DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans et al. (US 2002/0010487).
Regarding claim 1, an invention relating to a surgical cutting device, Evans discloses (Figs. 1-4) a medical device (10) configured to be positioned in a living body lumen (Abstract), comprising: a rotatable shaft (32) possessing distal and proximal portions; a plurality of struts (18 & 30) that extend along a central axis (see annotated figure below) of the rotatable shaft and arranged around the central axis with an interval (Par. 0051), the plurality of struts having a distal end [i.e. the end of elements 30 that are affixed at the distal portion (26)] and a proximal end [i.e. the end of elements 30 that are affixed at the proximal portion (24)], and each of the plurality of struts bridging between the distal end and the proximal end (Par. 0051); the plurality of struts being deformable in correspondence with two states, the two states being a contraction state [i.e. low profile configuration] and an expansion state [i.e. larger profile configuration]; in the contraction state, the distal end and the proximal end of the plurality of struts are most distant in the axial direction; and in the expansion state, the distal end and the proximal end of the plurality of struts are brought closer in the axial direction such that central portions of the plurality of struts are expanded in a radial direction of the central axis (Par. 0052-0053).
Regarding claim 2, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 1. Evans further discloses wherein the rotatable shaft possesses an outer surface (see annotated figure below), the rotatable shaft including the cutting member disposed at the distal portion of the rotatable shaft (Fig. 10); and the distal end of the plurality of struts being attached to a distal side of the rotatable shaft, the plurality of struts configured to rotate around the central axis in correspondence with a rotation of the rotatable shaft (Par. 0055 & 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 3, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 2. Evans further discloses (Fig. 7) wherein in the expansion state, each of the plurality of struts has a first tilting portion (62) that tilts in a first rotation direction and a second tilting portion (see annotated figure below) that tilts in opposite direction of the first tilting portion.
Regarding claim 4, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 1. Evans further discloses (Fig. 10) wherein the rotatable shaft comprises an inner elongated tubular shaft (32) possessing an outer surface (see annotated figure below), the inner elongated tubular shaft including the cutting member disposed at the distal portion of the inner elongated tubular shaft (Par. 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 5, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 4. Evans further discloses wherein the distal end of the plurality of struts is attached to a distal side of the inner elongated tubular shaft (Par. 0065).
Regarding claim 6, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 1. Evans further discloses wherein in the expansion state, the distal end and the proximal end of the plurality of struts are brought closer in the axial direction such that central portions of the plurality of struts expanded in a radial direction of the central axis (Par. 0055 & 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 7, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 1. Evans further discloses (Fig. 17) wherein each of the struts includes a plurality of spaced apart protrusions (94) that project outwardly away from the strut (Par. 0073).
Regarding claim 8, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 7. Evans further discloses wherein the plurality of spaced apart protrusions that project outwardly away from the strut are wide portions whose width in a circumferential direction is relatively wider than an adjacent portion (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 9, an invention relating to a surgical cutting device, Evans discloses (Figs. 1-4, 7, 10) a medical device (10) configured to be positioned in a living body lumen (Abstract), comprising: a rotatable shaft (32) possessing distal and proximal portions, the rotatable shaft possessing an outer surface (see annotated figure below), the rotatable shaft including a cutting member (18) disposed at the distal portion of the rotatable shaft (Par. 0064-0065); the cutting member having a plurality of struts (30) that extend along an central axis (see annotated figure below) of the rotatable shaft and are arranged around the central axis with an interval (Par. 0051), the plurality of struts having a distal end [i.e. the end of elements 30 that are affixed at the distal portion (26)] and a proximal end [i.e. the end of elements 30 that are affixed at the proximal portion (24)], each of the plurality of struts bridging between the distal end and the proximal end (Par. 0051); the distal end of the plurality of struts being attached to a distal side of the rotatable shaft, the plurality of struts configured to rotate around the central axis in correspondence with a rotation of the rotatable shaft (Par. 0055 & 0065); the plurality of struts being deformable in correspondence with two states, the two states being a contraction state [i.e. low profile configuration] and an expansion state [i.e. larger profile configuration]; in the contraction state, the distal end and the proximal end of the plurality of struts are most distant in the axial direction; in the expansion state, the distal end and the proximal end of the plurality of struts are brought closer in the axial direction such that central portions of the plurality of struts are expanded in a radial direction of the central axis (Par. 0052-0053); and in the expansion state, each of the plurality of struts has a first tilting portion (62) that tilts in a first rotation direction and a second tilting portion (see annotated figure below) that tilts in opposite direction of the first tilting portion.
Regarding claim 10, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 9. Evans further discloses wherein the plurality of struts in the contraction state have a substantially linear shape (Fig. 7), and the plurality of struts in the expansion state are deformed and bend radially outward (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 9. Evans further discloses (Fig. 17) wherein the plurality of struts include edge portions that form blades [i.e. serrated circumferential surfaces (94)] configured to cut substances in the living body lumen (Par. 0073).
Regarding claim 12, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 9. Evans further discloses wherein when the plurality of struts is brought into the expansion state, the first tilting portion and the second tilting portion tilt to the central axis at an angle and having an asymmetrical shape (Par. 0061).
Regarding claim 13, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 9. Evans discloses further comprising: a linear motion shaft (see annotated figure below), the linear motion shaft configured to adjust a deformation amount of the plurality of struts; a distal tube, the distal tube being on a distal side of the cutting unit and fixed to a distal side of the linear motion shaft (Par. 0055 & 0064-0065); and an outer sheath configured to accommodate the cutting unit (Par. 0052).
Regarding claim 14, an invention relating to a surgical cutting device, Evans discloses (Figs. 1-4, 7, 10) a medical device (10) configured to be positioned in a living body lumen (Abstract), comprising: a rotatable shaft (32) possessing distal and proximal portions, the rotatable shaft possessing an outer surface (see annotated figure below), the rotatable shaft including a cutting member (18) disposed at the distal portion of the rotatable shaft (Par. 0064-0065); the cutting member having a plurality of struts (30) that extend along a central axis (see annotated figure below) of the inner elongated tubular shaft and are arranged around the central axis with an interval (Par. 0051), the plurality of struts having a distal end [i.e. the end of elements 30 that are affixed at the distal portion (26)] and a proximal end [i.e. the end of elements 30 that are affixed at the proximal portion (24)], each of the plurality of struts bridging between the distal end and the proximal end (Par. 0051); the distal end of the plurality of struts being attached to a distal side of the inner elongated tubular shaft (Par. 0055 & 0065); the plurality of struts being deformable in correspondence with two states, the two states being a contraction state [i.e. low profile configuration] and an expansion state [i.e. larger profile configuration]; in the contraction state, the distal end and the proximal end of the plurality of struts are most distant in the axial direction; in the expansion state, the distal end and the proximal end of the plurality of struts are brought closer in the axial direction such that central portions of the plurality of struts expanded in a radial direction of the central axis (Par. 0052-0053); and wherein each of the struts includes a plurality of spaced apart protrusions (94) that project outwardly away from the strut (Par. 0073).
Regarding claim 15, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 14. Evans further discloses wherein the plurality of struts in the contraction state have a substantially linear shape (Fig. 7), and the plurality of struts in the expansion state are deformed and bend radially outward (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 14. Evans further discloses wherein the plurality of spaced apart protrusions that project outwardly away from the strut are wide portions whose width in a circumferential direction is relatively wider than an adjacent portion (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 17, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 14. Evans further discloses (Fig. 17) wherein the plurality of spaced apart protrusions that project outwardly away from the strut include a blade [i.e. serrated circumferential surfaces (94)] configured to cut the substances (Par. 0073).
Regarding claim 18, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 14. Evans further discloses wherein a rotation direction of the rotatable shaft is same as a sharp direction of the protrusion (Par. 0073).
Regarding claim 19, Evans discloses the medical device according to claim 14. Evans discloses further comprising: an outer sheath configured to accommodate the cutting unit (Par. 0052).
Conclusion
/C.U.I/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 February 14, 2026