DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soldati et al. (US 20220110039 A1).
Considering claim 1, Soldati teaches a first apparatus (target node) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig.20, [0240]-[0243]), cause the first apparatus to:
receive (RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message to potential target eNBs), from a second apparatus (source node) (Fig.5, 14, [0049], [0122]), a request for user equipment, UE, performance feedback, wherein the request indicates a set of measurement requirements (Fig.14, [0172] source node can trigger a signaling exchange with the potential target network node to communicate a change in one or more handover offsets ΔHO for UE mobility…, [0177] the source node receives a Mobility Settings Change Response message from the target node. This message may acknowledge the handover offset configuration for a beam or group of beams as signaled by the source network node to the target network node, or it may include a different handover offset configuration determined by the target node);
perform a measurement (beam-level information) for the UE performance feedback for a third apparatus (UE), wherein the third apparatus is handed over from the second apparatus to the first apparatus (Fig.5, 14-19, [0119],[0178] handed over between beams of the source network node and beams the target network node, [0186]-[0187];
in accordance with a determination that a termination condition (threshold) for the measurement is satisfied ([0118], [0122]), determine whether the set of measurement requirements (specific load information) is satisfied based on the measurement for the UE performance feedback (Fig.5, 14-19, [0121]-[0122], [0125]); and
transmit, to the second apparatus (source node), information related to the UE performance feedback that is based on the determination (Fig. 5, 14-19, [0158] source node can receive a Handover Request Acknowledge message from the target network node including beam-level information to be sent to the UE, [0185]-[0186] operation 1756, the source node can receive a Handover Response message from the target node, which may include a handover acknowledgment).
Considering claim 9, Soldati teaches a second apparatus (source node) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig.20, [0240]-[0243]), cause the second apparatus to:
transmit, to a first apparatus (RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message to potential target eNBs) (Fig.5, 14, [0049], [0122]), a request for user equipment, UE, performance feedback for a third apparatus, wherein the request indicates a set of measurement requirements (Fig.14, [0172] source node can trigger a signaling exchange with the potential target network node to communicate a change in one or more handover offsets ΔHO for UE mobility…, [0177] the source node receives a Mobility Settings Change Response message from the target node. This message may acknowledge the handover offset configuration for a beam or group of beams as signaled by the source network node to the target network node, or it may include a different handover offset configuration determined by the target node), and wherein the third apparatus (UE) is handed over from the second apparatus to the first apparatus (Fig.5, 14-19, [0119], [0178] handed over between beams of the source network node and beams the target network node, [0186]-[0187]); and
receive, from the first apparatus, information related to the UE performance feedback that is based on the determination (Fig. 5, 14-19, [0158] source node can receive a Handover Request Acknowledge message from the target network node including beam-level information to be sent to the UE, [0185]-[0186] operation 1756, the source node can receive a Handover Response message from the target node, which may include a handover acknowledgment).
Considering claim 16, Soldati teaches a third apparatus (UE, Fig.21, [0268]) comprising:
at least one processor (2101); and at least one memory (2115) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig.21, [0268], cause the third apparatus to:
perform a handover from a second apparatus to a first apparatus (Fig.5, 14-19, [0119], [0178] handed over between beams of the source network node and beams the target network node, [0186]-[0187]); and
transmit, to the first apparatus (Fig.5, 14-19, [0152]-[0153] MLB between a source node and a target node), at least one positioning signaling that facilitate a measurement for a user equipment, UE, performance feedback for third apparatus ([0178] UEs can be handed over between beams of the source network node and beams the target network node, [0186]-[0187]).
Considering claims 2, 10, Soldati teaches wherein the set of measurement requirements indicates at least one of:
a precision level of metric for the UE performance feedback, a maximum reporting time for the UE performance feedback, a distance between the third apparatus and the second apparatus, or available resources for the UE performance feedback ([0118]-[0119]).
Considering claims 3, 11, Soldati teaches wherein the precision level of metric for the UE performance feedback comprises at least one of:
a precision level of measured UE data rate ([0125]), a precision level of measured packet loss rate, or a precision level of measure packet delay.
Considering claim 4, Soldati teaches wherein the termination condition for the measurement comprises at least one of:
an expiration of a timer set by the second apparatus, a trigger of another handover event for the third apparatus during the measurement for the UE performance feedback, a distance between the third apparatus and the second apparatus exceeding a threshold distance, a precision level of the measurement being equal to or above a precision level indicated in the set of measurement requirements, available resources at the first apparatus being below a threshold value, the third apparatus connecting to a beam which is different from that used in during handover, a radio condition reported by the third apparatus dropping below a first threshold value, the radio condition reported by the third apparatus becoming higher than a second threshold value, or a dual connectivity being enabled at the third apparatus ([0135]).
Considering claim 5, Soldati teaches wherein the first apparatus is caused to: in accordance with a determination that the set of measurement requirements is satisfied (threshold), transmit, to the second apparatus, the information indicating a result of the measurement for the UE performance feedback (Fig.5, 14-19, [0121]-[0122], [0125]).
Considering claim 6, Soldati teaches wherein the first apparatus is caused to: in accordance with a determination that the set of measurement requirements is unsatisfied, transmit, to the second apparatus, the information indicating a cause of a failure in the measurement for the UE performance feedback ([0167]).
Considering claims 7, 14, Soldati teaches wherein the cause of the failure comprises at least one of: an insufficient measurement precision withing running time of the timer, an insufficient measurement precision after a context limit of the UE performance feedback is reached, partial out of context measurements, or insufficient computing resources for the measurement for the UE performance feedback ([0167]).
Considering claims 8, 15, 17, Soldati teaches wherein the first apparatus is a target network device (Fig.17), the second apparatus is a source network device, and the third apparatus is a terminal device (Fig.17).
Considering claim 12, Soldati teaches wherein the second apparatus is caused to: receive, from the first apparatus ([0162]), the information indicating a result of the measurement for the UE performance feedback (Fig.5, 14-19, [0166]-[0167]).
Considering claim 13, Soldati teaches wherein the second apparatus is caused to: receive, from the first apparatus, the information indicating a cause of a failure in the measurement for the UE performance feedback ([0167]).
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641