DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 06/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spielvogel [US 7641879] in view of Olander [US 8389068].
Claim 1: Spielvogel teaches a method of synthesizing isotopically enriched metal borohydride [abstract] wherein the compound is isotopically enriched in at least one isotope [abstract]. Although Spielvogel does not explicitly teach vaporizing the metal borohydride compound to obtain a vaporized precursor for a method of ion implantation, Spielvogel does teach large boron hydride compounds have become important feed stocks (precursors) for semiconductor manufacture such as boron atom implantation [col 1, ln 30-35]. Spielvogel also further refers to a method of ion implantation of isotopically enriched boron compounds (WO 03/044837) [col 2, ln 25-35]. However, Spielvogel fails to explicitly teach for the method ion implantation, vaporizing a precursor to obtain a vaporized precursor to form a film on a substrate. Olander is provided.
Olander teaches a method implant boron ions [abstract] by supplying a boron hydride precursor [abstract] and in practice the precursor is vaporized using vaporization method and introduced to a vacuum chamber which is then collided with ions to form ionized plasma which allows ions to accelerate towards a workpiece [col 8, ln 40-58] and implant into the workpiece (deposition) [col 7, ln 10-15]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vaporize the precursor for ion implantation method since Olander teaches it is well known and typical for ion implantation to vaporize a borohydride precursor.
Claim 2: Spielvogel teaches the compound can be MBH4 [col 3, ln 48].
Claim 3: Spielvogel teaches M can be potassium [abstract; col 7, ln 9-10].
Claim 4: Spielvogel teaches the isotope can be 10B [abstract].
Claim 5: Spielvogel teaches the isotope can be 11B [abstract].
Claim 6: Spielvogel teaches the isotope comprises 10B and 11B [col 8, ln 1-15].
Claim 7: although Spielvogel does not explicitly teach a purity of 90% since Spielvogel teaches the term boron hydride is intended to be consist essentially of boron and hydrogen or pure boranes [col 11, ln 20-42], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the purity to be as close as 100 % purity as possible, being at least 90%.
Claim 8: Olander teaches the precursor can be liquid form [col 8, ln 40-58].
Claims 9-10: Olander teaches some of the boron hydride has a vaporizing temperature of room temperature [col 9, ln 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the precursor at a vaporizing temperature such as at room temperature (e.g. ~20-25 C) in order to sufficient vaporize the precursor.
Claims 11-12: Olander teaches that precursor feedstock is vaporized using vaporization methods well known in the art such as reduced pressure [col 8, ln 42]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pressure at which precursor is vaporized through routine experimentation since Olander teaches pressure induced vaporization is a workable variable that affects vaporization.
Claim 13: Olander teaches the precursor can further comprise of H2 [col 10, ln 45-50].
Claim 14: Olander teaches the precursor can further comprises BF3 [col 8, ln 8].
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718