DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 07 August 2024 for application number 18/796,870. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims.
Claims 11-16 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 1/28/25; 5/7/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fontaine et al. (US 2026/0177710).
Regarding claim 11, Fontaine discloses a method, comprising:
capturing a 2D image by a sensing array of a sensing device, wherein the sensing array includes a plurality of single photon avalanche diodes (SPAD) (pars. 7, 133);
detecting an object in the 2D image (par. 3);
based on the detected object, identifying a target in the 2D image (par. 3);
emitting a light pulse toward the target by a light source of the sensing device (par. 16);
detecting photons reflected back from the target by the sensing array of the sensing device (par. 59);
determining a time-of-flight (ToF) value of the detected photons (par. 59); and
calculating a distance between the sensing array of the sensing device and the target based on the determined ToF value (fig. 2B; par. 78).
Regarding claim 13, see teachings of claim 11. Fontaine further discloses wherein the target is a target row of the array (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, see teachings of claims 11 and 13. Fontaine further discloses further comprising generating a full frame output for the target row, including: generating a plurality of imaging cycles; integrating 2D imaging data in each of the plurality of imaging cycles; and determining ToF value of the detected photons of the target row in each of the plurality of imaging cycles (par. 67).
Regarding claim 15, see teachings of claims 11, 13, and 14. Fontaine further discloses further comprising: constructing a histogram based on the determined ToF values (figs. 3, 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fontaine et al. (US 20260177710) in view of Zhang et al. (US12345678).
Regarding claim 12, see teachings of claim 11. Fontaine does not explicitly discloses further comprising: capturing a 4D image at a first frame rate; extracting motion from the 4D image; and wherein the 2D image is captured at a second frame rate lower than the first frame rate.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses further comprising: capturing a 4D image at a first frame rate; extracting motion from the 4D image; and wherein the 2D image is captured at a second frame rate lower than the first frame rate (abstract; par. 9).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Fontaine to include the teachings of Zhang in order to create high quality image (Zhang, par. 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the references, alone or in combination, discloses further comprising: generating a first pulse by a first delay circuit connected to a first SPAD of the plurality of SPADs in response to the first SPAD detecting photons; adding the first pulse generated by the first delay circuit and a second pulse generated by a second delay circuit connected to a second SPAD of the plurality of SPADs adjacent to the first SPAD; and comparing the added first and second pulses to a threshold charge.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure.
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486