DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18796,917 filed on 08/07/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arshad et al. (US 2022/0295257 A1).
1. Regarding claims 1 and 20, Arshad teaches an apparatus and method (Fig. 7 Paragraphs [0099]-[0102]) comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a network node, configuration information for collecting apparatus
trajectory data (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0073]-[0081] request for UE mobility information); and
use the configuration information for collecting apparatus trajectory data (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0073]-[0081] generate and transmit the UE mobility history report).
2. Regarding claim 2, Arshad teaches wherein the configuration information comprises a granularity for collecting apparatus trajectory data (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0073]-[0081] beam, sensor, location information and/or dual connectivity information).
3. Regarding claim 3, Arshad teaches, wherein the granularity for collecting apparatus
trajectory data comprises at least one of the following:
a list of cells where apparatus trajectory data is to be collected;
a list of beams where apparatus trajectory data is to be collected; or
a list of locations where apparatus trajectory data is to be collected (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0073]-[0081] beam, sensor, location information and/or dual connectivity information).
4. Regarding claim 4, Arshad teaches wherein the granularity for collecting apparatus
trajectory data comprises at least one of the following:
a radio resource control state; or
a plurality of radio resource control states (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0004], [0073]-[0081] and [0088]-[0092] beam, sensor, location information and/or dual connectivity information; resource utilization history).
5. Regarding claim 5, Arshad teaches, wherein the configuration information comprises a trigger for collecting apparatus trajectory data (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0004], [0073]-[0081] and [0088]-[0092] trigger; beam, sensor, location information and/or dual connectivity information; resource utilization history).
6. Regarding claim 6, Arshad teaches, wherein the trigger for collecting apparatus trajectory data is cell specific, beam specific or location specific (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0004], [0073]-[0081] and [0088]-[0092] trigger; beam, sensor, location information and/or dual connectivity information; resource utilization history).
7. Regarding claim 7, Arshad teaches, wherein the trigger for collecting apparatus trajectory data comprises at least one of the following:
being in a cell with a cell identifier, in a beam with a beam identifier or in location
with a location identifier; or being in a cell with an energy saving mode or in a beam with an energy saving mode (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0004], [0073]-[0081] and [0088]-[0092] trigger; beam, sensor, location information and/or dual connectivity information; resource utilization history).
8. Regarding claim 14, Arshad teaches, wherein the at least one processor and at least onememory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, causethe apparatus at least to:
receive, from the network node, a request to retrieve apparatus trajectory data;
and report, to the network node, the apparatus trajectory data (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0073]-[0081] generate and transmit the UE mobility history report).
9. Regarding claim 15, Arshad teaches wherein the request comprises at least one filter to filter the apparatus trajectory data (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0004], [0073]-[0081] and [0088]-[0092] trigger; beam, sensor, location information and/or dual connectivity information; resource utilization history).
10. Regarding claim 16, Arshad teaches wherein the at least one processor and at least onememory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, causethe apparatus at least to:
filter the apparatus trajectory data based on the filter; and
report, to the network node, the filtered apparatus trajectory data (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0004], [0073]-[0081] and [0088]-[0092] trigger; beam, sensor, location information and/or dual connectivity information).
11. Regarding claim 17, Arshad teaches, wherein the apparatus is a user equipment (Fig. 3 and 7).
12. Regarding claim 18, Arshad teaches an apparatus (Fig. 6) comprising at least one processor and at least one memory
storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the
apparatus at least to:
send, to a user equipment, configuration information for collecting user
equipment trajectory data (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0073]-[0081] request for UE mobility information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Arshad et al. (US 2022/0295257 A1) in view of Ramachandra et al. (WO 2022/264090 A1).
13. Regarding claim 8, Arshad does not explicitly disclose wherein the trigger for collecting apparatus trajectory data is event specific.
Ramachandra teaches wherein the trigger for collecting apparatus trajectory data is event specific (page 22 line 6 to page 23 line 10 logging information related to triggering events).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger for collecting apparatus trajectory data is event specific as taught by Ramachandra in the system of Arshad for logging information associated with operation of the wireless device during a first duration associated with a radio failure event see abstract of Ramachandra.
14. Regarding claim 9, Arshad in view of Ramachandra teaches wherein the trigger for collecting apparatus trajectory
data comprises at least one of the following:
experiencing a radio link failure event;
experiencing an early handover event; or
experiencing a late handover event (page 22 line 6 to page 23 line 10 logging information related to triggering events; RLF).
15. Regarding claim 10, Arshad does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor and at least one
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause
the apparatus at least to:
send, to the network node, an indication that apparatus trajectory data is
available for reporting.
Ramachandra teaches wherein the at least one processor and at least one
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause
the apparatus at least to:
send, to the network node, an indication that apparatus trajectory data is
available for reporting (page 22 line 6 to page 23 line 10 logging information related to triggering events; indicates availability of the logged information).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least one processor and at least one
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause
the apparatus at least to:
send, to the network node, an indication that apparatus trajectory data is
available for reporting as taught by Ramachandra in the system of Arshad for logging information associated with operation of the wireless device during a first duration associated with a radio failure event see abstract of Ramachandra.
16. Regarding claim 11, Arshad in view of Ramachandra teaches wherein the configuration information is further for reporting apparatus trajectory data (Ramachandra, page 22 line 6 to page 23 line 10 logging information related to triggering events; indicates availability of the logged information).
17. Regarding claim 12, Arshad in view of Ramachandra teaches wherein the configuration information comprises a trigger for sending the indication that apparatus trajectory data is available for reporting (Ramachandra, page 22 line 6 to page 23 line 10 logging information related to triggering events; indicates availability of the logged information).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Arshad et al. (US 2022/0295257 A1) in view of Ramachandra et al. (WO 2022/264090 A1) in further view of 3GPP TS 36.331 V17.5.0.
18. Regarding claim 13, Arshad in view of Ramachandra does not explicitly disclose, wherein the trigger for sending the indication that apparatus trajectory data is available for reporting comprises a number of apparatus trajectory data logs within a report reaching a report size threshold.
3GPP TS 36.331 v17.5.0 teaches wherein the trigger for sending the indication that apparatus trajectory data is available for reporting comprises a number of apparatus trajectory data logs within a report reaching a report size threshold(Section 5.5.5 and 5.6.8 measurement reporting; parameters such as logging duration, triggers).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the trigger for sending the indication that apparatus trajectory data is available for reporting comprises a number of apparatus trajectory data logs within a report reaching a report size threshold as taught by 3GPP TS 36.331 v17.5.0 in the system of Arshad in view of Ramachandra for compliance with the standard.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Arshad et al. (US 2022/0295257 A1) in view of Muller et al. (US 2019/0384303 A1).
19. Regarding claim 19, Arshad does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus sends the configuration information upon determining that at least one apparatus selection criterion being met, wherein the at least criterion comprises at least one of:
a model requiring user equipment trajectory data from a plurality of cells for
training or retraining or for inference and the user equipment camping on a cell
amongst the plurality of cells;
a model requiring user equipment trajectory data from a cell for training or
retraining or for inference and the user equipment camping on the cell; or
a model requiring user equipment trajectory data with a granularity finer than
the granularity of user equipment trajectory data available at the apparatus for training
or retraining or for inference.
Muller teaches a model requiring user equipment trajectory data from a plurality of cells for training or retraining or for inference and the user equipment camping on a cell amongst the plurality of cells; a model requiring user equipment trajectory data from a cell for training or retraining or for inference and the user equipment camping on the cell; or a model requiring user equipment trajectory data with a granularity finer than
the granularity of user equipment trajectory data available at the apparatus for training
or retraining or for inference (Paragraph [0041] trajectory data, machine learning model).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a model requiring user equipment trajectory data from a plurality of cells for training or retraining or for inference and the user equipment camping on a cell amongst the plurality of cells; a model requiring user equipment trajectory data from a cell for training or retraining or for inference and the user equipment camping on the cell; or a model requiring user equipment trajectory data with a granularity finer than the granularity of user equipment trajectory data available at the apparatus for training or retraining or for inference as taught by Muller in the system of Arshad for controlling the vehicle through the physical environment see abstract of Muller.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Hevizi et al. (US 2023/0247512 A1) updated trajectory used for handover
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466