DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khaderbad et al. (US 2020/0091011).
Regarding claim 1, Khaderbad teaches (FIG. 17):
A semiconductor structure comprising:
an n transistor (200A) and a p transistor (200B);
a ruthenium silicide (RuSi) layer (670) on the p transistor;
a titanium silicide (TiSi) layer (740/750) on one or more of the n transistor and the p transistor; and
a gap fill material (850/860).
Regarding claim 2, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising a barrier layer (790/800) on one or more of the titanium silicide (TiSi) layer and the ruthenium silicide (RuSi) layer.
Regarding claim 3, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the titanium silicide (TiSi) layer is on both of the n transistor and the p transistor (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein the barrier layer comprises one or more of titanium nitride (TiN), tantalum nitride (TaN), tungsten nitride (WN), molybdenum nitride (MoN), PVD tungsten (W), PVD molybdenum (Mo), and PVD ruthenium (Ru) ([0067]).
Regarding claim 5, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the gap fill material comprises one or more of tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), cobalt (Co), and ruthenium (Ru) ([0070]).
Regarding claim 6, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the n transistor has an n-type source/drain region ([0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the p transistor has a p-type source/drain region ([0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 6, wherein the n-type source/drain region comprises silicon (Si) doped with phosphorus ([0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 7, wherein the p-type source/drain region comprises silicon germanium (SiGe) doped with boron (B) ([0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the gap fill material is substantially free of voids or seams (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 11, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 6, wherein the n-type source/drain region has a surface that is substantially free of oxide ([0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 7, wherein the p-type source/drain region has a surface that is substantially free of oxide ([0045]).
Regarding claim 13, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 6, wherein the n transistor has an n-type source/drain region and the p transistor has a p-type source/drain region, and wherein the ruthenium silicide (RuSi) layer is directly on the p-type source/drain region and not on the n-type source/drain region (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 14, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein the barrier layer is on both of the titanium silicide (TiSi) layer and on the ruthenium silicide (RuSi) layer (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 15, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein the barrier layer is on the titanium silicide (TiSi) layer (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 16, Khaderbad teaches:
The semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein the barrier layer is on the ruthenium silicide (RuSi) layer (FIG. 17).
Conclusion
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898