DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2024 and 11/20/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 12, 14-15, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Passot et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0132615 A1) hereinafter Passot.
Regarding claim 1. Passot discloses a method comprising:
determining, by a computing device and using first sensor data from a plurality of sensors coupled to a vehicle, a first path in an environment for autonomous navigation by the vehicle [see Paragraph 0063 - discusses that a robot detects a route, see Paragraph 0077-0078 - discusses that a mapping and localization unit receives sensor data to localize a robot in a map, see Paragraph 0086 - discusses that a map evaluation unit enhances a map of an environment using measurements from a sensor unit, see Paragraph 0156 - discusses using the map to determine a first route],
wherein the first path is determined in accordance with a set of operating constraints [see Paragraph 0157 - discusses that the routes each have operating constraints (velocity, orientation) that are state points];
identifying an upcoming situation that involves performance of a navigation maneuver above a threshold difficulty [see Paragraph 0063 - discusses S102 determining that a route contains a sharp turn based on a change in angular rate exceeding a threshold value];
based on identifying the upcoming situation, performing an analysis to determine one or more temporary adjustments to the set of operating constraints [see Paragraph 0065 - discusses S104 determining a wider turn to take by the virtual robot (see Figure 12 below - depicts changes to the operating constraints)];
Figure 12 of Passot
determining, by the computing device and using second sensor data from the plurality of sensors, a second path through the upcoming situation [see Paragraph 0065 - discusses S104 determining a second wider turn to take by the virtual robot when S108:NO, see Paragraph 0111 - discusses that the wider turn increases distances from objects in order to navigate a narrow passageway, see Paragraph 0157 - discusses that prior to navigation along an optimized route (i.e. second wider turn) that additional data using the sensor unit (second sensor data) is obtained before navigating the second route],
wherein the second path is determined in accordance with the set of operating constraints after application of the one or more temporary adjustments [see Paragraph 0066-0068 - discusses S106 simulating a virtual robot along the adjusted route with the wider turn (optimization), when the route does not meet the optimization ST108:NO then a new route is determined at S104 again]; and
causing, by the computing device, the vehicle to autonomously navigate the second path through the upcoming situation [see Paragraphs 0069-0070 - discusses that when a second route meets the threshold (optimized) S108:YES proceeding to S112 of controlling the robot to move along the optimized (second) route].
Regarding claim 2, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 1. Passot further discloses wherein the set of operating constraints include an operating constraint that limits planning the first path such that the vehicle navigates within a single lane of a road [see Figure 12 below - depicts the first path in a single lane of a road].
Figure 12 of Passot
Regarding claim 3, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 2. Passot further discloses wherein performing the analysis to determine the one or more temporary adjustments to the set of operating constraints comprises: determining a temporary adjustment to the set of operating constraints that enables planning the second path such that the vehicle navigates across multiple lanes of the road during a portion of the upcoming situation [see Figure 12 above - depicts the optimized path across a second lane of travel].
Figure 12 of Passot
Regarding claim 5, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 1. Passot further discloses wherein determining the second path through the upcoming situation comprises: determining the second path to include performance of one or more navigation maneuvers outside generally allowable navigation rules [see Figure 12 above and see Paragraph 0157 - discusses the second route (path) is in another lane of opposing traffic].
Regarding claim 6, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 1. Passot further discloses wherein the upcoming situation comprises performance of a turn at an intersection [the robot (vehicle) is capable of determining sharp turns for an intersection, for example, see Figure 6 below, objects 610 are curbs and the vehicle is turning left at an intersection (depending on the driving jurisdiction)], and wherein performing the analysis to determine the one or more temporary adjustments to the set of operating constraints comprises:
Figure 6 of Passot
determining the vehicle is unable to autonomously perform the turn at the intersection using an area allowed by the set of operating constraints for path planning; and determining a temporary adjustment that increases the area allowed for path planning [see Figure 6 above, and see Paragraphs 0098 and 1028-0130 - discusses that the vehicle is autonomous and is not able to perform a sharp turn, the route optimization comprises an elastic banded segments that increases the area for turning for the autonomous vehicle].
Regarding claim 7, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 6. Passot further discloses wherein determining the second path through the upcoming situation comprises: determining the second path using the increased area allowed by the set of operating constraints after application of the one or more temporary adjustments [see Figure 6 below - depicts the optimized path using an increased area (see Paragraphs 0065-0068 - discusses determining a second optimized route after application of the temporary adjustments (S108:NO to S104))].
Figure 6 of Passot
Regarding claim 12, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 1. Passot further discloses wherein performing the analysis to determine one or more temporary adjustments to the set of operating constraints comprises:
performing a plurality of simulations involving a virtual vehicle navigating a digital representation of the upcoming situation [see Paragraph 0065 - discusses S104 determining a wider turn to take by the virtual robot (see Figure 12 below - depicts changes to the operating constraints), see Paragraph 0065 - discusses S104 determining a second wider turn to take by the virtual robot when S108:NO, see Paragraph 0111 - discusses that the wider turn increases distances from objects in order to navigate a narrow passageway],
Figure 12 of Passot
wherein the virtual vehicle is designed based on a plurality of parameters corresponding to the vehicle [see Paragraph 0043 - discusses that the virtual robot includes footprint indices that comprise parameters of the robot].
Regarding claim 14, Passot discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of sensors coupled to a vehicle [see Paragraph 0075 – discusses sensor units on a robot]; and
a computing device coupled to the vehicle [see Paragraph 0063 – discusses a controller],
wherein the computing device [see Paragraphs 0063-0070] is configured to:
determine, using first sensor data from the plurality of sensors, a first path in an environment for autonomous navigation by the vehicle [see Paragraph 0077-0078 - discusses that a mapping and localization unit receives sensor data to localize a robot in a map, see Paragraph 0086 - discusses that a map evaluation unit enhances a computer-readable map of an environment using measurements from a sensor unit, see Paragraphs 0063 and 0156 - discusses using the computer-readable map (determined in Paragraph 0086) to determine a first route], wherein the first path is determined in accordance with a set of operating constraints [see Paragraph 0157 - discusses that the routes each have operating constraints (velocity, orientation) that are state points];
identify an upcoming situation that involves performance of a navigation maneuver above a threshold difficulty [see Paragraph 0063 - discusses S102 determining that a route contains a sharp turn based on a change in angular rate exceeding a threshold value];
based on identifying the upcoming situation, perform an analysis to determine one or more temporary adjustments to the set of operating constraints [see Paragraph 0065 - discusses S104 determining a wider turn to take by the virtual robot (see Figure 12 below - depicts changes to the operating constraints)];
Figure 12 of Passot
determine, using second sensor data from the plurality of sensors, a second path through the upcoming situation [see Paragraph 0065 - discusses S104 determining a second wider turn to take by the virtual robot when S108:NO, see Paragraph 0111 - discusses that the wider turn increases distances from objects in order to navigate a narrow passageway, see Paragraph 0157 - discusses that prior to navigation along an optimized route (i.e. second wider turn) that additional data using the sensor unit (second sensor data) is obtained before navigating the second route],
wherein the second path is determined in accordance with the set of operating constraints after application of the one or more temporary adjustments [see Paragraph 0066-0068 - discusses S106 simulating a virtual robot along the adjusted route with the wider turn (optimization), when the route does not meet the optimization ST108:NO then a new route is determined at S104 again]; and
cause, by the computing device, the vehicle to autonomously navigate the second path through the upcoming situation [see Paragraphs 0069-0070 - discusses that when a second route meets the threshold (optimized) S108:YES proceeding to S112 of controlling the robot to move along the optimized (second) route].
Regarding claim 15, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 14. Passot further discloses wherein the plurality of sensors comprises: at least one camera and at least one lidar unit [see Paragraph 0075 – discusses that the sensor unit includes LIDAR and camera].
Regarding claim 17, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 14. Passot further discloses wherein the computing device is further configured to identify the upcoming situation based on map data [see Paragraph 0077-0078 - discusses that a mapping and localization unit receives sensor data to localize a robot in a map, see Paragraph 0086 - discusses that a map evaluation unit enhances a map of an environment using measurements from a sensor unit].
Regarding claim 19, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 14. Passot further discloses wherein the computing device is further configured to control the vehicle along the second path such that at least one wheel of the vehicle crosses into an additional lane during navigation of the upcoming situation [see Figure 12 below – depicts the wider turn path that includes that the vehicle crossing into oncoming traffic lane].
Figure 12 of Passot
Regarding claim 20. Passot discloses non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store instructions [see Paragraph 0056], that when executed by a computing device, causes the computing device [see Paragraphs 0063-0070] to perform operations comprising:
determining, using first sensor data from a plurality of sensors coupled to a vehicle, a first path in an environment for autonomous navigation by the vehicle [see Paragraph 0077-0078 - discusses that a mapping and localization unit receives sensor data to localize a robot in a map, see Paragraph 0086 - discusses that a map evaluation unit enhances a computer-readable map of an environment using measurements from a sensor unit, see Paragraphs 0063 and 0156 - discusses using the computer-readable map (determined in Paragraph 0086) to determine a first route], wherein the first path is determined in accordance with a set of operating constraints [see Paragraph 0157 - discusses that the routes each have operating constraints (velocity, orientation) that are state points];
identifying an upcoming situation that involves performance of a navigation maneuver above a threshold difficulty [see Paragraph 0063 - discusses S102 determining that a route contains a sharp turn based on a change in angular rate exceeding a threshold value];
based on identifying the upcoming situation, performing an analysis to determine one or more temporary adjustments to the set of operating constraints [see Paragraph 0065 - discusses S104 determining a wider turn to take by the virtual robot (see Figure 12 below - depicts changes to the operating constraints)];
Figure 12 of Passot
determining, using second sensor data from the plurality of sensors, a second path through the upcoming situation [see Paragraph 0065 - discusses S104 determining a second wider turn to take by the virtual robot when S108:NO, see Paragraph 0111 - discusses that the wider turn increases distances from objects in order to navigate a narrow passageway, see Paragraph 0157 - discusses that prior to navigation along an optimized route (i.e. second wider turn) that additional data using the sensor unit (second sensor data) is obtained before navigating the second route],
wherein the second path is determined in accordance with the set of operating constraints after application of the one or more temporary adjustments [see Paragraph 0066-0068 - discusses S106 simulating a virtual robot along the adjusted route with the wider turn (optimization), when the route does not meet the optimization ST108:NO then a new route is determined at S104 again]; and
causing the vehicle to autonomously navigate the second path through the upcoming situation [see Paragraphs 0069-0070 - discusses that when a second route meets the threshold (optimized) S108:YES proceeding to S112 of controlling the robot to move along the optimized (second) route].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passot in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0247032 A1) hereinafter Lee .
Regarding claim 8, Passot discloses the invention with respect to claim 1.
However, Passot fails to disclose
wherein the vehicle is configured to pull a trailer during navigation of the route, and wherein the set of operating constraints comprises the one or more operating constraints that depend on one or more parameters corresponding to the trailer.
Lee discloses wherein a vehicle is configured to pull a trailer [see Figure 1 below – depicts a vehicle hauling a trailer].
Figure 1 of Lee
Passot suggests that a vehicle hauls cargo/freight [see Paragraph 0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the vehicle as taught by Passot to include a trailer as taught by Lee in order to haul cargo/freight [Passot, see Paragraph 0039].
Lee further discloses one or more operating constraints that depend on one or more parameters corresponding to a trailer [see Paragraph 0047 - discusses that as a length of a trailer gets longer the turn radius gets smaller].
Lee suggests that vehicles trailer is prevented from crossing out of a travel lane through a curve [see Paragraph 0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the vehicle towing a trailer as taught by Passot and Lee to include one or more operating constraints that depend on one or more parameters corresponding to a trailer as taught by Lee in order to prevented a trailer from crossing out of a travel lane through a curve [Lee, see Paragraph 0007].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 10, 11, 13, 16, and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHAYNE M. GILBERTSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665