DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/11/25 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZIA et al. (U.S. 202503512101).
For claim 1, ZIA et al. disclose a user equipment comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
registering the user equipment with a first network (at least Fig. 5, [0005], [0075] and [0099]-[0105]. The UE 115-b may establish a connection with a first network via the PLMN 505. For example, the UE 115-b and a network entity 105 included in the PLMN 505 may communicate control signaling (e.g., including subscription information) to register the UE 115-b with the PLMN 505 and enable access to the first network via the PLMN 505.);
selecting a standalone non-public network to register a user equipment with based on the user equipment’s registration with the first network (at least Fig. 5, [0005], [0075] and [0099]-[0105]. The PLMN 505 may transmit a URSP to the UE 115-b triggering the selection of the SNPN 510 for establishment of a dual wireless connection between the UE 115-b and the first network. That is, the URSP may indicate that the UE 115-b is to select the SNPN 510 in accordance with a DTA SNPN selection procedure. The UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 for establishment of the dual wireless connection, where the UE has a dual wireless connection with the first network via the SNPN 510 and the PLMN 505.); and
registering the user equipment with the selected standalone non-public network (at least Fig. 5, [0005], [0075] and [0099]-[0105]. The UE 115-b may establish a second wireless connection with the first network via the SNPN 510 to establish the dual wireless connection via the PLMN 505 and the SNPN 510 and may communicate with the first network via the dual wireless connection.)
For claim 2, ZIA et al. disclose the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to perform: receiving information for selecting the standalone non-public network, wherein: the information for selecting the standalone non-public network comprises information indicating one or more prioritized sets of candidate standalone non-public networks, each prioritized set of candidate standalone non-public networks comprises a plurality of candidate standalone non-public networks and is associated with a respective combination of first network and access technology used by the user equipment to access the first network, and the selecting is further based on the information for selecting the standalone non-public network (at least Fig. 3, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The PLMN 505 may transmit a first message that indicates a set of SNPNs based on receiving the capability message. The first message may be an example of a SOR-SNPN-DSI message. For example, the PLMN may transmit a SOR-SNPN-DSI message indicating an update to the set of prioritized lists used for SNPN selection (e.g., a prioritized list of SNPNs, a prioritized list of GINs). In some cases, the first message may include an indication of a quantity of SNPNs in the set of SNPNs, a list of SNPNs for dual wireless connection, a list of GINs associated with the SNPNs, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the first message may also include an indication of whether the first message includes the list of SNPNs, an indication of whether the first message includes the list of GINs, an indication of whether the list of the SNPN includes a PLMN ID associated with the PLMN 505, an indication of whether the list of GINs includes a PLMN ID associated with the PLMN 505, or a combination thereof. The UE 115-b may replace the set of prioritized lists used for SNPN selection with the set of SNPNs indicated in the first message based on receiving the first message. The UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 from a set of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a stored set of DTA SNPNs, the updated set of DTA SNPNs) in accordance with a prioritized list of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a DTA SNPN list) that may overlap with the set SNPNs. For instance, the prioritized list of DTA SNPNs may be a subset of the set of DTA SNPNs. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 in accordance with a prioritized list of GINs. In some cases, the set of SNPNs may be associated with the PLMN.)
For claim 3, ZIA et al. disclose the user equipment of claim 2, wherein selecting the standalone non-public network comprises: selecting one of the one or more prioritized sets of candidate standalone non-public networks associated with the combination of first network and access technology used for the user equipment’s registration with the first network; and selecting the standalone non-public network from among the plurality of candidate standalone non-public networks comprised in the selected prioritized set (at least Fig. 3, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The PLMN 505 may transmit a first message that indicates a set of SNPNs based on receiving the capability message. The first message may be an example of a SOR-SNPN-DSI message. For example, the PLMN may transmit a SOR-SNPN-DSI message indicating an update to the set of prioritized lists used for SNPN selection (e.g., a prioritized list of SNPNs, a prioritized list of GINs). In some cases, the first message may include an indication of a quantity of SNPNs in the set of SNPNs, a list of SNPNs for dual wireless connection, a list of GINs associated with the SNPNs, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the first message may also include an indication of whether the first message includes the list of SNPNs, an indication of whether the first message includes the list of GINs, an indication of whether the list of the SNPN includes a PLMN ID associated with the PLMN 505, an indication of whether the list of GINs includes a PLMN ID associated with the PLMN 505, or a combination thereof. The UE 115-b may replace the set of prioritized lists used for SNPN selection with the set of SNPNs indicated in the first message based on receiving the first message. The UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 from a set of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a stored set of DTA SNPNs, the updated set of DTA SNPNs) in accordance with a prioritized list of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a DTA SNPN list) that may overlap with the set SNPNs. For instance, the prioritized list of DTA SNPNs may be a subset of the set of DTA SNPNs. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 in accordance with a prioritized list of GINs. In some cases, the set of SNPNs may be associated with the PLMN.)
For claim 4, ZIA et al. disclose the user equipment of claim 2, wherein each prioritized set comprises: an identifier of a subscribed standalone non-public network; and a prioritized list of candidate standalone non-public networks for second standalone non-public network selection (at least Fig. 3, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. If the establishment of the second wireless connection is successful, the UE 115-a may communicate with the network via the first wireless connection and the second wireless connection that together constitute the dual wireless connection. If the establishment of the second wireless connection is unsuccessful, the UE 115-a may select another SNPN 235 from the set of DTA SNPNs in accordance with the DTA SNPN selection procedure, attempt to establish the second wireless connection via the other SNPN 235, and so on, for example, until the dual wireless connection is successfully established.)
For claim 5, ZIA et al. disclose the user equipment of claim 4, wherein each prioritized set comprises: an identifier of a subscribed standalone non-public network (at least Fig. 3, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The DTA SNPN list 305 may include an SNPN ID 315-a corresponding to a first DTA SNPN, an SNPN ID 315-b corresponding to a second DTA SNPN, an SNPN ID 315-c corresponding to a third DTA SNPN, and an SNPN ID 315-d corresponding to a fourth DTA SNPN (although any other quantity of SNPN IDs 315 may be included in the DTA SNPN list 305). In some examples, an entry of the DTA SNPN list 305 (e.g., the first entry) may contain a PLMN ID 310-a corresponding to a primary PLMN (e.g., the PLMN via which the UE 115 establishes a first wireless connection with the network); and a prioritized list of candidate standalone non-public networks for second standalone non-public network selection, wherein the first network is a public land mobile network, and wherein selecting the standalone non-public network from among the plurality of candidate standalone non-public networks comprised in the selected prioritized set comprises: prioritizing the standalone non-public network corresponding to the identifier of the subscribed standalone non-public network; and when the standalone non-public network corresponding to the identifier of the subscribed standalone non-public network is unavailable, selecting the standalone non-public network based on the prioritized list of standalone non-public networks (at least Fig. 3, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. If the establishment of the second wireless connection is successful, the UE 115-a may communicate with the network via the first wireless connection and the second wireless connection that together constitute the dual wireless connection. If the establishment of the second wireless connection is unsuccessful, the UE 115-a may select another SNPN 235 from the set of DTA SNPNs in accordance with the DTA SNPN selection procedure, attempt to establish the second wireless connection via the other SNPN 235, and so on, for example, until the dual wireless connection is successfully established.)
For claim 6, ZIA et al. disclose the user equipment of claim 3, wherein each prioritized set comprises: an identifier of a subscribed standalone non-public network (at least Fig. 3, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The DTA SNPN list 305 may include an SNPN ID 315-a corresponding to a first DTA SNPN, an SNPN ID 315-b corresponding to a second DTA SNPN, an SNPN ID 315-c corresponding to a third DTA SNPN, and an SNPN ID 315-d corresponding to a fourth DTA SNPN (although any other quantity of SNPN IDs 315 may be included in the DTA SNPN list 305). In some examples, an entry of the DTA SNPN list 305 (e.g., the first entry) may contain a PLMN ID 310-a corresponding to a primary PLMN (e.g., the PLMN via which the UE 115 establishes a first wireless connection with the network).;; and a prioritized list of candidate standalone non-public networks for second standalone non-public network selection, wherein the first network is a further standalone non-public network, and wherein selecting the standalone non-public network from among the plurality of candidate standalone non-public networks comprised in the selected prioritized set comprises: selecting the standalone non-public network based on the prioritized list of standalone non-public networks (at least Fig. 3, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. If the establishment of the second wireless connection is successful, the UE 115-a may communicate with the network via the first wireless connection and the second wireless connection that together constitute the dual wireless connection. If the establishment of the second wireless connection is unsuccessful, the UE 115-a may select another SNPN 235 from the set of DTA SNPNs in accordance with the DTA SNPN selection procedure, attempt to establish the second wireless connection via the other SNPN 235, and so on, for example, until the dual wireless connection is successfully established.)
For claim 7, ZIA et al. disclose the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the user equipment has a registration associated with a public land mobile network subscription, and wherein the information for selecting the standalone non-public network comprises one of more of: a user controlled prioritized list of preferred standalone non-public networks; a credentials holder controlled prioritized list of preferred standalone non-public networks; and a credentials holder controlled prioritized list of group identifiers for network selection (at least Fig. 3, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. Once the UE 115 has selected the SNPN from either the DTA SNPN list 305 or the DTA GIN list 320, the UE 115 may attempt registration on (e.g., to establish a connection with a network via) the selected SNPN using the NG-RAN access technology and the subscriber identifier and credentials selected from the list of subscriber data or from the USIM. If the UE 115 is successful in registering with the SNPN, the UE may indicate the selected SNPN to the network entity. In some examples, if the UE 115 is unsuccessful in registering with the selected SNPN, the UE 115 may select a next SNPN in accordance with the selection order of the DTA selection procedure an attempt registration on the next selected SNPN.)
For claim 8, ZIA et al. disclose the user equipment of claim 1, wherein registering the user equipment with the first network comprises sending, to the first network, information indicating that the user equipment supports dual registrations (at least Fig. 3, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The UE 115-b may establish a connection with a first network via the PLMN 505. For example, the UE 115-b and a network entity 105 included in the PLMN 505 may communicate control signaling (e.g., including subscription information) to register the UE 115-b with the PLMN 505 and enable access to the first network via the PLMN 505. The UE 115-b may transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the UE 115-b to update stored SNPN information associated with selection of the SNPN 510 for establishment of the dual wireless connection (e.g., stored DTA SNPN selection information).)
For claim 9, ZIA et al. disclose an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receiving information indicating that a user equipment supports dual registrations for registering with a first network and a standalone non-public network (at least Fig. 5, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The UE 115-b may establish a connection with a first network via the PLMN 505. For example, the UE 115-b and a network entity 105 included in the PLMN 505 may communicate control signaling (e.g., including subscription information) to register the UE 115-b with the PLMN 505 and enable access to the first network via the PLMN 505. The UE 115-b may transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the UE 115-b to update stored SNPN information associated with selection of the SNPN 510 for establishment of the dual wireless connection (e.g., stored DTA SNPN selection information).);
based on the receiving, determining to provide the user equipment with information for selecting the standalone non-public network based on the user equipment’s registration with the first network (at least Fig. 5, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The PLMN 505 may transmit a first message that indicates a set of SNPNs based on receiving the capability message. The UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 from a set of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a stored set of DTA SNPNs, the updated set of DTA SNPNs) in accordance with a prioritized list of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a DTA SNPN list) that may overlap with the set SNPNs. For instance the prioritized list of DTA SNPNs may be a subset of the set of DTA SNPNs. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 in accordance with a prioritized list of GINs. In some cases, the set of SNPNs may be associated with the PLMN.); and
sending, to the user equipment, the information for selecting the standalone non-public network (at least Fig. 5, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The PLMN 505 may transmit a first message that indicates a set of SNPNs based on receiving the capability message. The UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 from a set of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a stored set of DTA SNPNs, the updated set of DTA SNPNs) in accordance with a prioritized list of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a DTA SNPN list) that may overlap with the set SNPNs. For instance the prioritized list of DTA SNPNs may be a subset of the set of DTA SNPNs. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 in accordance with a prioritized list of GINs. In some cases, the set of SNPNs may be associated with the PLMN.)
For claim 10, the claim has features similar to claim 2. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 2.
For claim 11, the claim has features similar to claim 4. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 4.
For claim 12, the claim has features similar to claim 7. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 7.
For claim 13, the claim has features similar to claim 8. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 8.
For claim 14, ZIA et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 13, wherein determining to provide the user equipment with information for selecting the standalone non-public network comprises: determining to provide the user equipment with information for selecting the standalone non-public network based on the information indicating that the user equipment supports dual registrations; or receiving, from a first application function, information for causing the apparatus to send, to the user equipment, the information for selecting the second network based on the user equipment’s registration with the first network; and determining to provide the user equipment with the information for selecting the second network based on the information received from the first application function (at least Fig. 5, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The PLMN 505 may transmit a first message that indicates a set of SNPNs based on receiving the capability message. The UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 from a set of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a stored set of DTA SNPNs, the updated set of DTA SNPNs) in accordance with a prioritized list of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a DTA SNPN list) that may overlap with the set SNPNs. For instance the prioritized list of DTA SNPNs may be a subset of the set of DTA SNPNs. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 in accordance with a prioritized list of GINs. In some cases, the set of SNPNs may be associated with the PLMN.)
For claim 15, ZIA et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first application function is a steering of roaming application function (at least [0022] and [0077]. The first message may be a steering of roaming SNPN selection information (SOR-SNPN-SI) message. The network entity 105-a may transmit a steering of roaming-SNPN-DTA selection information (SOR-SNPN-DSI) 280 to the UE 115-a indicating an update to the DTA SNPN list, the DTA GIN list, or both. In some examples, the network entity 105-a may transmit the SOR-SNPN-DSI 280 based on (e.g., in response to) receiving the capability message 275.)
For claim 17, the claim has features similar to claim 7. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 7.
For claim 18, ZIA et al. disclose the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the credential holder network is a further standalone non-public network or a home public land mobile network (at least [0089]. The network entity 105 may update DTA SNPN selection information via the SOR-SNPN-DSI 405 for a UE 115 that has the same PLMN subscription (e.g., PLMN credentials holder) or separate subscribed SNPNs.)
For claim 19, ZIA et al. disclose an apparatus for a first application function, the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
determining to cause sending, to a user equipment, information for selecting a standalone non-public network based on the user equipment’s registration with a first network (at least Fig. 5, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The PLMN 505 may transmit a first message that indicates a set of SNPNs based on receiving the capability message. The UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 from a set of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a stored set of DTA SNPNs, the updated set of DTA SNPNs) in accordance with a prioritized list of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a DTA SNPN list) that may overlap with the set SNPNs. For instance the prioritized list of DTA SNPNs may be a subset of the set of DTA SNPNs. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 in accordance with a prioritized list of GINs. In some cases, the set of SNPNs may be associated with the PLMN.); and
sending, to an apparatus, information for causing the apparatus to send, to the user equipment, the information for selecting the standalone non-public network based on the user equipment’s registration with the first network (at least Fig. 5, [0084]-[0091] and [0099]-[0105]. The PLMN 505 may transmit a first message that indicates a set of SNPNs based on receiving the capability message. The UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 from a set of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a stored set of DTA SNPNs, the updated set of DTA SNPNs) in accordance with a prioritized list of DTA SNPNs (e.g., a DTA SNPN list) that may overlap with the set SNPNs. For instance the prioritized list of DTA SNPNs may be a subset of the set of DTA SNPNs. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 115-b may select the SNPN 510 in accordance with a prioritized list of GINs. In some cases, the set of SNPNs may be associated with the PLMN.)
For claim 20, the claim has features similar to claim 15. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZIA et al. (U.S. 20250351210) in view of Liang et al. (U.S. 20260180967)
For claim 16, ZIA et al. do not disclose the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to perform: sending, to an authentication server function, a protection request comprising the information for selecting the standalone non-public network; and receiving, from the authentication server function, a protection response comprising a medium access control element; wherein sending the information for selecting the standalone non-public network further comprises sending the medium access control element.
In the same field of endeavor, Liang et al. disclose sending, to an authentication server function, a protection request comprising the information for selecting the standalone non-public network; and receiving, from the authentication server function, a protection response comprising a medium access control element; wherein sending the information for selecting the standalone non-public network further comprises sending the medium access control element (at least [0625], [0646]. AUSF is able to calculate SoR-MAC-I.sub.AUSF using the extended steering information (including at least one of the following: enhanced slice awareness information; a prioritized list of preferred SNPN controlled by a credential holder; a prioritized list of preferred group IDs for network selection GIN controlled by the credential holder; a hosting network prioritized list). UE is able to calculate SoR-MAC-I.sub.AUSF using extended steering information (including at least one of the following: enhanced slice awareness information; a prioritized list of preferred SNPN controlled by a credential holder; a prioritized list of preferred group IDs for network selection GIN controlled by the credential holder; a hosting network prioritized list).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of ZIA et al. as taught by Liang et al. for purpose of carrying receiving the first verification credential determined by the AUSF.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (U.S. 20230112312) disclose the UE selects and attempts to register with the available SNPN identified by a PLMN ID and NID for which the UE has SUPI and credentials.
/DAI PHUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644