DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 20210013286).
As to claim 1, Yoon discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 6(100)) comprising a display area (Fig. 6(DA)) and a peripheral area (Fig. 6(PA)) outside the display area ([0104]);
a common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420)) located in the peripheral area (Fig. 6(PA), [0108]);
a protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421)) directly contacting the common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420), [0108]); and
a common electrode (Fig. 6(330)) extending from the display area to the peripheral area and directly contacting the protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421), [0108]: opposite (common) electrode 330 can be electrically connected to the common voltage line 420 through the protective conductive layer 421),
wherein an end of the common electrode (Fig. 6(330)) adjacent to an edge of the substrate is closer to the edge of the substrate than an end of the protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421)) adjacent to the edge of the substrate (Fig. 6, [0108] – [0109]).
As to claim 2, Yoon teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421)) directly contacts a top surface of the common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420)).
As to claim 17, Yoon discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 6(100)) comprising a display area (Fig. 6(DA)) and a peripheral area (Fig. 6(PA)) outside the display area ([0104]);
a common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420)) located in the peripheral area (Fig. 6(PA), [0108]);
a protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421)) directly contacting the common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420), [0108]); and
a common electrode (Fig. 6(330)) extending from the display area to the peripheral area and directly contacting the protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421), [0108]: opposite (common) electrode 330 can be electrically connected to the common voltage line 420 through the protective conductive layer 421),
wherein when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (Fig. 6(100)), an area of a portion of the common electrode (Fig. 6(330)) overlapping the common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420)) is greater than an area of a portion of the protective conductive layer overlapping the common voltage supply line (Fig. 6, [0108] – [0109]).
As to claim 18, Yoon teaches the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein an end of the common voltage supply line adjacent to an edge of the substrate is closer to the edge of the substrate than an end of the protective conductive layer adjacent to the edge of the substrate (Fig. 6, [0108] – [0109]).
As to claim 19, Yoon teaches the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421) directly contacts a top surface of the common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-16 and 20-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 25-27 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 25, Yoon discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 6(100)) comprising a display area (Fig. 6(DA)) and a peripheral area (Fig. 6(PA)) outside the display area ([0104]);
a common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420)) located in the peripheral area (Fig. 6(PA), [0108]);
a protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421)) covering an entirety of the portion of the top surface of the common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420)) exposed by the first opening ([0110]); and
a common electrode (Fig. 6(330)) extending from the display area (Fig. 6(DA)) to the peripheral area (Fig. 6(PA)) and covering an entirety of the portion of the top surface of the protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421)) exposed by the second opening (Fig. 6),
wherein the protective conductive layer (Fig. 6(421)) electrically connects the common voltage supply line (Fig. 6(420)) to the common electrode (Fig. 6(330), [0108]), and
wherein an end of the common electrode adjacent to an edge of the substrate is closer to the edge of the substrate than an end of the protective conductive layer adjacent to the edge of the substrate (Fig. 6, [0108] – [0109]).
Yoon has failed to teach “a first insulating layer covering the common voltage supply line, the first insulating layer comprising a first opening exposing a portion of a top surface of the common voltage supply line; and a second insulating layer covering the protective conductive layer, the second insulating layer comprising a second opening exposing a portion of a top surface of the protective conductive layer” in combination with other limitations of claim 25.
Conclusion
/AFROZA CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628