DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2024 and 01/07/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2 and 4, in the second to last line the claims recite “adjust an amplitude of the frequency-modulated laser light outputted by the laser light source” which should read “adjust the amplitude of the frequency-modulated laser light outputted by the laser light source” since the term was already recited in claim 1 line 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5771255 A by Horiuchi et al. (hereinafter "Horiuchi").
Regarding claim 1, Horiuchi teaches an optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus for measuring characteristics of an optical fiber (Fig. 1 output optical signal, see note below) , the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus comprising:
a laser light source module configured to output frequency-modulated laser light (Fig. 1; laser light generator col 2 lines 15-20), wherein
the laser light source module comprises
a laser light source configured to output laser light (laser diode 10; col 3 lines 65-67),
a laser light source driver configured to modulate a frequency of the laser light outputted by the laser light source (drive current col 3 lines 65-67), and
an optical amplifier (optical intensity control 14) configured to adjust an amplitude of the frequency-modulated laser light outputted by the laser light source so as to cancel an amplitude modulation occurring in the frequency-modulated laser light outputted by the laser light source (col 4 lines 34-37 "intensity fluctuation Suppression by the optical intensity controller 14"; amplitude is proportional to intensity and are controlled together; col 4 lines 43-54 "the amplitude adjusting circuit 18 adjusts the amplitude of the output signal from the phase adjusting circuit 16 Such that the transmission characteristics of the optical intensity controller 14 varies to cancel the intensity f").
Although, Horiuchi does not explicitly teach the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus for measuring characteristics of an optical fiber in this embodiment, Horiuchi does address this limitation in a different embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches that optical output signal may be sent to an optical fiber (col 11 lines 64-66). Further, Horiuchi relates the invention to Brillouin scattering (col 1 lines 15-20). Therefore, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the light generator of Horiuchi with an optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus for measuring characteristics of an optical fiber in order to prevent adverse effects of simulated Brillouin scattering (col 1 lines 18-20).
Regarding claim 2, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 1, and Horiuchi further teaches wherein the laser light source module further comprises
a signal generator configured to generate a first sine wave used when the laser light source driver modulates the frequency of the laser light outputted by the laser light source (adder 12; col 3 lines 55-60 "adder 12 Superposes a Small optical frequency modulation signal (Sinusoidal a.c. signal) Sm") and a second sine wave having a frequency equal to a frequency of the first sine wave (Fig. 1 shows the signal Sm is sent to both the laser diode and phase adjust; col 4 lines 30-32; Fig. 2 shows sine waves),
a phase shifter configured to delay a phase of the second sine wave according to the frequency of the first sine wave (phase adjusting circuit 16; col 4 lines 30-36 "phase adjusting circuit 16 adjusts the phase of the optical frequency modulation Signal Sm and applies it to an amplitude adjusting circuit 18. The phase adjusting circuit 16 is a So-called delay circuit interposed to match the intensity fluctuation of the light output of the laser diode 10 in phase with effects of intensity "), and
an optical amplifier driver (amplitude adjusting circuit 18) configured to drive the optical amplifier with the second sine wave delayed by the phase shifter to adjust an amplitude of the frequency-modulated laser light outputted by the laser light source (col 4 lines 30-41 "applies the resulting Signal as a control Signal to the optical intensity controller 14").
Regarding claim 3, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 2, and although Horiuchi further teaches wherein an amplitude of the second sine wave generated by the second signal generator is amplified according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (col 4 lines 30-54 "the amplitude adjusting circuit 18 adjusts the amplitude of the output signal from the phase adjusting circuit 16 Such that the transmission characteristics of the optical intensity con troller 14 varies to cancel the intensity f"; the intensity fluctuation is related to the amplitude of the first sine wave; Fig. 2), Horiuchi is silent as to wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier to perform this function.
However, Horiuchi does address this limitation in a different embodiment.
Horiuchi teaches wherein the laser light source module further comprises a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (Fig. 4 col 5 lines 30-35 " amplitude adjusting circuit 40 is a gain variable circuit using a variable resistor and operational amplifier. The amplitude adjusting circuit 40 adjusts the gain of the output signal from the delay circuit 38 and delivers its output to one of inputs of a multiplier 42"; col 6 lines 31-40, amplification is based on first sine wave or optical frequency modulation signal Sm).
Further, although Horiuchi does not teach the variable amplifier to output the second sine wave to the phase shifter, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04 Sec. V. C. The variable amplifier after the phase shifter (delay 38) provides the same function as a variable amplifier before the phase shifter.
There, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Horiuchi to include a variable amplifier configured to amplify an amplitude of the second sine wave according to an amplitude of the first sine wave and output the second sine wave to the phase shifter as suggested by the alternate embodiment in order to provide further adjustability for amplitude modulation suppression.
Regarding claim 4, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 1, and Horiuchi further teaches wherein the laser light source module further comprises
a first signal generator configured to generate a first sine wave used when the laser light source driver modulates the frequency of the laser light outputted by the laser light source (adder 12; col 3 lines 55-60 "adder 12 Superposes a Small optical frequency modulation signal (Sinusoidal a.c. signal) Sm"),
a second sine wave that has a frequency equal to a frequency of the first sine wave and is delayed according to the frequency of the first sine wave (Fig. 1 shows the signal Sm is sent to both the laser diode and phase adjust; col 4 lines 30-32; phase adjusting circuit 16; col 4 lines 30-36 "phase adjusting circuit 16 adjusts the phase of the optical frequency modulation Signal Sm and applies it to an amplitude adjusting circuit 18. The phase adjusting circuit 16 is a So-called delay circuit interposed to match the intensity fluctuation of the light output of the laser diode 10 in phase with effects of intensity "), and
an optical amplifier driver (amplitude adjusting circuit 18) configured to drive the optical amplifier with the second sine wave to adjust an amplitude of the frequency-modulated laser light outputted by the laser light source (col 4 lines 30-41 "applies the resulting Signal as a control Signal to the optical intensity controller 14").
Although Horiuchi does not explicitly teach a second signal generator configured to generate a second sine wave that has a frequency equal to a frequency of the first sine wave and is delayed according to the frequency of the first sine wave, it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) MPEP 2144.04 VI. Further, the optical frequency signal Sm has two branches in Fig. 1, where the second branch is sent to phase adjust 16. Thus, the second branch of Sm and the phase adjust constitute the second signal generator. Therefore, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Horiuchi to include a second signal generator in order to provide further adjustability for the system.
Regarding claim 5, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 4, and Horiuchi further teaches wherein an amplitude of the second sine wave generated by the second signal generator is amplified according to an amplitude of the first sine wave (col 4 lines 30-54 "the amplitude adjusting circuit 18 adjusts the amplitude of the output signal from the phase adjusting circuit 16 Such that the transmission characteristics of the optical intensity con troller 14 varies to cancel the intensity f"; the intensity fluctuation is related to the amplitude of the first sine wave; Fig. 2).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi in view of US 20200124497 A1 by Furukawa.
Regarding claim 6, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 1, and Horiuchi relates the invention to Brillouin scattering (col 1 lines 15-20) and that optical output signal may be sent to an optical fiber (col 11 lines 64-66), however, Horiuchi is silent as to wherein the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry, and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises a first optical coupler configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a reference light, and a second optical coupler configured to combine scattered light from the optical fiber with the reference light, the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target.
However, Furukawa does address this limitation. Furukawa and Horiuchi are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of Brillouin scattering.
Furukawa teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry ([0003]; at least Fig. 1), and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises
a first optical coupler (first optical splitting unit 12; [0037]) configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light (pump light LP; [0037]) and a reference light (reference light LR; [0037]), and
a second optical coupler configured to combine scattered light from the optical fiber with the reference light (optical coupling unit 15; [0039), the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target ([0039] Brillouin scattered light LS from the optical fiber under test FUT).
Further, Furukawa teaches the control unit 19, the modulation unit 11 b outputs the modulation signal ml for frequency-modulating the continuous light L1 output from the light source 11 a. This modulation signal ml is, for example, a sinusoidal signal, and a frequency (modulation frequency fm) and amplitude thereof are controlled by the control unit 19 ([0036]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry using pump and reference light to generate and measure scattered light from the optical fiber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the light generator of Horiuchi to be used with an optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus that is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain reflectometry, and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises a first optical coupler configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a reference light, and a second optical coupler configured to combine scattered light from the optical fiber with the reference light, the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target as taught by Furukawa in order to perform a BOCDR measurement with decreased error by suppressing the effects of intensity fluctuation.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi in view of US 20100225900 A1 by Hotate et al. (hereinafter "Hotate").
Regarding claim 7, Horiuchi as modified above teaches the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus according to claim 1, and Horiuchi relates the invention to Brillouin scattering (col 1 lines 15-20) and that optical output signal may be sent to an optical fiber (col 11 lines 64-66), however, Horiuchi is silent as to wherein the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain analysis, and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises a first optical coupler configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a probe light, and a circulator configured to extract scattered light and the probe light from the optical fiber, the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target.
However, Hotate does address this limitation. Hotate and Horiuchi are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of Brillouin scattering.
Hotate teaches wherein the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain analysis ([0004]; [0007]; [0031] at least Fig. 1), and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises
a first optical coupler (first optical branch device 6; [0032]) configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a probe light ([0034] probe and pump light shown in figure 1), and
a circulator (second optical branch 15; [0037]) configured to extract scattered light and the probe light from the optical fiber ([0035]-[0036]; see Fig. 1), the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target ([0039]-[0040] stimulated Brillouin scattering periodically appear along the measurement-target optical fiber FUT).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain analysis using pump and probe light to generate and measure scattered light from the optical fiber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the light generator of Horiuchi to be used with an optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus that is configured to measure the characteristics of the optical fiber using Brillouin optical correlation domain analysis, and the optical fiber characteristics measurement apparatus further comprises a first optical coupler configured to split the frequency-modulated laser light into a pump light and a probe light, and a circulator configured to extract scattered light and the probe light from the optical fiber, the scattered light being generated upon the pump light being incident on the optical fiber that is a measurement target as taught by Hotate in order to perform a BOCDA measurement with decreased error by suppressing the effects of intensity fluctuation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 102280299 B1 by Song (cited in IDS dated 01/07/2025 with translation) teaches a Brillouin light correlation region analysis system based on an injection-locked light source and an analysis method using the same. Song teaches that signal distortion caused by intensity modulation and intensity-frequency phase delay in Brillouin optical correlation region analysis is suppressed (abstract). Song teaches at least the limitations of claim 1 of the present invention (claim 1, 3, 7 and paragraphs 26 and 98). Additionally, Song teaches a configuration for BOCDA similar to claim 7 in Fig. 1.
/KAITLYN E KIDWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877