Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (10964788)
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches an semiconductor device comprising:
a nitride semiconductor layer (fig. 5: 108; Detailed Description par.18 teaches 108 can be composed of various semiconductor nitrides);
a dielectric oxynitride film (fig. 5: 114; Detailed Description par. 19 teaches 114 can be SiON) on the nitride semiconductor layer;
a first silicon nitride film (fig. 5: 116; Detailed Description par. 25 teaches 116 can be materials taught in Detailed Description par. 19, such as SiN) on the dielectric oxynitride film;
a second silicon nitride film (fig. 5: 120; Detailed Description par. 28 teaches 120 SiN or SiON) on the first silicon nitride film;
an opening formed in the second silicon nitride film and the first silicon nitride film, the opening reaching the dielectric oxynitride film (please see multiple openings which go through 116 and 120 to meet 114); and
a gate electrode (fig. 5: 118, 118a and 118T) on the second silicon nitride film, the gate electrode being in contact with the dielectric oxynitride film through the opening.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein the first silicon nitride film has a lower hydrogen atom concentration than a hydrogen atom concentration of the second silicon nitride film (it is known in the art that SiN has a lower hydrogen atom content that SiON).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein the first silicon nitride film has a higher density than a density of the second silicon nitride film (SiN has a higher density than SiON).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: prior art fails to teach the temporal ordering of steps mentioned in claim 1, such as the dielectric oxide film having a higher relative permittivity than a relative permittivity of silicon dioxide; nitriding the dielectric oxide film to form a dielectric oxynitride film; forming a first silicon nitride film on the dielectric oxynitride film by a thermal film formation method; forming a second silicon nitride film on the first silicon nitride film; forming an opening in the second silicon nitride film and the first silicon nitride film, the opening reaching the dielectric oxynitride film.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818