DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the application filed 8/02/2024, with claims 1-15 pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/13/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al., US 2022/0355674 hereinafter “Yan”, in view of Kuno, US 2009/0090574.
Claims 1 and 13. Yan teaches a hybrid powertrain for an electric vehicle, wherein the hybrid powertrain comprises
a generator ([0090] and [0154]—“a DC generated by a generator driven by rotation of a
range extender such as an engine through rectification of a generator controller 104, or another power supply form”),
a motor ([0154]—“The motor may be a synchronous motor (including a brushless synchronous motor) or an asynchronous motor, a quantity of phases of the motor is greater than or equal to 3 (such as a three-phase motor, a five-phase motor, a six-phase motor, a nine-phase motor, or a fifteen-phase motor), and connection points of the motor coil form poles from which neutral lines are led out to be connected to the external power supply.),
a dual-motor controller (item 104), and
a switch module ([0098]—“…a first end of the bus capacitor Cl is connected to a first end of a switch Kl and a first end of a switch K2, a second end of the bus capacitor Cl is connected to a first end of a switch K3, a second end of the switch K2 is connected to a first end of a resistor R, a second end of the switch Kl is connected to a second end of the resistor R and a positive electrode end of the external battery 105, and a second end of the switch K3 is connected to a negative electrode end of the external battery 105.”), and
the dual-motor controller comprises a generator power circuit and a motor power circuit ([0091]—generator controller; );
bridge arm midpoints of a plurality of switching transistor bridge arms of the generator power circuit are configured to connect to a multiphase winding of the generator ([0097]-[0099] reads on this element as such—“the bridge arm converter 102 includes three channels of bridge arms, the motor 101 includes a three-phase winding, each phase winding includes one phase coil branch, and each phase winding is correspondingly connected to a midpoint of one channel of bridge arms. The three-phase winding forms a connection point, the connection point is a neutral point, and a neutral line led out from the neutral point is connected to the external charging port 106.”), and
bridge arm midpoints of a plurality of switching transistor bridge arms of the motor power circuit are configured to connect to a multiphase winding of the motor ([0154]—“The bridge arm converter 102 includes bridge arms of a plurality of phases connected in parallel, and a quantity of bridge arms in the bridge arm converter 102 is configured according to the quantity of phases of the motor. A bridge arm of each phase includes two power switches, the power switch unit may be a transistor, an IGBT, a MOSFET, a SIC transistor, or another device type, connection points of the two power switches in the bridge arm are connected to one phase coil in the motor, and the power switches in the bridge arm converter 102 may be switched on and switched off according to control signals of the controller 104.”);
two ends of each switching transistor bridge arm of the generator power circuit are configured to connect to two ends of a bus capacitor, and each switching transistor bridge arm of the motor power circuit is configured to connect to the two ends of the bus capacitor ([0097] reads on this element as such—“Two ends of each channel of bridge arms in the three channels of bridge arms are connected together separately to form a first convergence end and a second convergence end, a bus capacitor C1 is connected between the first convergence end and the second convergence end in parallel, a first end of the bus capacitor C1 is connected to a first end of a switch K1 and a first end of a switch K2, a second end of the bus capacitor C1 is connected to a first end of a switch K3, a second end of the switch K2 is connected to a first end of a resistor R, a second end of the switch K1 is connected to a second end of the resistor R and a positive electrode end of the external battery 105, and a second end of the switch K3 is connected to a negative electrode end of the external battery 105”); and
a running status of the switch module comprises a first state and a second state ([0131] describes this element as such—The bidirectional bridge arm 107 includes power switch modules connected in series and configured to transmit a received current to the AC charging port or receive a current outputted by the AC charging port. In the third working stage, the electrical energy of the AC power supply device is caused to flow back to the AC power supply device after flowing through the first coil, the first bridge arm, the external battery 105, the bus capacitor 103, and the bidirectional bridge arm 107, for storing the electrical energy of the AC power supply device in the first coil, namely, implementing an energy storage process in a charging process of the AC power supply device to the external battery. Since a current flows through the coil in the energy storage process, the motor 101 is in a driven state in this case.), wherein
if the switch module is in the first state, the switch module is configured to connect to an end of a power battery and a center tap of the multiphase winding of the motor ([0097]-[0098] reads on this element as such—“ the bridge arm converter 102 includes three channels of bridge arms, the motor 101 includes a three-phase winding, each phase winding includes one phase coil branch, and each phase winding is correspondingly connected to a midpoint of one channel of bridge arms. The three-phase winding forms a connection point, the connection point is a neutral point, and a neutral line led out from the neutral point is connected to the external charging port 106. Two ends of each channel of bridge arms in the three channels of bridge arms are connected together separately to form a first convergence end and a second convergence end, a bus capacitor C1 is connected between the first convergence end and the second convergence end in parallel, a first end of the bus capacitor C1 is connected to a first end of a switch K1 and a first end of a switch K2, a second end of the bus capacitor C1 is connected to a first end of a switch K3, a second end of the switch K2 is connected to a first end of a resistor R, a second end of the switch K1 is connected to a second end of the resistor R and a positive electrode end of the external battery 105, and a second end of the switch K3 is connected to a negative electrode end of the external battery 105.”); or
if the switch module is in the second state, the switch module is configured to connect to an end of a power battery and an end of each of the plurality of switching transistor bridge arms of the motor power circuit.
However, Yan is silent of the term wheels. Yet, Kuno teaches the control apparatus is configured to: in response to that the motor rotates with the pair of wheels, control the switch module to connect to an end of a power battery and center tap of a multiphase winding of the motor ([0131] reads on this element as such—“The vehicle in accordance with another aspect of the present embodiment includes wheels 2 to which the mechanical power generated by motor generator MG2 is transmitted”. Figs. 1, 2, and 10 illustrates the vehicle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combined the teaching of Kuno with the invention of Yan because such combination would to provide a vehicle drive system for attaining higher performance without increasing the number of components. (see [0009], Kuno).
Claim 2. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 1 and further teaches
the multiphase winding of the motor and the plurality of switching transistor bridge arms of the motor power circuit form a voltage conversion circuit ([0096] reads on the claim language of “…the multiphase winding of the motor and the plurality of switching transistor bridge arms of the motor power circuit form a voltage conversion circuit…” as such—“The motor 101 is connected to a motor controller formed by the bridge arm converter 102, the bridge arm converter 102 includes K groups of Mx channels of bridge arms, a first end and a second end of each channel of bridge arms in the K groups of Mx channels of bridge arms are connected together separately, and a midpoint of at least one channel of bridge arms in one group of Mx channels of bridge arms is connected to a phase endpoint in one set of windings of mx phases in a one-to-one correspondence manner…”).
However, Yan is silent of the term wheels. Yet, Kuno teaches wherein the motor is configured to be in transmission connection with a pair of wheels of the electric vehicle ([0131] reads on this element as such—“The vehicle in accordance with another aspect of the present embodiment includes wheels 2 to which the mechanical power generated by motor generator MG2 is transmitted”. Figs. 1, 2, and 10 illustrates the vehicle.), and
in response to that the motor rotates with the pair of wheels and the switch module runs in the first state, ([0102] along with [0125] describes this element as such—“At the time of boosting (power running), transistors Q2 and Q12 are subjected to switching control. When transistor Q2 is on, current flows from power line PL1 to ground line SL, and at this time, energy is stored in reactor L. When transistor Q2 is turned off, the energy that has been stored in reactor L is discharged through diode D1 to power line PL2. Similarly, when transistor Q12 is on, current flows from neutral line ML1 to ground line SL1, and at this time, energy is stored in U-phase coil U1. When transistor Q12 is turned off, the energy that has been stored in U-phase coil U1 is discharged through diode D11 to power line PL2….boosting unit 10 performing voltage conversion between positive and negative electrodes of battery B1 and power line PL2 and ground line SL2”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combined the teaching of Kuno with the invention of Yan because such combination would to provide a vehicle drive system for attaining higher performance without increasing the number of components. (see [0009], Kuno).
Claim 3. Yan in view of Kuno teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 2; however, Yan is silent of the term wheels.
Yet Kuno teaches wherein in a process in which the motor rotates with the pair of wheels (Figs. 1, 2, and 10 illustrates the vehicle), in response to that an output voltage of the power battery is less than a preset voltage value and the switch module is in the first state, the voltage conversion circuit is configured to increase a voltage between the two ends of the bus capacitor ([0108] along with [0118] reads on this element as such—“When the flow direction of the current in the winding coil is flowing from the buck-side capacitor to the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil, the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is less than the voltage of the buck-side capacitor, and the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is equal to a difference between the target voltage of the buck-side capacitor and the voltage drop on the phase coil….The electrical energy in the second working stage forms a loop current among the second coil, the first coil, the first bridge arm, and the second bridge arm, for causing a current in the second coil to flow to the first coil. In the first working stage, a current outputted by the bus capacitor 103 flows through the second coil through the second bridge arm, and then flows through the second coil and the first coil, to increase a voltage of a connection point of the second coil and the second bridge arm.” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combined the teaching of Kuno with the invention of Yan because such combination would to provide a vehicle drive system for attaining higher performance without increasing the number of components. (see [0009], Kuno).
Claim 4. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the dual-motor controller is configured to:
in response to that the output voltage of the power battery is less than the preset voltage value, control the generator to output an alternating current ([0090] teaches –“The power supply device may be a DC provided by a DC charging pile, a DC outputted by a single-phase or three-phase alternating current (AC) charging pile through rectification, electrical energy produced by a fuel cell, a DC generated by a generator driven by rotation of a range extender such as an engine through rectification of a generator controller, or another power supply form.”).
Claim 5. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein in the process in which the motor rotates with the pair of wheels, in response to that the output voltage of the power battery is less than the preset voltage value and the switch module is in the first state, at least one lower bridge arm switching transistor of the switching transistor bridge arms of the voltage conversion circuit is turned on at a preset duty cycle in each switch cycle, or at least one upper bridge arm switching transistor and at least one lower bridge arm switching transistor of the switching transistor bridge arms of the voltage conversion circuit are alternately turned on ([0108] along with [0017] reads on this element as such –“When the flow direction of the current in the winding coil is flowing from the buck-side capacitor to the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil, the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is less than the voltage of the buck-side capacitor, and the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is equal to a difference between the target voltage of the buck-side capacitor and the voltage drop on the phase coil….When the first rotating electric machine is not used and the second rotating electric machine is used, the control unit sets the connecting unit to a connected state, so as to cause the first inverter circuit to perform a voltage converting operation using the stator coil of the first rotating electric machine as a reactor.”).
Claim 6. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 2 and further teaches, wherein the electric vehicle comprises a powertrain, the powertrain comprises a motor controller and a drive motor, and in the process in which the motor rotates with the pair of wheels, in response to that a target torque value of the drive motor is greater than a preset torque value or a target rotation speed value of the drive motor is greater than a preset rotation speed value, at least one lower bridge arm switching transistor of the switching transistor bridge arms of the voltage conversion circuit is turned on at a preset duty cycle in each switch cycle, or at least one upper bridge arm switching transistor and at least one lower bridge arm switching transistor of the switching transistor bridge arms of the voltage conversion circuit are alternately turned on ([0108] along with [0017] reads on this element as such –“When the flow direction of the current in the winding coil is flowing from the buck-side capacitor to the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil, the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is less than the voltage of the buck-side capacitor, and the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is equal to a difference between the target voltage of the buck-side capacitor and the voltage drop on the phase coil….When the first rotating electric machine is not used and the second rotating electric machine is used, the control unit sets the connecting unit to a connected state, so as to cause the first inverter circuit to perform a voltage converting operation using the stator coil of the first rotating electric machine as a reactor.”).
Claim 7. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 2 and further teaches, wherein in a process in which the drive motor rotates with the wheels to generate an induced current, in response to that the voltage between the two ends of the bus capacitor is greater than a preset value, at least one upper bridge arm switching transistor and at least one lower bridge arm switching transistor of the voltage conversion circuit are alternately turned on ([0108] along with [0017] reads on this element as such –“When the flow direction of the current in the winding coil is flowing from the buck-side capacitor to the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil, the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is less than the voltage of the buck-side capacitor, and the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is equal to a difference between the target voltage of the buck-side capacitor and the voltage drop on the phase coil….When the first rotating electric machine is not used and the second rotating electric machine is used, the control unit sets the connecting unit to a connected state, so as to cause the first inverter circuit to perform a voltage converting operation using the stator coil of the first rotating electric machine as a reactor.”).
Claim 8. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 2 and further teaches, wherein in a process in which the drive motor rotates with the wheels to generate an induced current, in response to that the voltage between the two ends of the bus capacitor is greater than a preset value, at least one upper bridge arm switching transistor of the voltage conversion circuit is turned on at a preset duty cycle in each switch cycle (Taken together the following cited section describes this element[0108] and [0017] “When the flow direction of the current in the winding coil is flowing from the buck-side capacitor to the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil, the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is less than the voltage of the buck-side capacitor, and the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is equal to a difference between the target voltage of the buck-side capacitor and the voltage drop on the phase coil….When the first rotating electric machine is not used and the second rotating electric machine is used, the control unit sets the connecting unit to a connected state, so as to cause the first inverter circuit to perform a voltage converting operation using the stator coil of the first rotating electric machine as a reactor.” [0117]-[0118]—“ The first working stage and the second working stage form a period, and the period is a fixed value, so that after the switch-on moments and durations of the first bridge arm and the second bridge arm in the first working stage are determined, the switch-on moments and durations of the first bridge arm and the second bridge arm in the second working stage may be directly determined. [0118] In the second working stage, the electrical energy of the DC power supply device flows through the external battery and the bus capacitor 103 and flows back to the DC power supply device after flowing through the first coil and the first bridge arm, for implementing charging of the DC power supply device and the first coil to the external battery
and the bus capacitor 103,”).
Claim 9. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein in response to a first torque signal, the switch module is in the second state, the bridge arm midpoints of the plurality of switching transistor bridge arms of the motor power circuit output an alternating current to drive the motor to output torque indicated by the first torque signal, and the torque of the motor indicated by the first torque signal is greater than a preset torque value ([0091] reads on this element as such—“connected to a bridge arm of phase A in the bridge arm converter 102, and flows out of the motor 101 from a motor coil connected to bridge arms of phase B and phase C in the bridge arm converter 102, and since a torque output of the motor 101 may be adjusted by adjusting the current magnitude and direction of each phase coil in the motor 101, and a sum of magnitudes of currents flowing through the motor 101 is equal to an input current of a connection point of each phase coil of the motor 101, the input current may be used for adjusting charging power. A charging process of the external power supply to the external battery 105 and the torque output of the motor 101 may be controlled at the same time by adjusting the current magnitude and direction of each phase coil of the motor 101.”).
Claim 10. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein in response to a second torque signal, the switch module is in the second state, switching transistors of the plurality of switching transistor bridge arms of the motor power circuit are turned off, and torque indicated by the second torque signal is less than a preset torque value ([0108] along with [0166] reads on this element as such—“ When the flow direction of the current in the winding coil is flowing from the buck-side capacitor to the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil, the voltage of the connection
point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is less than the voltage of the buck-side capacitor, and the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is equal to a difference between the target voltage of the buck-side capacitor and the voltage drop on the phase coil….”).
Claim 11. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the switch module comprises a static contact and two moving contacts, the static contact of the switch module is connected to an end of the power battery, and the two moving contacts of the switch module are respectively connected to a midpoint tap of the motor and an end of the plurality of switching transistor bridge arms ([0096]-[0098] read on this element as such—“by the bridge arm converter 102, the bridge arm converter 102 includes K groups of Mx channels of bridge arms, a first end and a second end of each channel of bridge arms in the K groups of Mx channels of bridge arms are connected together separately, and a midpoint of at least one channel of bridge arms in one group of Mx channels of bridge arms is connected to a phase endpoint in one set of windings….”).
Claim 12. Yan teaches the hybrid powertrain according to claim 1 and further teach, wherein the switch module comprises a first switch and a second switch, the first switch is configured to connect to a midpoint tap of the drive motor and an end of the plurality of switching transistor bridge arms, and the second switch is configured to connect to an end of the plurality of switching transistor bridge arms and an end of the power battery ([0090]—“The bridge arm converter 102 includes bridge arms of a plurality of phases connected in parallel, and a quantity of bridge arms in the bridge arm converter 102 is configured according to the quantity of phases of the motor. A bridge arm of each phase includes two power switch units, the power switch unit may be a transistor, an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT), a metal-oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET), a silicon carbide (SIC) transistor, or another device type, connection points of the two power switches in the bridge arm are connected to one phase coil in the motor, and the power switches in the bridge arm converter 102 may be switched on and switched off according to control signals of the controller 104.”).
Claim 14. Yan teaches the control apparatus according to claim 13 and further teaches, wherein in a process in which the motor rotates with the pair of wheels and the drive motor drives the other pair of wheels, the control apparatus is configured to: in response to that a voltage between the two ends of the bus capacitor is less than a preset value, control at least one lower bridge arm switching transistor of the switching transistor bridge arms of the motor power circuit to be turned on at a preset duty cycle in each switch cycle, or control at least one upper bridge arm switching transistor and at least one lower bridge arm switching transistor of the switching transistor bridge arms of the motor power circuit to be alternately turned on ([0108] along with [0017] and [0129]-[0133] reads on this element as such –“When the flow direction of the current in the winding coil is flowing from the buck-side capacitor to the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil, the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is less than the voltage of the buck-side capacitor, and the voltage of the connection point of each phase bridge arm and each phase coil is equal to a difference between the target voltage of the buck-side capacitor and the voltage drop on the phase coil….When the first rotating electric machine is not used and the second rotating electric machine is used, the control unit sets the connecting unit to a connected state, so as to cause the first inverter circuit to perform a voltage converting operation using the stator coil of the first rotating electric machine as a reactor….in the third working stage, the controller 104 controls switch-on moments and durations of the first bridge arm, the second bridge arm, and the bidirectional bridge arm 107 according to the to-be-driven power of the motor 101 and the to-be-charged power of the external battery 105, to cause electrical energy of the AC power supply device to flow back to the AC power supply device after flowing through the first coil, the first bridge arm, and the bidirectional bridge arm 107, and cause electrical energy on the bus capacitor 103 to flow back to the bus capacitor 103 after flowing through the second bridge arm, the second coil, the first coil, and the first bridge arm”).
Claim 15. Yan teaches the control apparatus according to claim 13 and further teaches, wherein the control apparatus is configured to: in response to that the drive motor rotates with the other pair of wheels to generate an induced current and a voltage between the two ends of the bus capacitor is greater than a preset value, control at least one upper bridge arm switching transistor of the switching transistor bridge arms of the motor power circuit to be turned on at a preset duty cycle in each switch cycle, or control at least one upper bridge arm switching transistor and at least one lower bridge arm switching transistor of switching transistor bridge arms of the dual-motor controller to be alternately turned on ([0128]-[0132]—“…the external charging port 106 further includes an AC charging port 108, the bidirectional bridge arm 107 and the bridge arm converter 102 are connected in parallel, the bidirectional bridge arm 107 is further connected to the controller 104 and the AC charging port 108, the AC charging port 108 is connected to an AC power supply device, and the working period of the drive-charging circuit includes a third working stage and a fourth working stage….The bidirectional bridge arm 107 includes power switch modules connected in series and configured to transmit a received current to the AC charging port or receive a current outputted by the AC charging port. In the third working stage, the electrical energy of the AC power supply device is caused to flow back to the AC power supply device after flowing through the first coil, the first bridge arm, the external battery 105, the bus capacitor 103, and the bidirectional bridge arm 107, for storing the electrical energy of the AC power supply device in the first coil, namely, implementing an energy storage process in a charging process of the AC power supply device to the external battery.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Y. Wang et al., “A Hybrid Isolated Bidirectional DC/DC Solid-State Transformer for DC Distribution Network,” in IEEE Access, vol. 9, pp. 159059-159070, 2021, doi: 10.1109/ACCESS.2021.3130650—This reference is directed to a hybrid bidirectional DC/DC solid-state transformer (DCSST).
/A.D.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RUSSELL FREJD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661