DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered are addressed below:
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections of claims 1, 2-4, 10, and 12-16. The previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the 112b rejections of claims 6, 7 and 13. The 112b rejections have been withdrawn. However, claim 13 is now objected to as explained below.
Regarding claim interpretation, the examiner notes that the claim interpretations under 112f are not rejections and the structure described in the applicant’s remarks (see page 7-8) is consistent with the examiner’s interpretations. Further, the examiner notes that the “detection device” is interpreted as “at least one detector” because claim 13 would be unclear if the “detection device” was interpreted to comprise more than one detector. Since the claim recites generic placeholders “module” and “device” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier, the 112f claims interpretations are maintained.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 102 and 103 rejections filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, and 11-13, the applicant argues Kennington (US20190369002A1) does not teach “a detection device configured to initiate acquisition of data associated with the sample in response to the scattered light associated with the sample spacer detected by the detection device” (see remarks page 10).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Kennington teaches "the timestamp output of the air bubble gap detector (separation gas timing data) can be correlated with the flow cytometer sample event data timing to synchronize the start of a plate sampling run" ([0056]). The claim does not require that the detection device cannot be recording data before initiating acquisition of data associated with the sample. Kennington uses the timestamp of the separation gas (scattered light) to determine when the data associated with the sample begins, thus initiating the plate sampling run which is data associated with the sample. Claims 14, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are addressed by this response (see remarks page 11).
Regarding claims 4, 7, and 17, the applicant argues Kennington does not teach “wherein the acquisition train is further configured to begin acquisition of data at a first time following the signal attaining the specified value, wherein the first time comprises a delay, the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell.” (see remarks page 11). The applicant argues that Kennington performs continuous data acquisition under which separation gas is merely used as a marker to between samples collected continuously and to synchronize timing between signals. The time offset described in Kennington is used to align the addition of the separation gas into the flow to specific samples detected, and Kennington does not use separation gas to determine when data acquisition should begin (see remarks page 12).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited above with respect to claim 1, Kennington teaches "the timestamp output of the air bubble gap detector (separation gas timing data) can be correlated with the flow cytometer sample event data timing to synchronize the start of a plate sampling run" ([0056]). Even if Kennington performs continuous data acquisition, the data associated with the sample is initiated using the timestamp of the separation gas timing data, thus at a first time following the signal attaining the specified value. Further, under BRI, the time offset is consider to be a delay as it is “a known time offset between a flow cell event trigger and a sensor trigger” ([0074]). The examiner notes that the limitations are “optionally” are not required by the claim and as such do not need to be taught by Kennington.
Regarding claims 9, 10, and 20, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references (see remarks page 12), the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, for claims 9 and 20, Norton teaches volume of the gas introduced as a bubble into the flow stream may vary depending on the volume of the sample and sample line ([0040]), thus one would select the sample space volume such that matches the sample and sample line in order to perform an accurate measurement. For claim 10, both Kennington and Norton are used to detect bubbles and fluorescent samples in a flow stream illuminated by a light source (Norton [0006]-[0007]; Kennington [0046]). It would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the wavelength in order to efficiently excite the desired fluorescence from the sample. Further, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A.
Thus, the rejections of claims 1-20 have been maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 13, in line 2, “the one detection device” should read “the one detector” as previously recited in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “module” in claims 1 and 14; “detection device” in claims 1, 2, 8, 14, 15, and 19.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the claim recites “a module configured to introduce a sample spacer into a sample” which uses the generic placeholder “module” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, the limitation on “module” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to at least one of a valve, a pump, an injector, a cavitation apparatus, a heat source, or a gas permeable membrane ([0094]).
Further, the claims recite “a detection device” which uses the generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, the limitation on “detection device” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to at least one detector ([0095]-[0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 11-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20190369002A1 by Kennington (cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kennington teaches a detection system (at least Fig. 1A, 1B), comprising:
a module (autosampler 102 and peristaltic pump 112; [0044]; [0045]) configured to introduce a sample spacer (separation bubbles 136 and 138; [0044]; [0046]) into a sample (samples 130, 132 and 134 ; [0044]; [0046]);
at least one light source (laser interrogation device 120; [0045]), wherein the at least one light source illuminates the sample spacer and the sample ([0045]), wherein illumination of the sample spacer produces scattered light ([0046]; [0048]); and
a detection device ([0046]; [0047] forward detector 124, side scatter detector 128, and fluorescence detector 126; detection device can include one or more of these different detectors) configured to initiate acquisition of data associated with the sample in response to the scattered light associated with the sample spacer detected by the detection device ([0048]; [0056] "the timestamp output of the air bubble gap detector (separation gas timing data) can be correlated with the flow cytometer sample event data timing to synchronize the start of a plate sampling run").
Regarding claim 2, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 1, and further teaches comprising an acquisition train ([0050]-[0054] processor; [0056] plate sampling run; the examiner notes that the applicant’s specification does not provide a definition of “acquisition train” besides the detail in [0047] that “a machine learning model can be comprised in, for example, the acquisition train of a system”. The examiner interprets “acquisition train” as the complete process of collecting data with the recited structures and a type of processing/computing/control device) configured to:
receive a signal from the detection device ([0056] “separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal’) and, in response to the signal, begin the acquisition of data associated with the sample ([0056] "the timestamp output of the air bubble gap detector (separation gas timing data) can be correlated with the flow cytometer sample event data timing to synchronize the start of a plate sampling run").
Regarding claim 3, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the acquisition train is further configured to begin the acquisition of data following the signal attaining a specified value ([0056] "In operation, separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal and corresponding timestamp, which is applied when the output of the scatter detector is over the set voltage threshold.").
Regarding claim 5, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the acquisition train is further configured to process the signal to generate a processed signal ([0056] "separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal") and begin the acquisition of data following the processed signal differing from a specified value for a specified time period ([0056] "the timestamp output of the air bubble gap detector (separation gas timing data) can be correlated with the flow cytometer sample event data timing to synchronize the start of a plate sampling run."; "separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal and corresponding timestamp, which is applied when the output of the scatter detector is over the set voltage threshold").
Regarding claim 6, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the acquisition train is further configured to process the signal to generate a processed signal ([0056] "separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal") and begin the acquisition of data at a first time following the processed signal differing from the specified value for the specified time period ([0056] "the timestamp output of the air bubble gap detector (separation gas timing data) can be correlated with the flow cytometer sample event data timing to synchronize the start of a plate sampling run."; "separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal and corresponding timestamp, which is applied when the output of the scatter detector is over the set voltage threshold").
Regarding claim 8, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the acquisition train is further configured to cease the acquisition of data in response to at least one of a volume of the sample analyzed, a length of time, a number of events, or receipt from the detection device of a signal associated with scattered light from an additional sample spacer ([0053] "The analysis software algorithm, executed by the processor, can consist of two portions, an initial time correlation and an air bubble gap event timing, to delineate individual microplate wells from the continuous flow cytometer data stream." [0059] "sequences of detected bubbles are used to delineate the samples, rather than sequences of low event counts between samples"; thus the detection of additional bubbles is used to cease the acquisition of data in response to at least one of a volume of the sample analyzed).
Regarding claim 11, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the module comprises at least one of a valve, a pump ([0045] peristaltic pump 112; [0044] probe 106 is allowed to intake aliquots of a separation fluid (such as air), thereby forming a separation bubble between successive samples in the fluid flow stream) , an injector, a cavitation apparatus, a heat source, or a gas permeable membrane.
Regarding claim 12, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the detection device comprises at least one sample spacer detector configured to detect the scattered light associated with the sample spacer ([0048] Separation bubble gaps are identified by analyzing the voltage output signal generated by a scatter detector, such as forward detector 124 or side scatter detector 128), and wherein the detection device further comprises at least one sample detector configured to acquire data associated with the sample ([0046] Fluorescence emitted from tagged particles in the flow cell is detected by a fluorescence detector 126).
Regarding claim 13, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the detection device comprises one detector, wherein the one detection device is configured to detect the scattered light associated with the sample spacer and further configured to acquire data related to the sample ([0046]forward scatter detector 124; [0009] Fig. 2 illustrates an example plot of a sample event waveform output from a forward scatter detector; [0010] FIG. 3 illustrates an example plot of an air bubble gap waveform output from a forward scatter detector; thus the forward scatter detector detects both scattered light from sample spacer and data related to the sample).
Regarding claim 14, Kennington teaches a system (at least Fig. 1A, 1B), comprising:
a flow cell ([0045] flow cell 118);
a module (autosampler 102 and peristaltic pump 112; [0044]; [0045]) configured to introduce a sample spacer (separation bubbles 136 and 138 ; [0044]; [0046]) into a sample (samples 130, 132 and 134 ; [0044]; [0046]);
at least one light source (laser interrogation device 120; [0045]), wherein the at least one light source illuminates the sample spacer and the sample ([0045]), wherein illumination of the sample spacer produces scattered light ([0046]; [0048]); and
a detection device ([0046]; [0047] forward detector 124, side scatter detector 128, and fluorescence detector 126; detection device includes at least one detector) configured to initiate acquisition of data associated with the sample in response to the scattered light associated with the sample spacer detected by the detection device ([0048]; [0056] "the timestamp output of the air bubble gap detector (separation gas timing data) can be correlated with the flow cytometer sample event data timing to synchronize the start of a plate sampling run").
Regarding claim 15, Kennington teaches the system of claim 14, and further teaches comprising an acquisition train (([0050]-[0054] processor; [0056] plate sampling run; the examiner notes that the applicant’s specification does not provide a definition of “acquisition train” besides the detail in [0047] that “a machine learning model can be comprised in, for example, the acquisition train of a system”. The examiner interprets “acquisition train” as the complete process of collecting data with the recited structures and a type of processing/computing/control device.) configured to:
receive a signal from the detection device and, in response to the signal, begin the acquisition of data associated with the sample ([0056] "the timestamp output of the air bubble gap detector (separation gas timing data) can be correlated with the flow cytometer sample event data timing to synchronize the start of a plate sampling run").
Regarding claim 16, Kennington teaches the system of claim 15, and further teaches wherein the acquisition train is further configured to begin the acquisition of data at a first time following the signal attaining a specified value ([0056] "In operation, separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal and corresponding timestamp, which is applied when the output of the scatter detector is over the set voltage threshold."
Regarding claim 18, Kennington teaches the system of claim 15, and further teaches wherein the acquisition train is further configured to process the signal to generate a processed signal ([0056] "separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal") and begin the acquisition of data following the processed signal differing from a specified value for a specified time period ([0056] "the timestamp output of the air bubble gap detector (separation gas timing data) can be correlated with the flow cytometer sample event data timing to synchronize the start of a plate sampling run."; "separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal and corresponding timestamp, which is applied when the output of the scatter detector is over the set voltage threshold").
Regarding claim 19, Kennington teaches the system of claim 15, and further teaches wherein the acquisition train is further configured to cease the acquisition of data in response to at least one of a volume of the sample analyzed, a length of time, a number of events, or receipt from the detection device of a signal associated with scattered light from an additional sample spacer ([0053] "The analysis software algorithm, executed by the processor, can consist of two portions, an initial time correlation and an air bubble gap event timing, to delineate individual microplate wells from the continuous flow cytometer data stream." [0059] "sequences of detected bubbles are used to delineate the samples, rather than sequences of low event counts between samples"; thus the detection of additional bubbles is used to cease the acquisition of data in response to at least one of a volume of the sample analyzed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennington.
Regarding claim 4, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 3, and further teaches wherein the acquisition train is further configured to begin the acquisition of data at a first time following the signal attaining the specified value ([0056] "In operation, separation gas timing data generated from the captured scatter voltage signal and corresponding timestamp, which is applied when the output of the scatter detector is over the set voltage threshold.")
Although Kennington is silent as to wherein the first time comprises a delay, the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell in this embodiment, Kennington does address this limitation in another embodiment.
Kennington teaches wherein the first time comprises a delay (Fig. 10; [0074] time offset), the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell ([0074] time offset may be adaptive based on the sample flow rate; [0075] flow cell 202).
Therefore it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Kennington to include wherein the first time comprises a delay, the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell as suggested by the second embodiment in order to improve measurement accuracy by correcting data ([0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 6, and although Kennington is silent as to wherein the first time comprises a delay, the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell in this embodiment, Kennington does address this limitation in another embodiment.
Kennington teaches wherein the first time comprises a delay (Fig. 10; [0074] time offset), the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell ([0074] time offset may be adaptive based on the sample flow rate; [0075] flow cell 202).
Therefore it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Kennington to include wherein the first time comprises a delay, the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell as suggested by the second embodiment in order to improve measurement accuracy by correcting data ([0074]).
Regarding claim 17, Kennington teaches the system of claim 15, and although Kennington is silent as to wherein the first time comprises a delay, the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell in this embodiment, Kennington does address this limitation in another embodiment.
Kennington teaches wherein the first time comprises a delay (Fig. 10; [0074] time offset), the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell ([0074] time offset may be adaptive based on the sample flow rate; [0075] flow cell 202).
Therefore it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Kennington to include wherein the first time comprises a delay, the delay optionally based at least in part on at least one of a volume of the sample or a flow rate at which the sample is communicated through a flow cell as suggested by the second embodiment in order to improve measurement accuracy by correcting data ([0074]).
Claims 9, 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennington in view of US20230408397A1 by Norton.
Regarding claim 9, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 1, and although Kennington is silent as to wherein the sample spacer comprises a volume of from 0.5 μl to 4.0 μl, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A. Additionally, based on Fig. 1B, the size of the sample spacer (separation bubbles 136, 138) appear to be similar in volume to the samples (130, 132, 134).
Further, Norton does address this limitation. Norton and Kennington are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of flow cytometers.
Norton teaches wherein the sample spacer comprises a volume of from 0.5 μl to 4.0 μl ([0040] "volume of the gas introduced as a bubble into the flow stream may vary depending on the volume of the sample and sample line and may be 0.001 μL or more, such as 0.005 μL or more, such as 0.01 μL or more, such as 0.05 μL or more, such as 0.1 μL or more, such as 0.5 μL or more, such as 1 μL or more, such as 2 μL or more, such as 3 μL or more, such as 4 μL or more, such as 5 μL or more and including 10 μL or more.").
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use gas bubbles with microliter volumes as sample spacers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Kennington to include wherein the sample spacer comprises a volume of from 0.5 μl to 4.0 μl as suggested by Norton in order to vary the spacer size based on the sample size to increase accuracy and efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, Kennington teaches a detection system of claim 1, and although Kennington is silent as to wherein the at least one light source comprises at least one of a 405 nm or a 488 nm laser, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A. Additionally, the wavelength of the laser interrogation device 120 would be in the range to excite a fluorescent tag contained in the samples ([0044]; [0046]).
Further, Norton does address this limitation. Norton and Kennington are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of flow cytometers.
Norton teaches wherein the light source comprises at least one of a 405 nm or a 488 nm laser ([0050] 405 nm, 460 nm, 490 nm). Further, Norton teaches detecting fluorescence from the sample ([0060]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a laser within this range for flow cytometry. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Kennington to include wherein the at least one light source comprises at least one of a 405 nm or a 488 nm laser as suggested by Norton in order to efficiently excite the desired fluorescence from the sample.
Regarding claim 20, Kennington teaches the system of claim 14, and although Kennington is silent as to wherein the sample spacer comprises a volume of from 0.5 μl to 4.0 μl, as the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A. Additionally, based on Fig. 1B, the size of the sample spacer (separation bubbles 136, 138) appear to be similar in volume to the samples (130, 132, 134).
Further, Norton does address this limitation. Norton and Kennington are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of flow cytometers.
Norton teaches wherein the sample spacer comprises a volume of from 0.5 μl to 4.0 μl ([0040] "volume of the gas introduced as a bubble into the flow stream may vary depending on the volume of the sample and sample line and may be 0.001 μL or more, such as 0.005 μL or more, such as 0.01 μL or more, such as 0.05 μL or more, such as 0.1 μL or more, such as 0.5 μL or more, such as 1 μL or more, such as 2 μL or more, such as 3 μL or more, such as 4 μL or more, such as 5 μL or more and including 10 μL or more.").
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use gas bubbles with microliter volumes as sample spacers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Kennington to include wherein the sample spacer comprises a volume of from 0.5 μl to 4.0 μl as suggested by Norton in order to vary the spacer size based on the sample size to increase accuracy and efficiency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAITLYN E KIDWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877