DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. That is, the newly cited reference, Anderson, clearly discloses the amended limitations and is properly combined with the previously cited references. Therefore, the claims stand rejected and properly addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furtwangler et al., US 2019/0340833 A1 (hereinafter “Furtwangler”) in view of Poulos et al., US 2014/0333666 A1 (hereinafter “Poulos”) further in view of Anderson et al., US 2006/0085760 A1 (hereinafter “Anderson”).
Regarding claim 1, Furtwangler discloses a head mounted display (FIG. 1, virtual reality headset 132 at [0035]) comprising:
a display (FIG. 1. Virtual reality headset 132 of client system for display to a user on a display device at [0045]);
a sensor (FIG. 1, sensor(s) 142 and [0035]) configured to specify a direction in which the head mounted display is facing in a real space (FIG. 1, 142 and [0035] sensors listed for tracking the location of the headset device 132; head camera for tracking headset 132 and determining the position in space and [0045] overlaying virtual images on the real world based on camera on headset 132);
a receiver (FIG. 1, virtual reality input devices 134 including sensors 144 at [0035]) configured to receive an operation input (FIGS. 1-2B , [0005], [0012]-[0013], [0035] and [0046]-[0047] e.g., click a button, line of sight detected based on eye tracking and direction of device 132, and/or pointing of an input device 134) by a user (101) of the head mounted display (FIGS. 1-3C, virtual reality input devices 134 including sensors 144 at [0035] and [0046]-[0049] user may wear the headset 132 and use the input devices to interact with virtual reality environment 136 generated by headset 132); and
a processing circuit (FIG. 14, processor 1402, [0084]-[0088]), wherein the processing circuit is configured to:
comprise a first display control (controllers at [0005] and [0034]-[0035]) that arranges and displays a virtual object (FIGS. 2A-2B and 210a-h at [0046]-[0047]) at a first position (210h at a first position and broadly, 210 is displayed within panel 202 at [0046]-[0047], first position considered both placement of 202 and specific placement of 210h) with respect to a first direction (FIGS. 2A-2B, user 101 facing forward toward panel 202 at [0046]) of the head mounted display (132) specified by the sensor (142 at [0035] and FIGS. 2A-2B, sensor specifying direction; and [0069], when the user turns his head, the virtual reality device may adjust what is displayed to the user accordingly and render a corresponding portion of the virtual environment that is in that direction – panels 202 not fixed to headset direction, but visible sections rendered in accordance with head and headset movement),
and a second display control (controllers at [0005] and [0034]-[0035] and [0081]) that sets an operation area (FIGS. 2A-2B, 204 and [0047]) at a second position (FIGS. 2A-2B with panel 204 off to the side of panel 202 at [0047]) with respect to a second direction different from the first direction (FIGS. 2A-2B with panel 204 off to the side of panel 202 is a second direction which is differently angled from first direction with relation to the user 101 at [0047]) and arranges and displays the virtual object in the operation area (FIGS. 2A-2B and [0046]-[0047], inputting an input (e.g., clicking a button as a call operation) using the pointer of the input device 134, and moving the app 210h (noting grayed out in FIG. 2B at [0047]), the app 210h therefore, has moved, opened, and is placed in panel 204, without any input specific for moving a position of the virtual object), and
control the display (FIGS. 2A-2B and [0045]-[0047] control the system to render virtual space for display to user) to terminate displaying of the virtual object at the first position, change the arrangement position of the virtual object from the first position, to the operation area, and display, in the operation area, the virtual object that was displayed at the first position, as the second display control (FIGS. 2A-2B and [0046]-[0047], inputting an input (e.g., clicking a button as a call operation) using the pointer of the input device 134, and moving the app 210h (noting grayed out in FIG. 2B at [0047]), the app 210h therefore, has moved, opened, and is placed in panel 204, without any input specific for moving a position of the virtual object), in response to the call operation input received by the receiver, without receiving an input that specifies the arrangement position of the virtual object by the user (FIGS. 2A-2B and [0046]-[0047], inputting an input (e.g., clicking a button as a call operation) using the pointer of the input device 134, and moving the app 210h (noting grayed out in FIG. 2B at [0047]), the app 210h therefore, has moved, opened, and is placed in panel 204, without any input specific for moving a position of the virtual object), and
However, Furtwangler, in the above embodiment, Furtwangler does not explicitly discloses the system can control the display not to change an arrangement position of the virtual object from the first position even if specifying by the sensor that the head mounted display is facing the second direction different from the first direction, when the receiver does not receive a call operation input by the user; and after changing the arrangement position of the virtual object from the first position to the operation area in response to the call operation input without receiving the input that specifies the arrangement position of the virtual object by the user, control the display not to change the arrangement position of the virtual object from the operation area regardless of a direction of the head mounted display specified by the sensor, when the receiver does not receive a predetermined operation input by the user.
In another embodiment, Furtwangler discloses control the display ([0069] and virtual reality device may adjust what is displayed) not to change an arrangement position of the virtual object from the first position even if specifying by the sensor that the head mounted display specified by the sensor is facing the second direction different from the first direction as the first display control, when the receiver does not receive a call operation input by the user ([0069], when the user turns his head, the virtual reality device may adjust what is displayed to the user accordingly and render a corresponding portion of the virtual environment that is in that direction, but does not move any objects rendered in unison with the head movement; noting: as applied to the embodiment of FIGS. 2A-2B disclosed at [0046]-[0047], panel 202 would be rendered as not fixed to headset direction, but visible sections rendered in accordance with head and headset movement; therefore, position of the object/app 210h would remain static in the environment when no input received (i.e., call operation (e.g., click selection operation by user 101 on 134)) even when head position changes).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiment of FIGS. 2A-2B of Furtwangler to incorporate the static environment imaging of FIG. 11 and [0069] as disclosed by Furtwangler because such an integration/combination of elements is clearly contemplated by Furtwangler ([0093] – embodiments may include combination/permutations comprehended by one of ordinary skill) and additionally, the combination would produce the stated goal of providing the user with an intuitive experience – which gives the user a sense of “presence” or a feeling that they are actually in the virtual environment (see Furtwangler at [0014]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the embodiments to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Furtwangler does not explicitly disclose after changing the arrangement position of the virtual object from the first position to the operation area in response to the call operation input without receiving the input that specifies the arrangement position of the virtual object by the user, control the display not to change the arrangement position of the virtual object from the operation area regardless of a direction of the head mounted display, when the receiver does not receive an operation input by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Poulos discloses after changing the arrangement position of the virtual object from the first position to the operation area, control the display not to change the arrangement position of the virtual object from the operation area regardless of a direction of the head mounted display, when the receiver does not receive an operation input by the user (FIG. 7-11, [0041]-[0042] and [0052]-[0056] describing pinned location and pinning feature of an object by user interaction which prevents the movement of the object).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the virtual display methodology of the embodiments of Furtwangler to incorporate the pinning capability for not moving an object as disclosed by Poulos because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, virtual environments with objects and display areas. The motivation to combine these references would have been to limit the intrusiveness of the virtual object on a user’s field of view (see Poulos at [0012] and [0037]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Furtwangler does not explicitly disclose in response to the call operation input without receiving the input that specifies the arrangement position of the virtual object by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Anderson discloses arranging the selected virtual desktop space to the operation area (see FIG. 3 and [0034]-[0036], and virtual desktop manager 306 which includes buttons for selecting a quick switch to cause a corresponding full-size virtual display to be displayed) in response to the call operation input (FIG. 3 and [0034]-[0036] selection of one of the quick switch buttons 311-316 to produce the corresponding virtual desktop in the on-screen work area 303) without receiving the input that specifies the arrangement position of the virtual object by the user (FIG. 3 and [0034]-[0036], the selection of the quick switch buttons 311-316 will only allow a user to cause a corresponding full-size virtual desktop to be displayed on the on-screen work area 303, does not specify the arrangement position, merely recalls and produces the virtual desktop selected).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the virtual display methodology of the embodiments and pinning capability as disclosed by Furtwangler in view of Poulos to incorporate the quick switch buttons of Anderson because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, virtual environments with objects and display areas capable of arrangement. The motivation to combine these references would have been enhance the visualization of virtual desktops and improve the ability to locate a desired running application (see Anderson at [0005]-[0009]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising: a memory (Furtwangler at FIG. 1, system content 138, data stores 164 and [0034]-[0041]; FIG. 14, memory 1404 and storage 1406 and data caches at [0084]-[0086]) configured to store an application (Furtwangler at FIG. 1, [0034]-[0035] software, downloaded contents, such as applications and FIG. 14 at [0082]-[0090] software running on system 1400, with processors loading instructions from memory 1404), wherein the virtual object is a display screen or an operation screen of the application stored in the memory (Furtwangler at FIGS. 2A-2B with application 210h being a web browser produced in panel 204 at [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the display is a see-through display (Furtwangler at [0015] augmented reality, mixed reality, and hybrid reality, and [0045] describing overlaying virtual objects over real world images captured for headset 132 so that user may interact with real and virtual objects simultaneously).
Regarding claim 4, Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising: an image pickup unit (Furtwangler at FIGS. 1-2B and [0015], [0035], [0045] and camera on the headset of the user, used for tracking the direction of user) configured to take an image of an external world (Furtwangler at [0015] augmented reality, mixed reality, and hybrid reality, and [0045] describing overlaying virtual objects over real world images captured for headset 132 by a camera on the headset, so that user may interact with real and virtual objects simultaneously), wherein the processing circuit is configured to control the display to display the virtual object superimposed on the image of the external world taken by the image pickup unit (Furtwangler at [0015] augmented reality, mixed reality, and hybrid reality, “artificial reality content may generated content combined with captured content (e.g., real-world photographs)” and [0045] describing overlaying virtual objects over real world images captured for headset 132 by a camera on the headset, so that user may interact with real and virtual objects simultaneously).
Regarding claim 6, Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising: an operation key or a touch sensor (Furtwangler at FIGS. 1-2B and [0035] touch sensor of sensors 144 included in the virtual reality input device 134, or button [0012]-[0013] and [0046]), wherein the receiver is configured to receive the operation input indicated by the operation key or the touch sensor (Furtwangler at FIGS. 1-2B [0035] touch sensors 144 to generate sensor data that tracks the location of the input device 134 and position of user’s fingers, and [0046] inputting an input via the button of the virtual reality input device 134).
Regarding claim 7, Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising: an image pickup unit configured to take an image of a site of the user (Furtwangler at [0035] and tracking camera, placed external to the headset 132 and within line of site of the headset), wherein the receiver is configured to receive the operation input indicated by a motion of the site of the user taken by the image pickup unit (Furtwangler at FIGS. 7A-7B, 8 and at [0059]-[0061] describing gesture inputs of the user and user input device 132, and FIGS. 9A-8H with gestures made at [0062]-[0063], additionally at [0051] gesture at target application and hand movement data).
Regarding claim 11, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being claim 11 is directed to a head mounted display (Furtwangler at FIG. 1, virtual reality headset 132 at [0035]) comprising:
a display (Furtwangler FIG. 1. Virtual reality headset 132 of client system for display to a user on a display device at [0045]);
a sensor (Furtwangler FIG. 1, sensor(s) 142 and [0035]) configured to specify a direction in which the head mounted display is facing in a real space (Furtwangler FIG. 1, 142 and [0035] sensors listed for tracking the location of the headset device 132);
a receiver (Furtwangler FIG. 1, virtual reality input devices 134 including sensors 144 at [0035]) configured to receive an operation input (Furtwangler [0005], [0012]-[0013], [0035] and FIGS. 1-2B; e.g., click a button, line of sight based on eye tracking and direction of device 132, and/or pointing of an input device 134) by a user (Furtwangler 101) of the head mounted display (Furtwangler FIGS. 1-3C, virtual reality input devices 134 including sensors 144 at [0035] and [0046]-[0049] user may wear the headset 132 and use the input devices to interact with virtual reality environment 136 generated by headset 132); and a processing circuit (Furtwangler FIG. 14, processor 1402, [0084]-[0088]), wherein the processing circuit is configured to perform the method steps of claim 1 (see above). Therefore, claim 11 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, it is similar in scope to claim 2 above; therefore, claim 12 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, it is similar in scope to claim 3 above; therefore, claim 13 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, it is similar in scope to claim 4 above; therefore, claim 14 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, it is similar in scope to claim 6 above; therefore, claim 16 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, it is similar in scope to claim 7 above; therefore, claim 17 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 7.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson as applied to claims 4 and 14 respectively, further in view of Terahata et al., US 2018/0321817 A1 (hereinafter “Terahata”).
Regarding claim 5, Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses the head mounted display according to claim 4 (see above).
However, Furtwangler does not explicitly disclose wherein the display is a non-transmission type.
In the same field of endeavor, Terahata discloses a head mounted device and display system (FIG. 1, 100 and [0059]-[0065]) wherein the display is a non-transmission type (FIGS. 1 and 7 display 130 described as non-transmissive at [0063]-[0064] and [0114]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the head mounted display system of Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson to incorporate the non-transmissive display as disclosed by Terahata because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, head mounted display systems with augmented reality imaging and display capable of receiving an input. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve and increase the immerse experience of the user (see Terahata at [0114]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, it is similar in scope to claim 5 above; therefore, claim 15 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 5.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furtwangler in view Poulos further in view of Anderson as applied to claims 7 and 17 respectively, further in view of Maciocci et al., US 2012/0249741 A1 (hereinafter “Maciocci”);
Regarding claim 8, Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses the head mounted display according to claim 7 (see above).
However, although Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses finger input at [0035], Furtwangler does not explicitly disclose capturing input operations wherein the site of the user is a finger.
In the same field of endeavor, Maciocci discloses a head mounted device and display system for input detection (generally, FIG. 5B and [0070] describing head mounted displays, and FIG. 37 generally) and capturing input operations wherein the site of the user is a finger (FIG. 37 and [0299]-[0308] gesture tracking camera capable of determining input by a finger 3705 for selecting an interactive element 14, various gestures at [0010] and [0070]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the head mounted display system of Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson to incorporate finger input detection by Maciocci because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, head mounted display systems with augmented reality imaging and display capable of receiving an input. The motivation to combine these references would have been to provide intuitive interaction with virtual objects making it easy to learn for the user (see Maciocci at [0091]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 18, it is similar in scope to claim 8 above; therefore, claim 18 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 8.
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson as applied to claims 1 and 11 respectively, further in view of Sawaki, US 2018/0348987 A1 (hereinafter “Sawaki”).
Regarding claim 9, Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising an image pickup unit configured to take an image around an eye of the user (Furtwangler at FIGS. 1-2B at [0005] [0035] eye trackers of the headset 132, camera placed within the headset , and [0045], FIG. 11B and [0071] sensor data including eye tracking).
However, although Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses eye tracking as a method of input ([0005], [0035]) Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver is configured to receive the operation input indicated by a line of sight of the user detected by the image taken by the image pickup unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Sawaki discloses a head mounted device and display system for input detection (FIG. 1, 100, HMD 120) wherein the receiver is configured to receive the operation input indicated by a line of sight of the user detected by the image taken by the image pickup unit (Sawaki, FIGS. 1-2, 5, 14, and [0043]-[0044], [0057] [0077], [0084]-[0085] [0158] eye gaze sensor 140 detects direction of lines of site using light reflected photographed by camera 160; [0037] menu images selectable by the user, and [0170] user has performed an operation (e.g., object selection by gaze of the line of sight, Abstract – command for moving the position of an object/avatar).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the head mounted display system of Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson to incorporate gaze input by Sawaki because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, head mounted display systems with augmented reality imaging and display capable of receiving an input. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce the motion sickness of the VR when moving an object in a virtual space (see Sawaki [0258]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1 (see above).
However, although Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson discloses a microphone ([0088]) Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson does not explicitly disclose further comprising a microphone configured to input a voice of the user, wherein the receiver is configured to receive the operation input indicated by the voice of the user inputted by the microphone.
In the same field of endeavor, Sawaki discloses a head mounted device and display system (FIG. 1, 100 and [0059]-[0065]) further comprising a microphone (FIG. 1, microphone 170 at [0034] and [0045]) configured to input a voice of the user ([0045] and [0170]), wherein the receiver is configured to receive the operation input indicated by the voice of the user inputted by the microphone (FIG. 14, [0170] voice selection of an object/avatar, control module 1428 detecting utterance of the user 5, transmits the sound from the microphone 170; Abstract, command for moving an object, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the head mounted display system of Furtwangler in view of Poulos further in view of Anderson to incorporate gaze input by Sawaki because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, head mounted display systems with augmented reality imaging and display capable of receiving an input. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve intuitive input by the user based on the specific application, and to reduce the motion sickness of the VR when moving an object in a virtual space (see Sawaki [0258]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, it is similar in scope to claim 9 above; therefore, claim 19 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, it is similar in scope to claim 10 above; therefore, claim 20 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baharie et al., US 2009/0083655 A1: FIG. 3 and [0040] and virtual desktop management capable of moving applications to various virtual desktops.
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629