DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1 it appears that “a” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1 and 11-14 of copending Application No. 18/792,974 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant claims are encompassed in the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsuda (US 8,926,726).
Mitsuda ‘726 teaches a filter assembly comprising a tubular housing (60) with opposite ends and a curved surface, an inlet (17) extending radially outward of the curved surface, and two brackets (54,55) configured to attach to the curved surface at a plurality of radial configurations (see figures 2-11, 19-21, col. 5, lines 34-60).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tokar (US 4,491,460) as evidenced by Bisbing (US 3,466,076).
Tokar ‘460 teaches a filter assembly comprising a tubular housing (18) with opposite ends and a curved surface, an inlet (20) extending radially outward of the curved surface, and two brackets (34,34,38) configured to attach to the curved surface at a plurality of radial configurations (see figures 1, 2, col. 2, lines 31-50). The brackets are disclosed as being described in detail in Bisbing ‘076, which shows clasps that define a channel (41) that extends between the ends (see figures, col. 3, lines 5-18).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scott et al. (US 7,537,631).
Scott et al. ‘631 teach a filter assembly comprising a tubular housing (3) with opposite ends and a curved surface, an inlet (5) extending radially outward of the curved surface, and several brackets (271,272,273) configured to attach to the curved surface at a plurality of radial configurations (see figure 1, col. 20, line 63 to col. 21, line 38). Each bracket includes a channel (opening in receiver 273) extending from its inner to outer side.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a motivation for two or more brackets having a curved surface including a channel with two or more fastener holes defined through a surface of the channel, and a plurality of supports fastenable to the brackets, in combination with the other recited structural limitations.
Claims 2 and 4-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references listed on the attached PTO-892 form disclose filter housing and bracket arrangements.
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl