Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 17, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederik et., DE 2017203381 in view of Bryzek et al., US 2007/0125161.
Regarding claim 1, Frederik discloses (Figs. 6A-6C and related text) a method comprising: etching a vertical spring in a substrate (10, figs. 6A-6C), the vertical spring encompassing a device (1/2, 6A) formed on a front side (11) of the substrate (10).
Frederik does not disclose bonding a cap to the front side of the substrate, the cap disposed over the device and the vertical spring.
Bryzek teaches (fig. 7 and related text) bonding a cap/wafer (500) to the front side of the substrate (300) over the device or MEMS device (fig. 7A) to protect the device [0071].
Frederik and Bryzek are analogous art because they both are directed to MEMS device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Frederik with specified features of Bryzek because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Frederik to include the bonding cap to the frontside of the substrate as taught by Bryzek to protect the device [0071].
Regarding claim 2, Frederik as modified by Bryzek discloses etching the vertical spring includes etching a first trench (20, Frederik 6A) in the front side (11, fig. 6A) of the substrate (10) and etching a second trench (20) in a back side (12) of the substrate (10).
Regarding claim 3, Frederik as modified by Bryzek discloses etching the vertical spring includes etching a cavity (trench formed on the right side of ½, Frederik) in a back side (12) of the substrate (10) opposite the device; and the second trench (20 on the side of 12) encompasses the cavity (fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 4, Frederik as modified by Bryzek discloses the front side of the substrate is isolated from a back (12) side of the substrate (fig. 6B, Frederik).
Regarding claim 12, Frederik does not disclose forming a cap structure on the first surface and over the device.
Bryzek teaches (fig. 7 and related text) forming a cap structure (500) to the front side of the substrate (300) and over the device (fig. 7A) to protect the device [0071].
Frederik and Bryzek are analogous art because they both are directed to MEMS device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Frederik with specified features of Bryzek because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Frederik to include the bonding structure to the frontside of the substrate and the device as taught by Bryzek to protect the device [0071].
Regarding claim 19, Frederik does not disclose forming a cap structure on the first surface over the MEMS device.
Bryzek teaches (fig. 7 and related text) forming a cap structure (500) on the front side of the substrate (300) and over the device (fig. 7A) to protect the device [0071].
Frederik and Bryzek are analogous art because they both are directed to MEMS device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Frederik with specified features of Bryzek because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Frederik to include the bonding structure to the frontside of the substrate and the device as taught by Bryzek to protect the device [0071].
Regarding claim 21, Frederik as modified by Bryzek does not disclose the MEMS device is a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) resonator.
Bryzek discloses a MEMS based gyroscope that uses bulk acoustic wave resonators [0024].
Frederik and Bryzek are analogous art because they both are directed to MEMS device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Frederik with specified features of Bryzek because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Frederik to include the BAW device as taught by Bryzek to use the combined device in an application that requires it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-11, 13-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frederik et al., DE 2017203381.
Regarding claim 5, Frederik discloses (figs. 6A-6C and related text) a method comprising: forming a first trench (20, fig. 6A) on a first surface (11) of a semiconductor substrate (10), the first trench having a first bottom (bottom of 20) surface in the semiconductor substrate (fig. 6A); and forming a second trench (20) on a second surface (12) into the semiconductor substrate (10) opposing the first surface (12), the second trench (20) having a second bottom surface in the semiconductor substrate (fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 6, Frederik discloses the semiconductor substrate (10) includes a portion extending between the first and second surfaces (fig. 6B), and the portion is adjacent to the first trench (20 on 11) and the second trench (20 on 12).
Regarding claim 7, Frederik discloses the portion forms at least part of a spring (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 8, Frederik discloses forming a device (1/2, fig. 6B) on the semiconductor substrate and adjacent to at least one of the first or second trenches (20, on 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 9, Frederik discloses forming the device (1/2) includes forming the device (1/2) on the first surface (11), and forming the first trench (20) includes forming the first trench around at least a part of the device (1/2), and forming the second trench (20, on 12) includes forming the second trench around at least a part of a footprint of the device (1/2) on the second surface (fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 10, Frederik discloses forming the second trench (20 on 12) includes forming the second trench around at least a part of a footprint of the first trench on the second surface (fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 11, Frederik discloses forming the first trench (20 on 11) includes forming the first trench around at least a part of a footprint of the second trench on the first surface (fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 13, Frederik discloses the device includes at least one of: a microelectromechanical system (MEMS, 1, fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 14, Frederik discloses a method, comprising: forming a micromechanical system (MEMS) device (1, fig. 6B) on a first surface (11) of a semiconductor substrate (10); forming a first trench on the first surface (20), the first trench having a first bottom surface in the semiconductor substrate (fig. 6B); and forming a second trench (20 on 12) on a second surface (12) opposing the first surface (11), the second trench having a second bottom surface in the semiconductor substrate (10, fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 15, Frederik discloses the semiconductor substrate (10) includes a portion extending between the first (11) and second surfaces (12) and the portion abuts the first trench and the second trench (20, fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 17, Frederik discloses forming the first trench includes forming the first trench (20, on side of 11) around at least a part of the MEMS device (1), and forming the second trench includes forming the second trench (20, on the side of 12) around at least a part of a footprint of the MEMS (1) device on the second surface (fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 18, Frederik discloses forming the second trench (20 on the side of 12) includes forming the second trench around at least a part of a footprint of the first trench on the second surface (refer to fig. 6B, where the trenches on the side of 12 are formed around the trenches 20 formed on the first side 11).
Regarding claim 20, Frederik discloses the first trench (20 on 11) includes forming the first trench around at least a part of a footprint of the second trench on the first surface (two of the top trenches formed on 11 are formed around trenches 20 formed on the of 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811