DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/5/2026 was considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2026 regarding the 103 rejections of claims 1, 3, and 6-13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (see remarks page 7) Horiuchi fails to teach or suggest "wherein the laser light source module is configured to maintain a table that maps the frequency of the first sine wave to the predetermined phase, and wherein the table is created based on actual measurement results." Specifically, Applicant argues (see remarks page 8) that although Horiuchi teaches "quantities of amplitude adjustment in the amplitude adjusting circuit 40 are previously adjusted in response to the optical frequency modulation signal Sm used" (column 6, lines 31-36) and "amounts of delay of the delay circuits 64 and 76 are previously determined " (column 8, lines 43-47), Horiuchi fails to disclose that a table that maps the frequency of the first sine wave to the predetermined phase is created based on actual measurement results.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s specification recites the "table may be a table created based on actual measurement results of the phase that can cancel the amplitude modulation" ([0041]). Horiuchi teaches, in reference to another embodiment which uses the same delays amounts as Fig. 4, that the amounts of delay of the delay circuits are previously determined so that the fluctuation in transmissivity of the electroabsorption modulator takes a phase that cancels intensity fluctuation of the light output from the semiconductor laser diode (col 8 lines 42-50) and the amount of delay in at least one delay circuit of a second sine wave is previously determined to match the output of an optical detector (col 8 lines 63-65). Thus, Horiuchi does teach that the predetermined delay amounts are based on actuals measurements results of the phase that can cancel the amplitude modulation which is the relationship that corresponds to a table that maps the frequency of the first sine wave to the predetermined phase. Further, the examiner notes that the table is simply an arrangement of data values and does not correspond to any particular structure.
In addition, the functional recitation in the claims (e.g. "configured to" or "adapted to" or the like) that does not limit a claim limitation to a particular structure does not limit the scope of the claim. It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to", "configured to", "designed to", or "operable to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform and may not constitute a limitation in a patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 139. (See MPEP 2111.04); see also In In re Giannelli, 739 F.3d 1375, 1378, 109 USPQ2d 1333, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The device taught by Horiuchi is capable of performing the functional limitations for the same purpose of cancelling intensity fluctuation (col 8 lines 42-50).
Therefore, the rejections have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5771255 A by Horiuchi et al. (hereinafter "Horiuchi").
Regarding claim 1, Horiuchi teaches an optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus for measuring characteristics of an optical fiber (Fig. 1 output optical signal, see note below) , the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus comprising:
a laser light source module configured to output frequency-modulated laser light (Fig. 1; laser light generator col 2 lines 15-20), wherein
the laser light source module comprises
a laser light source configured to output laser light (laser diode 10; col 3 lines 65-67),
a laser light source driver configured to modulate a frequency of the laser light outputted by the laser light source (drive current col 3 lines 65-67), and
an optical amplifier (optical intensity control 14) configured to adjust an amplitude of the frequency-modulated laser light outputted by the laser light source so as to cancel an amplitude modulation occurring in the frequency-modulated laser light outputted by the laser light source (col 4 lines 34-37 "intensity fluctuation Suppression by the optical intensity controller 14"; amplitude is proportional to intensity and are controlled together; col 4 lines 43-54 "the amplitude adjusting circuit 18 adjusts the amplitude of the output signal from the phase adjusting circuit 16 Such that the transmission characteristics of the optical intensity controller 14 varies to cancel the intensity f"),
a signal generator configured to generate a first sine wave used when the laser light source driver modulates the frequency of the laser light outputted by the laser light source (adder 12; col 3 lines 55-60 "adder 12 Superposes a Small optical frequency modulation signal (Sinusoidal a.c. signal) Sm") and a second sine wave having a frequency equal to a frequency of the first sine wave (Fig. 1 shows the signal Sm is sent to both the laser diode and phase adjust; col 4 lines 30-32; Fig. 2 shows sine waves),
a phase shifter configured to delay a phase of the second sine wave (phase adjusting circuit 16; col 4 lines 30-36 "phase adjusting circuit 16 adjusts the phase of the optical frequency modulation Signal Sm and applies it to an amplitude adjusting circuit 18. The phase adjusting circuit 16 is a So-called delay circuit interposed to match the intensity fluctuation of the light output of the laser diode 10 in phase with effects of intensity "), and
an optical amplifier driver (amplitude adjusting circuit 18) configured to drive the optical amplifier with the second sine wave delayed by the phase shifter to adjust an amplitude of the frequency-modulated laser light outputted by the laser light source (col 4 lines 30-41 "applies the resulting Signal as a control Signal to the optical intensity controller 14").
Although, Horiuchi does not explicitly teach the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus for measuring characteristics of an optical fiber in this embodiment, Horiuchi does address this limitation in a different embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches that optical output signal may be sent to an optical fiber (col 11 lines 64-66). Further, Horiuchi relates the invention to Brillouin scattering (col 1 lines 15-20). Therefore, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the light generator of Horiuchi with an optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus for measuring characteristics of an optical fiber in order to prevent adverse effects of simulated Brillouin scattering (col 1 lines 18-20).
Further, Horiuchi does not explicitly teach a phase shifter configured to delay a phase of the second sine wave by a predetermined phase according to the frequency of the first sine wave, wherein the laser light source module is configured to maintain a table that maps the frequency of the first sine wave to the predetermined phase, and wherein the table is created based on actual measurement results. However, Horiuchi does address these limitations in another embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches a phase shifter configured to delay a phase of the second sine wave by a predetermined phase according to the frequency of the first sine wave (col 5 lines 13-29; col 6 lines 31-40; quantities of delay of the delay circuits 32, 38 and quantities of amplitude adjustment in the amplitude adjusting circuit 40 are previously adjusted in response to the optical frequency modulation signal Sm) and wherein the laser light source module is configured to maintain a table that maps the frequency of the first sine wave to the predetermined phase. (col 8 lines 42-50 the amounts of delay of the delay circuits are previously determined so that the fluctuation in transmissivity of the electroabsorption modulator takes a phase that cancels intensity fluctuation of the light output from the semiconductor laser diode; col 8 lines 63-65 the amount of delay in at least one delay circuit of a second sine wave is previously determined to match the output of an optical detector; this relationship which corresponds to the table according to the applicant's specification and is based on actual measurement results [0041]). Further, Horiuchi teaches it is sufficient to use only one of the delay circuits 32, 38 by considering the relations of the timing of intensity fluctuation suppression in the electroabsorption modulator 46 relative to the phase of intensity fluctuation of the light output of the laser diode 36 (col 6 lines 31-40).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to delay the second sine wave by a predetermined phase of the first sine wave, where the predetermined phase is based on a table or relationship that maximizes the effects. Further, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the device from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 Sec. II “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990”). See MPEP 2114 Sec. II. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the first embodiment of Horiuchi to include where in the phase shifter is configured to delay a phase of the second sine wave by a predetermined phase according to the frequency of the first sine wave, wherein the laser light source module is configured to maintain a table that maps the frequency of the first sine wave to the predetermined phase, and wherein the table is created based on actual measurement results as suggested by the alternate embodiments in order to maximize the intensity fluctuation suppression effect (col 6 lines 31-40).
Regarding claim 3, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 1, and although Horiuchi further teaches wherein an amplitude of the second sine wave generated by the second signal generator is amplified according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (col 4 lines 30-54 "the amplitude adjusting circuit 18 adjusts the amplitude of the output signal from the phase adjusting circuit 16 Such that the transmission characteristics of the optical intensity con troller 14 varies to cancel the intensity f"; the intensity fluctuation is related to the amplitude of the first sine wave; Fig. 2), Horiuchi is silent as to wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier to perform this function.
However, Horiuchi does address this limitation in a different embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (Fig. 4 col 5 lines 30-35 " amplitude adjusting circuit 40 is a gain variable circuit using a variable resistor and operational amplifier. The amplitude adjusting circuit 40 adjusts the gain of the output signal from the delay circuit 38 and delivers its output to one of inputs of a multiplier 42"; col 6 lines 31-40, amplification is based on first sine wave or optical frequency modulation signal Sm).
Further, although Horiuchi does not teach the variable amplifier to output the second sine wave to the phase shifter, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04 Sec. V. C. The variable amplifier after the phase shifter (delay 38) provides the same function as a variable amplifier before the phase shifter.
Therefore, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Horiuchi to include a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave and output the second sine wave to the phase shifter as suggested by the alternate embodiment in order to provide further adjustability for amplitude modulation suppression.
Regarding claim 14, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 1, and although Horiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined phase is positively correlated with the frequency of the first sine wave, Horiuchi does address these limitations in another embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches a phase shifter configured to delay a phase of the second sine wave by a predetermined phase according to the frequency of the first sine wave (col 5 lines 13-29; col 6 lines 31-40; quantities of delay of the delay circuits 32, 38 and quantities of amplitude adjustment in the amplitude adjusting circuit 40 are previously adjusted in response to the optical frequency modulation signal Sm). The description “adjusted in response to the optical frequency modulation signal Sm, so as to maximize the intensity fluctuation suppression effect” (col 6 lines 31-40) is equivalent to the applications description of “positively correlated” in the paragraph [0033]. Further, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the device from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 Sec. II “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990”). See MPEP 2114 Sec. II.
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to correlate the predetermined phase with the frequency modulation signal Sm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the first embodiment of Horiuchi to include teach wherein the predetermined phase is positively correlated with the frequency of the first sine wave as suggested by another embodiment in order to maximize the intensity fluctuation suppression effect (col 6 lines 31-40).
Regarding claim 15, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 3, and although Horiuchi further teaches increasing the amplitude of the second sine wave when the amplitude of the first sine wave is large and reduces the amplitude of the second sine wave when the amplitude of the first sine wave is small (col 4 lines 30-54 "the amplitude adjusting circuit 18 adjusts the amplitude of the output signal from the phase adjusting circuit 16 Such that the transmission characteristics of the optical intensity con troller 14 varies to cancel the intensity fluctuation"; the intensity fluctuation is related to the amplitude of the first sine wave; Fig. 2; this description is equivalent function to the applications description in the paragraph [0031]).
Horiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the variable amplifier increases the amplitude of the second sine wave when the amplitude of the first sine wave is large and reduces the amplitude of the second sine wave when the amplitude of the first sine wave is small, Horiuchi does address these limitations in another embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (Fig. 4 col 5 lines 30-35 " amplitude adjusting circuit 40 is a gain variable circuit using a variable resistor and operational amplifier. The amplitude adjusting circuit 40 adjusts the gain of the output signal from the delay circuit 38 and delivers its output to one of inputs of a multiplier 42"; col 6 lines 31-40, amplification is based on first sine wave or optical frequency modulation signal Sm). Further, Horiuchi teaches 6he optical intensity fluctuation suppressing means may further include residual fluctuation detecting means and correlation detecting means so as to detect residual fluctuation after the intensity fluctuation suppression and to detect correlation with the optical frequency modulation signal Sm such that the amount of amplitude adjustment by the phase/amplitude adjusting means be controlled in accordance with the correlation rate obtained (col 4 lines 48-58).
Therefore, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Horiuchi to include the variable amplifier increases the amplitude of the second sine wave when the amplitude of the first sine wave is large and reduces the amplitude of the second sine wave when the amplitude of the first sine wave is small as suggested by the alternate embodiment in order to adjustability cancel the intensity fluctuation.
Claim 6, 8-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi in view of US 20200124497 A1 by Furukawa.
Regarding claim 6, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 1, and Horiuchi relates the invention to Brillouin scattering (col 1 lines 15-20) and that optical output signal may be sent to an optical fiber (col 11 lines 64-66), however, Horiuchi is silent as to wherein the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry, and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises a first optical coupler configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a reference light, and a second optical coupler configured to combine scattered light from the optical fiber with the reference light, the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target.
However, Furukawa does address this limitation. Furukawa and Horiuchi are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of Brillouin scattering.
Furukawa teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry ([0003]; at least Fig. 1), and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises
a first optical coupler (first optical splitting unit 12; [0037]) configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light (pump light LP; [0037]) and a reference light (reference light LR; [0037]), and
a second optical coupler configured to combine scattered light from the optical fiber with the reference light (optical coupling unit 15; [0039), the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target ([0039] Brillouin scattered light LS from the optical fiber under test FUT).
Further, Furukawa teaches the control unit 19, the modulation unit 11 b outputs the modulation signal ml for frequency-modulating the continuous light L1 output from the light source 11 a. This modulation signal ml is, for example, a sinusoidal signal, and a frequency (modulation frequency fm) and amplitude thereof are controlled by the control unit 19 ([0036]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry using pump and reference light to generate and measure scattered light from the optical fiber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the light generator of Horiuchi to be used with an optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus that is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry, and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises a first optical coupler configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a reference light, and a second optical coupler configured to combine scattered light from the optical fiber with the reference light, the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target as taught by Furukawa in order to perform a BOCDR measurement with decreased error by suppressing the effects of intensity fluctuation.
Regarding claim 8, Horiuchi modified by Furukawa teaches the the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 6, but Horiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured to measure at least one of a temperature distribution and a strain distribution of the optical fiber by sweeping a frequency of the first sine wave.
However, Furukawa does address this limitation.
Furukawa teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to measure at least one of a temperature distribution and a strain distribution of the optical fiber by sweeping a frequency of the first sine wave ([0004] by sweeping the modulation frequencies of the pump light and the reference light; the temperature distribution or the strain distribution in the length direction of the optical fiber under test can be measured).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry to measure temperature or strain. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Horiuchi to include wherein the apparatus is configured to measure at least one of a temperature distribution and a strain distribution of the optical fiber by sweeping a frequency of the first sine wave as suggested by Furukawa in order to perform an efficient measurement of an optical fiber ([0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Horiuchi modified Furukawa teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 6, and although Horiuchi further teaches wherein an amplitude of the second sine wave generated by the second signal generator is amplified according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (col 4 lines 30-54 "the amplitude adjusting circuit 18 adjusts the amplitude of the output signal from the phase adjusting circuit 16 Such that the transmission characteristics of the optical intensity con troller 14 varies to cancel the intensity f"; the intensity fluctuation is related to the amplitude of the first sine wave; Fig. 2), Horiuchi is silent as to wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier to perform this function.
However, Horiuchi does address this limitation in a different embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (Fig. 4 col 5 lines 30-35 " amplitude adjusting circuit 40 is a gain variable circuit using a variable resistor and operational amplifier. The amplitude adjusting circuit 40 adjusts the gain of the output signal from the delay circuit 38 and delivers its output to one of inputs of a multiplier 42"; col 6 lines 31-40, amplification is based on first sine wave or optical frequency modulation signal Sm).
Further, although Horiuchi does not teach the variable amplifier to output the second sine wave to the phase shifter, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04 Sec. V. C. The variable amplifier after the phase shifter (delay 38) provides the same function as a variable amplifier before the phase shifter.
There, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Horiuchi to include a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave and output the second sine wave to the phase shifter as suggested by the alternate embodiment in order to provide further adjustability for amplitude modulation suppression.
Regarding claim 10, Horiuchi modified Furukawa teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 8, but Horiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured to measure a temperature distribution of the optical fiber by sweeping a frequency of the first sine wave.
However, Furukawa does address this limitation.
Furukawa teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to measure a temperature distribution of the optical fiber by sweeping a frequency of the first sine wave ([0004] by sweeping the modulation frequencies of the pump light and the reference light; the temperature distribution or the strain distribution in the length direction of the optical fiber under test can be measured).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry to measure temperature or strain. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Horiuchi to include wherein the apparatus is configured to measure a temperature distribution of the optical fiber by sweeping a frequency of the first sine wave as suggested by Furukawa in order to perform an efficient measurement of an optical fiber ([0006]).
Regarding claim 11, Horiuchi modified Furukawa teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 8, but Horiuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured to measure a strain distribution of the optical fiber by sweeping a frequency of the first sine wave.
However, Furukawa does address this limitation.
Furukawa teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to measure a strain distribution of the optical fiber by sweeping a frequency of the first sine wave ([0004] by sweeping the modulation frequencies of the pump light and the reference light; the temperature distribution or the strain distribution in the length direction of the optical fiber under test can be measured).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry to measure temperature or strain. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Horiuchi to include wherein the apparatus is configured to measure a strain distribution of the optical fiber by sweeping a frequency of the first sine wave as suggested by Furukawa in order to perform an efficient measurement of an optical fiber ([0006]).
Regarding claim 13, Horiuchi modified Furukawa teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 8, and although Horiuchi further teaches wherein an amplitude of the second sine wave generated by the second signal generator is amplified according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (col 4 lines 30-54 "the amplitude adjusting circuit 18 adjusts the amplitude of the output signal from the phase adjusting circuit 16 Such that the transmission characteristics of the optical intensity con troller 14 varies to cancel the intensity f"; the intensity fluctuation is related to the amplitude of the first sine wave; Fig. 2), Horiuchi is silent as to wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier to perform this function.
However, Horiuchi does address this limitation in a different embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (Fig. 4 col 5 lines 30-35 " amplitude adjusting circuit 40 is a gain variable circuit using a variable resistor and operational amplifier. The amplitude adjusting circuit 40 adjusts the gain of the output signal from the delay circuit 38 and delivers its output to one of inputs of a multiplier 42"; col 6 lines 31-40, amplification is based on first sine wave or optical frequency modulation signal Sm).
Further, although Horiuchi does not teach the variable amplifier to output the second sine wave to the phase shifter, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04 Sec. V. C. The variable amplifier after the phase shifter (delay 38) provides the same function as a variable amplifier before the phase shifter.
There, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Horiuchi to include a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave and output the second sine wave to the phase shifter as suggested by the alternate embodiment in order to provide further adjustability for amplitude modulation suppression.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi in view of US 20100225900 A1 by Hotate et al. (hereinafter "Hotate").
Regarding claim 7, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 1, and Horiuchi relates the invention to Brillouin scattering (col 1 lines 15-20) and that optical output signal may be sent to an optical fiber (col 11 lines 64-66), however, Horiuchi is silent as to wherein the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain analysis, and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises a first optical coupler configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a probe light, and a circulator configured to extract scattered light and the probe light from the optical fiber, the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target.
However, Hotate does address this limitation. Hotate and Horiuchi are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of Brillouin scattering.
Hotate teaches wherein the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain analysis ([0004]; [0007]; [0031] at least Fig. 1), and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises
a first optical coupler (first optical branch device 6; [0032]) configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a probe light ([0034] probe and pump light shown in figure 1), and
a circulator (second optical branch 15; [0037]) configured to extract scattered light and the probe light from the optical fiber ([0035]-[0036]; see Fig. 1), the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target ([0039]-[0040] stimulated Brillouin scattering periodically appear along the measurement-target optical fiber FUT).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain analysis using pump and probe light to generate and measure scattered light from the optical fiber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the light generator of Horiuchi to be used with an optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus that is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain analysis, and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises a first optical coupler configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a probe light, and a circulator configured to extract scattered light and the probe light from the optical fiber, the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target as taught by Hotate in order to perform a BOCDA measurement with decreased error by suppressing the effects of intensity fluctuation.
Regarding claim 12, Horiuchi modified by Hotate teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 7, and although Horiuchi further teaches wherein an amplitude of the second sine wave generated by the second signal generator is amplified according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (col 4 lines 30-54 "the amplitude adjusting circuit 18 adjusts the amplitude of the output signal from the phase adjusting circuit 16 Such that the transmission characteristics of the optical intensity con troller 14 varies to cancel the intensity f"; the intensity fluctuation is related to the amplitude of the first sine wave; Fig. 2), Horiuchi is silent as to wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier to perform this function.
However, Horiuchi does address this limitation in a different embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (Fig. 4 col 5 lines 30-35 " amplitude adjusting circuit 40 is a gain variable circuit using a variable resistor and operational amplifier. The amplitude adjusting circuit 40 adjusts the gain of the output signal from the delay circuit 38 and delivers its output to one of inputs of a multiplier 42"; col 6 lines 31-40, amplification is based on first sine wave or optical frequency modulation signal Sm).
Further, although Horiuchi does not teach the variable amplifier to output the second sine wave to the phase shifter, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04 Sec. V. C. The variable amplifier after the phase shifter (delay 38) provides the same function as a variable amplifier before the phase shifter.
There, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Horiuchi to include a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave and output the second sine wave to the phase shifter as suggested by the alternate embodiment in order to provide further adjustability for amplitude modulation suppression.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190195731 A1 by Furukawa teaches an optical fiber characteristics measuring apparatus wherein the combination of the modulation parameters may be prepared in a table form, for example ([0053]).
/KAITLYN E KIDWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877