Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 26 recites “The image sensor of claim 25,
wherein the connection wiring structure comprises a first wiring line and a second wiring line disposed at the same level as the first wiring line,
wherein the connection contact plug is connected to the first wiring line and the first contact plug is connected to the second wiring line.”
Claim 26 is not supported by the original specification or drawings. For example, ¶ 0028 states “The connection wiring lines 15c and intermediate contacts 20 therebetween may constitute a connection wiring structure CS.” Therefore, the original specification does not support “wherein the connection wiring structure comprises a first wiring line and a second wiring line disposed at the same level as the first wiring line”. Similarly, Figs. 3, 4, 5, 10, and 12 do not support “wherein the connection wiring structure comprises a first wiring line and a second wiring line disposed at the same level as the first wiring line” and “the first contact plug is connected to the second wiring line”.
Claim 37 recites “The image sensor of claim 36,
wherein the connection wiring structure comprises a first wiring line and a second wiring line disposed at the same level as the first wiring line,
wherein the connection contact plug is connected to the first wiring line and the first contact plug is connected to the second wiring line.”
Claim 37 is not supported by the original specification or drawings. For example, ¶ 0028 states “The connection wiring lines 15c and intermediate contacts 20 therebetween may constitute a connection wiring structure CS.” Therefore, the original specification does not support “wherein the connection wiring structure comprises a first wiring line and a second wiring line disposed at the same level as the first wiring line”. Similarly, Figs. 3, 4, 5, 10, and 12 do not support “wherein the connection wiring structure comprises a first wiring line and a second wiring line disposed at the same level as the first wiring line” and “the first contact plug is connected to the second wiring line”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 31-32 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites “The image sensor of claim 21, further comprising
a second substrate, wherein the second substrate is spaced apart from the first substrate with the device isolation portion therebetween.”
Therefore, Claim 31 contradicts the wording of independent Claim 21 that states “a device isolation portion disposed in the first substrate”. The wording of Claim 31 also contradicts the drawings (such as Figs. 3 and 10) and the pending application (such as ¶ 0023-0024).
For purposes of compact prosecution, Claim 31 will be interpreted to instead recite ” The image sensor of claim 21, further comprising
a second substrate, wherein the second substrate is spaced apart from the first substrate that contains
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 32 recites “The image sensor of claim 21, further comprising a conductive pad in a recess region penetrating the first substrate.”
This wording contradicts the drawings (such as Figs. 3 and 10) that show the conductive pad in a recess in the interlayer insulating layer. This wording also contradicts ¶ 0042 that states “a recess region 25 may penetrate the back insulating layer 23 and the first substrate 1 and may penetrate a portion of the first interlayer insulating layer IL1. The recess region 25 may expose the conductive pad 34.”
For purposes of compact prosecution, Claim 32 will be interpreted to instead recite “The image sensor of claim 21, further comprising a conductive pad in a recess region penetrating the entire first substrate and a portion of the interlayer insulating layer.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 40 includes all of the limitations of Claim 32. Therefore, it is unclear for the same reasons described supra because it does not correct that ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-30 and 33-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (“Kim”), US 2019/0131340.
Regarding Claim 21, Kim discloses an image sensor (Figs. 3, 4A, 6A; ¶ 0039; ¶ 0040 “an image sensor”; ¶ 0080) comprising:
a first substrate (100, 1100a, 100b; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0040 “substrate 100 may have a first surface 100a and a second surface 100b opposite to each other”);
a device isolation portion (120; Figs. 3, 4A, 6A; ¶ 0045 “through electrodes 120”) disposed in the first substrate (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0045 “Through electrodes 120 may be provided in the substrate 100.”; ¶ 0046-0047);
an interlayer insulating layer (221, 222, 223; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0056 “First, second, and third interlayer dielectric layers 221, 222, and 223”) disposed on the first substrate (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0056 “First, second, and third interlayer dielectric layers 221, 222, and 223 may be provided below the first surface 100a of the substrate 100.”);
a connection wiring structure (212, 213; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0059 “first and second lines 212 and 213 may include metal”) disposed in the interlayer insulating layer (Figs 4A, 6A; ¶ 0059 “First lines 212 may be provided in the second interlayer dielectric layer 222, and second lines 213 may be provided in the third interlayer dielectric layer 223.”); and
a connection contact plug (BCP1; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “First bottom contact plugs BCP1”) disposed in the interlayer insulating layer (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “First bottom contact plugs BCP1 may penetrate the first interlayer dielectric layer 221 to come into contact with the through electrodes 120.”) and connected to the connection wiring structure (Figs. 4A, 6A each BCP1 Is connected to connection wiring structure 212),
wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) is vertically overlapped with the device isolation portion (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “First bottom contact plugs BCP1 may penetrate the first interlayer dielectric layer 221 to come into contact with the through electrodes 120. The first bottom contact plugs BCP1 may be in direct contact with the opposite ends 120a of the through electrodes 120.”).
Regarding Claim 22, Kim discloses
wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) comprises a bottom surface (Figs. 4A, 6A a bottom surface of BCP1) connected to the connection wiring structure (Figs. 4A, 6A; each BCP! Is connected to connection wiring structure 212) and a top surface (Figs. 4A, 6A a top surface of BCP1) spaced apart from the connection wiring structure (Figs 4A, 6A a top surface of BCP1 is spaced apart from connection wiring structure 212, 213), and
wherein a first width of the bottom surface of the connection contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A a first width of the bottom surface of BCP1) is greater than (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “The width of each of the first bottom contact plugs BCP1 may decrease along the third direction D3 towards the through electrode 120.”) a second width of the top surface of the connection contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A a second width of the top surface of the connection contact plug).
Regarding Claim 23, Kim discloses wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) is tapered toward (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “The width of each of the first bottom contact plugs BCP1 may decrease along the third direction D3 towards the through electrode 120.”) the first substrate (Figs. 4A, 6A BCP1 is tapered toward first substrate 100, 100a).
Regarding Claim 24, Kim discloses wherein the connection contact plug is aligned with the device isolation portion (Figs 4A, 6A; ¶0057 “First bottom contact plugs BCP1 may penetrate the first interlayer dielectric layer 221 to come into contact with the through electrodes 120.”).
Regarding Claim 25. Kim discloses further comprising
a first contact plug (BCP2; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0058 “Second bottom contact plugs BCP2”) in the interlayer insulating layer (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0058 “Second bottom contact plugs BCP2 may penetrate the first interlayer dielectric layer 221 to come into contact with the first and second floating diffusion regions FD1 and FD2.”),
wherein a bottom surface of the first contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A a bottom surface of the first contact plug BCP2) is substantially at the same level as a bottom surface of the connection contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A a bottom surface of the first contact plug BCP2 is substantially at the same level as a bottom surface of the connection contact plug BCP1).
Regarding Claim 26, Kim discloses
wherein the connection wiring structure comprises a first wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A a first wiring line 212 in contact with each BCP1) and a second wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A a second wiring line 212 in contact with each BCP2) disposed at the same level as the first wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A the second wiring line 212 is disposed at the same level as the first wiring line 212),
wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) is connected to the first wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A the first wiring line 212 is connected to each BCP1) and the first contact plug (BCP2) is connected to the second wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A the second wiring line 212 is connected to each BCP2).
Regarding Claim 27, Kim discloses wherein a top surface of the first contact plug is at a level lower than a top surface of the connection contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0058 “Each of the second bottom contact plugs BCP2 may have a length in the third direction D3 different from a length in the third direction D3 of each of the first bottom contact plugs BCP1. For example, the length in the third direction D3 of each of the second bottom contact plugs BCP2 may be less than the length in the third direction D3 of each of the first bottom contact plugs BCP1.”).
Regarding Claim 28, Kim discloses wherein the first contact plug is not aligned with the device isolation portion (Figs. 4A, 6A the first contact plug BCP2 is not aligned with the device isolation portion 120).
Regarding Claim 29, Kim discloses further comprising
a transistor (TG’; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0053 ” transfer gates TG′”) comprising a gate structure (TG’l, TG’u; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0053 “The upper portion TG′u may be connected to the lower portion TG′1 and may protrude above the first surface 100a of the substrate 100 along the third direction D3.”) and a doped region (FD2; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0051 “floating diffusion region FD2 may be an impurity doped region having the second conductivity”),
wherein the first contact plug (BCP2) is connected to the gate structure or the doped region (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0058 “bottom contact plugs BCP2 may penetrate the first interlayer dielectric layer 221 to come into contact with the…floating diffusion regions…FD2”).
Regarding Claim 30, Kim discloses
wherein the connection wiring structure (212, 213) comprises a plurality of wiring lines (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0059 “First lines 212” and “second lines 213”) at different vertical levels (Figs 4A, 6A; ¶ 0059 “First lines 212 may be provided in the second interlayer dielectric layer 222, and second lines 213 may be provided in the third interlayer dielectric layer 223.”), and
wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) is connected to a topmost wiring line nearest to the first substrate (Figs. 4A, 6A BCP1 is connected to a topmost wiring line 212 nearest to the first substrate 100, 100a).
Regarding Claim 33, Kim discloses an image sensor (Figs. 3, 4A, 6A; ¶ 0039; ¶ 0040 “an image sensor”; ¶ 0080) comprising:
a first substrate (100, 100a, 100b; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0040 “The substrate 100 may have a first surface 100a and a second surface 100b opposite to each other along a third direction D3.”) comprising photoelectric conversion portions (PD1, PD2; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0020 “photoelectric conversion regions PD1 and PD2” and “The photoelectric conversion regions PD1 and PD2 may be provided in a substrate 100.”);
a device isolation portion (120; Figs. 3, 4A, 6A; ¶ 0045 “Through electrodes 120”) disposed in the first substrate (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0045 “Through electrodes 120 may be provided in the substrate 100.”; ¶ 0046-0047);
transfer gates (TG’; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0052 “transfer gate TG′”); disposed on the first substrate (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0052 “transfer gates TG′ may be disposed on the first surface 100a of the substrate 100.”);
an interlayer insulating layer (221, 222, 223; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0056 “First, second, and third interlayer dielectric layers 221, 222, and 223”) disposed on the first substrate (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0056 “First, second, and third interlayer dielectric layers 221, 222, and 223 may be provided below the first surface 100a of the substrate 100.”) and at least partially covering the transfer gates (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0056 “The first interlayer dielectric layer 221 may cover the gates (e.g., the transfer gates TG′”; ¶ 0092);
a connection wiring structure (212. 213; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0059 “first and second lines 212 and 213 may include metal”) disposed in the interlayer insulating layer (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0059 “First lines 212 may be provided in the second interlayer dielectric layer 222, and second lines 213 may be provided in the third interlayer dielectric layer 223.”); and
a connection contact plug (BCP1; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “First bottom contact plugs BCP1”) disposed in the interlayer insulating layer (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “First bottom contact plugs BCP1 may penetrate the first interlayer dielectric layer 221 to come into contact with the through electrodes 120.”) and connected to the connection wiring structure (Figs. 4A, 6A each BCP1 Is connected to connection wiring structure 212),
wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) is vertically overlapped with the device isolation portion (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “First bottom contact plugs BCP1 may penetrate the first interlayer dielectric layer 221 to come into contact with the through electrodes 120. The first bottom contact plugs BCP1 may be in direct contact with the opposite ends 120a of the through electrodes 120.”),
wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) comprises a bottom surface (Figs. 4A, 6A a bottom surface of BCP1) connected to the connection wiring structure (Figs. 4A, 6A; each BCP! Is connected to connection wiring structure 212) and a top surface (Figs. 4A, 6A a top surface of BCP1) spaced apart from the connection wiring structure (Figs 4A, 6A a top surface of BCP1 is spaced apart from connection wiring structure 212, 213), and
wherein a first width of the bottom surface of the connection contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A a first width of the bottom surface of BCP1) is greater than (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “The width of each of the first bottom contact plugs BCP1 may decrease along the third direction D3 towards the through electrode 120.”) a second width of the top surface of the connection contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A a second width of the top surface of the connection contact plug).
Regarding Claim 34, Kim discloses wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) is tapered toward (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0057 “The width of each of the first bottom contact plugs BCP1 may decrease along the third direction D3 towards the through electrode 120.”) the first substrate (Figs. 4A, 6A BCP1 is tapered toward first substrate 100, 100a).
Regarding Claim 35, Kim discloses wherein the connection contact plug is aligned with the device isolation portion (Figs 4A, 6A; ¶0057 “First bottom contact plugs BCP1 may penetrate the first interlayer dielectric layer 221 to come into contact with the through electrodes 120.”).
Regarding Claim 36. Kim discloses further comprising
a first contact plug (BCP2; Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0058 “Second bottom contact plugs BCP2”) in the interlayer insulating layer (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0058 “Second bottom contact plugs BCP2 may penetrate the first interlayer dielectric layer 221 to come into contact with the first and second floating diffusion regions FD1 and FD2.”),
wherein a bottom surface of the first contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A a bottom surface of the first contact plug BCP2) is substantially at the same level as a bottom surface of the connection contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A a bottom surface of the first contact plug BCP2 is substantially at the same level as a bottom surface of the connection contact plug BCP1).
Regarding Claim 37, Kim discloses
wherein the connection wiring structure comprises a first wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A a first wiring line 212 in contact with each BCP1) and a second wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A a second wiring line 212 in contact with each BCP2) disposed at the same level as the first wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A the second wiring line 212 is disposed at the same level as the first wiring line 212),
wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) is connected to the first wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A the first wiring line 212 is connected to each BCP1) and the first contact plug (BCP2) is connected to the second wiring line (Figs. 4A, 6A the second wiring line 212 is connected to each BCP2).
Regarding Claim 38, Kim discloses wherein a top surface of the first contact plug is at a level lower than a top surface of the connection contact plug (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0058 “Each of the second bottom contact plugs BCP2 may have a length in the third direction D3 different from a length in the third direction D3 of each of the first bottom contact plugs BCP1. For example, the length in the third direction D3 of each of the second bottom contact plugs BCP2 may be less than the length in the third direction D3 of each of the first bottom contact plugs BCP1.”).
Regarding Claim 39, Kim discloses wherein the first contact plug is not aligned with the device isolation portion (Figs. 4A, 6A the first contact plug BCP2 is not aligned with the device isolation portion 120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-32 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (“Kim”), US 2019/0131340, in view of Akiyama, US 2014/0217486, listed in the IDS dated 8-7-2024.
Regarding Claim 31, Kim does not disclose further comprising
a second substrate, wherein the second substrate is spaced apart from the first substrate with the device isolation portion therebetween.
Akiyama discloses further comprising
a second substrate (9; Fig. 2; ¶ 0047 “circuit substrate 9”), wherein the second substrate is spaced apart from (Fig. 2; ¶ 0047 “A wiring layer 2a…are provided on a surface of the sensor substrate 2, i.e., a surface facing the circuit substrate 9 of the sensor substrate 2.” and “a wiring layer 9a…are provided on a surface of the circuit substrate 9, i.e., a surface facing the sensor substrate 2 of the circuit substrate 9.”) the first substrate (2:; Fig. 2; ¶ 0047 “sensor substrate 2”) with the device isolation portion (rightmost 23; Fig. 2; ¶ 0053 “through hole vias 23 that will be described below are provided to the peripheral region 7 located outside the pixel region 4”) therebetween (Fig. 2; ¶ 0055 “through hole vias 23 provided to the sensor substrate 2 are also connected to the embedded wiring lines 27”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kim to have further comprising a second substrate, wherein the second substrate is spaced apart from the first substrate with the device isolation portion therebetween, as taught by Akiyama, because “circuit substrate 9 includes drive circuits such as a vertical drive circuit 10 configured to drive the respective pixels 3 provided to the sensor substrate 2” (Akiyama ¶ 0044), thereby providing functionality and improved performance of the image sensor.
Regarding Claim 32, Kim does not disclose further comprising a conductive pad in a recess region penetrating the first substrate.
Akiyama discloses further comprising a conductive pad (leftmost 23; Fig. 2; ¶ 0069 “vias 23 are configured by embedding a conductive material such as copper”) in a recess region (Fig. 2; ¶ 0069 “vias 23 are configured by embedding a conductive material such as copper (Cu) in connection holes”) penetrating the first substrate (Fig. 2; ¶ 0069 “vias 23 are configured by embedding a conductive material such as copper (Cu) in connection holes, that is formed so as to penetrate…the sensor substrate 2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kim to have further comprising a conductive pad in a recess region penetrating the first substrate, as taught by Akiyama, because “compared to a configuration in which the pad wiring line 8 is disposed on the through hole vias 23 with a diffusion prevention insulating film in between and they are connected to each other through connection holes, the solid-state image pickup unit 1-1 has a configuration without the diffusion prevention insulating film; therefore, the number of manufacturing processes is allowed to be reduced” (Akiyama ¶ 0116), thereby reducing the manufacturing cost of the image sensor.
Regarding Claim 40, Kim discloses
wherein the connection wiring structure (212, 213) comprises a plurality of wiring lines (Figs. 4A, 6A; ¶ 0059 “First lines 212” and “second lines 213”) at different vertical levels (Figs 4A, 6A; ¶ 0059 “First lines 212 may be provided in the second interlayer dielectric layer 222, and second lines 213 may be provided in the third interlayer dielectric layer 223.”), and
wherein the connection contact plug (BCP1) is connected to a topmost wiring line nearest to the first substrate (Figs. 4A, 6A BCP1 is connected to a topmost wiring line 212 nearest to the first substrate 100, 100a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al., US 2018/0204874, discloses an image sensor comprising a first substrate, a device isolation portion, an interlayer insulating layer, and a connection wiring structure. Noh et al., US 2016/0035774 discloses an image sensor comprising a first substrate comprising photoelectric conversion portions, and transfer gates disposed on the first substrate. Lee et al., US 2018/0190707, discloses an image sensor comprising a first substrate, a device isolation portion, an interlayer insulating layer, and a connection wiring structure.
/R.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818