DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukui et al. (US 2015/0333126).
(Claim 1) Fukui et al. teach a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer structure comprising a drift region (4) that comprises a wide band-gap semiconductor material (SiC) that has a first conductivity type (N, paragraph 37),
a well region (5) that has a second conductivity type (P, paragraph 37), and
a source region (6) that has the first conductivity type (N, paragraph 37); and
a gate structure (9/10) in a gate trench (7) in the semiconductor layer structure, the gate structure (9) surrounding the well region (75) in plan view (fig. 17).
(Claim 2) Fukui et al. teach wherein in plan view the well region (5) comprises two sidewalls that are connected to each other to form an oblique angle.
(Claim 3) Fukui et al. teach wherein the oblique angle is in a range of from about 100 degrees to about 140 degrees in plan view (120 degrees, sum of interior angles of a hexagon is 720 degrees).
(Claim 4) Fukui et al. teach wherein the well region (5) and/or the source region has a hexagonal shape, a circular shape or an octagonal shape in plan view.
(Claim 5) Fukui et al. teach wherein the well region (5) is one of a plurality of spaced-apart well regions, and wherein the gate trench (7) comprises a continuous gate trench that at least partially surrounds each of the well regions (5).
Claims 11 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aichinger et al. (US 2018/0114856).
(Claim 11) Aichinger et al. teach a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer structure that comprises a drift region (121) that comprises a wide band-gap semiconductor material (paragraph 38) that has a first conductivity type (N, paragraph 54),
a common deep shielding region (116a, #pn3, paragraph 74) that has a second conductivity type (paragraph 45), and
a plurality of spaced-apart well regions (115) that have the second conductivity type (paragraph 44); and
a gate trench (155) in the semiconductor layer structure,
wherein a portion of the gate trench surrounds the common deep shielding region (116, fig. 4A) in plan view.
(Claim 12) Aichinger et al. teach wherein a sub-set of the spaced-apart well regions 115) surround the portion of the gate trench (155) that surrounds the common deep shielding region (116a) in plan view.
(Claim 13) Aichinger et al. teach wherein the semiconductor layer structure further comprises a deep shielding region (116b) that has the second conductivity type, the deep shielding region underneath the gate trench.
(Claim 14) Aichinger et al. teach wherein the common deep shielding region (fig. 4C #116a) electrically connects the deep shielding region (116b) to a source contact (110) that is on an upper surface of the semiconductor layer structure (paragraph 43).
(Claim 15) Aichinger et al. teach wherein the common deep shielding region (116a) extends to an upper surface of the semiconductor layer structure.
(Claim 16) Aichinger et al. teach wherein each well region in the sub-set of the spaced-apart well regions has a hexagonal shape, a circular shape or an octagonal shape in plan view (paragraphs 82, 83).
(Claim 17) Aichinger et al. teach wherein the common deep shielding region has a hexagonal shape or a rectangular shape in plan view (paragraphs 82, 83).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui et al. (US 2015/0333126) in view of Aichinger et al. (US 2016/0190301).
(Claim 10) Fukui et al. lack wherein the gate structure comprises a first side surface facing the well region and a second side surface opposite the first side surface,
the semiconductor layer structure further comprises a deep shielding region that is beneath the gate structure, has the second conductivity type, and
has a higher concentration of second conductivity type dopants than that of the well region, and
the deep shielding region continuously extends from a lower surface of the gate structure onto an uppermost portion of the second side surface of the gate structure.
However, Aichinger et al. teach wherein the gate structure (155) comprises a first side surface facing the well region (115) and a second side surface opposite the first side surface,
the semiconductor layer structure further comprises a deep shielding region (116) that is beneath the gate structure, has the second conductivity type, and
has a higher concentration of second conductivity type dopants than that of the well region, and
the deep shielding region (116) continuously extends from a lower surface of the gate structure (155) onto an uppermost portion of the second side surface of the gate structure for the benefit of forming a diode region (paragraph 74).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of forming a diode region.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 – 9 and 18 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21 – 23 are allowable, because prior art does not render obvious:
(Claim 21) a plurality of spaced-apart deep shielding connection patterns that have the second conductivity type;
wherein the deep shielding connection patterns extend through the gate structure and are spaced around the well region in plan view.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in PTO – 892 Form.
Contact Information
/IGWE U ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891
August 21, 2026