DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rogren (U.S. PGPub 2013/0037927).
Regarding claim 1, Rogren teaches a lead frame (Figs. 11-23) comprising:
a lead that includes an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface having a larger width than a width of the lower surface (145, Fig. 13, Fig. 22, [0094]),
a connection portion that is arranged on the upper surface and serves as a connection portion for a semiconductor element (147, [0081], [0086]),
a plating film that covers a surface of the lead (143, [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Rogren teaches wherein, in the plating film, a film thickness of a portion that covers the upper surface is smaller than a film thickness of a portion that covers the lower surface (Fig. 22, plating film 143 is not present on upper surface).
Regarding claim 4, Rogren teaches wherein the lead includes a side surface between the upper surface and the lower surface, and
in the plating film, a film thickness of a portion that covers the side surface is smaller than a film thickness of a portion that covers one of the upper surface and the lower surface (Fig. 22, plating film 143 is not present on upper surface).
Regarding claim 8, Rogren teaches wherein the lead has a tapered shape in which a width of the upper surface is larger than a width of the lower surface in a cross section perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the lead (Figs. 20-25).
Regarding claim 10, Rogren teaches a semiconductor device (Figs. 11-23), comprising:
a semiconductor element that is mounted on the lead frame (Fig. 25, 160, [0095]) and
sealing resin that seals the semiconductor element (170, [0095]), wherein
the lead frame includes a lead that includes an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface having a larger width than a width of the lower surface (145, Fig. 13, Fig. 22, [0094]),
a connection portion that is arranged on the upper surface and serves as a connection portion for the semiconductor element (147, [0081], [0086]),
a plating film that covers a surface of the lead (143, [0081]-[0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki (U.S. PGPub 2004/0232534) in view of Rogren (U.S. PGPub 2013/0037927).
Regarding claim 1, Seki teaches a lead frame (Fig. 9, 1, [0101]), comprising:
a lead that includes an upper surface and a lower surface (Fig. 11, [0102]),
a connection portion that is arranged on the upper surface and serves as a connection portion for a semiconductor element ([0101], silver-plated layer, see Fig. 5, 3, [0091]), and
a plating film that covers a surface of the lead (one or more of 7a/7b/2a, [0103]).
Seki does not explicitly teach the upper surface of the lead having a larger width than a width of the lower surface.
Rogren teaches a lead frame comprising a lead includes an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface having a larger width than a width of the lower surface (145, Fig. 13, Fig. 22, [0094]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Rogren with Seki such that the upper surface of the lead has a larger width than a width of the lower surface for the purpose of providing secure attachment to the encapsulant (Rogren, [0019]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Seki and Rogren teaches wherein, in the plating film, a film thickness of a portion that covers the lower surface is smaller than a film thickness of a portion that covers the upper surface (Seki, Fig. 11, [0103]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Seki with Rogren for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Seki and Rogren teaches wherein, in the plating film, a film thickness of a portion that covers the upper surface is smaller than a film thickness of a portion that covers the lower surface (Seki, [0103], layer 2b selectively formed on only one surface, which may be the lower surface. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Seki with Rogren for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Seki and Rogren teaches wherein the lead includes a side surface between the upper surface and the lower surface (Seki, Fig. 9; Rogren, Fig. 22), and in the plating film, a film thickness of a portion that covers the side surface is smaller than a film thickness of a portion that covers one of the upper surface and the lower surface (Seki, [0096], plating layer may be formed on the side surfaces; [0095], layer 2b selectively formed on upper and/or lower surfaces; Rogren, [0085]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Seki with Rogren for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Seki and Rogren teaches wherein a surface of the plating film is a roughened surface, and surface roughness of the surface of the plating film is larger than surface roughness of the surface of the lead (Seki, 2b, [0095], [0102]-[0103], Fig. 11). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Seki with Rogren for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Seki and Rogren teaches wherein in the plating film, surface roughness of a portion that covers the upper surface is larger than surface roughness of a portion that covers the lower surface (Seki, 2b, [0095], [0102]-[0103], Fig. 11). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Seki with Rogren for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Seki and Rogren teaches wherein the lead has a tapered shape in which a width of the upper surface is larger than a width of the lower surface in a cross section perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the lead (Rogren, Figs. 20-25). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Seki with Rogren for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Seki and Rogren teaches a die pad that includes a mounting surface for the semiconductor element, wherein the plating film covers a surface of the die pad (Seki, Fig. 5, [0091]; [0101]-[0103]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Seki with Rogren for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Seki teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a lead frame (Fig. 9, 1, [0101]),
a semiconductor element that is mounted on the lead frame (Fig. 9, [0101]), and
sealing resin that seals the semiconductor element (9, [0101]), wherein
the lead frame includes
a lead that includes an upper surface and a lower surface (Fig. 11, [0102]),
a connection portion that is arranged on the upper surface and serves as a connection portion for a semiconductor element ([0101], silver-plated layer, see Fig. 5, 3, [0091]), and
a plating film that covers a surface of the lead (one or more of 7a/7b/2a, [0103]).
Seki does not explicitly teach the upper surface of the lead having a larger width than a width of the lower surface.
Rogren teaches a lead frame comprising a lead includes an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface having a larger width than a width of the lower surface (145, Fig. 13, Fig. 22, [0094]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Rogren with Seki such that the upper surface of the lead has a larger width than a width of the lower surface for the purpose of providing secure attachment to the encapsulant (Rogren, [0019]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki (U.S. PGPub 2004/0232534) in view of Rogren (U.S. PGPub 2013/0037927) and Sonehara (U.S. PGPub 2019/0157196).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Seki and Rogren teaches wherein the connection portion is formed of a plating layer of a different material from the plating film (Seki, [0091]) but does not explicitly teach wherein the connection portion is arranged on the plating film that covers the upper surface.
Sonehara teaches a lead frame comprising a lead and a plating film that covers a surface of the lead (Figs. 1A-1B, [0047]-[0049], 21, 22) a connection portion arranged on the upper surface of the lead and serves as a connection portion for a semiconductor element, wherein the connection portion is arranged on the plating film ([0050], 23, [0125], 213).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sonehara with Seki and Rogren such that the connection portion is arranged on the plating film that covers the upper surface because the prior art teaches every element, a person of ordinary skill could have combined them as claimed and in combination each element performs the same function as it does separately, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention. See MPEP 2143(I)A.
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812