DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 11, 12, 15-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0089184) and Campbell (U.S. Patent Number 6,385,712).
Regarding Claim 1, Mukherjee discloses a device (Figure 1, item 110) comprising:
an interface (Figure 13, paragraph 0122; i.e., the components shown in Figure 13 are a part of the merged TLB 110 [Figure 1] based on the shown inputs and outputs and interface with the memory controller 108) that includes:
an input configured to receive a first address (Figure 13, “GVA & attributes”, paragraph 0125; i.e., the first address being a guest virtual address [GVA]);
a memory configured to store an address map (paragraph 0125; i.e., upon receiving a GVA, it is determined whether the GVA is mapped to a guest physical address [GPA], or specifies an unmapped address space, which would indicate that a memory storing an address map is present); and
an output configured to provide a second address based on the first address (Figure 13, “GPA”, paragraph 0125; i.e., the guest physical address [GPA] [the “second address”] is output based on the GVA address [translated 1320 or translation-bypassed 1365]), wherein the interface is configured to determine the address space of the second address based on the first address and the address map (paragraphs 0124-0125; i.e., it is determined whether the GVA is mapped to a guest physical address [GPA], or specifies an unmapped address space; therefore, the determination of the address space of the second address is based on the GVA as well as the address map [it may be a mapped or unmapped address space]).
Mukherjee does not expressly disclose the output configured to provide the second address determined by concatenating an address value that is based on the first address with one or more bits that indicate an address space value of the second address.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., address translation techniques), Campbell teaches the output configured to provide the second address (Figure 4, item 403; i.e., the physical address output from the TLB 602 [Figure 6]) determined by concatenating (Column 5, lines 18-20; i.e., the address space tag 401 and virtual address 402 are combined/concatenated as shown in Figure 4 to “determine” the second address 403) an address value that is based on the first address (Figure 4, item 402; i.e., the claimed “address value” is the first [virtual] address) with one or more bits that indicate an address space value (Figure 4, item 401) of the second address (Column 5, lines 2-15; i.e., the second address [physical address 403] is “identified” based on the virtual address with address space tag; therefore, the bit(s) of address space tag 401 “indicate” the address space of the second address 403 [e.g., the bits correspond to the emulator mapped or normally mapped regions - see Figure 3]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Campbell’s teachings of address translation techniques with the teachings of Mukherjee, for the purpose of providing memory protection, isolation, and efficiency in multitasking systems, as it uniquely identifies which process a virtual memory entry belongs to, preventing one process from accessing another's memory and reducing TLB flushing overhead when switching contexts. Without an address space indicator, the processor wouldn't know if a cached physical address corresponds to the current running process or a different one, leading to security vulnerabilities and significant performance degradation.
Regarding Claim 2, Mukherjee discloses wherein the interface further includes an address space translator (Figure 13, item 1320) coupled to the input and the output; and
the interface is configured to determine, based on the first address and the address map, whether to cause the address space translator to translate the first address to produce the address value of the second address or whether to cause the first address to be provided as the address value of the second address without using the address space translator (paragraph 0123; i.e., the GVA may be translated to generate the GPA, or alternatively the translator 1320 may be bypassed and the GPA could be the same as the GVA [the address mask does not need to be used]; the second address can be determined to bypass the translation based on both the first address [GVA] as well as the address map [see paragraph 0125 - the GVA may be unmapped]).
Regarding Claim 3, Campbell teaches wherein the interface is configured to cause the one or more bits that indicate the address space of the second address to have a first value when the address space translator translates the first address (Column 4, lines 42-49; i.e., an emulated address space) and to have a second value when the address space translator does not translate the first address (Column 4, lines 50-53; i.e., addresses in the address space 301 are not translated; further, the address space tag 401 is used to differentiate between a native address space and emulated address space [Column 5, lines 5-9]).
Regarding Claim 6, Mukherjee does not expressly disclose wherein the interface is a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) interface. The examiner takes Official Notice that the PCI Express standard was well known in the art at the time of the invention and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used it for the purpose of providing faster communication mechanism than other interfaces that were known at the time (e.g., 8 GT/s for PCIe Gen 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Mukherjee discloses a device (Figure 1, item 100) comprising:
a processor (paragraph 0003); and
an interface (Figure 13, paragraph 0122; i.e., the components shown in Figure 13 are a part of the merged TLB 110 [Figure 1] based on the shown inputs and outputs and interface with the memory controller 108) that includes:
an input configured to receive a first address (Figure 13, “GVA & attributes”, paragraph 0125; i.e., the first address being a guest virtual address [GVA]); and
an output coupled to the processor (paragraphs 0003-0004 and 0007; i.e., the processor would receive the output result from merged TLB 110, which is presumably what is shown in Figure 13 considering the inputs and outputs, of whether there is a matching translation entry in the second storage unit) and configured to provide a second address that includes an address value that is based on the first address (Figure 13, “GPA”, paragraph 0125; i.e., the guest physical address [GPA] [the “second address”] is output based on the GVA address [translated 1320 or translation-bypassed 1365]).
Mukherjee does not expressly disclose the processor is associated with a first address space;
the second address includes one or more bits that indicate an address space of the second address, an address space of the second address, wherein the address value and the one or more bits that indicate the address space of the second address are concatenated to form the second address, and wherein the one or more bits indicate a first value when the address space of the second address is the first address space associated with the processor and a second value when the address space of the second address is a second address space not associated with the processor.
In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches the processor is associated with a first address space (Figure 3, item 303, Column 2, lines 25-29; i.e., an address space of a native processor);
the second address (Figure 4, item 403; i.e., the physical address output from the TLB 602 [Figure 6]) includes one or more bits that indicate an address space of the second address, wherein the address value and the one or more bits that indicate the address space of the second address are concatenated to form the second address (Column 5, lines 18-20; i.e., the address space tag 401 and virtual address 402 are combined/concatenated as shown in Figure 4 to “determine” the second address 403), and wherein the one or more bits indicate a first value when the address space of the second address is the first address space associated with the processor (Figure 3, item 303; i.e., normally mapped to the processor) and a second value when the address space of the second address is a second address space not associated with the processor (Column 4, lines 43-49 and Column 5, lines 3-15; i.e., an address space tag 401 is included with the virtual address 402; this address space tag 401 “indicates” whether the address is associated with the processor [e.g., falls within the normally mapped range 303] or not [falls within the emulator mapped range 302]).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, Mukherjee discloses wherein the interface includes an address space translator (Figure 13, item 1320) and is configured to determine whether to:
utilize the address space translator to translate the first address to produce the address value of the second address or provide the first address as the address value of the second address (paragraph 0123; i.e., the GVA may be translated to generate the GPA, or alternatively the translator 1320 may be bypassed and the GPA could be the same as the GVA [the address mask does not need to be used]; the second address can be determined to bypass the translation based on both the first address [GVA] as well as the address map [see paragraph 0125 - the GVA may be unmapped])
Mukherjee does not expressly disclose cause the one or more bits that indicate the address space of the second address to indicate the first value; or
cause the one or more bits that indicate the address space of the second address to indicate the second value.
In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches cause the one or more bits that indicate the address space of the second address to indicate the first value; or cause the one or more bits that indicate the address space of the second address to indicate the second value (Figure 4, item 401, Column 5, lines 3-15; i.e., an address space tag 401 is included with the second virtual address 402; this address space tag 401 provides an “indication” of whether the second virtual address 402 is associated with the native processor address space because it differentiates between the address spaces of the various types of processors).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 15, Mukherjee does not expressly disclose wherein the interface is a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) interface. The examiner takes Official Notice that the PCI Express standard was well known in the art at the time of the invention and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used it for the purpose of providing faster communication mechanism than other interfaces that were known at the time (e.g., 8 GT/s for PCIe Gen 3).
Regarding Claim 16, Mukherjee discloses a memory controller (Figure 1, item 108) coupled to the output of the interface, wherein the memory controller is associated with the address space (paragraph 0122; i.e., the memory controller 108 determines whether an address corresponding to particular address space is to be translated or translation-bypassed and is therefore “associated” with the address space).
Regarding Claim 17, Mukherjee discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by an interface (Figure 13, paragraph 0122; i.e., all of the components, which are a part of the merged TLB 110 [Figure 1] based on the shown inputs and outputs, to the right of the unnumbered multiplexer that is located between items 1320 and 1330 are considered to be equivalent to the claimed "interface" because they interface with the memory controller 108), a first address (Figure 13, “GPA”, paragraph 0125; i.e., the first address being a guest physical address [GPA]);
determining, by the interface, based on the first address, whether to translate the first address to produce an address value for a second address (Figure 13, item 1330, paragraph 0123; i.e., the root physical address [RPA] being the second address) or to provide the first address without translation as the address value for the second address (Figure 13, paragraphs 0123 and 0125; i.e., the root physical address [RPA] [the “second address”] is output based on the GPA address; if the translation 1330 is bypassed, then the RPA can be provided identical to the GPA without any change [even the address masking step can be bypassed]); and
providing, by the interface, the second address (paragraphs 0003-0004 and 0007; i.e., the processor would receive the output result from merged TLB 110, which is presumably what is shown in Figure 13 considering the inputs and outputs, of whether there is a matching translation entry in the second storage unit).
Mukherjee does not expressly disclose wherein the second address includes the address value concatenated with one or more bits indicating whether the first address was translated or not translated.
In the same field of endeavor, Campbell teaches wherein the second address (Figure 4, item 403; i.e., the physical address output from the TLB 602 [Figure 6]) includes the address value concatenated (Column 5, lines 18-20; i.e., the address space tag 401 and virtual address 402 are combined/concatenated as shown in Figure 4 to “determine” the second address 403) with one or more bits (Figure 4, item 401) indicating whether the first address was translated or not translated (Column 5, lines 2-15; i.e., the address space tag 401 can correspond to the different address spaces shown in Figure 3; the address spaces 302 and 303 require the translation lookaside buffer to translate to the physical address [Column 4, lines 42-49]; however, the non-mapped region 301 does not require the TLB for translation [Column 2, lines 45-48 and Column 4, lines 50-54]; therefore, the bits 401 indicate whether the first address [virtual address 402] was translated or not [based on whether the TLB was needed]).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 17.
Regarding Claim 19, Mukherjee discloses translating the first address (Figure 13, item 1330);
receiving the translated first address at a first input of a multiplexer (Figure 13, see unnumbered multiplexer at output of translator 1330);
receiving the first address at a second input of the multiplexer (Figure 13, item 1366; i.e., the second address can be identical to the first address if the translation 1330 is bypassed); and
providing, via the multiplexer, either the translated first address or the first address as the address value for the second address (Figure 13, paragraphs 0123 and 0125; i.e., the root physical address [RPA] [the “second address”] is output based on the GPA address; if the translation 1330 is bypassed, then the RPA can be provided identical to the GPA without any change [even the address masking step can be bypassed]).
Regarding Claim 20, Mukherjee does not expressly disclose wherein the interface is a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) interface. The examiner takes Official Notice that the PCI Express standard was well known in the art at the time of the invention and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used it for the purpose of providing faster communication mechanism than other interfaces that were known at the time (e.g., 8 GT/s for PCIe Gen 3).
Claims 4, 5, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee and Campbell as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Hammond et al. (U.S. Patent Number 6,219,774).
Regarding Claim 4, Mukherjee and Campbell do not expressly disclose wherein the interface includes a demultiplexer that includes an input coupled to the input of the interface, a first output coupled to the address space translator, and a second output coupled to the output of the interface such that the address space translator is bypassed.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., address translation techniques), Hammond teaches wherein the interface includes a demultiplexer (Figure 9, item 910) that includes an input (Figure 9, item 737) coupled to the input of the interface (Figure 9, item 203), a first output coupled to the address space translator (Figure 9, item 236), and a second output coupled to the output of the interface such that the address space translator is bypassed (Figure 9, item 246, Column 16, lines 29-58; i.e., the demultiplexer 910 will choose between transmitting the address to the paging unit 236 [equivalent to the claimed “address space translator” because it translates between virtual and physical addresses] and the paging unit 246; if it chooses to transmit the address to the paging unit 246, then it necessarily bypasses the paging unit 236).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Hammond’s teachings of address translation techniques with the teachings of Mukherjee and Campbell, for the purpose of providing a simple mechanism to perform the address bypass mechanism (i.e., as opposed to the more complex bypass determination system used in Mukherjee).
Regarding Claim 5, Hammond teaches wherein the interface includes a multiplexer (Figure 9, item 920) that includes a first input coupled to the address space translator (Figure 9, item 236), a second input coupled to the second output of the demultiplexer (Figure 9, item 246) and an output (Figure 9, item 736) coupled to the output of the interface (Figure 9, item 732).
Regarding Claim 13, Hammond teaches wherein the interface includes a demultiplexer (Figure 9, item 910) that includes an input (Figure 9, item 737) coupled to the input of the interface (Figure 9, item 203), a first output coupled to the address space translator (Figure 9, item 236), and a second output coupled to the output of the interface such that the address space translator is bypassed (Figure 9, item 246, Column 16, lines 29-58; i.e., the demultiplexer 910 will choose between transmitting the address to the paging unit 236 [equivalent to the claimed “address space translator” because it translates between virtual and physical addresses] and the paging unit 246; if it chooses to transmit the address to the paging unit 246, then it necessarily bypasses the paging unit 236).
Regarding Claim 14, Hammond teaches wherein the interface includes a multiplexer (Figure 9, item 920) that includes a first input coupled to the address space translator (Figure 9, item 236), a second input coupled to the second output of the demultiplexer (Figure 9, item 246) and an output (Figure 9, item 736) coupled to the output of the interface (Figure 9, item 732).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee and Campbell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ansari et al. (U.S. Patent Number 8,185,720).
Regarding Claim 7, Campbell discloses a destination device configured to receive the second address including the address value and the one or more bits that indicate the address space value of the second address (Figure 6, item 603, Column 1, lines 32-37 and Column 5, lines 3-15).
Mukherjee and Campbell do not expressly disclose a switch array coupled to the output of the interface; and
a destination device coupled to the switch array.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., address translation techniques), Ansari teaches a switch array (Figure 3, item 299) coupled to the output of the interface (Figure 3, items 202-204); and
a destination device coupled to the switch array (Figure 3, item 301, Column 9, lines 36-45).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ansari’s teachings of address translation techniques with the teachings of Mukherjee and Campbell, for the purpose of allowing plurality devices to receive the second address, thereby increasing the processing capabilities of the system.
Regarding Claim 8, Ansari teaches wherein the destination device is from a group consisting of: a direct memory access circuit, a processor, and a memory controller (Figure 3, item 301).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee and Campbell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lai (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2011/0082999).
Regarding Claim 9, Campbell discloses wherein the input of the interface is configured to receive a first set of data (Column 2, lines 34-37; i.e., a store instruction would include associated data to store in the memory);
the output of the interface is configured to provide the second set of data with the second address including the address value and the one or more bits that indicate the address space value of the second address (Column 3, lines 44-60; i.e., although the described embodiment is for a load instruction [by which data is read from the memory], in the event a store instruction is transmitted, data associated with the store instruction together with the second address and indication of the second address space [see Column 5, lines 3-15] would be transmitted from the output of the interface).
Mukherjee and Campbell do not expressly disclose the interface is configured to perform a function on the first set of data to produce a second set of data;
the function is based on the address space of the second address.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., memory access techniques), Lai teaches the interface is configured to perform a function on the first set of data to produce a second set of data (paragraph 0006; i.e., endian conversion [the claimed “function”] may be necessary for the data);
the function is based on the address space of the second address (paragraph 0006).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lai’s teachings of memory access techniques with the teachings of Mukherjee and Campbell, for the purpose of supporting different types of hardware implementations.
Regarding Claim 10, Lai teaches wherein the function includes at least one of: compression, conversion from big endian mode to little endian mode, or conversion from little endian mode to big endian mode (paragraph 0006).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses a device for determining whether to bypass an address translation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant argues “Campbell's address space tag 401 is used to identify which address space the input virtual address belongs to for the purposes of TLB disambiguation. The tag is consumed internally to produce the physical address 403, which does not carry a corresponding address space tag. This is in contrast to the recited features of claims 1, 11, and 17, in which the output address includes both the address value and one or more bits indicating an address space of the output address.” Response, page 12. The examiner disagrees. Campbell teaches that the address space tag 401 and virtual address 402 are combined/concatenated to form the physical address as shown in Figure 4. See Campbell, Column 5, lines 18-20. Campbell further teaches the second address (physical address 403) is “identified” based on the virtual address with address space tag. See id. at Column 5, lines 2-15. Therefore, the bit(s) of address space tag 401 “indicate” the address space of the second address 403 (e.g., the bits correspond to the emulator mapped or normally mapped regions - see Figure 3) as required by the claim. Put differently, the address space tag 401 identifies the address space. The physical/second address 403 includes that address space tag 401. Therefore, the address space tag “indicates” the address space of the physical/second address 403. Accordingly, it can be seen that Campbell does in fact teach the argued feature.
Therefore, the claims stand as previously rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175