● The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
● This action is responsive to the following communication: US Patent Application filed on 8/1/2024.
● Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
● The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/1/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Venkataraman et al (US 20170364520).
Regarding claim 1, Venkataraman discloses a method, comprising:
facilitating a mapping (mapping query to vector, figs. 3, 9, 10) of a natural language query (input query, fig. 9) to a vector using a query-to-vector engine;
matching the vector to an intent (matching intents associated with queries using vector representations, figs. 9-10, pars. 6, 20, 34) using a vector-to-intent engine trained by locking word embeddings ; and
providing a response (providing response to an input query, figs. 9, 10) to the natural language query based on the intent.
Regarding claim 3, Venkataraman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the query-to-vector engine is configured to leverage the word embeddings (embeddings, pars. 52, 58, 79, 124, 138) in each of a plurality of natural languages to map natural language queries in the plurality of natural languages to vectors (vectors, pars. 16-18) corresponding to meanings of the natural language queries.
Regarding claim 4, Venkataraman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the intent (intent, par. 34) represents a grouping of a set of queries (queries, par. 34), including the natural language query, for further processing.
Regarding claim 5, Venkataraman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the vector is a numeric vector in a multi-dimensional space (multi-dimensional space, par. 34).
Regarding claim 6, Venkataraman further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein facilitating the mapping of the natural language query to the vector does not include translating (mapping query to vector does not require translation, figs. 3, 9, 10) the natural language query into a natural language different from a natural language of the natural language query.
Regarding claims 8, 10-13, 15, 17-20 recite limitations that are similar and in the same scope of invention as to those in claims 1, 3-5 above; therefore, claims 8, 10-12, 15, 17-19 are rejected for the same rejection rationale/basis as described in claims 1, 3-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7, 9, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkataraman as described in claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-20 above in view of Trehan (US 11741317).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 9, 14, 16, Venkataraman fails to teach and/or suggest query in a first natural language matches to a same intent as a translation of the first query into a second natural language using machine learning technique.
Trehan, in the same field of endeavor for search query, teaches a well-known example of query in a first natural language matches to a same intent as a translation (figs. 4-5) of the first query into a second natural language using machine learning technique (machine learning technique, col. 5, line 60 to col.6, line 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by modifying search query of Venkataraman to include query in a first natural language matches to a same intent as a translation of the first query into a second natural language using machine learning technique as taught by Trehan to improve output responses using machine learning and translation from a source language to a target language with respect to input query’s intents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Venkataraman with Trehan to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2, 7, 9, 14, 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ---US 20180232376 to Zhu et al, teaches a conversational virtual assistant for delivery relevant query solutions using knowledge databases that can be searched for finding documents that fulfills the user’s intent.
/THIERRY L PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654