DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 2023/0308853 to Ding et al. (hereinafter Ding) in view of US Pub. 2024/0211237 to R et al. (hereinafter R).
In regard claim 1, Ding teaches or discloses a system for providing canary upgrade for a Radio Access Network (RAN) (see Fig. 1, paragraph [0037], RAN) comprising:
a Control Unit (CU) comprising a Control Plane (CU-CP) and a Control Unit User Plane (CU-UP), the CU-CP coupled to the CU-UP (see paragraphs [0058], [0060], and [0067], a xNB (6G NB) may include a CU-CP, multiple CU-UPs, and multiple DUs on the communication plane. CU-CP refers to the Control plane of the control unit and CU-UP refers to the user plane of the control unit);
a Distributed Unit (DU) coupled to the CU-UP (see paragraphs [008], [0059], and [0067], the CU-CP is connected to the DU through the F1-C interface, and CU-UP is connected to the DU through the F1-U interface. DU refers to the distributed unit);
a Canary Upgrade deployment controller providing canary deployment across Containerized Network Functions (CNF) including the CU-CP, the CU-UP and the DU where canary deployment is supported for each CNF individually (see paragraphs [0144], with the trend of Telco network cloudification, the cellular network is foreseen to be built with flexibility and scalability by virtualized network functions (VNFs) or containerized network functions (CNFs) running on general purpose hardware); and
an evaluation interface providing Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) at the canary level facilitating evaluation of a CNF (see paragraph [0314], Edge Application Server Service KPIs provide information about service characteristics provided by the Edge Application Server).
Ding may not explicitly teach or disclose a Canary Upgrade deployment controller.
However, R teaches or discloses a Canary Upgrade deployment controller (see paragraphs [0062], a system 100 for performing tenant provisioning to enable controlled and staged deployment of new versions of workload, application, or service across multiple clusters according to some embodiments herein. The tenant provisioning module 106 performs Cluster Provisioning, Tenant Management and Canary Upgrade of Workload across clusters. The control plane includes provisioning, off-boarding, License upgrade, plugin/ DB upgrade, cluster installation and cluster movement. The provisioning cluster control plane component includes a data plane including a compute cluster and a database cluster for performing functions).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify computing workload management in next generation cellular networks of Ding by including a Canary Upgrade deployment controller suggested by R. This modification would provide to enable controlled and staged deployment of new version of workload, application, or service across multiple clusters read in paragraph [0005].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Date: 06/22/2026
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476