DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 09/26/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0128965 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the “covering ring” should be “the cover ring.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the “covering ring” should be “the cover ring.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Gas supply unit (gas supply line, gas storage unit, para. [0036]) in at least claims 11-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the covering ring is not integrally formed with the inner ring but separated from the inner ring” in the claim. Both limitations are true and do not negate each other, thus “but” should be replaced with “and.” Examiner interprets as “not integrally formed with the inner ring and separated from the inner ring.” Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "wherein the inner ring includes a silicone material" in the claim. The specification states that the inner ring includes a silicon material (para. [0043]), not a silicone material. Examiner interprets "wherein the inner ring includes a silicon material." Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the covering ring is not integrally formed with the inner ring but separated from the inner ring” in the claim. Both limitations are true and do not negate each other, thus “but” should be replaced with “and.” Examiner interprets as “not integrally formed with the inner ring and separated from the inner ring.” Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "wherein the inner ring includes a silicone material" in the claim. The specification states that the inner ring includes a silicon material (para. [0043]), not a silicone material. Examiner interprets "wherein the inner ring includes a silicon material." Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the cover ring is not integrally formed with the inner ring but separated from the inner ring” in the claim. Both limitations are true and do not negate each other, thus “but” should be replaced with “and.” Examiner interprets as “not integrally formed with the inner ring and separated from the inner ring.” Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-12, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20250087465 to Ko.
Claims 1, 11: Ko discloses an apparatus for processing a substrate comprising: a chamber (CH [chamber], Fig. 1), in which a processing space (PS [process space]) where a plasma process is performed is formed (para. [0022-0023]); a support (ST/1 [electrostatic chuck]) provided inside the chamber (CH) and for supporting a substrate (W [substrate]); a ring assembly (FR, 3, 4) surrounding a top of the support (top of 1); and a gas supply unit (GS/MFC/IH) for supplying process gas into an inside of the chamber (CH, para. [0024]),
wherein the ring assembly comprises, an inner ring (FR [focus ring], Fig. 2); an outer ring (3 [outer ring]) provided outside the inner ring (FR); and a cover ring (4 [top ring]) provided on an upper surface of the outer ring (upper surface of 3), having a thickness smaller than that of the inner ring (Fig. 2), and made of a material that has a lower etching reaction to plasma than the outer ring (para. [0028], [0030]).
Regarding the limitations: in which a first plasma region is formed, in which a second plasma region with a lower plasma distribution than the first plasma region is formed, the apparatus of Ko is capable of performing as necessary due to have the structure necessary. The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claims 2, 12: Ko discloses wherein the cover ring (4, Fig. 2, Ko) is not formed integrally with the inner ring (FR) and separated from the inner ring (FR).
Claim 6: Ko discloses wherein the cover ring (4, Fig. 2, Ko) is provided as a ring-shaped plate (4, Fig. 3).
Claims 8, 16: Ko discloses wherein the inner ring (FR, Fig. 2, Ko) includes a silicon material (para. [0028]), wherein the outer ring (3) includes a quartz material (para. [0030]).
Claim 9: Ko discloses wherein the cover ring (4, Fig. 2, Ko) comprises at least one material of silicon (Si) (para. [0048]), silicon carbide (SiC), and yttrium oxide (Y₂O₃).
Claim 10: Ko discloses wherein the cover ring (4, Fig. 2, Ko) is made of a ceramic material (para. [0048]).
Claim 15: Ko discloses wherein the outer ring (3, Fig. 2, Ko) has a step where the cover ring (4) is seated (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-12, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220076929 to Kim.
Claims 1, 11: Kim discloses an apparatus for processing a substrate comprising: a chamber (100 [process chamber], Fig. 1), in which a processing space (inside 100) where a plasma process is performed is formed (para. [0056]); a support (220 [support plate]) provided inside the chamber (100) and for supporting a substrate (W [substrate]); a ring assembly (245, 247a, 247b) surrounding a top of the support (top of 220); and a gas supply unit (300/321/320) for supplying process gas into an inside of the chamber (100, para. [0062]),
wherein the ring assembly comprises, an inner ring (245 [focus ring], Fig. 2); an outer ring (247a [cover ring]) provided outside the inner ring (245); and a cover ring (247b [reinforced surface layer]) provided on an upper surface of the outer ring (upper surface of 247a), having a thickness smaller than that of the inner ring (Fig. 2-3), and made of a material that has a lower etching reaction to plasma than the outer ring (para. [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding the limitations: in which a first plasma region is formed, in which a second plasma region with a lower plasma distribution than the first plasma region is formed, the apparatus of Kim is capable of performing as necessary due to have the structure necessary. The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claims 2, 12: Kim discloses wherein the cover ring (247b, Fig. 2, Kim) is not formed integrally with the inner ring (245) and separated from the inner ring (245).
Claims 5, 17: Kim discloses wherein the cover ring (247b, Fig. 2, Kim) has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 7 mm (para. [0074] where 500µm overlaps the claimed range).
Claim 7: Kim discloses wherein the cover ring (247b, Fig. 2, Kim) is provided as a coating (247b, Fig. 2-3) on an upper surface of the outer ring (247a).
Claims 8, 16: Kim discloses wherein the inner ring (245, Fig. 2, Kim) includes a silicon material (para. [0070]), wherein the outer ring (247a) includes a quartz material (para. [0073]).
Claims 9, 17: Kim discloses wherein the cover ring (247b, Fig. 2, Kim) comprises at least one material of silicon (Si) (para. [0073-0074]), silicon carbide (SiC), and yttrium oxide (Y₂O₃).
Claim 10: Kim discloses wherein the cover ring (247b, Fig. 2, Kim) is made of a ceramic material (para. [0073-0074]).
Claim(s) 1, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20060016561 to Choi.
Claim 1: Choi discloses a ring assembly for a substrate processing apparatus, in which a plasma process is performed, comprising: an inner ring (120 [edge ring member], Fig. 5); an outer ring (150 [shadow ring]) provided outside the inner ring (120); and
a cover ring (140 [focus ring]) provided on an upper surface of the outer ring (upper surface of 150), having a thickness smaller than that of the inner ring (Fig. 5), and made of a material that has a lower etching reaction to plasma than the outer ring (Fig. 5, see where cover ring has less etching in Fig. 5).
Regarding the limitations: in which a first plasma region is formed, in which a second plasma region with a lower plasma distribution than the first plasma region is formed, the apparatus of Ko is capable of performing as necessary due to have the structure necessary. The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim 6: Choi wherein the cover ring (140, Fig. 5) is provided as a ring-shaped plate (140, Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, 16-17 above, and further in view of US 20070169891 to Koshiishi.
Claims 3, 4, 13, 14: The apparatus of Kim does not disclose (claims 3, 13) wherein a top of the outer ring comprises, a flat surface; and an inclined surface sloping downward from an edge of the flat surface in an outward direction; (claims 4, 14) wherein the cover ring covers the flat surface excluding the inclined surface of the outer ring.
Koshiishi discloses (claims 3, 13) wherein a top of the outer ring (top of 55 [ring-shaped insulation members], Fig. 11) comprises, a flat surface (inner top of 55); and an inclined surface (inclined surface of 55) sloping downward from an edge of the flat surface in an outward direction (Fig. 11); (claims 4, 14) wherein the cover ring (52 [upper member]) covers the flat surface excluding the inclined surface of the outer ring (55), for the purpose of preventing plasma from excessively spreading towards an outer peripheral direction (para. [0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Koshiishi with motivation to prevent plasma from excessively spreading towards an outer peripheral direction.
Claim 15: The apparatus of Kim in view of Koshiishi wherein the outer ring (55, Fig. 11, Koshiishi) has a step (Fig. 11) where the cover ring (52) is seated (Fig. 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record discloses an apparatus for processing a substrate comprising: a chamber, in which a processing space where a plasma etching process is performed is formed; a support provided inside the chamber and for supporting a substrate; a ring assembly surrounding a top of the support; and a gas supply unit for supplying process gas into an inside of the chamber, wherein the ring assembly comprises, an inner ring made of silicon, in which a first plasma region is formed;
an outer ring provided outside the inner ring and made of quartz material, in which a second plasma region with a lower plasma distribution than the first plasma region is formed; and a cover ring provided on an upper surface of the outer ring, not integrally formed with the inner ring but separated from the inner ring, having a thickness smaller than that of the inner ring, and made of a material that has a lower etching reaction to plasma than the outer ring, wherein the cover ring has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 7 mm, is provided as a ring-shaped plate containing at least one material of silicon (Si), silicon carbide (SiC), or yttrium oxide (Y₂O₃).
However the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest wherein a top of the outer ring has a flat surface and an inclined surface sloping downward from an edge of the flat surface in an outward direction, and covers the flat surface, as set forth in the present claims. The apparatus of Kim in view of Koshiishi, and Choi does not disclose the limitations as a combination above. Further, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part, along with the requisite motivation for combination, to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious. This subject matter is therefore rendered allowable.
It is noted that 112 (b) rejection has been made over claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250087465 discloses an inner ring (FR, Fig. 2), outer ring (3) and cover ring (4) where the cover ring is a smaller thickness than the inner ring (FR), and is separated from the inner ring (Fig. 2).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718