Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/1/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weber (U.S 6,226,183).
In regards to Claim 1, Weber discloses stack-up structure of a printed circuit board (Fig.1), the stack-up structure comprising: a plate (Fig.1, #2), comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (Fig.1, #2 has a first (top surface) and second surface (bottom) which are opposite of one another); a power device (Fig.1, #3), arranged on the first surface (Fig.1); a thermally conductive insulating layer (Fig.1, #5), covering the second surface and combined with the second surface in a pressed manner (Fig.1, #5 is covering the second surface of #2 in a pressed manner); a heat diffusion layer (Fig.1, #6, copper plate), covering the thermally conductive insulating layer and combined with the thermally conductive insulating layer in the pressed manner (Fig.1, #6 is covering #5 in a pressed manner); and a thermal conductor (Fig.1, #4, which are thermally conductive via), embedded in the plate (Fig.1, #4 are embedded within #2) and connected with the power device and the thermally conductive insulating layer, respectively (Fig.1, #3 is thermally connected to #4 which is thermally connected to #5).
In regards to Claim 2, Weber discloses the stack-up structure according to claim 1, further comprising a heat dissipation device (Fig.1, #1), assembled on the plate, and the heat diffusion layer disposed between the heat dissipation device and the thermally conductive insulating layer (Fig.1, #6 is between #5 and #1).
In regards to Claim 3, Weber discloses the stack-up structure according to claim 2, wherein the heat dissipation device is electrically connected with the heat diffusion layer.
In regards to Claim 4, Weber discloses the stack-up structure according to claim 2, further comprising a thermally conductive layer (Fig.1, #7, thermally conductive adhesive), disposed between the heat dissipation device and the heat diffusion layer (Fig.1, #7 is between #6 and #1).
In regards to Claim 5, Weber discloses the stack-up structure according to claim 4, wherein the heat dissipation device is thermally connected to the power device through the thermally conductive layer, the heat diffusion layer, the thermally conductive insulating layer and the thermal conductor (Fig.1, #1 is thermally connected to #3 via #4, #5 and #6).
In regards to Claim 6, Weber discloses the stack-up structure according to claim 1, wherein a surface circuit (Fig.1, #10) is arranged on the first surface, the power device is electrically connected to the surface circuit (Fig.1, #10 is electrically connected to #3).
In regards to Claim 9, Weber discloses the stack-up structure according to claim 1, wherein the plate comprises a plurality of insulating layers and a plurality of circuit layers, and the insulating layers and the circuit layers are stacked alternately (Fig.1, #2 is a PCB which consists of a plurality of circuit and insulating layers).
In regards to Claim 12, Weber discloses a solid state transformer, comprising a plurality of power conversion modules, at least one of the power conversion modules comprising a stack-up structure of a printed circuit board, the stack-up structure comprising: a plate (Fig.1, #2), comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (Fig.1); a plurality of power devices (Fig.1, #3 and furthermore, discloses that multiple devices can be arranged on the first surface of #2, see “A power component 3, for example, an SMD component, is applied onto first large-surface printed circuit trace 10, the component being conductively connected via connections 14 to further printed circuit traces 12, insulated from large-surface printed circuit trace 10, on upper side 8 of circuit board 2. For simplicity's sake, only one printed circuit trace 12 is depicted. On lower side 9, further potential-carrying printed circuit traces 13 are located, which are arranged so as to be insulated from second large-surface printed circuit trace 11. In addition, on lower side 9, provision is made for further undepicted SMD components)”, arranged on the first surface (Fig.1, multiple power devices #3 can be applied to the first surface), a thermally conductive insulating layer (Fig.1, #5), covering the second surface and combined with the second surface in a pressed manner (Fig.1, #5 is covering the second surface of #2 in a pressed manner); a heat diffusion layer (Fig.1 #6), covering the thermally conductive insulating layer and combined with the thermally conductive insulating layer in a pressed manner (Fig.6); and a plurality of thermal conductors (Fig.1, #4 are a plurality of thermal vias (conductors)), embedded in the plate and respectively connected with the power devices and the thermally conductive insulating layer (Fig.1, #3 is thermally connected to #4 which is thermally connected to #5).
In regards to Claim 14, Weber discloses the solid state transformer according to claim 13, wherein the stack-up structure further comprises a thermally conductive layer (Fig.1, #7), the thermally conductive layer is disposed between the heat dissipation device and the heat diffusion layer (Fig.1, #7 is disposed between #6 and #1), and the heat dissipation device is connected to the power devices through the thermally conductive layer, the heat diffusion layer and the thermally conductive insulating layer, and the thermal conductors (Fig.1, #1 is thermally connected to the power devices through #7, #6, #5, and #4 to dissipate heat generated by said power devices #3).
In regards to Claim 15, Weber discloses the solid state transformer according to claim 12, wherein a surface circuit (Fig.1, #10) is arranged on the first surface (Fig.1, #10 on top surface), and the power devices are electrically connected to the surface circuit, respectively (Fig.1, #10 circuit layer is connected to each of the power devices #3).
In regards to Claim 18, Weber discloses the solid state transformer according to claim 12, wherein the plate comprises a plurality of insulating layers and a plurality of circuit layers, and the insulating layers and the circuit layers are stacked alternately (Fig.1, #2 is a PCB which consists of a plurality of circuit and insulating layers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (U.S 6,226,183) in view of Kang (CN 107708286 A).
In regards to Claim 3, Weber discloses the stack-up structure according to claim 2.
Weber fails to disclose: Wherein the heat dissipation device is electrically connected with the heat diffusion layer.
However, Kang discloses: Wherein the heat dissipation device is electrically connected with the heat diffusion layer (Fig.2, #20 is connected to #2211 to ground, see “wherein the radiating member comprises connecting to a ground layer to the conduction of heat from the electronic component is conducted to the at least one connection part of the grounding layer.”, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weber in view of Kang, the ground plane and heat dissipation device in conjunction with the copper plate (as taught by Weber) would be electrically connected to ground (as taught by Kang) to prevent any live connection via the heat dissipation device and external elements).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the ground plane and heat dissipation device in conjunction with the copper plate (as taught by Weber) to be electrically connected to ground (as taught by Kang) to prevent any live connection via the heat dissipation device and external elements. By electrically connecting the copper plate and heat dissipation device, would enable heat dissipation through the ground plane and furthermore, protect users from accidental shorts.
In regards to Claim 13, Weber discloses the solid state transformer according to claim 12, wherein the stack-up structure further comprises a heat dissipation device (Fig.1, #1) assembled on the plate (Fig.1), the heat diffusion layer (Fig.1, #6) is disposed between the heat dissipation device and the thermally conductive insulating layer (Fig.1, #6 is disposed between #5 and #1).
Weber fails to disclose: Wherein the heat dissipation device is electrically connected with the heat diffusion layer.
However, Kang discloses: Wherein the heat dissipation device is electrically connected with the heat diffusion layer (Fig.2, #20 is connected to #2211 to ground, see “wherein the radiating member comprises connecting to a ground layer to the conduction of heat from the electronic component is conducted to the at least one connection part of the grounding layer.”, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weber in view of Kang, the ground plane and heat dissipation device in conjunction with the copper plate (as taught by Weber) would be electrically connected to ground (as taught by Kang) to prevent any live connection via the heat dissipation device and external elements).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the ground plane and heat dissipation device in conjunction with the copper plate (as taught by Weber) to be electrically connected to ground (as taught by Kang) to prevent any live connection via the heat dissipation device. By electrically connecting the copper plate and heat dissipation device, would enable heat absorption/dissipation through the ground plane and furthermore, protect users from accidental shorts.
Claims 10-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (U.S 6,226,183) in view of XIONG (CN 102811554 A).
In regards to Claim 10, Weber discloses the stack-up structure according to claim 9.
Weber fails to disclose: Wherein a thermal conductivity of the thermally conductive insulating layer is greater than a thermal conductivity of the insulating layer.
However, Xiong discloses: Wherein a thermal conductivity of the thermally conductive insulating layer is greater than a thermal conductivity of the insulating layer (Fig.1-4, #2, and paragraph [0023], which discloses #2 being high heat conductivity of 25w/mK or more, which would be greater than the basis insulating layer within the plate, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weber in view of Xiong, the thermally conductive insulating layer disposed on the second surface of the plate (as taught by Weber) would be modified to have a thermally conductive insulating layer with high conductivity (as taught by Xiong) which would help further dissipate heat generated by the power device).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have replace the thermally conductive insulating layer disposed on the second surface of the plate (as taught by Weber) with a thermally conductive insulating layer with high conductivity (as taught by Xiong) which would help further dissipate heat generated by the power device. By using a high conductivity insulation layer, would allow for good heat conducting performance while providing electrical insulation simultaneously.
In regards to Claim 11, Weber discloses a stack-up structure of a printed circuit board, the stack-up structure comprising: a plate (Fig.1, #2), comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (Fig.1, #2 has a first (top surface) and second surface (bottom) which are opposite of one another), and comprising a plurality of insulating layers and a plurality of circuit layers (Fig.1, #2 is PCB, which includes a plurality of insulating and circuit layers); a thermally conductive insulating layer (Fig.1, #5), covering the second surface and combined with the second surface in a pressed manner (Fig.1, #5 is covering the second surface of #2 in a pressed manner); a heat diffusion layer (Fig.1, #6, copper plate), covering the thermally conductive insulating layer and combined with the thermally conductive insulating layer in the pressed manner (Fig.1, #6 is covering #5 in a pressed manner); a heat diffusion layer (Fig.1, #6), covering the thermally conductive insulating layer and combined with the thermally conductive insulating layer in the pressed manner (Fig.1, #6 is pressed into #5); and a thermal conductor (Fig.1, #4, which are thermally conductive via), embedded in the plate (Fig.1, #4 are embedded within #2).
Weber fails to disclose: Wherein a thermal conductivity of the thermally conductive insulating layer is greater than a thermal conductivity of the insulating layer.
However, Xiong discloses: Wherein a thermal conductivity of the thermally conductive insulating layer is greater than a thermal conductivity of the insulating layer (Fig.1-4, #2, and paragraph [0023], which discloses #2 being high heat conductivity of 25w/mK or more, which would be greater than the basis insulating layer within the plate, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weber in view of Xiong, the thermally conductive insulating layer disposed on the second surface of the plate (as taught by Weber) would be modified to have a thermally conductive insulating layer with high conductivity (as taught by Xiong) which would help further dissipate heat generated by the power device).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have replace the thermally conductive insulating layer disposed on the second surface of the plate (as taught by Weber) with a thermally conductive insulating layer with high conductivity (as taught by Xiong) which would help further dissipate heat generated by the power device. By using a high conductivity insulation layer, would allow for good heat conducting performance while providing electrical insulation simultaneously.
In regards to Claim 19, Weber discloses the solid state transformer according to claim 12.
Weber fails to disclose: Wherein a thermal conductivity of the thermally conductive insulating layer is greater than a thermal conductivity of the insulating layer.
However, Xiong discloses: Wherein a thermal conductivity of the thermally conductive insulating layer is greater than a thermal conductivity of the insulating layer (Fig.1-4, #2, and paragraph [0023], which discloses #2 being high heat conductivity of 25w/mK or more, which would be greater than the basis insulating layer within the plate, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weber in view of Xiong, the thermally conductive insulating layer disposed on the second surface of the plate (as taught by Weber) would be modified to have a thermally conductive insulating layer with high conductivity (as taught by Xiong) which would help further dissipate heat generated by the power device).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have replace the thermally conductive insulating layer disposed on the second surface of the plate (as taught by Weber) with a thermally conductive insulating layer with high conductivity (as taught by Xiong) which would help further dissipate heat generated by the power device. By using a high conductivity insulation layer, would allow for good heat conducting performance while providing electrical insulation simultaneously.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (U.S 6,226,183) in view of Schlaffer (US 2021/0337653 A1).
In regards to Claim 20, Weber discloses the solid state transformer according to claim 12.
Weber fails to disclose: Wherein the thermal conductors are copper blocks or ceramic blocks.
However, Schlaffer discloses: Wherein the thermal conductors are copper blocks or ceramic blocks (Fig.8, #150 is a thermal copper block used for heat dissipation embedded with the multi-layer PCB, see paragraph [0025], as such the office notes that with the combination of Weber in view of Schlaffer, the thermal via conductors (as taught by Weber) would be modified to include a copper block embedded within the plate (as taught by Schlaffer) to better dissipate heat generated by the power device).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the thermal via conductors (as taught by Weber) to include a copper block embedded within the plate (as taught by Schlaffer) to better dissipate heat generated by the power device. By using a copper block within the plate may provide the advantage that the heat dissipation is very efficient, because the copper block covers one or more exterior surfaces of the power device, thereby providing better heat dissipation (Schlaffer, Paragraph [0027-0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tseng (U.S 6,201,300) – Discloses a plate having a plurality of layers having a first and second surface, wherein the first surface includes a power device and a plurality of thermal conductors embedded within the plate thermally connect to said power device and help dissipate heat on the opposite surface.
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841