Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sensors” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/793,014. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. While the claims of the '190 patent are not identical to the instant claims, the claims of the '190 patent nevertheless anticipate instant claims 6-20. Anticipation is the epitome of obviousness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruhland et al (US 20150059297; hereinafter Ruhland).
As regarding claim 1, Ruhland discloses the claimed invention for a modular filter assembly comprising: a tube extending along a central axis from a first end to a second end and configured to receive a filter; an aperture extending through a wall of the tube; an end cap at the first end of the tube; an outlet cap at the second end of the tube; an inlet cap including an inlet extending radially outward from the central axis.
Ruhland does not disclose wherein the inlet cap is configured to be fastened to the aperture in a first configuration and a second configuration, different than the first configuration, and wherein the inlet is in communication with the aperture in each of the first configuration and the second configuration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to configure the inlet cap such that it may be fastened to the aperture in either a first configuration or a second configuration, different configuration (e.g., by installing the inlet 102 in an inverted orientation or after a 180 degree rotation), while maintaining communication between the inlet and the aperture in both configurations. Such modification merely changes that orientation of the inlet cap and would not impair the operation or intended function of the air filter system having a cyclonic separator.
It well established that rearranging or reversing the orientation of known components of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen orientations or configuration of otherwise known components recited in the claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen orientations are critical and unexpected results. In the absence of such evidence, selecting one of a finite number of predictable orientations would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
As regarding claim 2, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified (inherently since the inlet 102 inverted 180 degree) discloses the claimed invention for wherein in the first configuration, the inlet is positioned such that gas received within the tube circulates in a counter-clockwise direction relative to the central axis, and wherein in the second configuration, the inlet is positioned such that gas received within the tube circulates in a clockwise direction relative to the central axis.
As regarding claim 3, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the outlet cap is fastenable (fig. 1; no number) to the tube at a plurality of radial orientations relative to the central axis.
As regarding claim 8, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the inlet cap includes a curved surface, and the wall of the tube includes a curved surface (annotated fig. 1).
As regarding claim 9, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein a radius of an arc of the curved surface of the inlet cap is approximately less than or equal to a radius of an arc of the curved surface of the tube (annotated fig. 1).
As regarding claim 10, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the curved surface of the inlet cap is configured to at least partially cover the aperture of the tube (annotated fig. 1).
Claims 16-18 and 20 are likewise rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claims 1-3 above.
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruhland et al (US 20150059297; hereinafter Ruhland) as applied supra, and further in view of Neef et al (US 20210121807; hereinafter Neef).
As regarding claim 4, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the outlet cap is fastenable to a plurality of fastener holes positioned at the second end of the tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the outlet cap is fastenable to a plurality of fastener holes positioned at the second end of the tube in order to enhance filter assembly performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Neef (figs. 2 and 6-8 – about 74).
As regarding claim 5, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the plurality of fastener holes are evenly arranged along an inner circumference of the tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the plurality of fastener holes are evenly arranged along an inner circumference of the tube in order to enhance filter assembly performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruhland et al (US 20150059297; hereinafter Ruhland) as applied supra, and further in view of Osendorf et al (US 20100037570; hereinafter Osendorf).
As regarding claim 6, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first end of the tube includes a flange extending radially outward from the central axis. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the first end of the tube includes a flange extending radially outward from the central axis in order to enhance filter assembly performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Osendorf (fig. 3 – 22).
As regarding claim 7, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the end cap is fastenable to the flange (Osendorf: fig. 3 – 22).
Claim(s) 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruhland et al (US 20150059297; hereinafter Ruhland) as applied supra, and further in view of Hunter et al (US 11796009; hereinafter Hunter).
As regarding claim 11, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention except for two or more brackets, wherein the two or more brackets radially surround an exterior surface of the tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide two or more brackets, wherein the two or more brackets radially surround an exterior surface of the tube in order to enhance filter assembly performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Hunter (fig. 10).
As regarding claim 12, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein each of the two or more brackets (Hunter – fig. 10) includes a curved surface, and wherein a radius of an arc of the curved surface of the brackets is approximately greater than or equal to a radius of an arc of the curved surface of the tube.
As regarding claim 13, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein one of the two or more brackets is an inlet bracket (annotated fig. 1); wherein the inlet bracket includes an opening sized and shaped to receive the inlet of the inlet cap.
As regarding claim 14, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the curved surface of the inlet cap is fastened to an interior surface of the tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the curved surface of the inlet cap is fastened to an interior surface of the tube in order to enhance filter assembly performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As regarding claim 15, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein each of the two or more brackets include one or more fastener holes at a first side and include one or more fastener holes at a second side, opposite to the first side (Hunter – fig. 1).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruhland et al (US 20150059297; hereinafter Ruhland) as applied supra, and further in view of Burton et al (US 20190111374; hereinafter Burton).
As regarding claim 19, Ruhland as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Ruhland as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the outlet includes one or more bosses extending radially outward from the central axis configured to receive one or more sensors. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the outlet includes one or more bosses extending radially outward from the central axis configured to receive one or more sensors in order to enhance filter assembly performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Burton (fig. 12A: 423).
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773