DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,058,009 in view of FU et al PG PUB 2017/0164386.
Re Claims 1, 12 and 19 of patent ‘009 encompasses Claims 1, 12 and 19 of instant application except “wherein the data management criterion relates to a subscription type/attribute and policy information…specifies a manner as to how the data is to be routed to the second device.”. However, FU et al teaches a network element includes a policy module to control to scheduling priorities for transmitting the data based on the subscriber type, QoS (data management criterion/attribute and policy) to the destination device [0032]. By combining the teachings, fairness and QoS of the UEs can be maintained over the connection. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have included the “subscription type” into the “management criterion” in Claims 1, 12 and 19 of patent ‘009 to be adaptively control the QoS/fairness based on the “subscription type” as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Re Claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 of instant application, See Claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 of patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SELFIN et al PG PUB 2019/0342203 in view of FU et al PG PUB 2017/0164386.
Re Claims 1, 12, and 19, SELFIN et al teaches in figure 2, System 200 (a first network component) that includes a processor 201 (a processor) and memory (A non-transitory MRM) for receiving a Trans Req 206 (a data) from Computing node 202-a [0045] wherein the System 200 may be centrally placed in the network (a core network) to control routing [0046] wherein the system 200 performs analyzing of the Trans. Req (the data) that includes policy parameters (a rule) such as payload type (a data payload format), data transfer protocol (a data communication protocol) and metadata [0033 0051] wherein the parameter can further include a device type to be adaptive to device type QoS requirements. SELFIN et al teaches in figure 6, S1025 and S1030, the System 200 determining to communicate the data to a destination device (a second device) associated with a edge router (a second network equipment) in the selected optimal route [0126] based on the characteristic of the Trans Req 206 (a data; a data management criterion).
SELFIN et al fails to explicitly teach “wherein the data management criterion relates to a subscription type…specifies a manner as to how the data is to be routed to the second device.”. However, FU et al teaches a network element includes a policy module to control to scheduling priorities for transmitting the data based on the subscriber type, QoS (data management criterion) to the destination device [0032]. By combining the teachings, fairness and QoS of the UEs can be maintained over the connection. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have included the “subscription type” into the Trans. Req (the data) to be adaptively control the QoS/fairness based on the “subscription type” as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Re Claims 2, 7, 9, 15, SELFIN et al teaches in figure 5, the System 200 includes a 214 N.N. (Neural network/AI/machine learning) for analyzing/training the Trans. Req (the data) associated with QoS parameter/Cost metrics [0101]; the 214 (neural network) can determine whether the Trans.Req. (the data includes respective payload/device type, data transfer protocol) satisfies a defined threshold [0093] related to the QoS (the service), in response to determining that the Trans.Req. is satisfied, figure 6, S1025, S1030 teaches the System 200 selecting the optimal route to the destination device (the second device) and initiating the communication of the data to the destination device via the edge router of the core network.
Re Claims 3, 20, SELFIN et al teaches the System 200 determining whether to communicate the data to the destination device (the second device) associated with the edge router (the second network equipment) of the selected optimal route based on the Trans.Req. (the data management criterion/the characteristic and the rule) [0126 also See figure 6, S1025, S1030]; the System determining/identifying a group of data items for the payload type (a information) [0033] and in response to determining the data associated with the payload type to be communicated to the destination device (the second device); figure 6, S1025, S1030 teaches the System 200 selecting the optimal route to the destination device (the second device) and initiating the communication of the data to the destination device via the edge router of the core network.
Re Claim 4, SELFIN et al teaches that the payload type indicates a data parameter of the data (the information) such as standard-deviation of the data over a defined period of time [0093].
Re Claims 5, 18, the payload type format in SELFIN et al can be a binary format.
Re Claims 6, 16, SELFIN et al teaches the data transfer protocol can support TCP/IP [0051].
Re Claim 8, Examiner takes notice that the network function is a virtual network function created in a software-defined network for WAN optimization. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to the virtual network function for WAN optimization.
Re Claim 13, SELFIN et al teaches the Trans. Req. (the information) include respective parameters (item of information) for network associated with data transfer protocol (a first network) wherein the System 200 receiving the Trans. Req. from computing component (the UE), in view of FU et al, the Policy control module 12 performs managing communication of the Trans. Reqs (the respective items of information) to the destination device (the device) via the eNB (the second network equipment) based on the policy to facilitate resource allocation strategy (a second amount of bandwidth utilized by the eNB [0043].
Re Claim 14, SELFIN et al teaches the System determining/identifying a group of data items for the payload type (a information) [0033] and in response to determining the data associated with the payload type in a binary format to be communicated to the destination device (the second device); figure 6, S1025, S1030 teaches the System 200 selecting the optimal route (policy) to the destination device (the second device) and initiating the communication of the data to the destination device via the edge router of the core network in accordance with the data transfer protocol (the information communication protocol).
Re Claim 17, Examiner take notice in response to determining that the information is not to be communicated to the device based on the attribute and the policy. The information can be discarded to minimized storage.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SELFIN et al PG PUB 2019/0342203 in view of FU et al PG PUB 2017/0164386 as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Noldus et al PG PUB 2016/0323353.
Re Claim 10, FU et al teaches in figure 3, the UE (the first device) coupled with an AP(access point/a third network equipment) [0005] for forwarding/routing the data to the Policy Control module 12 (the first network equipment) of the core network based on the TCP data network connection. SELFIN et al in view of FU et al fails to explicitly teach “establishment of a PDPC…between the first device and the first network equipment via a configured AP associated with the first network device;”. However, Noldus et al teaches a process for obtaining IP connectivity for the UE whereby a PDPC is established in the telecommunication network between the UE and the serving access point (a configured access point name) [0097]. By combining the teachings, the access point in FU et al can be modified to establish the PDPC connection with the policy control module 12 for establishing QoS IP connection with the destination device. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have established the PDPC connection with the policy control module 12 in the core network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475