DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C.112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 6, “the circuit substrate”, and line 12, “the second see-through window” lack a proper antecedent basis.
Claim 9, “the first photo-sensitive chip set” lacks a proper antecedent basis.
Similarly, “the circuit substrate” and “the second see-through window”, as recited in claim 11, are similar to those stated in claim 1.
Claims 2-8, 10, 12-20 are indefinite due to their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(l) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al., (US 2007/0269205 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al., disclose a dual-face photosensitive lens assembly comprising: a first perspective window (150b, Fig.3) and a second perspective window (150a); a flexible circuit board (120, see Fig.3 and [0032], “the substrate 120 using a Chip On Film (COF)”, which inherently functions as a flexible circuit board) provided between the first perspective window (150a) and the second perspective window (150b)(see Fig.3),
the flexible circuit board comprising a circuit board (120), a third perspective window opening (122, Fig.3) through the circuit board (120)([0025], “A through-hole 122 is formed in the substrate 120”);
a first sensor chipset (112a) electrically connected to the circuit substrate (120) by a solder ball (114a), the first sensor chipset comprising a first chip, the first chip being light-sensitive through the first perspective window (150b) and the third perspective window (122)([0025], “A through-hole 122 is formed in the substrate 120 under a region in which the first image sensor chip 112 a is mounted. In the through-hole 122 is installed an infrared-shielding filter 130”, showing the sensor chip 112a receives light passing through the substrates through hole 122); and
a second sensor chipset (112b) provided on a side of the first sensor chipset (112a) away from the flexible circuit board (120), the second sensor chipset (112b) being electrically connected to the flexible circuit board (120) by means of wires (114b),
the second sensor chipset (112b) comprising a second chip (112b), the second chip being light-sensitive through the second see-through window (150a)(see Fig.3 and [0025- [0027], “The lens 150 a, 150 b assembled with the holders 140 a, 140 b are focused from the image regions of the image sensor chips 112 a, 112 b”, showing that the second sensor chipset (112b) is positioned with image region facing the second window 150a, allowing the sensor to perform “bi-directional photographing”).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al., as discussed in claim 1, disclose (Fig. 3) the first sensor chipset (112a) comprising a first surface (an active surface or the image region surface), the first chip is arranged on the first surface (see Fig.3, the active sensing part/area of the first chip 112a is positioned on the active surface), the first surface is provided towards the flexible circuit board (120)([0031], “The image sensor chip 112 a is mounted on the substrate 120 so that the bumps 114 a are connected to the substrate 120 in such a manner that the image sensor chip 112 a is placed on a lower side”), and Fig. 3 shows the first chip 112a mounted onto the substrate 120/COF. The active surface directly faces the circuit board surface to receive light through the substrate’s through-hole 122), and the solder ball (114a, Fig.3) is arranged on the first surface (see Fig.3).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al., as discussed in claim 2, disclose (Fig. 3) the first sensor chipset (112a) further comprises a second surface (the rear or back surface, Fig.3), the first surface and the second surface are disposed on two sides of the first sensor chipset (112a) abutting each other (see Fig.3, the active surface (the first surface) and the rear or back surface are the two opposing faces of the 112a), the second surface is disposed towards the second perspective window (150a), and the second sensor chipset (112b) is disposed on the second surface (see Fig.3, the second sensor chipset (112b) is disposed on the rear or the second surface of the first sensor chipset 112a).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al., as discussed in claim 1, disclose (Fig. 3) disclose a housing (140 having 140a, 140b), wherein the housing is open with an accommodating cavity (an open space/recess inside the 140, see Fig.3); the flexible circuit board (120), the first sensor chipset (112a) and the second sensor chipset (112b) are disposed in the accommodating cavity (see Fig.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Ko et al., (US 2015/0035131 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al., as discussed in claim 2, disclose the first sensor chipset (112a, Fig.3) further comprises a substrate, the first chip is disposed in the substrate (see Fig.3, the first chip includes its own base/substrate). Lee et al., do not disclose a material of the substrate comprises silicon as claimed. Ko et al., disclose (Fig.1) a first chip being disposed in a substrate ([0015], “A chip 110 is disposed on the substrate 104”, and a material of the substrate comprises silicon ([0015], “the substrate 104 may include a semiconductor material such as silicon”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., by utilizing the teaching of Ko et al., to allow compact design between the chips and readout circuits.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Lasch et al., (US 2025/0112142 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al., as discussed in claim 2, do not disclose the filler as claimed. Lasch et al., disclose filler (22/14, Fig.4). In combination, the first surface would be filled with filler between the first surface and the flexible circuit board as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., by adding the filler, as taught by Lasch et al., in order to prevent component degradation.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Theuss et al., (US 11,899,047 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al., as discussed in 1, disclose the second photoreceptor chip set further comprises a frame, the second chip (112b) is disposed in the frame (see Fig. 3), the second chip is electrically connected to the frame, and the frame is electrically connected to the circuit substrate (120) via the wires (114b). Lee et al., do not disclose the frame being as the wireframe as claimed. Theuss et al., disclose a second photoreceptor chip set further comprising a wireframe (301, Fig. 3), the second chip is disposed in the wireframe, the second chip is electrically connected to the wireframe (see Fig.3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., by utilizing the teaching of Theuss et al., to provide improved electrical connections between the chips and other components.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Zheng (US 2021/0185200 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al., as discussed in claim 7, disclose (Fig.3) the first perspective window (150b) and the second perspective window (150a) are located on two different sides of the housing (140). Lee et al., do not disclose the housing comprising a light-shielding material as claimed. Zheng discloses a housing (80, Fig.4) comprising a light-shielding material ([0019], “A material of the first lens holder 80 may be metal or plastic”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., by utilizing the teaching of Zheng, to better prevent external light from reaching the accommodating cavity.
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al., as discussed in claim 1, disclose (Fig.3) a second filter (130), and the second filter is located between the second photo-sensitive chip set (112b) and the second perspective window (150a). Lee et al., do not disclose a first filter as claimed. Zheng disclose a first filter and second filter (Fig. 4), wherein the first filter (60) is arranged between the first photo-sensitive chip set (50) and the first perspective window (91), the first filter is located on the side of the flexible circuit board away from the first photo-sensitive chipset (see Fig. 4). In combination, the first filter would cover the third perspective window as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., by utilizing the teaching of Zheng, to control unwanted radiation before the light reaches the sensor surface.
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al., in view of Zheng as discussed in claim 8, Lee et al., do not disclose a first lens assembly and a second lens assembly as claimed. Zheng discloses a first lens assembly and a second lens assembly (Fig.3), the first lens assembly (92, Fig.3) is disposed between the first filter (61) and the first perspective window (see Fig.3), and the second lens assembly (90) is disposed between the second filter (60) and the second perspective window (see Figs. 3-4). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., in view of Zheng, to better prevent unwanted wavelength from directly reaching the sensor surface, thereby, improving the image quality.
Claims 11, 12, 14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., (US 2022/0100148 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al., disclose electronic device comprising:
a dual-face photosensitive lens assembly ([0026], “bi-directional photographing”) comprising:
a first perspective window (150b, Fig.3) and a second perspective window (150a);
a flexible circuit board (120, see Fig.3 and [0032], “the substrate 120 using a Chip On Film (COF)”, which inherently functions as a flexible circuit board) provided between the first perspective window (150b) and the second perspective window (150a),
the flexible circuit board comprising a circuit board (120),
a third perspective window (122, Fig. 3) opening through the circuit board (120)([0025], “A through-hole 122 is formed in the substrate 120”);
a first sensor chipset (112a) electrically connected to the circuit substrate (120) by a solder ball (114a),
the first sensor chipset (112a) comprising a first chip, the first chip being light-sensitive through the first perspective window (150b) and the third perspective window (122);
a second sensor chipset (112b) provided on a side of the first sensor chipset (112a) away from the flexible circuit board (120),
the second sensor chipset (112b) being electrically connected to the flexible circuit board (120) by means of wires (114b),
the second sensor chipset (112b) comprising a second chip, the second chip being light-sensitive through the second see-through window (150a)( see Fig.3 and [0026- [0027], “The lens 150 a, 150 b assembled with the holders 140 a, 140 b are focused from the image regions of the image sensor chips 112 a, 112 b”, showing that the second sensor chipset (112b) is positioned with image region facing the second window 150a, allowing the sensor to perform “bi-directional photographing”).
Lee et al., do not disclose the wearable smart device further comprising: a main part, wherein the main part comprises a first light-transmitting surface and a second light-transmitting surface disposed back-to-back as claimed. Vasavada et al., disclose a wearable smart device (watch band, Fig.1) further comprising: a main part (104, Fig. 1B), wherein the main part comprises a first light-transmitting surface (115A) and a second light-transmitting surface (115B) disposed back-to-back (see Fig. 1B, the front and rear sensors 115 inside a main body have opposing light transmitting surfaces). In combination, incorporating the teaching of Vasavada et al., having the first light-transmitting surface and a second light-transmitting surface, with Lee et al., back to back camera module would provide that the first perspective window is disposed corresponding to the first light-transmitting surface, and the second perspective window is disposed corresponding to the second light-transmitting surface as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., by utilizing the teaching of Vasavada et al., to provide compact and low-cost design.
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., as discussed in claim 11, Lee et al., disclose (Fig. 3) the first sensor chipset (112a) comprising a first surface (an active surface or the image region surface), the first chip is arranged on the first surface (see Fig.3, the active sensing part/area of the first chip 112a is positioned on the active surface), the first surface is provided towards the flexible circuit board (120)([0031], “The image sensor chip 112 a is mounted on the substrate 120 so that the bumps 114 a are connected to the substrate 120 in such a manner that the image sensor chip 112 a is placed on a lower side”), and Fig. 3 shows the first chip 112a mounted onto the substrate 120/COF. The active surface directly faces the circuit board surface to receive light through the substrate’s through-hole 122), and the solder ball (114a, Fig.3) is arranged on the first surface (see Fig.3).
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., as discussed in claim 12, Lee et al., disclose (Fig. 3) the first sensor chipset (112a) further comprises a second surface (the rear or back surface, Fig.3), the first surface and the second surface are disposed on two sides of the first sensor chipset (112a) abutting each other (see Fig.3, the active surface (the first surface) and the rear or back surface are the two opposing faces of the 112a), the second surface is disposed towards the second perspective window (150a), and the second sensor chipset (112b) is disposed on the second surface (see Fig.3, the second sensor chipset (112b) is disposed on the rear or the second surface of the first sensor chipset 112a).
Regarding claim 17, Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., as discussed in claim 11, Lee et al., disclose (Fig. 3) disclose a housing (140), wherein the housing is open with an accommodating cavity (an open space/recess inside the 140 having 140a, 140b, see Fig.3); the flexible circuit board (120), the first sensor chipset (112a) and the second sensor chipset (112b) are disposed in the accommodating cavity (see Fig.3).
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., and further in view of Ko et al., (US 2015/0035131 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., as discussed in claim 12, Lee et al., disclose the first sensor chipset (112a, Fig.3) further comprises a substrate, the first chip is disposed in the substrate (see Fig.3, the first chip includes its own base/substrate). Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., do not disclose a material of the substrate comprises silicon as claimed. Ko et al., disclose (Fig.1) a first chip being disposed in a substrate ([0015], “A chip 110 is disposed on the substrate 104”), and a material of the substrate comprises silicon ([0015], “the substrate 104 may include a semiconductor material such as silicon”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., by utilizing the teaching of Ko et al., to allow compact design between the chips and readout circuits.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., in view of Lasch et al., (US 2025/0112142 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., as discussed in claim 12, do not disclose the filler as claimed. Lasch et al., disclose filler (22/14, Fig.4). In combination, the first surface would be filled with filler between the first surface and the flexible circuit board as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., by adding the filler, as taught by Lasch et al., in order to prevent component degradation.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., in view of Theuss et al., (US 11,899,047 B1).
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., as discussed in claim 11, Lee et al., disclose the second photoreceptor chip set further comprises a frame, the second chip (112b) is disposed in the frame (see Fig. 3), the second chip is electrically connected to the frame, and the frame is electrically connected to the circuit substrate (120) via the wires (114b). Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., do not disclose the frame being as the wireframe as claimed. Theuss et al., disclose a second photoreceptor chip set further comprising a wireframe (301, Fig. 3), the second chip is disposed in the wireframe, the second chip is electrically connected to the wireframe (see Fig.3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., by utilizing the teaching of Theuss et al., to provide improved electrical connections between the chips and other components.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., and further in view of Zheng (US 2021/0185200 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., as discussed in claim 17, Lee et al., disclose (Fig.3) the first perspective window (150b) and the second perspective window (150a) are located on two different sides of the housing (140). Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., do not disclose the housing comprising a light-shielding material as claimed. Zheng discloses a housing (80, Fig.4) comprising a light-shielding material ([0019], “A material of the first lens holder 80 may be metal or plastic”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., by utilizing the teaching of Zheng, to better prevent external light from reaching the accommodating cavity.
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., as discussed in claim 11, Lee et al., disclose a second filter, and the second filter is located between the second photo-sensitive chip set (112b) and the second perspective window (150a). Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., do not disclose a first filter as claimed. Zheng discloses a first filter and second filter (Fig. 4), wherein the first filter (60) is arranged between the first photo-sensitive chip set (50) and the first perspective window (91), the first filter is located on the side of the flexible circuit board away from the first photo-sensitive chipset (see Fig. 4). In combination, the first filter would cover the third perspective window as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., by utilizing the teaching of Zheng, to control unwanted radiation before the light reaches the sensor surface.
Regarding claim 20, Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., as discussed in claim 8, do not disclose a first lens assembly and a second lens assembly as claimed. Zheng discloses a first lens assembly and a second lens assembly (Fig.3), the first lens assembly (92, Fig.3) is disposed between the first filter (61) and the first perspective window (see Fig.3), and the second lens assembly (90) is disposed between the second filter (60) and the second perspective window (see Figs. 3-4). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al., in view of Vasavada et al., by utilizing the teaching of Zheng, to better prevent unwanted wavelength from directly reaching the sensor surface, thereby, improving the image quality.
Conclusion
/M.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878