DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites a phrase “An reference jig comprising” in line 1. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “A reference jig comprising:” to restore clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-l.jsp.
Claim 1 of instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of reference U.S. Patent Number: 11588265. Although the claim at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: Claim 1 of the instant application is a genus and anticipated by species type Claim 1 of the reference application as charted below (See MPEP §804.03, § 2131.02: "A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. In re Slayter, 276 F.2d 408, 411, 125 USPQ 345, 347 (CCPA 1960); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 10 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1989)):
18795475(instant)
US 11588265 (reference)
An reference jig comprising
a reference terminal connectable to a male terminal of a connector; and
a metal band configured to attach to the reference terminal,
the reference terminal including
a plurality of pieces, each of which has a shape that is spaced about a center axis and extend along the center axis, and
a plurality of convex portions each protruding from an inner surface of one of the plurality of pieces,
the metal band configured to attach to the plurality of pieces and capable of clamping the plurality of pieces.
A jig for evaluating a performance regarding a temperature rise of a connector comprising:
a pair of terminals comprised of metal and connectable to a pair of male terminals of the connector;
a metal band configured to be attached to each of the terminals; and an adjustment unit capable of adjusting the metal band in diameter to adjust a clamping force of the metal band,
each terminal including
a plurality of contact pieces, each capable of contacting each male terminal and spaced around a center axis, each of the plurality of the contact pieces including a piece having a shape extending in a direction parallel to the center axis, and
a portion protruding from an inner surface of the piece toward the center axis,
the metal band capable of being attached to the plurality of contact pieces at a position where the clamping force of the metal band can be applied to the plurality of contact pieces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by NISHIJIMA et al. (US 20210351539; hereinafter NISHIJIMA).
Regarding claim 1, NISHIJIMA discloses in figure(s) 1-10 An reference jig comprising
a reference terminal (abs. - female terminals 72 including female connecting portions 70 to be connected to the male connecting portions 24 in a mating female connector 14; fig. 4, 9, 13-14) connectable to a male terminal (male terminal 22 and male connecting portion 24) of a connector; and
a metal band (16) configured to attach to the reference terminal (para. 54 - mounting body 16 made of metal and having a shielding function; figs. 2,4),
the reference terminal including
a plurality of pieces (76), each of which has a shape that is spaced about a center axis and extend along the center axis, and
a plurality of convex portions (70) each protruding from an inner surface of one of the plurality of pieces,
the metal band (16) configured to attach to the plurality of pieces and capable of clamping (ribs 50) the plurality of pieces (para. 54 - the mounting body 16 is formed with a connector mounting hole 18; para. 57 - semicircular plate portions 44a, 44b defining each female terminal accommodation hole 48 are provided with a pair of contact preventing ribs 50, 50 projecting radially outward).
Regarding claim 2, NISHIJIMA discloses in figure(s) 1-10 the reference jig according to claim 1, wherein the reference terminal further includes a cylindrical portion (30,50) connected to the plurality of pieces and formed in a cylindrical shape centered on the center axis.
Regarding claim 3, NISHIJIMA discloses in figure(s) 1-10 the reference jig according to claim 2, wherein the cylindrical portion (30,50) has an outer peripheral surface contiguous to an outer peripheral surface of each piece (76).
Regarding claim 4, NISHIJIMA discloses in figure(s) 1-10 the reference jig according to claim 2, wherein a length of the piece (76) in a direction parallel to the center axis is greater than a length of the cylindrical portion (30) in the direction parallel to the center axis.
Regarding claim 5, NISHIJIMA discloses in figure(s) 1-10 the reference jig according to claim 4, wherein the length of the piece (76) in the direction parallel to the center axis is at least 1.5 times the length of the cylindrical portion (30) in the direction parallel to the center axis.
Regarding claim 6, NISHIJIMA discloses in figure(s) 1-10 the reference jig according to claim 1, wherein the convex portion (70) having a shape curved so as to protrude inward in a radial direction of the outer peripheral surface of the piece (76).
Regarding claim 10, NISHIJIMA discloses in figure(s) 1-10 the reference jig according to claim 2, wherein the piece (76) has a distal end portion formed on an opposite side of a side to which the piece being connected to the cylindrical portion (30,50), the convex portion (70) is connected to the inner surface of the piece at a portion away from the distal end portion in the direction parallel to the center axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIJIMA.
Regarding claim 7, NISHIJIMA additionally teaches in figure(s) 11-14 the reference jig according to claim 6, wherein the convex portion (70) has an apex (94; fig. 11), a radius of curvature of the apex is greater than a radius of curvature of a boundary portion between the piece (76) and the convex portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NISHIJIMA embodiment of figs. 1-10 by having wherein the convex portion has an apex, a radius of curvature of the apex is greater than a radius of curvature of a boundary portion between the piece and the convex portion as taught by NISHIJIMA embodiment of figs. 11-14 in order to provide "a male connector and a connector device having novel structures capable of reducing a projecting height of a female connector connected to a male connector from the male connector and realizing a hand-contact preventing function of preventing hand contact with a male terminal while advantageously ensuring a cross-sectional area of a male connecting portion by a simple structure" (para. 9).
Regarding claim 8, NISHIJIMA teaches in figure(s) 1-14 the reference jig according to claim 7, wherein the radius of curvature of the apex (94) is twice the radius of curvature of the boundary portion (76).
Claim(s) 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIJIMA in view of TACHIBANA et al. (US 20140374155).
Regarding claim 9, NISHIJIMA teaches in figure(s) 1-14 the reference jig according to claim 8,
NISHIJIMA does not teach explicitly wherein the radius of the curvature of the apex is 1 mm and the radius of the curvature of the boundary portion is 0.5 mm.
However, TACHIBANA teaches in figure(s) 1-10 wherein the radius of the curvature of the apex is 1 mm and the radius of the curvature of the boundary portion is 0.5 mm (para. 97 – 1mm diameter of wire 13 and 2mm for terminal 11; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NISHIJIMA by having wherein the radius of the curvature of the apex is 1 mm and the radius of the curvature of the boundary portion is 0.5 mm as taught by TACHIBANA in order to provide "a method of manufacturing the electrical wire connecting structure, a terminal having a tube-shaped portion of 2.0 mm in inner diameter is prepared for an electrical wire having a conductor cross-sectional area of 0.72 to 1.37 mm.sup.2" (abstract).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the List of References cited in the US PT0-892.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858