DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the application filed 8/2/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son et al. (US 2018/0202091 A1).
Re claim 1, Son discloses a laundry treatment apparatus comprising:
a first treatment apparatus (ref. 110 ¶ [0081]) having a first receiver configured to receive laundry (see figs. 2-3), the first treatment apparatus being configured to execute a first course for treating the laundry of the first receiver;
a second treatment apparatus (ref. 120, ¶ [0081]) having a second receiver configured to receive laundry (see figs. 2-3), the second treatment apparatus being configured to execute a second course for treating the laundry of the second receiver, the second treatment apparatus being disposed in a first direction relative to the first treatment apparatus (see figs. 2-3 vertically stacked);
an output part (ref. 200, see figs. 5, 8-10 and 12) provided at the first treatment apparatus or the second treatment apparatus, the output part being configured to output a double-view screen configured to display progress information of the first course and progress information of the second course on the double-view screen in a second direction different from the first direction (see fig. 12, ¶ [0233]-[0234] process state, regarding “different” ¶ [0182] display unit…may be divided into left and right regions); and
an input part (¶ [0092]-[0093] display unit 200 may be a touch panel…manipulation unit) provided at the first treatment apparatus or the second treatment apparatus, the input part being configured to receive a user command for selection of an object displayed by the output part.
Re claims 2-5, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to a floor surface (see fig. 3), and wherein the second direction is parallel to the floor surface (¶ [0182] left and right). wherein the first treatment apparatus includes a first cabinet defining an outer appearance of the first treatment apparatus; and wherein the output part extends parallel to a width direction of the first cabinet (see fig. 2, ref. 200 parallel to width of ref. 110). wherein the first treatment apparatus is located above the second treatment apparatus (see figs. 2-3, embodiments showing ref. 110 above ref. 120). wherein the first cabinet includes a front panel having a first loading port configured to allow the laundry to be loaded into the first receiver, wherein the laundry treatment apparatus further includes a first door configured to open and close the first loading port, and wherein the output part is located between an upper end of the front panel of the first cabinet and the first door (see fig. 2 third embodiment having front panel and display 200 between upper part and the door therebelow).
Re claims 6-10, wherein the double-view screen includes: a first area configured to display the progress information of the first course; and a second area configured to display the progress information of the second course (see fig. 12). wherein the double-view screen further includes a boundary item separating the first area from the second area (see fig. 12 line between segments). wherein the double-view screen further includes: a selectable first setting item displayed on the first area, the first setting item being configured to output a first setting screen of the first treatment apparatus; and a selectable second setting item displayed on the second area, the second setting item being configured to output a second setting screen of the second treatment apparatus (see fig. 10a selectable setting screen with corresponding areas for each of the treating units). wherein the double-view screen further includes: a first indicator displayed on the first area, the first indicator being configured to represent status information of the first treatment apparatus, the first indicator being distinguishable from the progress information of the first course; and a second indicator displayed on the second area, the second indicator being configured to represent status information of the second treatment apparatus, the second indicator being distinguishable from the progress information of the second course (see fig. 12a s640 currently processing course distinguishable from s650 remaining time, s660 currently progressing cycle and the pause/resume button with a circle display representing time). wherein the output part is configured to, when the first area is selected from the double-view screen, output a first course option screen configured to display a plurality of options for the first course on an entirety of the double-view screen (see figs. 9 and 10d-11, showing enlargement of selections to entire screen).
Re claims 11-13 and 15-16, wherein the output part is further configured to output a mode selection screen configured to display a plurality of modes to be executed by the first treatment apparatus or the second treatment apparatus, the plurality of modes being selectable (see fig. 10 commands for specific courses, ¶ [0201]-[0202]). wherein the plurality of modes includes: at least one first mode to be executed by the first treatment apparatus; and at least one second mode to be executed by the second treatment apparatus (see fig. 10(a) modes for both treatment apparatus). wherein the at least one first mode and the at least one second mode are aligned in the first direction on the mode selection screen, the at least one first mode being distinguishable from the at least one second mode (see fig. 10a, vertically aligned courses). wherein the output part is further configured to: output a first apparatus screen configured to display information of the first course on an entirety of the first apparatus screen; output a second apparatus screen configured to display information of the second course on an entirety of the second apparatus screen; and display a mode selection item configured to output the mode selection screen on each of the first apparatus screen and the second apparatus screen, the mode selection item being selectable (see fig. 10(c-d) and 11 taking the entirety of screen and enabling selection of mode items S510-550). wherein the output part outputs the second apparatus screen when the second mode is selected from the mode selection screen output in accordance with selection of the mode selection item of the first apparatus screen (see fig. 10c transitioning from first apparatus screen to second apparatus screen).
Re claim 18, wherein a power button and an execution/stop button are provided at one of the first treatment apparatus and the second treatment apparatus (¶ [0173] power is supplied; see also ¶ [0244] user starts to manipulate the display unit; and see fig. 12 pause button).
Re claim 19, wherein the output part is further configured to: while outputting the double-view screen, output a course completion message upon completion of the first course on an entirety of the output part when the first course is completed, and output information of the second course on an entirety of the output part when a predetermined time elapses from output of the course completion message (regarding “course completion message”, fig. 12 shows remaining time S650 and a circular progress indicator, when at 0 or complete circle satisfies “completion message”; see also ¶ [0050] end determine step).
Re claim 20, wherein the output part and the input part are provided at one of the first treatment apparatus and the second treatment apparatus (see figs. 1-2 ref. 200 on ref. 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0202091 A1)
Re claim 17, Son discloses as shown above and further discloses wherein the first apparatus screen corresponds to a course progress screen configured to display the progress information of the first course executed in progress in the first treatment apparatus on an entirety of the first apparatus screen (see fig. 12, regarding “entirety” ¶ [0186]-[0187] display only the select information S200 of the activated treating unit). Regarding “wherein the second apparatus screen output through the mode selection screen corresponds to a course selection screen configured to display a plurality of second courses executable by the second treatment apparatus such that the plurality of second courses is selectable, and wherein the course selection screen is changed to the double-view screen when one of the second courses is selected from the course selection screen for the second treatment apparatus during execution of the first course in the first treatment apparatus”, Son further discloses detecting the activation of the second treatment apparatus (¶[0182][w]hen it is sensed in the sense step…the first region…the second region) and displaying course selection for two regions when selecting both devices ([0189]-[0192] [o]nce both the first select information and the second select information are selected…displaying first region…second region). As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at displaying status/progress for only one treatment apparatus when it is prepared for operation/operating (and the second treatment apparatus is not), until the second treatment apparatus is activated, selected and prepared for operation/operating. (Examiner further notes Son disclose the end-reversal of displays, i.e. switching from dual view to single view after the completion of one treatment apparatus ¶ [0236]-[0237]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0202091 A1), as applied above, in view of Yoo (KR20150028006A) (machine translation attached).
Re claim 14, Son discloses as shown above, and further discloses wherein the double-view screen includes: a first area configured to display the progress information of the first course; and a second area configured to display the progress information of the second course (see fig. 12), but does not disclose a previous-selection marker. However, Yoo discloses it is old and well-known in the change instructions of laundry apparatuses (abstract) to provide wherein, on the mode selection screen, a previous-selection marker (see figs. 9 and 11, previous-selection settings are displayed below while allowing a “change” among the plurality of modes) is configured to indicate a mode among the plurality of modes corresponding to an immediately previous screen output from the output part before the mode selection screen was outputted by the output part, wherein the previous-selection marker is indicated at the first mode on the mode selection screen output in accordance with selection of the mode selection item of the first area. Regarding “wherein the previous-selection marker is indicated at the second mode on the mode selection screen output in accordance with selection of the mode selection item of the second area”, the duplication of the previous-selection marker for both treatment apparatuses is prima facie obvious, for the same reason of allowing a user to visualize existing setting and what will be change.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the output of Son, to further include a previous-selection marker, as suggested by Yoo, in order to inform the user of the current setting selections during the changing of settings.
Conclusion
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711