DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/02/2024 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Examiner Notes
2. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-6 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stadtfelder (WO2022152691; hereinafter “Stadtfelder”).
Regarding claim 1, Stadtfelder discloses a current sensor package (a current sensor package 600 in Fig. 1), comprising:
an integrated current sensor circuit (a comparator circuit coupled to a current sensor 500 in Fig. 1) configured to generate an analog sensor signal in response to an electrical current (the comparator circuit output an analog signal in response to an electrical current Ip flowed thru a conductor 100, see paragraph [0024]); an analog-to-digital convertor (ADC) (ADC coupled to the comparator circuit, see Fig. 1) coupled to the integrated current sensor circuit and configured to convert the analog sensor signal to a digital sensor signal (the ADC converted the analog signal to a digital signal, see at least in [0024]); a digital processor (such as µC of #600 in Fig. 1) coupled to the ADC and configured to run a calibration procedure for the integrated current sensor circuit based on the digital sensor signal and predefined target values (The measured value can then be compared with an expected value based on this known current flow IP, i.e., in particular with a value stored in advance for this purpose, and consequently any difference between the measured value and the expected value can be recorded. The method for detecting a changed measurement behavior, it is expediently provided that a correction factor is determined from the detected difference and this in turn can or can be included in the measurement behavior of the current measuring device, in particular for its recalibration. is also included. ….In particular, after a correction value has been determined, it can also be converted back into an analog value by means of a digital-to-analog conversion, as in FIG. 1 z . B. represented by the unit labeled DAC. As a result, a self-calibration of the current measuring device can be carried out within the scope of the invention, see [0024]); and
a non-volatile memory coupled to the digital processor and configured to store the predefined target values and calibration parameters determined during the calibration procedure (… “in particular with a value stored in advance for this purpose, and consequently any difference between the measured value and the expected value can be recorded”, in [0024], and also see [21, 31]).
Regarding claim 2, Stadtfelder discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, wherein the integrated current sensor circuit comprises a sensing element (500) and signal conditioning circuitry (600) configured to process an analog output signal received from the sensing element (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Stadtfelder discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, wherein the integrated current sensor circuit comprises a coil, a magneto-resistor, or a Hall effect sensor (500 in Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Stadtfelder discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, wherein the digital processor is configured to start the calibration procedure if at least one terminal of the current sensor package is set to a predefined state for a predefined time (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Stadtfelder discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, wherein the digital processor is configured to determine, during the calibration procedure, an offset value of the integrated current sensor circuit, and a sensitivity value of the integrated current sensor circuit based on a predefined electrical current, the digital sensor signal in response to the predefined electrical current, and the offset value (see [0024, 31-32]).
Regarding claim 6, Stadtfelder discloses the current sensor package of claim 5, wherein the non-volatile memory is configured to store one or more correction factors for determining a target sensitivity and a target offset of the integrated current sensor circuit (see [0024, 26, 31-32]).
Regarding claim 9, Stadtfelder discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, further comprising a current rail integrated into the current sensor package (see [0029]).
Regarding claim 10, Stadtfelder discloses a method for calibrating a current sensor package (see abstract and 600 in Fig. 1), the method comprising: generating, using a current sensor circuit-integrated into the current sensor package (a comparator circuit of electronic package 600 coupled to a current sensor 500 in Fig. 1), an analog sensor signal in response to an electrical current (the comparator circuit output an analog signal in response to an electrical current Ip flowed thru a conductor 100, see paragraph [0024]); converting the analog sensor signal to a digital sensor signal using an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) integrated into the current sensor package signal (the ADC converted the analog signal to a digital signal, see at least in [0024]); running, on a digital processor integrated into the current sensor package, a calibration procedure for the integrated current sensor circuit based on the digital sensor signal and predefined target values (The measured value can then be compared with an expected value based on this known current flow IP, i.e., in particular with a value stored in advance for this purpose, and consequently any difference between the measured value and the expected value can be recorded. The method for detecting a changed measurement behavior, it is expediently provided that a correction factor is determined from the detected difference and this in turn can or can be included in the measurement behavior of the current measuring device, in particular for its recalibration. is also included. ….In particular, after a correction value has been determined, it can also be converted back into an analog value by means of a digital-to-analog conversion, as in FIG. 1 z . B. represented by the unit labeled DAC. As a result, a self-calibration of the current measuring device can be carried out within the scope of the invention, see [0024]); and storing the predefined target values and calibration parameters determined during the calibration procedure on a non-volatile memory integrated into the current sensor package (… “in particular with a value stored in advance for this purpose, and consequently any difference between the measured value and the expected value can be recorded”, in [0024], and also see [21, 31]).
Regarding claim 11, Stadtfelder discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: initiating the calibration procedure by setting at least one terminal of the current sensor package to a predefined state for a predefined time (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Stadtfelder discloses the method of claim 10, wherein running the calibration procedure comprises: within a predefined time window from initiating the calibration procedure, measuring an offset value of the integrated current sensor circuit (see [0024, 31-32]).
Regarding claim 13, Stadtfelder discloses the method of claim 12, wherein running the calibration procedure comprises: after the predefined time window from initiating the calibration procedure; forcing a predefined test current in a measurement path; and calculating a sensitivity value of the integrated current sensor circuit based on the predefined test current, the digital sensor signal in response to the predefined test current, and the offset value (see [0024, 31-32]).
Regarding claim 14, Stadtfelder discloses the method of claim 13, wherein running the calibration procedure comprises: calculating one or more correction factors for determining a target sensitivity and a target offset of the integrated current sensor circuit; and storing the one or more correction factors in the non-volatile memory (see [0024, and 21, 31])).
5. Claims 1-6 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aljadeff et al. (US. Pub. 20210/165066; hereinafter “Aljadeff”).
Regarding claim 1, Aljadeff discloses a current sensor package (a current transformer and self-calibration circuitry in Fig. 2), comprising:
an integrated current sensor circuit (analog log fronts 210 and 450 configured to generate analog sensor signals in response to an electrical current Ip flowed thru a conductor 260, see paragraphs [0026, 28]) configured to generate an analog sensor signal in response to an electrical current; an analog-to-digital convertor (ADC) (220 and 440 in Fig. 2) coupled to the integrated current sensor circuit and configured to convert the analog sensor signal to a digital sensor signal (Fig. 2 shows ADCs 220 and 440 coupled to the analog fronts 210 and 450, respectively, configured to convert the analog signals to digital signals, see [0027 and 28]); a digital processor (a processing circuitry 230 in Fig. 2) coupled to the ADC (see Fig. 2) and configured to run a calibration procedure for the integrated current sensor circuit based on the digital sensor signal and predefined target values (“wherein the system is configured to determine, based on the first digital signal and the second digital signal, whether there is at least one CT calibration parameter that is different by a predetermined threshold value from a previously stored version of that CT calibration parameter and if so updating at least one CT calibration parameter to a value that will reduce a measurement error caused by the CT when measuring a current flowing through the primary coil of the CT”, see at least in [0014] and claim 1); and
a non-volatile memory (“a processing circuitry 230, the processing circuitry may include, but is not limited to, a processor, a controller, non-volatile memory, logical gates..”, see [0027) coupled to the digital processor (230) and configured to store the predefined target values and calibration parameters determined during the calibration procedure (“whether there is at least one CT calibration parameter that is different by a predetermined threshold value from a previously stored version of that CT calibration parameter and if so updating at least one CT calibration parameter to a value that will reduce a measurement error caused by the CT when measuring a current flowing through the primary coil of the CT”, see claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Aljadeff discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, wherein the integrated current sensor circuit comprises a sensing element (130, 270) and signal conditioning circuitry (200) configured to process an analog output signal received from the sensing element (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Aljadeff discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, wherein the integrated current sensor circuit comprises a coil (sensing coils 130, 270 in Fig. 2), a magneto-resistor, or a Hall effect sensor (500 in Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Aljadeff discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, wherein the digital processor is configured to start the calibration procedure if at least one terminal of the current sensor package is set to a predefined state for a predefined time (see [see [0014] and claim 1]).
Regarding claim 5, Aljadeff discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, wherein the digital processor is configured to determine, during the calibration procedure, an offset value of the integrated current sensor circuit, and a sensitivity value of the integrated current sensor circuit based on a predefined electrical current, the digital sensor signal in response to the predefined electrical current, and the offset value (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Aljadeff discloses the current sensor package of claim 5, wherein the non-volatile memory is configured to store one or more correction factors for determining a target sensitivity and a target offset of the integrated current sensor circuit (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 10, Aljadeff discloses a method for calibrating a current sensor package (see abstract and 200 in Fig. 2), the method comprising: generating, using a current sensor circuit-integrated into the current sensor package, an analog sensor signal in response to an electrical current (analog log fronts 210 and 450 configured to generate analog sensor signals in response to an electrical current Ip flowed thru a conductor 260, see paragraphs [0026, 28]); converting the analog sensor signal to a digital sensor signal using an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) integrated into the current sensor package (Fig. 2 shows ADCs 220 and 440 coupled to the analog fronts 210 and 450, respectively, configured to convert the analog signals to digital signals, see [0027 and 28]); running, on a digital processor (a processing circuitry 230 in Fig. 2) integrated into the current sensor package, a calibration procedure for the integrated current sensor circuit based on the digital sensor signal and predefined target values (“wherein the system is configured to determine, based on the first digital signal and the second digital signal, whether there is at least one CT calibration parameter that is different by a predetermined threshold value from a previously stored version of that CT calibration parameter and if so updating at least one CT calibration parameter to a value that will reduce a measurement error caused by the CT when measuring a current flowing through the primary coil of the CT”, see at least in [0014] and claim 1); and storing the predefined target values and calibration parameters determined during the calibration procedure on a non-volatile memory (“a processing circuitry 230, the processing circuitry may include, but is not limited to, a processor, a controller, non-volatile memory, logical gates..”, see [0027) integrated into the current sensor package (“whether there is at least one CT calibration parameter that is different by a predetermined threshold value from a previously stored version of that CT calibration parameter and if so updating at least one CT calibration parameter to a value that will reduce a measurement error caused by the CT when measuring a current flowing through the primary coil of the CT”, see claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Aljadeff discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: initiating the calibration procedure by setting at least one terminal of the current sensor package to a predefined state for a predefined time (see [see [0014] and claim 1]).
Regarding claim 12, Aljadeff discloses the method of claim 10, wherein running the calibration procedure comprises: within a predefined time window from initiating the calibration procedure, measuring an offset value of the integrated current sensor circuit (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 13, Aljadeff discloses the method of claim 12, wherein running the calibration procedure comprises: after the predefined time window from initiating the calibration procedure; forcing a predefined test current in a measurement path; and calculating a sensitivity value of the integrated current sensor circuit based on the predefined test current, the digital sensor signal in response to the predefined test current, and the offset value (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Aljadeff discloses the method of claim 13, wherein running the calibration procedure comprises: calculating one or more correction factors for determining a target sensitivity and a target offset of the integrated current sensor circuit; and storing the one or more correction factors in the non-volatile memory (see [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stadtfelder in view of McNally et al. (US. Pat. 11402409; hereinafter “McNally”). Regarding claim 7, Stadtfelder discloses the current sensor package of claim 1, except for explicitly specifying that wherein the integrated current sensor circuit, the ADC, the digital processor, and the non-volatile memory are integrated on a common semiconductor substrate.
McNally discloses a current sensor package (500 in Fig. 5) comprising the integrated current sensor circuit (542-546 and 550), the ADC (558), the digital processor (560), and the non-volatile memory (EEPROM) are integrated on a common semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 5 and at least in Col. 7 line 35 to 67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current sensor of Stadtfelder by having the integrated current sensor circuit, the ADC, the digital processor, and the non-volatile memory are integrated on a common semiconductor substrate, as taught by McNally for purpose of effectively reducing size and cost of the current sensor and enhancing accurate current measurement .
Regarding claim 8, Stadtfelder and McNally disclose the current sensor package of claim 1, McNally further teaches wherein the non-volatile memory comprises an EEPROM (see Col. 7 line 50 to 65).
Prior Art of Record
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doogue et al. (U.S Pub. 20130015843) discloses a current sensor package (see specification for more details). Ausserlechner et al. (U.S Pub. 20110270553) discloses a current sensor package (see specification for more details).
Conclusion
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
3/2/2026