DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 3-6, 8, and 10-16 are pending in this application for reissue of US Patent 10,580,415 (hereinafter “the '415 patent”) issued from application no. 15/978,342 (“the ‘342 application”). Claims 1-16 are original patent claims. In this reissue application, claims 1-2, 7, and 9 have been cancelled and claims 4-6, 8, and 10-15 have been amended. Claims 3-6, 8, and 10-16 are currently pending.
Prior or Concurrent Proceedings
2. Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceed-ing in which the ‘415 patent is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Information Material to Patentability
3. Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is mate-rial to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue appli-cation.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Claim Objection - 37 C.F.R. 1.173
5. 37 CFR 1.173 (d) states:
(d) Changes shown by markings. Any changes relative to the patent being reissued which are made to the specification, including the claims, upon filing, or by an amendment paper in the reissue application, must include the following markings:
(1) The matter to be omitted by reissue must be enclosed in brackets; and
(2) The matter to be added by reissue must be underlined, except for amendments submitted on compact discs (§§ 1.96 and 1.821(c) ). Matter added by reissue on compact discs must be preceded with "<U>" and end with "</U>" to properly identify the material being added.
Claim amendments are objected to because Applicant has used strike-through to indicate matter to be omitted. Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 251
(a) IN GENERAL.—Whenever any patent is, through error, deemed wholly or partly inoperative or invalid, by reason of a defective specification or drawing, or by reason of the patentee claiming more or less than he had a right to claim in the patent, the Director shall, on the surrender of such patent and the payment of the fee required by law, reissue the patent for the invention disclosed in the original patent, and in accordance with a new and amended application, for the unexpired part of the term of the original patent. No new matter shall be introduced into the application for reissue.
7. Claims 3-6, 8, and 10-16 are rejected as being based upon a defective reissue declaration under 35 U.S.C. 251. See 37 CFR 1.175. The nature of the defect(s) in the October 27, 2017 Declaration is set forth below.
The reissue oath/declaration filed with this application is defective because it fails to properly identify at least one error which is relied upon to support the reissue application. See 37 CFR 1.175 and MPEP § 1414. MPEP 1414 II.(B) states in part: “In identifying the error, it is sufficient that the reissue oath/declaration identify a single word, phrase, or expression in the specification or in an original patent claim, and how it renders the original patent wholly or partly inoperative or invalid.” The statement of error in the oath/declaration fails to specifically identify an error. "Any error in the claims must be identified by reference to the specific claim(s) and the specific claim language wherein lies the error." See MPEP 1414 II. (C).
8. Claims 3-6, 8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 pursuant to 37 CFR 1.177(b). Instant reissue application presents original claims 3-6, 8, and 10-16, with an amendment to claim 15, to correct errors. However, these claims are being examined in the reissue application 18/792,998 (“the ‘998 application”), and will be superseded by the reissuance of claims in the ‘998 application. Only one set of original patent claims, in its original or amended form, can be examined in a reissue application family. See MPEP 1451.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may cancel all original patent claims and present the amended claims as new claims.
Double Patenting – Non-Statutory
10. Claims 3-6, 8, and 10-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-6, 8, and 10-16 of copending applications 19/792,998, 18/793,440, 18/793,789, 18/793,790, 18/793,788, 18/793,527 and over claims 3-6, 8, 10-16 of copending applications 18/793,792, 18/793,794 in view of CA 2792452 (“Villemoes”).
Claims in the instant application and the copending application are from the same patent claims of the parent patent/application. The only difference is the added limitation of the amended claim 15. Villemoes discloses (FIG 26, 1030) manipulating the patched signal generated using the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block using a spectral band replication parameter associated with current bandwidth limited time block to acquire a manipulated patched signal comprising the upper frequency band. Use of a signal manipulator such as the envelop adjuster 1030 is well known in the art as evidenced by Villemoes. Applying a known technique (i.e., manipulating a signal using a spectral band replication parameter) to a known device (i.e., audio signal processing device) ready for improvement to yield predictable result is obvious under KSR v. Teleflex.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
12. Claims 15, 3-6, 8, and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Villemoes.
13. With respect to claim 15, Villemoes discloses a method for generating a bandwidth extended signal from a bandwidth limited audio signal, the bandwidth limited audio signal comprising a plurality of consecutive bandwidth limited time blocks, each bandwidth limited time block comprising at least one associated spectral band replication parameter comprising a core frequency band and the bandwidth extended signal comprising a plurality of consecutive bandwidth extended time blocks, the apparatus comprising:
generating a patched signal comprising an upper frequency band using a bandwidth limited time block of the bandwidth limited audio signal (FIG. 1, 103 and p. 15, l. 6 – p. 16, l. 13 or 15:6-16-13);
performing a harmonic patching algorithm (32:15-17) to acquire the patched signal;
acquiring the bandwidth extended signal depending on the patched signal (see FIG. 1; see also 32:7-8);
wherein performing the harmonic patching algorithm for a current bandwidth extended time block of the plurality of consecutive bandwidth extended time blocks using a timely preceding bandwidth limited time block of the plurality of consecutive bandwidth limited time blocks of the bandwidth limited audio signal (see FIG. 2, 204 and 16:15-24);
wherein the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block timely precedes the current bandwidth limited time block in the plurality of consecutive bandwidth limited time blocks of the bandwidth limited audio signal (16:15-24),
the method further comprising
manipulating the patched signal generated using the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block using a spectral band replication parameter associated with current bandwidth limited time block to acquire a manipulated patched signal comprising the upper frequency band (see FIG 26, envelope adjuster 1030 manipulating the patch signal).
14. With respect to claim 3, Villemoes discloses the method in accordance with claim 15,
applying the harmonic patching algorithm to the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block using a bandwidth extension factor of two (15:25-28);
generating from the core frequency band of the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block a first target frequency band of the current bandwidth extended time block (16:15-24); and
applying a copy-up patching algorithm (9:1-6) for copying up the first target frequency band of the current bandwidth extended time block generated from the core frequency band of the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block to a second target frequency band of the current bandwidth extended time block.
15. With respect to claim 4, Villemoes discloses the method in accordance with claim 15, the method further comprising
applying the harmonic patching algorithm to the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block using a bandwidth extension factor of two (15:25-28);
generating from the core frequency band of the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block a first target frequency band of the current bandwidth extended time block (16:15-24);
applying the harmonic patching algorithm to the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block using a bandwidth extension factor of three (15:25-28); and
generating from the core frequency band of the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block a second target frequency band of the current bandwidth extended time block (16:15-24).
16. With respect to claim 5, Villemoes discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 15, the method further comprising
continuously applying the harmonic patching algorithm to each bandwidth limited time block of the bandwidth limited audio signal (see FIG 1, input to the system is a bit stream).
17. With respect to claim 6, Villemoes discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 15, the method further comprising:
providing a patching algorithm information (5:33-35, application of a patching scheme that applies a mixed patching consisting of harmonic patching and copy-up patching requires a provider to provide the algorithm information);
performing a copy-up patching algorithm for a timely preceding bandwidth extended time block using the timely preceding bandwidth limited time block or a timely succeeding bandwidth limited time block for a timely succeeding bandwidth extended time block, the timely succeeding bandwidth limited time block timely succeeding the current bandwidth limited time block (5:33-35);
using the patched signal for the current bandwidth extended time block generated from the harmonic patching algorithm in response to the patching algorithm information (5:33-35).
18. With respect to claim 8, Villemoes discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 15, the method further comprising
providing the patching algorithm information in dependence on a signal analysis of the bandwidth limited audio signal (see 4:12-19, and 5:33-35, application of patching algorithms is in dependence on signal analysis filter banks of the input audio signal).
19. With respect to claim 16, see the rejection of claim 15 above.
Conclusion
/Woo H. Choi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/Cameron Saadat/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
/ALEXANDER J KOSOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992