DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 08/08/23 and 03/27/24. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2023-128966 and JP2024-051381 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/02/2024 and 01/08/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Sasaki et al. JP 2016005066 A (hereinafter referred to as Sasaki)
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki discloses a magnetic field detection device (fig. 1, three-axis loop antenna, par. [0011]) comprising: a support (fig. 1, cube 1, par. [0016]) having first, second, and third cutouts (three groove 2, par. [0018]); and first, second, and third magnetic sensors (fig. 1, conductor loops 1x, 1y, 1z, par. [0011]) accommodated in the first, second, and third cutouts (fig. 1, each groove 2, conductor loop (1x, 1y, 1z) is wound, par. [0011]), respectively, wherein the support has: first and second surfaces extending in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and different in position in a third direction perpendicular to both the first and second directions; third and fourth surfaces extending in the first and third directions and different in position in the second direction; and fifth and sixth surfaces extending in the second and third directions and different in position in the first direction (see fig. 1, par. [0016]-[0017]), wherein the first cutout is formed in at least one of the first and fourth surfaces (see fig. 1, 1x formed in groove of XY surface, par. [0016]-[0017]), wherein the second cutout is formed in at least one of the second and fifth surfaces (see fig. 1, 1y formed in groove of YZ surface, par. [0016]-[0017]), wherein the third cutout is formed in at least one of the third and sixth surfaces (see fig. 1, 1z, formed in groove of XZ surface, par. [0016]-[0017]), wherein a magnetic sensing direction of the first magnetic sensor is the first direction (fig. 1, 1x), wherein a magnetic sensing direction of the second magnetic sensor is the second direction (fig. 1, 1y), and wherein a magnetic sensing direction of the third magnetic sensor is the third direction(fig. 1, 1z).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki discloses the magnetic field detection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first magnetic sensor is accommodated in the first cutout without protruding from the first and fourth surfaces (see fig. 1, 1x formed in groove of XY surface, par. [0016]-[0017]), wherein the second magnetic sensor is accommodated in the second cutout without protruding from the second and fifth surfaces (see fig. 1, 1y formed in groove of YZ surface, par. [0016]-[0017]), and wherein the third magnetic sensor is accommodated in the third cutout without protruding from the third and sixth surfaces (see fig. 1, 1z, formed in groove of XZ surface, par. [0016]-[0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki discloses a magnetic field detection device array having a plurality of magnetic field detection devices (fig. 1, three-axis loop antenna, par. [0011]), wherein each of the plurality of magnetic field detection devices comprises: a support (fig. 1, cube 1, par. [0016]) having first, second, and third cutouts (three groove 2, par. [0018]); and first, second, and third magnetic sensors (fig. 1, conductor loops 1x, 1y, 1z, par. [0011]) accommodated in the first, second, and third cutouts (fig. 1, each groove 2, conductor loop (1x, 1y, 1z) is wound, par. [0011]), respectively, wherein the support has: first and second surfaces extending in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and different in position in a third direction perpendicular to both the first and second directions; third and fourth surfaces extending in the first and third directions and different in position in the second direction; and fifth and sixth surfaces extending in the second and third directions and different in position in the first direction (see fig. 1, par. [0016]-[0017]), wherein the first cutout is formed in at least one of the first and fourth surfaces (see fig. 1, 1x formed in groove of XY surface, par. [0016]-[0017]), wherein the second cutout is formed in at least one of the second and fifth surfaces (see fig. 1, 1y formed in groove of YZ surface, par. [0016]-[0017]), wherein the third cutout is formed in at least one of the third and sixth surfaces (see fig. 1, 1z, formed in groove of XZ surface, par. [0016]-[0017]), wherein a magnetic sensing direction of the first magnetic sensor is the first direction (fig. 1, 1x), wherein a magnetic sensing direction of the second magnetic sensor is the second direction (fig. 1, 1y), and wherein a magnetic sensing direction of the third magnetic sensor is the third direction(fig. 1, 1z).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki.
Regarding claims 3, discloses the claimed invention except for the wherein the first cutout extends along the first direction so as to cut a first side formed by edges of the first and fourth surfaces, wherein the second cutout extends along the second direction so as to cut a second side formed by edges of the second and fifth surfaces, and wherein the third cutout extends along the third direction so as to cut a third side formed by edges of the third and sixth surfaces absent any criticality, the cutouts extending along a direction to cut a side formed by edges of the adjoining surfaces are only considered to be obvious modifications of the shape and configuration of cutouts disclosed by Sasaki as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is within the level of skill in the art as the particular shape claimed by Applicant is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 4, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first cutout is formed so as to cut a first vertex constituted by end points of the first, fourth, and sixth surfaces, wherein the second cutout is formed so as to cut a second vertex constituted by end points of the second, fourth, and fifth surfaces, and wherein the third cutout is formed so as to cut a third vertex constituted by end points of the second, third, and sixth surfaces absent any criticality, the cutout is formed so as to cut a vertex constituted by end points of the three surfaces, are only considered to be obvious modifications of the shape and configuration of cutouts disclosed by Sasaki as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is within the level of skill in the art as the particular shape claimed by Applicant is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki discloses the magnetic field detection device array as claimed in claim 8, except for wherein two adjacent ones of the plurality of magnetic field detection devices are arranged such that their supports differ in orientation from each other by 180°,the configuration magnetic field detection devices are arranged such that their supports differ in orientation from each other by 180°absent any criticality, are only considered to be obvious modifications of the configuration of supports differing in orientation from each other, disclosed by Sasaki as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is within the level of skill in the art as the particular shape claimed by Applicant is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 5-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. US 2006/0176053 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Lee).
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki discloses the magnetic field detection device as claimed in claim 1, Sasaki do not disclose wherein the first and second magnetic sensors do not overlap each other in the third direction.
Lee discloses wherein the first and second magnetic sensors (fig. 2-3, 43a, 43b, par. [0031]) do not overlap each other in the third direction (fig. 2-3, 43c, par. [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (provide 3-axes magnetic field probe for use in the magnetic field measuring system comprises resistive lines, an isotropic sensing head having a cubic shape, as taught in Lee in modifying the apparatus of Sasaki. The motivation would be to ensure that the sum of the values detected from all the three axes is constant regardless of the probe orientation. (see Lee: par. [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Sasaki and Lee discloses the magnetic field detection device as claimed in claim 5, Lee discloses wherein the second and third magnetic sensors (fig. 2-3, 43b, 43c, par. [0031]) do not overlap each other in the first direction (fig. 2-3, 43a, par. [0031]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, Sasaki and Lee discloses the magnetic field detection device as claimed in claim 5, Lee discloses wherein the first and third magnetic sensors (fig. 2-3, 43a, 43c, par. [0031]) do not overlap each other in the second direction (fig. 2-3, 43b, par. [0031]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki and Lee discloses the magnetic field detection device as claimed in claim 5, Lee discloses further comprising: a first cable connected to the first magnetic sensor; a second cable connected to the second magnetic sensor; a third cable connected to the third magnetic sensor (fig. 2-3, 43c, 43c, par. [0031]); and a fourth cable for externally and collectively drawing the first, second, and third cables (fig. 2, protective sleeve tube 41 for electrical connection from the three coil sensors to the transmission board 10 via the six resistive wires 47, par. [0031]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 5.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Honkura et al. US 2020/0124396 A1(hereinafter referred to as Honkura).
Regarding claim 11 Sasaki discloses the magnetic field detection device as claimed in claim 1, Sasaki do not disclose further comprising: an AD converter for AD converting analog signals output from the first, second, and third magnetic sensors into digital signals; and a controller for applying signal processing to the digital signals output from the AD converter.
Honkura discloses further comprising: an AD converter (fig. 2, elm. 26, par. [0054]) for AD converting analog signals output from the first, second, and third magnetic sensors (fig. 2, elm. 221, par. [0054]) into digital signals; and a controller (fig. 2, elm. 28, par. [0054]) for applying signal processing to the digital signals output from the AD converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide circuit to drive coils and perform arithmetic operation on receive signals representative of the strength of the magnetic field from the uniaxial magnetic field sensor and calculate a position and an azimuth of the uniaxial magnetic field sensor in the three-dimensional space, as taught in Honkura in modifying the apparatus of Sasaki. The motivation would be improves the positioning accuracy of a sensor. (see Honkura: par. [0034]).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
6/5/2026