins 10); and arranging a respective third end of the one of the second plurality of fins with a respective fourth end of one of the third plurality of fins (with third and fourth ends on opposite side of cut 19 as seen in figure 3).
Regarding claim 20, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 15 above and Young further discloses the respective first end abuts or is separated by a gap from the respective second end (where the first and second ends of the fins 10 directly facing each other across cut 18 are separated by a gap at cut 18).
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 3,191,673) in view of Roettgen et al. (US 4,565,177) and Obosu et al. (US 5,660,230).
Regarding claim 2, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above However Young does not explicitly disclose the joint has a serpentine shape.
Obosu teaches (Figure 1-4) a heat exchanger with a joint between fin sections of fins (of fins 22 and 22’ on tubes 12 and 12’ respectively) where the joint has a serpentine shape (along the edges 46 or 48 (a seen in figure 1 and 2 and the joint between fins 22 and 22’ are formed by the complimentary shape of the crest portions 50 and 51 and the trough portions 53 and 54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the shape of the joint /cut between fin sections of Young to be sinusoidal/ serpentine in shape as taught by Obosu. Doing so would allow for a connection between fin sections that could allow for more dense packing of the tubes and an arrangement that could lead to a shorter distance between edges of the fins as recognized by Obosu (per Col. 5, line 65 through Col. 6, line 27).
Regarding claim 9, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 8 above However Young does not explicitly disclose the joint has a serpentine shape.
Obosu teaches (Figure 1-4) a heat exchanger with a joint between fin sections of fins (of fins 22 and 22’ on tubes 12 and 12’ respectively) where the joint has a serpentine shape (along the edges 46 or 48 (a seen in figure 1 and 2 and the joint between fins 22 and 22’ are formed by the complimentary shape of the crest portions 50 and 51 and the trough portions 53 and 54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the shape of the joint /cut between fin sections of Young to be sinusoidal/ serpentine in shape as taught by Obosu. Doing so would allow for a connection between fin sections that could allow for more dense packing of the tubes and an arrangement that could lead to a shorter distance between edges of the fins as recognized by Obosu (per Col. 5, line 65 through Col. 6, line 27).
Regarding claim 16, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 15 above However Young does not explicitly disclose the arranging is along a serpentine shaped joint.
Obosu teaches (Figure 1-4) a heat exchanger with a joint between fin sections of fins (of fins 22 and 22’ on tubes 12 and 12’ respectively) where the joint has a serpentine shape (along the edges 46 or 48 (a seen in figure 1 and 2 and the joint between fins 22 and 22’ are formed by the complimentary shape of the crest portions 50 and 51 and the trough portions 53 and 54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the shape of the joint /cut between fin sections of Young to be sinusoidal/ serpentine in shape as taught by Obosu. Doing so would allow for a connection between fin sections that could allow for more dense packing of the tubes and an arrangement that could lead to a shorter distance between edges of the fins as recognized by Obosu (per Col. 5, line 65 through Col. 6, line 27).
Regarding claim 17, Young as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 16 above and Young in view of Roettgen further discloses assembling the aftercooler with a higher temperature stage and a lower temperature stage (where Roettgen discloses higher temperature and lower temperature sections at inlet and outlet tubes/conduits 54 and 56), and wherein the joint between the respective first end of one of the first plurality of fins with the respective second end of one of the second plurality of fins occurs only for the higher temperature stage (where Young discloses that the joint would allow for the prevention of thermal expansion strains of the fins to be transmitted to the headers and including the separate sections of fins can prevent rupture of the tube bonds to the headers as recognized by Young (Per Col. 3, line 36 through Col. 4, line 12) which would only be necessary in higher temperatures areas where thermal expansion would be a factor for failure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Young (US 2340853 A), Belsanti (US 3881455 A), Lawson (US 4562697 A), Gopin (US 5318112 A), Schlieper et al. (US 20210270542 A1), Raikio et al. (FI 121685 B), Nielsen et al. (DE 19639422 A1) disclose either related aftercooler heat exchanger structures or connections between adjacent fins of heat exchangers.
/HANS R WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763