DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
3. When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
4. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
5. Applicants seeking an interview with the examiner, including WebEx Video Conferencing, are encouraged to fill out the online Automated Interview Request (AIR) form
(http://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html). See MPEP §502.03, §713.01(11) and Interview Practice for additional details.
6. Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
a. Independent: 1, 10 and 18.
b. Pending: 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maekawa US Patent 10446211 (hereinafter Maekawa), supported by CHEON PG PUB 20120246392, and Langlois PG PUB 20100037001.
Regarding independent claim 1, Maekawa teaches a storage device (title) comprising:
a first buffer memory (11a(11) in figure 9, Maekawa teaches in (133)-(139) that 11a can function as part of data buffer 22 in figure 1, [33], “…data buffer 22 receives data transmitted to the memory system 4 from the host 3 through the host interface 21, and temporarily stores the data. In addition, the data buffer 22 temporarily stores the data to be transmitted to the host 3 from the memory system 4 through the host interface 21…”) and a second buffer memory (11b(11) in figure 9, Maekawa teaches in (133)-(139) that 11b can function as part of data buffer 22 in figure 1) that are different from each other in at least one operation parameter ([149], “…the memory region 11 is divided into a first region 11a, a second region 11b, and a third region 11c…” [151], “…bank BK2 is a bank having a higher write speed than that of the bank BK3. The bank BK1 is a bank having a higher write speed than that of the bank BK2…” [141], “…the volume of the MTJ element varies in accordance with storage region…”, the first region and second region have different operation parameters (write speed, retention, MTJ volume));
a non-volatile memory (1 in figure 1 and 1 in figure 18); and
a storage controller (24/26/23/25/21 in figure 1 of Maekawa) connected to the first buffer memory (11a(11) in figure 9 that functions as part of data buffer 22 in figure 1 of Maekawa), the second buffer memory (11b(11) in figure 9 that functions as part of data buffer 22 in figure 1 of Maekawa), and the non-volatile memory (1 in figure 1) and configured to perform communication with the first buffer memory, the second buffer memory and the non-volatile memory, wherein each of the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory includes Magnetic Random Access Memory (MRAM) cells (figure 3) and a peripheral circuit (20b/20c in figure 3) configured to operate the MRAM cells according to the at least one operation parameter.
Maekawa teaches the first and second regions 11a, 11b function as a data buffer (buffer 22, [133]-[139]. Accordingly, the semiconductor storage device 1 shown in figure 1, which store data transferred from data buffer for long term retention, corresponds to the claims non-volatile memory under BRI.
For argument sake, let us assume Maekawa does not explicitly teach 1 in figure 1 is a non-volatile memory, however, the use of buffer memory in front of non-volatile memory is well known in the art, as evidenced by CHEON PG PUB 20120246392, and Langlois PG PUB 20100037001, both of which disclose controller managed buffer memories configured to temporarily store data prior to writing to non-volatile memory. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have found it obvious to employ such buffer-based architecture in Maekawa’s storage system.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory are separate semiconductor chips that are disposed outside a first semiconductor chip (2 in figure 1 of Maekawa) in which the storage controller is disposed and a second semiconductor chip (1 in figure 1 of Maekawa) in which the non-volatile memory is disposed (Maekawa teaches that a semiconductor storage device in which memory regions and controller may be implemented on different chips or stacked chips, [238] of Maekawa, “…the first layer LY1 is a memory controller 2… the second layer LY2 is a semiconductor storage device 1. Further, the first layer LY1 and the second layer LY2 are stacked in the D3 direction and electrically connected using a TSV or the like…”, Cheon teaches that buffer memory maybe implemented separately from both the controller and flash memory, [0006] of Cheon, “…a storage device includes a flash memory, a buffer memory and a memory controller…”, [0004] of Langlois, “…MRAM buffer receives data via the host interface and stores the data until the data is written to the flash memory under control of the flash memory controller…”)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the first buffer memory is integrated into a first semiconductor chip in which the storage controller is disposed, and wherein the second buffer memory is disposed in a semiconductor chip separated from the first semiconductor chip in which the storage controller is disposed and a second semiconductor chip in which the non-volatile memory is disposed (Maekawa teaches first and second buffer that function as data buffers, Maekawa further teaches that storage system may be implemented using multiple semiconductor chips or layers having different functions, [238], “…a first layer LY1 and a second layer LY2 the functions and characteristics of which are different from each other…”, Maekawa explicitly teaches that functional blocks may be disposed on different chips or layers and are not limited to a single integration configuration, [139], “…disclosure is not limited to the specific examples…”, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose one of the buffer regions (e.g., region 11a) on a semiconductor chip together with controller, while disposing another buffer region (e.g., region 11b) on a separate chip, in order to balance latency, bandwidth, and packaging constraints, especially in view of Maekawa’s explicit teaching of flexible multi-layer and multi-chip implementation).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory are integrated into a first semiconductor chip (2 in figures 19, 20 of Maekawa) in which the storage controller is disposed (figure 20 of Maekawa).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory are integrated into a second semiconductor chip in which the non-volatile memory is disposed ([252] of Maekawa, “…the memory system or the semiconductor storage device may be packaged as single components…”)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the first buffer memory is integrated into a first semiconductor chip in which the storage controller is disposed, and the second buffer memory is integrated into a second semiconductor chip in which the non-volatile memory is disposed (Maekawa teaches first and second buffer that function as data buffers, Maekawa further teaches that storage system may be implemented using multiple semiconductor chips or layers having different functions, [238], “…a first layer LY1 and a second layer LY2 the functions and characteristics of which are different from each other…”, Maekawa explicitly teaches that functional blocks may be disposed on different chips or layers and are not limited to a single integration configuration, [139], “…disclosure is not limited to the specific examples…”, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose one of the buffer regions (e.g., region 11a) on a semiconductor chip together with controller, while disposing another buffer region (e.g., region 11b) on a separate chip, in order to balance latency, bandwidth, and packaging constraints, especially in view of Maekawa’s explicit teaching of flexible multi-layer and multi-chip implementation).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the at least one operation parameter includes a first retention period of the first buffer memory and a second retention period of the second buffer memory, and wherein the first retention period is different from the second retention period ([149]-[152] of Maekawa, “…the first region 11a includes multiple banks BK1… the second region 11b includes multiple banks BK2… the bank BK2 is a bank having a higher data retention property than that of the bank BK1…”)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory are disposed in separate semiconductor chips, respectively (Maekawa teaches first and second buffer that function as data buffers, Maekawa further teaches that storage system may be implemented using multiple semiconductor chips or layers having different functions, [238], “…a first layer LY1 and a second layer LY2 the functions and characteristics of which are different from each other…”, Maekawa explicitly teaches that functional blocks may be disposed on different chips or layers and are not limited to a single integration configuration, [139], “…disclosure is not limited to the specific examples…”, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose one of the buffer regions (e.g., region 11a) on a semiconductor chip together with controller, while disposing another buffer region (e.g., region 11b) on a separate chip, in order to balance latency, bandwidth, and packaging constraints, especially in view of Maekawa’s explicit teaching of flexible multi-layer and multi-chip implementation).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the storage controller is configured to store data provided from a host into the non-volatile memory via one of the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory (Maekawa teaches in (133)-(139) that 11a, 11b can function as part of data buffer 22 in figure 1, [33] of Maekawa, data buffer 22 receives data transmitted to the memory system 4 from the host 3 through the host interface 21, and temporarily stores the data. In addition, the data buffer 22 temporarily stores the data to be transmitted to the host 3 from the memory system 4 through the host interface 21…”)
Regarding independent claim 10, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches a storage device (title of Maekawa) comprising:
a first buffer memory including first MRAM memory cells operating at a first operation parameter (11a(11) in figure 9 of Maekawa, Maekawa teaches in (133)-(139) that 11a can function as part of data buffer 22 in figure 1, [149]-[152] of Maekawa, “…the first region 11a includes multiple banks BK1… the second region 11b includes multiple banks BK2… the bank BK2 is a bank having a higher data retention property than that of the bank BK1…”)
a second buffer memory including second MRAM memory cells operating at a second operation parameter (11b(11) in figure 9 of Maekawa, Maekawa teaches in (133)-(139) that 11a can function as part of data buffer 22 in figure 1, [149]-[152] of Maekawa, “…the first region 11a includes multiple banks BK1… the second region 11b includes multiple banks BK2… the bank BK2 is a bank having a higher data retention property than that of the bank BK1…”);
a non-volatile memory (1 in figure 1 and 1 in figure 18 of Maekawa); and
a storage controller (24/26/23/25/21 in figure 1 of Maekawa) configured to store data, which is provided from a host, in one of the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory in accordance with an amount of the data provided from the host (Maekawa teaches a storage controller configured to selectively store data in different MRAM regions having different write speeds and retention properties based on workload characteristics such as elapsed time and access frequency. The claimed selection of a buffer memory based on an amount of data represents an obvious variation, because the amount of data is well known indicator of write burden and retention demand. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the amount of data as selection criterion when choosing between buffer memories having different write speeds, as a predictable substitution for the access-based criteria taught by Maekawa).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 10, wherein the storage controller is configured to:
determine whether an amount of the data exceeds a set value (Maekawa teaches controller comparison against threshold values to control data placement);
store, in response to determining that the amount of the data does not exceed the set value, in the first buffer memory (Maekawa teaches selective storage into different regions under controller control, [165] of Maekawa, “…the memory controller 2 writes the data, … in the bank BK2 … in the bank BK3 of the…”); and
store, in response to determining of the amount of the data exceeding the set value, the data in the second buffer memory (Maekawa teaches selective storage into different regions under controller control, [165] of Maekawa, “…the memory controller 2 writes the data, … in the bank BK2 … in the bank BK3 of the…”), wherein the first operation parameter includes a first write speed of the first buffer memory ([151] of Maekawa, “…bank BK1 is a bank having a higher write speed than that of the bank BK2…”), wherein the second operation parameter includes a second write speed of the second buffer memory, and wherein the first write speed is faster than the second write speed ([153] of Maekawa, “…the first region 11a including the bank BK1 having the higher write speed … second region 11b including the bank BK2 having an intermediate write speed...”)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 11, wherein the first buffer memory is integrated into a first semiconductor chip of the storage controller (figure 20 of Maekawa).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 10, wherein the storage controller is configured to: determine whether the non-volatile memory is in an idle state, and store, in response to determining of the non-volatile memory being in the idle state, the data stored in one of the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory in the non-volatile memory (Maekawa teaches migration from buffer like regions to long-term storage, performing such migration during idle periods is a routine buffer-management optimization, obvious once buffered staging is taught).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 10, wherein the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory are disposed in separate chips (Maekawa teaches first and second buffer that function as data buffers, Maekawa further teaches that storage system may be implemented using multiple semiconductor chips or layers having different functions, [238], “…a first layer LY1 and a second layer LY2 the functions and characteristics of which are different from each other…”, Maekawa explicitly teaches that functional blocks may be disposed on different chips or layers and are not limited to a single integration configuration, [139], “…disclosure is not limited to the specific examples…”, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose one of the buffer regions (e.g., region 11a) on a semiconductor chip together with controller, while disposing another buffer region (e.g., region 11b) on a separate chip), respectively, wherein the first operation parameter includes a first writing speed and a first retention period ([151]-[151] of Maekawa, “…bank BK1 is a bank having a higher write speed than that of the bank BK2… the bank BK2 is a bank having a higher data retention property than that of the bank BK1…”), wherein the second operation parameter include a second writing speed and a second retention period, wherein the first writing speed is faster than the second writing speed, and wherein the first retention period is shorter than the second retention period.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 10, wherein the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory are disposed in separate semiconductor chips, respectively, which are disposed outside a first semiconductor chip of the storage controller and a second semiconductor chip of the non-volatile memory (Maekawa teaches embodiments are not limited to specific arrangement, given Maekawa’s teaching of multi-layer and multi-chip structure, placing buffers on separate chips outside controller and NVM chips is an obvious layout variation).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory is integrated into a first semiconductor chip of the storage controller (figure 20 of Maekawa).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory is integrated into a second semiconductor chip of the non-volatile memory ([252] of Maekawa, “…the memory system or the semiconductor storage device may be packaged as single components…”)
Regarding independent claim 18, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches a storage device (title of Maekawa) comprising:
a first buffer memory including first MRAM memory cells operating at a first writing speed (11a(11) in figure 9 of Maekawa, Maekawa teaches in (133)-(139) that 11a can function as part of data buffer 22 in figure 1, [149]-[152] of Maekawa, “…the first region 11a includes multiple banks BK1… the second region 11b includes multiple banks BK2… bank BK1 is a bank having a higher write speed than that of the bank BK2…the bank BK2 is a bank having a higher data retention property than that of the bank BK1…”)
; a second buffer memory including second MRAM memory cells operating at a second writing speed (11b(11) in figure 9 of Maekawa, Maekawa teaches in (133)-(139) that 11a can function as part of data buffer 22 in figure 1, [149]-[152] of Maekawa, “…the first region 11a includes multiple banks BK1… the second region 11b includes multiple banks BK2 …bank BK1 is a bank having a higher write speed than that of the bank BK2…the bank BK2 is a bank having a higher data retention property than that of the bank BK1…”);
a non-volatile memory (1 in figure 1 and 1 in figure 18 of Maekawa); and
a storage controller (24/26/23/25/21 in figure 1 of Maekawa) configured to perform communication with the first buffer memory, the second buffer memory, and the non-volatile memory, wherein the first writing speed is different from the second writing speed ([149]-[152] of Maekawa, “…the first region 11a includes multiple banks BK1… the second region 11b includes multiple banks BK2 …bank BK1 is a bank having a higher write speed than that of the bank BK2…the bank BK2 is a bank having a higher data retention property than that of the bank BK1…”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 18, wherein each of first buffer memory and the second buffer memory includes a peripheral circuit (20b/20c in figure 3 of Maekawa).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Maekawa, CHEON and Langlois teaches the storage device of claim 18, wherein at least one of the first buffer memory and the second buffer memory is incorporated into a first semiconductor chip of the storage controller (figure 20 of Maekawa) or a second semiconductor chip of the non-volatile memory.
Conclusion
/XIAOCHUN L CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2824