DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, and 16-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,085,391 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, and 15-16 of the current application appear to be a broader version of claims 1, and 16-17. Claims 1, and 15-16 of the current application recite all the limitations recited in claims 1, and 16-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,085,391 B2 except “wherein the estimated movement vector indicates a movement amount and a movement direction of a device”, “calculate a relative position of the device for the predetermined time period with respect to a specified reference position in a real space”, “a display control unit configured to initiate display of a trajectory of the relative position of the device for the predetermined time period with respect to the specified reference position in the real space”, and “in each of the plurality of prior predetermined time periods” (see detailed analysis in the table below of claims 1, and same analysis not shown applies to claims 15-16 vs 16-17). Claims 2-14 of the current application recite all the limitations recited in claims 2-14 U.S. Patent No. 12,085,391 B2 word for word.
18/793,972
U.S. Patent No. 12,085,391 B2
Claim 1: A positioning apparatus, comprising: an acceleration sensor configured to output an acceleration of the positioning apparatus; an angular velocity sensor configured to output an angular velocity of the positioning apparatus; a movement vector estimator configured to estimate a movement vector in a predetermined time period using a machine learning model based on the acceleration and the angular velocity retrieved from the acceleration sensor and the angular velocity sensor in the predetermined time period; and an integration section configured to integrate the estimated movement vector as a relative position with respect to a reference position, wherein the machine learning model is trained in advance on a basis of acceleration of one or more devices and an angular velocity of the one or more devices, and wherein the movement vector estimator and the integration section are each implemented via at least one processor.
Claim 1: A positioning apparatus, comprising: a movement vector estimator configured to estimate a movement vector using a machine learning model, wherein the estimated movement vector indicates a movement amount and a movement direction of a device in a predetermined time period, wherein the movement vector is estimated on a basis of input data to the machine learning model, the input data including acceleration of the device in the predetermined time period and an angular velocity of the device in the predetermined time period, wherein the acceleration of the device is detected by an acceleration sensor, and wherein the angular velocity of the device is detected by an angular velocity sensor; an integration section configured to integrate the estimated movement vector, and calculate a relative position of the device for the predetermined time period with respect to a specified reference position in a real space; and a display control unit configured to initiate display of a trajectory of the relative position of the device for the predetermined time period with respect to the specified reference position in the real space, wherein the machine learning model is trained in advance on a basis of acceleration of one or more devices in each of a plurality of prior predetermined time periods and an angular velocity of the one or more devices in each of the plurality of prior predetermined time periods, and wherein the movement vector estimator and the integration section are each implemented via at least one processor
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak KR 101301462 B1 (the examiner is providing an English translation and relying upon, hence Kwak) in view of Gohl et al US 2019/0208101 A1 (hence Gohl).
In re claims 1, 15, and 16, Kwak discloses a pedestrian inertial navigation device and its navigation using a lowcost inertial sensor (Paragraph 0001) and teaches the following:
an acceleration sensor configured to output an acceleration of the positioning apparatus (Paragraph 0022 “an acceleration sensor (110)”);
an angular velocity sensor configured to output an angular velocity of the positioning apparatus (Paragraph 0022 “a gyroscope (1400”, and Paragraph 0057 “measured angular velocity”);
a movement vector estimator configured to estimate a movement vector in a predetermined time period (Paragraph 0023 “A pedestrian inertial navigation device (100) tracks the position of a pedestrian using a lowcost acceleration sensor (110) and a gyroscope (140)”, Paragraph 0028 “The step detection module (120) is configured to detect a pedestrian's step using the measurement value of the acceleration sensor”, Paragraph 0029 “estimate the step length of a pedestrian using the steps detected by the step detection module (120)”, and Paragraph 0031 “estimate the attitude and heading angle of a pedestrian using the measurement values of the gyroscope (140)”, step length, attitude, and heading angle read on “vector”, and Paragraph 0033) using a machine learning model based on the acceleration retrieved from the acceleration sensor in the predetermined time period (Paragraph 0072 “various techniques for estimating step length using an acceleration sensor (110)” and “an artificial neural network model”);
and an integration section configured to integrate the estimated movement vector as a relative position with respect to a reference position (Paragraph 0076 “Coordinate transformation is required for rotation between the navigation frame of the acceleration sensor (110) and the gyroscope (140) and the body frame”, Paragraph 0100 “detects the pedestrian's step using the measurement value of the acceleration sensor (110)”, Paragraph 0101 “estimates the step length of the pedestrian”, and Paragraph 0102 “estimates the attitude and heading angle of the pedestrian using the measurement values of the gyroscope (140)”),
wherein the machine learning model is trained in advance on a basis of acceleration of one or more devices (Paragraph 0072 “various techniques for estimating step length using an acceleration sensor (110)” and “an artificial neural network model”), and wherein the movement vector estimator and the integration section are each implemented via at least one processor (Paragraph 0022)
However, Kwak discloses the machine learning model is trained using acceleration retrieved from the acceleration sensor in the predetermined time period (Paragraph 0072 “various techniques for estimating step length using an acceleration sensor (110)” and “an artificial neural network model”), but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
using a machine learning model based on the angular velocity retrieved from the angular velocity sensor in the predetermined time period
Nevertheless, Gohl discloses an image stabilization device (Abstract) and teaches the following:
using a machine learning model based on the angular velocity retrieved from the angular velocity sensor in the predetermined time period (Paragraph 0088 “The machine learning algorithm can be provided with a training data set that includes video sequences and corresponding handle motion profiles, rotational velocities, accelerations, and the like”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Kwak reference to include training the machine learning model with angular velocity, as taught by Gohl, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect movement of a device (Gohl, Paragraph 0090).
In re claim 14, Kwak teaches the following:
wherein the machine learning model has a configuration of a neural network (Paragraph 0072 “an artificial neural network model”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Breed US 2008/0147280 A1 discloses a method and apparatus for sensing a rollover using a neural network trained to determine whether the vehicle is experiencing a rollover based on the measured acceleration of the vehicle and the measured angular velocity of the vehicle.
Senta WO 2017/085756 A1 discloses an information processing device having an acquisition unit for acquiring angular velocity output by an angular velocity sensor, a calculation unit for using the acquired angular velocity to calculate information about a first angular velocity in a prescribed period and information about a second angular velocity in the next period after the prescribed period, and a setting unit for, if the difference between the calculated information about the first angular velocity and second angular velocity does not exceed a preset first threshold, estimating an amount of zero-point deviation corresponding to the angular velocity and setting the zero point of the angular velocity sensor by subtracting the amount of zero-point deviation from the output values of the angular velocity sensor.
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669