DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 22-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/25/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-21 in the reply filed on 6/25/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim USPA_20170285818_A1 in view of Hashimoto USPA_20120270016_A1.
1. Regarding Claims 1, 10, 12, 20, Kim discloses a window (paragraph 0003) comprising a reinforced patterned glass including groove patterns (corresponds to claimed patterned portion); wherein said reinforced patterned glass comprises a tensile stress layer (corresponds to claimed base layer) (element “CSP” in Figs.) and two compressive stress layers (elements TSP 1 and TSP 2 in Figs.) disposed on a top and bottom surface of said tensile stress layer (corresponds to claimed base layer) (paragraph 0063; Fig. 11). Kim further discloses having a non-patterned portion adjacent to said groove patterned portion (Abstract, paragraphs 0045, 0047, FIG. 5A). Kim also discloses in FIG. 11 that its “TSP” (compressive stress layer) is significantly thinner than the full thickness (i.e. non-patterned portion) of its reinforced patterned glass. Although the percentage is not explicitly disclosed, FIG. 11 appears to reflect the claimed range of instant Claims 1, 12, 20.
2. However, Kim does not disclose the claimed compressive stress values of instant Claims 1, 10, 20.
3. Hashimoto discloses a cover glass for a mobile device (Title) wherein the compressive stress at the surface of its reinforced glass is 300 MPa (paragraph 0036) that contributes to sufficient strength even if it is thin or lightweight (paragraph 0011).
4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the compressive stress at the surface of the reinforced glass, of Kim, by trying the compressive stress mentioned by Hashimoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so out of a desire for sufficient strength.
5. Regarding Claims 2, 14, Kim in view of Hashimoto suggests using K+ ions (Kim: paragraph 0014) and Na+ ions (Kim: paragraphs 0057, 0058).
6. Regarding Claims 3, 15, Kim in view of Hashimoto does not suggest the claimed modulus. However, given that it disclosed the claimed product, it would be expected for it to inherently possess the same physical properties such as modulus.
7. Regarding Claims 4, 16, Kim in view of Hashimoto suggests its glass can have a thickness of 300 microns (Hashimoto: Abstract).
8. Regarding Claims 5, 13, although the claimed thickness is not disclosed, the Examiner respectfully submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the thickness of the compressive stress layer based on the degree of stress required according to the end-user specs.
9. Regarding Claims 6, 17, Kim in view of Hashimoto suggests having grooves on both surfaces (Kim: Fig. 7A).
10. Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Hashimoto suggests having an encapsulating layer to protect (Kim: paragraph 0079).
11. Regarding Claims 9, 11, 21, Kim in view of Hashimoto doesn’t explicitly disclose this limitation. However, the Examiner respectfully submits that compressive stress results from contact with an adjacent layer (Kim: Claim 14). And so in the case of having a patterned groove region, where there is less surface area with an adjacent layer, then it would be expected for its compressive stress to be lower than a non-patterned region. Likewise, the thickness of the patterned portion will be less than a non-patterned region due to the groove being recessed inwards.
12. Regarding Claim 19, Kim in view of Hashimoto suggests having a foldable and non-foldable region (Kim: paragraph 0072).
13. Regarding Claims 7, 18, Kim in view of Hashimoto suggests a gate insulating layer that is disposed on said reinforced glass (paragraph 0076). This would inherently fill in the grooves.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 19, 2026