Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 08/07/2024.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. 112
3. Claim 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite, “A method comprising: monitoring, from an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell, acceleration information over time…….”, “A system comprising: an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell; control circuitry configured to: receive acceleration information from the accelerometer; monitor the acceleration information over time”.
It is not clear from this recitation, whether the acceleration information is related to the battery or to any other entity in which the battery is placed/mounted/installed in. The battery cannot accelerate or propel itself, the acceleration information has to be a quantity associated with an object/entity which is hosting the battery. The instant specification and drawings do not mention/provide any object/entity/vehicle which the battery is associated with.
Instant specification merely states that ([0002]……With the ever-increasing ubiquitousness of electric vehicles and other electric devices, so too does the demand for batteries that meet certain performance criteria. However it is not clear from this disclosure whether the acceleration information in the claim recitation is related to a vehicle.
For examination purposes, as best understood by the examiner, this limitation is being interpreted as an accelerometer installed in a vehicle which is powered by the battery, and the accelerometer information is related to the vehicle which is powered by the battery rather than the battery itself, as taught by Amaike et al.
Claims 2-7, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) due to their dependency.
4. Claim 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without an object/entity which is hosting the battery which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976).
It is not clear how the battery can accelerate or propel itself, and the acceleration information has to be a quantity related to an object/entity which is hosting the battery. The instant specification and drawings do not mention/provide any object/entity/vehicle which the battery is associated with. Appropriate correction to the claim language is required to clarify this issue. For example… “A method comprising: monitoring, from an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell, acceleration information over time of a vehicle that moves using the battery;……..”.
Claims 2-7, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (MPEP 2106), the following analysis is made:
Under step 1 of the Guidance, the claims fall within a statutory category.
Claim 1 and 8 recite a method and a system respectively and fall within a statutory category.
Under step 2A, prong 1, claims 1 and 8 recite an abstract idea of
“monitoring, from an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell, acceleration information over time” (evaluation, mental process);
“monitoring electrical information for at least one electrical parameter of the battery cell over time” (evaluation, mental process);
“storing, at a memory integrated in the battery cell, the acceleration information and the electrical information for determining remaining useable life of the battery cell (evaluation, mental process), are directed to insignificant extra solution activities (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Under step 2A, prong 2, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I)). The collected information is not applied in a meaningful way (MPEP 2106.05(e)). The mere collection and storing of information for determining remaining useful life of the battery cell does not take the claim limitation out of the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) (III). The claim recitation merely points to storing the information for the purpose of determining rather than any actual determining of the remaining useable life of the battery cell.
Under step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(A)).
Determining and storing a maximum acceleration, determining number of charge-discharge cycles based on the voltage or current information (Amaike et al (US 20220355675 A1), determining discharge-depth for each charge-discharge cycle (Yen US 20210152008 A1), determining and storing maximum or minimum value of the acceleration information and one electrical parameter, and determining state of health of the battery cell based on the acceleration and electrical information (Amaike et al (US 20220355675 A1), are directed to well-understood, routine, and conventional feature known in the industry and have been found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” than the claimed judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea.
The remaining dependent claims do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea.
Thus, claims 1-20 are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
6. Claims 1-20 of the instant application are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 statutory double patenting as being anticipated by Domikaitis et al 18/949747 (Currently US 1233935 B1). Instant application (17/797111) is the parent application of 18/949747.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application (17/797111) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1-20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 18/949747 (Currently US 1233935 B1). This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Instant application (17/797111)
18/949747 (Currently US 1233935 B1)
1. A method comprising: monitoring, from an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell, acceleration information over time; monitoring electrical information for at least one electrical parameter of the battery cell over time; and storing, at a memory integrated in the battery cell, the acceleration information and the electrical information for determining remaining useable life of the battery cell.
A method comprising: monitoring, from an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell, acceleration information over time; monitoring electrical information for at least one electrical parameter of the battery cell over time; and storing, at a memory integrated in the battery cell, the acceleration information and the electrical information for determining remaining useable life of the battery cell.
2. The method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, based on the acceleration information, a maximum acceleration, wherein storing the acceleration information comprises storing the maximum acceleration.
2. The method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, based on the acceleration information, a maximum acceleration, wherein storing the acceleration information comprises storing the maximum acceleration.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein: the at least one electrical parameter comprises one or more of a voltage output of the battery cell or a current output of the battery cell.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein: the at least one electrical parameter comprises one or more of a voltage output of the battery cell or a current output of the battery cell.
4. The method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, based on the monitored electrical information, a number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell.
4. The method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, based on the monitored electrical information, a number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell.
5. The method of claim 4 further comprising: determining, based on the electrical information and the number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell, a discharge depth for each charge-discharge cycle of the battery cell.
5. The method of claim 4 further comprising: determining, based on the electrical information and the number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell, a discharge depth for each charge-discharge cycle of the battery cell.
6. The method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, using control circuitry, a maximum or minimum value of the acceleration information and the at least one electrical parameter, wherein storing the acceleration information and the electrical information comprises storing the maximum or minimum values.
6. The method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, using control circuitry, a maximum or minimum value of the acceleration information and the at least one electrical parameter, wherein storing the acceleration information and the electrical information comprises storing the maximum or minimum values.
7. The method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, using control circuitry, the state of health of the battery cell indicative of the battery cell's projected performance based on the acceleration information and the electrical information.
7. The method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, using control circuitry, the state of health of the battery cell indicative of the battery cell's projected performance based on the acceleration information and the electrical information.
8. A system comprising: an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell; control circuitry configured to: receive acceleration information from the accelerometer; monitor the acceleration information over time; and monitor electrical information for at least one electrical parameter of the battery cell over time; and memory integrated into the battery cell configured to: store the acceleration information and the electrical information for determining remaining useable life of the battery cell.
8. A system comprising: an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell; control circuitry configured to: receive acceleration information from the accelerometer; monitor the acceleration information over time; and monitor electrical information for at least one electrical parameter of the battery cell over time; and memory integrated into the battery cell configured to: store the acceleration information and the electrical information for determining remaining useable life of the battery cell.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the acceleration information, a maximum acceleration; and the memory is further configured to store the maximum acceleration.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the acceleration information, a maximum acceleration; and the memory is further configured to store the maximum acceleration.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to receive, from a temperature sensor, temperature information; and the memory is further configured to store the temperature information.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to receive, from a temperature sensor, temperature information; and the memory is further configured to store the temperature information.
11. The system of claim 8 further comprising: a display communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and configured to display the stored acceleration information and the electrical information.
11. The system of claim 8 further comprising: a display communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and configured to display the stored acceleration information and the electrical information.
12. The system of claim 11 further comprising: a button communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and the display, the button configured to: receive a user input; and based on receiving the user input, cause the stored acceleration information and the electrical information to be displayed on the display.
12. The system of claim 11 further comprising: a button communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and the display, the button configured to: receive a user input; and based on receiving the user input, cause the stored acceleration information and the electrical information to be displayed on the display.
13. The system of claim 8 further comprising: an electrical port communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and configured to transmit the acceleration information and the electrical information to an external device.
13. The system of claim 8 further comprising: an electrical port communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and configured to transmit the acceleration information and the electrical information to an external device.
14. The system of claim 8 further comprising: a near-field communication (NFC) transceiver communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and configured to wirelessly transmit the acceleration information and the electrical information to an external device.
14. The system of claim 8 further comprising: a near-field communication (NFC) transceiver communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and configured to wirelessly transmit the acceleration information and the electrical information to an external device.
15. The system of claim 8, wherein: the at least one electrical parameter comprises one or more of a voltage output of the battery cell or a current output of the battery cell.
15. The system of claim 8, wherein: the at least one electrical parameter comprises one or more of a voltage output of the battery cell or a current output of the battery cell.
16. The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: determine, based on the monitored electrical information, a number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell.
16. The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: determine, based on the monitored electrical information, a number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell.
17. The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: determine, based on the electrical information and the number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell, a discharge depth for each charge-discharge cycle of the battery cell.
17. The system of claim 16, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: determine, based on the electrical information and the number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell, a discharge depth for each charge-discharge cycle of the battery cell.
18. The system of claim 8, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to determine a maximum or minimum value of the acceleration information and the at least one electrical parameter; and the memory is further configured to store the maximum or minimum values for the acceleration information and the electrical information.
18. The system of claim 8, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to determine a maximum or minimum value of the acceleration information and the at least one electrical parameter; and the memory is further configured to store the maximum or minimum values for the acceleration information and the electrical information.
19. The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: determine, using control circuitry, the remaining useable life of the battery cell indicative of the battery cell's projected performance based on the acceleration information and the electrical information.
19. The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: determine, using control circuitry, the remaining useable life of the battery cell indicative of the battery cell's projected performance based on the acceleration information and the electrical information.
20. The system of claim 8, wherein: the battery cell comprises a casing; and the accelerometer, control circuitry, and the memory are located within the casing.
20. The system of claim 8, wherein: the battery cell comprises a casing; and the accelerometer, control circuitry, and the memory are located within the casing.
The closest prior art US Appl. No. 18/949747 (Currently US 1233935 B1) has common inventors and assignee. The instant application is the parent application of 18/949747.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and in view of Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) teaches, A method comprising: monitoring, from an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell, acceleration information over time ([0065] The acceleration information generator 175 generates acceleration information including the current speed, the acceleration parameters (the target speed and the acceleration time. [0066] The communication unit 18 transmits the acceleration information generated by the acceleration information generator 175 to the server 2. Further, the communication unit 18 receives the acceleration control instruction transmitted by the server 2. The driving controller 171 controls the drive unit 14 in accordance with the acceleration control instruction received by the communication unit 18), the current position, the vehicle ID, and the battery state information); monitoring electrical information for at least one electrical parameter of the battery cell over time ([0064] The battery state acquisition unit 174 acquires the SOC, a state of
health (SOH), a temperature, and a total discharge amount of storage battery 15. The SOC of the storage battery 15 is expressed by (remaining capacity [Ah]/full charge capacity [Ah])*100. The SOH of the storage battery 15 is expressed by (remaining capacity [Ah] at the time of degradation/initial full charge capacity [Ah])*100. The temperature of the storage battery 15 is measured by a temperature sensor (not illustrated) provided in the storage battery 15. The discharge amount of the storage battery 15 is measured by a measuring instrument provided in the storage battery 15. The total discharge amount of the storage battery 15 is accumulated in the memory 16. The total discharge amount of the storage battery 15 is acquired from the memory 16. The battery state acquisition unit 174 outputs the SOC, the SOH, the temperature, and the total discharge amount of storage battery 15 as the battery state information to the acceleration information generator) 75); and storing, at a memory integrated in the battery cell, the acceleration information and the electrical information for determining remaining useable life of the battery cell ([0059] the memory 16 stores a total discharge amount including the amount of first discharge through the amount of present discharge of the storage battery 15 (paragraph [0064]).
Amaike et al teaches, (The acceleration information generator 175 generates acceleration information including the current speed, the acceleration parameters (the target speed and the acceleration time), the current position, the vehicle ID, and the battery state information, memory 16 and communicating that acceleration information and battery state acquisition unit for determining state of health of the battery and acceleration information generator for controlling the acceleration based on the state of health of the battery (paragraphs [0064]-[0066],[0087] and [0146]).
Amaike et al does not teach that the accelerometer is integrated in a battery cell.
Regarding the limitation, “accelerometer integrated in a battery cell”, please see the 112 rejection above. It is not clear from this recitation, whether the acceleration information is related to the battery or to any other entity in which the battery is placed/mounted/installed in. The battery cannot accelerate or propel itself, the acceleration information has to be a quantity associated with an object/entity which is hosting the battery. The instant specification and drawings do not mention/provide any object/entity/vehicle which the battery is associated with.
For examination purposes, as best understood by the examiner, this limitation is being interpreted as an accelerometer installed in a vehicle which is powered by the battery, and the accelerometer information is related to the vehicle which is powered by the battery rather than the battery itself, as taught by Amaike et al.
Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teaches, (A smart battery label having an RFID or UHF antenna, sensors to monitor battery environmental data and a bi-state display for displaying battery data (abstract). In a preferred embodiment, the present invention is a smart display label containing a thin film circuit. As shown in FIG. 1, the smart display label 100 has an RFID near-field and/or UHF antenna 110 to couple power and data into card through the internal sealed battery case. The card may be powered by a reader within the battery pack. The card or
label also may be powered up from an outside RFID reader to read or to scroll through display. Sensors 120 in the label 100 monitor external environmental ranges the battery unit was exposed to such as temperature, humidity, accelerometer, and shock, etc. A bi-state display 130 maintains the display state without the need of a battery or RF energy. This display data would include data such as
number of recharge cycles, temperature and other sensor data, percentage of total battery discharge, and other relevant data. The displayed data may be data provided to the card from control circuitry within the battery pack. The label 100 may be self-adhesive or may be embedded into the casing of the battery pack during the manufacturing process. A security processor 140 writes to the display, the display buffer memory, and internal chip memory. A tamper proof seal such as a holographic film may be paced over the display label to show if the tag has been tampered or removed [0028]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Amaike et al by providing a battery integrated with an accelerometer and sensors to monitor external environmental ranges the battery unit was exposed to such as temperature, humidity, accelerometer, and shock, etc. (paragraph [0028]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for providing secure means to accurately measure and track the remaining battery capacity or if the battery has experienced and recorded out-of-specification events like over-charged, undercharged, Over/Under Temperature, Over/Under Pressure, shock, water or chemical exposure any of which could significantly shorten the life and value of the battery, as taught by Krawczewicz et al (Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach, the method of claim 1.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, determining, based on the acceleration information, a maximum acceleration, wherein storing the acceleration information comprises storing the maximum acceleration (paragraphs [0064]-[0066]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach, the method of claim 1.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, the at least one electrical parameter comprises one or more of a voltage output of the battery cell or a current output of the battery cell (paragraphs [0074], [0075], [0078]-[0083]).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach, the method of claim 1.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, determining, based on the monitored electrical information, a number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell ([0076], [0077], [0084].
Regarding dependent claim 5, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach, the method of claim 4.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches determining, based on the electrical information and the number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell, a discharge depth for each charge-discharge cycle of the battery cell (paragraph [0064]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach, the method of claim 4.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches further comprising: determining, using control circuitry, a maximum or minimum value of the acceleration information and the at least one electrical parameter (figures 5 and 6, [0064]), wherein storing the acceleration information and the electrical information comprises storing the maximum or minimum values (figures 5 and 6, [0064] The battery state acquisition unit 174 acquires the SOC, a state of health (SOH), a temperature, and a total discharge amount of storage battery 15. The SOC of the storage battery 15 is expressed by (remaining capacity [Ah]/full charge capacity [Ah])*100. The SOH of the storage battery 15 is expressed by (remaining capacity [Ah] at the time of degradation/initial full charge capacity [Ah])*100. The temperature of the storage battery 15 is measured by a temperature sensor (not illustrated) provided in the storage battery 15. The discharge amount of the storage battery 15 is measured by a measuring instrument provided in the storage battery 15. The total discharge amount of the storage battery 15 is accumulated in the memory 16. The total discharge amount of the storage battery 15 is acquired from the memory 16. The battery state acquisition unit 174 outputs the SOC, the SOH, the temperature, and the total discharge amount of storage battery 15 as the battery state information to the acceleration information generator) 75. [0065] The acceleration information generator 175 generates acceleration information including the current speed, the acceleration parameters (the target speed and the acceleration time), the current position, the vehicle ID, and the battery state information. [0066] The communication unit 18 transmits the acceleration information generated by the acceleration information generator 175 to the server 2. Further, the communication unit 18 receives the acceleration control instruction transmitted by the server 2. The driving controller 171 controls the drive unit 14 in accordance with the acceleration control instruction received by the communication unit 18).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach, the method of claim 1.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, determining, using control circuitry, the state of health of the battery cell indicative of the battery cell’s projected performance based on the acceleration information and the electrical information (paragraphs [0064]-[0066]).
Regarding independent claim 8, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) teaches, A system (figure 1, paragraphs [0153], [0154], comprising: an accelerometer integrated in a battery cell (figure 2, [0053] a driving operation unit 11, a speed sensor 12, a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 13, a drive unit 14, a storage battery 15, a memory 16, a processor 17 and a communication unit 18); control circuitry configured to: receive acceleration information from the accelerometer (paragraphs [0064]-[0066]); monitor the acceleration information over time (paragraphs [0064]-[0066]); and monitor electrical information for at least one electrical parameter of the battery cell over time (paragraph [0064]); and memory integrated into the battery cell configured to: store the acceleration information and the electrical information for determining remaining useable life of the battery cell ([0059] the memory 16 stores a total discharge amount including the amount of first discharge through the amount of present discharge of the storage battery 15, paragraph [0064]).
Amaike et al further teaches, (The acceleration information generator 175 generates acceleration information including the current speed, the acceleration parameters (the target speed and the acceleration time), the current position, the vehicle ID, and the battery state information, memory 16 and communicating that acceleration information and battery state acquisition unit for determining state of health of the battery and acceleration information generator for controlling the acceleration based on the state of health of the battery (paragraphs [0064]-[0066], [0087] and [0146]).
Amaike et al does not teach that the accelerometer is integrated in a battery cell.
Regarding the limitation, “accelerometer integrated in a battery cell”, please see the 112 rejection above. It is not clear from this recitation, whether the acceleration information is related to the battery or to any other entity in which the battery is placed/mounted/installed in. The battery cannot accelerate or propel itself, the acceleration information has to be a quantity associated with an object/entity which is hosting the battery. The instant specification and drawings do not mention/provide any object/entity/vehicle which the battery is associated with.
For examination purposes, as best understood by the examiner, this limitation is being interpreted as an accelerometer installed in a vehicle which is powered by the battery, and the accelerometer information is related to the vehicle which is powered by the battery rather than the battery itself, as taught by Amaike et al.
Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teaches, (A smart battery label having an RFID or UHF antenna, sensors to monitor battery environmental data and a bi-state display for displaying battery data (abstract). In a preferred embodiment, the present invention is a smart display label containing a thin film circuit. As shown in FIG. 1, the smart display label 100 has an RFID near-field and/or UHF antenna 110 to couple power and data into card through the internal sealed battery case. The card may be powered by a reader within the battery pack. The card or label also may be powered up from an outside RFID reader to read or to scroll through display. Sensors 120 in the label 100 monitor external environmental ranges the battery unit was exposed to such as temperature, humidity,
accelerometer, and shock, etc. A bi-state display 130 maintains the display state without the need of a battery or RF energy. This display data would include data such as number of recharge cycles, temperature and other sensor data, percentage of total battery discharge, and other relevant data. The displayed data may be data provided to the card from control circuitry within the battery pack. The label 100 may be self-adhesive or may be embedded into the casing of the battery pack during the manufacturing process. A security processor 140 writes to the display, the display buffer memory, and internal chip memory. A tamper proof seal such as a holographic film may be paced over the display label to show if the tag has been tampered or removed [0028]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Amaike et al by providing a battery integrated with an accelerometer and sensors to monitor external environmental ranges the battery unit was exposed to such as temperature, humidity, accelerometer, and shock, etc. (paragraph [0028]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for providing secure means to accurately measure and track the remaining battery capacity or if the battery has experienced and recorded out-of-specification events like over-charged, undercharged, Over/Under Temperature, Over/Under Pressure, shock, water or chemical exposure any of which could significantly shorten the life and value of the battery, as taught by Krawczewicz et al (Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, the control circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the acceleration information, a maximum acceleration; and the memory is further configured to store the maximum acceleration (paragraphs [0064]-[0066]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, the control circuitry is further configured to receive, from a temperature sensor, temperature information; and the memory is further configured to store the temperature information (paragraph [0064]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, a display communicatively coupled to the control circuity and configured to display the stored acceleration information and the electrical information (display 33, paragraphs [0093], [0100]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 11.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, a button communicatively coupled to the control circuity and the display, the button configured to: receive a user input; and based on receiving the user input, cause the stored acceleration information and the electrical information to be displayed on the display ([0094] The input unit 31 is, for example, a touch panel, and receives various types of information input by a user).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, an electrical port communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and configured to transmit the acceleration information and the electrical information to an external device (figure 2, paragraphs [0064]-[0066]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, a near-field communication (NFC) transceiver communicatively coupled to the control circuitry and configured to wirelessly transmit the acceleration information and the electrical information to an external device (paragraph [0066]. Wireless communication is inherent since Amaike teaches, vehicle moving, accelerating, sending acceleration information to the server and receiving instructions).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, the at least one electrical parameter comprises one or more of a voltage output of the battery cell or a current output of the battery cell (paragraphs [0074], [0075], [0078]-[0083]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, the control circuitry is further configured to: determine, based on the monitored electrical information, a number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell ([0076], [0077], [0084]).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, the control circuitry is further configured to: determine, based on the electrical information and the number of charge-discharge cycles of the battery cell (paragraph [0064]), a discharge depth for each charge-discharge cycle of the battery cell (paragraph [0064]).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to determine a maximum or minimum value of the acceleration information and the at least one electrical parameter (figures 5 and 6, [0064]); and the memory is further configured to store the maximum or minimum values for the acceleration information and the electrical information (figures 5 and 6, [0064] The battery state acquisition unit 174 acquires the SOC, a state of health (SOH), a temperature, and a total discharge amount of storage battery 15. The SOC of the storage battery 15 is expressed by (remaining capacity [Ah]/full charge capacity [Ah])*100. The SOH of the storage battery 15 is expressed by (remaining capacity [Ah] at the time of degradation/initial full charge capacity [Ah])*100. The temperature of the storage battery 15 is measured by a temperature sensor (not illustrated) provided in the storage battery 15. The discharge amount of the storage battery 15 is measured by a measuring instrument provided in the storage battery 15. The total discharge amount of the storage battery 15 is accumulated in the memory 16. The total discharge amount of the storage battery 15 is acquired from the memory 16. The battery state acquisition unit 174 outputs the SOC, the SOH, the temperature, and the total discharge amount of storage battery 15 as the battery state information to the acceleration information generator) 75. [0065] The acceleration information generator 175 generates acceleration information including the current speed, the acceleration parameters (the target speed and the acceleration time), the current position, the vehicle ID, and the battery state information. [0066] The communication unit 18 transmits the acceleration information generated by the acceleration information generator 175 to the server 2. Further, the communication unit 18 receives the acceleration control instruction transmitted by the server 2. The driving controller 171 controls the drive unit 14 in accordance with the acceleration control instruction received by the communication unit 18).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, the control circuitry is further configured to: determine, using control circuitry, the remaining useable life of the battery cell indicative of the battery cell’s projected performance based on the acceleration information and the electrical information (paragraphs [0064]-[0066]).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) and Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teach the system of claim 8.
Amaike et al (US 2022/0355675 A1) further teaches, the battery cell comprises a casing; and the accelerometer, control circuitry, and the memory are located within the casing (casing is inherent for a battery; Figure 2 shows the memory, communication unit, speed sensor, acceleration information generator, battery state acquisition unit. memory 16 stores a total discharge amount including the amount of first discharge through the amount of present discharge of the storage battery 15 [paragraph [0059]).
Amaike et al does not teach that the accelerometer is integrated in a battery cell.
Krawczewicz et al (US 2012/0211569 A1) teaches, (A smart battery label having an RFID or UHF antenna, sensors to monitor battery environmental data and a bi-state display for displaying battery data (abstract). In a preferred embodiment, the present invention is a smart display label containing a thin film circuit. As shown in FIG. 1, the smart display label 100 has an RFID near-field and/or UHF antenna 110 to couple power and data into card through the internal sealed battery case. The card may be powered by a reader within the battery pack. The card or
label also may be powered up from an outside RFID reader to read or to scroll through display. Sensors 120 in the label 100 monitor external environmental ranges the battery unit was exposed to such as temperature, humidity, accelerometer, and shock, etc. A bi-state display 130 maintains the display state without the need of a battery or RF energy. This display data would include data such as number of recharge cycles,
temperature and other sensor data, percentage of total battery discharge, and other relevant data. The displayed data may be data provided to the card from control circuitry within the battery pack. The label 100 may be self-adhesive or may be embedded into the casing of the battery pack during the manufacturing process. A security processor 140 writes to the display, the display buffer memory, and internal chip memory. A tamper proof seal such as a holographic film may be paced over the display label to show if the tag has been tampered or removed [0028]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Amaike et al by providing a battery integrated with an accelerometer and sensors to monitor external environmental ranges the battery unit was exposed to such as temperature, humidity, accelerometer, and shock, etc. (paragraph [0028]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for providing secure means to accurately measure and track the remaining battery capacity or if the battery has experienced and recorded out-of-specification events like over-charged, undercharged, Over/Under Temperature, Over/Under Pressure, shock, water or chemical exposure any of which could significantly shorten the life and value of the battery, as taught by Krawczewicz et al (Paragraph [0028]).
Relevant Prior art
8. The following relevant prior art of record is not cited in the office action.
Balding (US 2025/0327872 A1) teaches, A vehicle includes a system for diagnosing a health of a battery unit of a vehicle. The battery unit can be a battery pack of the vehicle or a battery module of the battery pack. A vehicle dynamics sensor measures vehicle dynamics data for the vehicle during a time period in which an impact event occurs at the vehicle. An accelerometer obtains a battery unit acceleration data for the battery unit during the period. A processor determines an inertial load on the battery unit from the vehicle dynamics data and the battery unit acceleration data, compares the inertial load to a threshold determined using a virtual model of the battery unit to determine a health status of the battery unit, and performs a remedial action for the battery unit based on the health status (abstract).
Carlson et al (US 11876195 B1) teaches, The battery monitoring circuitry 208 includes test/measurement/control circuitry electrically coupled with the controller 206. The battery monitoring circuitry 208 may be configured to measure temperature within the plurality of lithium-ion battery cells 204A-204H. The battery monitoring circuitry 208 may also be configured to measure state of charge (SOC) and state of health (SOH) of the plurality of lithium-ion battery cells 204A-204H. The battery monitoring circuitry 208 may be further configured to measure ohmic values at different frequencies to determine the SOH. For example the battery monitoring circuitry 208 may be configured to induce a current at DC and/or other predetermined frequencies for predetermined time periods while measuring a voltage across a given lithium-ion cell of interest filtered to the predetermined frequency. The battery monitoring circuitry 208 may utilize separate current and voltage leads to increase the accuracy of the ohmic value measurement. The battery monitoring circuitry 208 may also include an accelerometer for measuring vibration data. In certain embodiments, the accelerometer may be a three-axis accelerometer. The battery monitoring circuitry 208 may also include a plurality of integrated shunt resistors and/or a plurality of integrated load circuits electrically coupled with the plurality of battery cells. The controller 206 may include non-volatile memory and a real-time clock embedded within or externally coupled with controller 206 (lines 9-34, column 7).
Uchida (US 2007/0029974 A1) teaches, A battery life predicting apparatus comprises a data processing unit for obtaining and processing data on a vehicle having a battery used as a power source of the vehicle, the data including battery environment data, power consumption data concerning electrical components, and vehicle running data, a recording unit for recording vehicle characteristic data and histories of the data obtained and processed, a storage for storing data concerning battery deterioration obtained in a vehicle running test, and a controller for estimating a degree of battery deterioration relative to durable years of the battery from the data recorded in the recording unit and calculating remaining life of the battery, and presents the remaining life of the battery to a driver in the display. Further, a battery life warning apparatus estimates a timing of replacing the battery and presents a level of warning to the driver (abstract).
Sheehan et al (US 5627453 A) teaches, A rechargeable battery pack including a microcontroller connected to a voltage measuring circuit and a current measuring circuit for measuring, respectively, the voltage across and the current flowing from a battery. Upon each expiration of a predefined time period during each discharge cycle of the battery, the microcontroller computes the product of the voltage, the current, and the length of the time period, thereby computing the energy expended by the battery over each period of time. An energy variable stored in a nonvolatile memory device associated with the microcontroller for representing the total amount of energy output by the battery over the life thereof is incremented by the computed energy. In one embodiment, a temperature sensing circuit measures the temperature of the battery and the instantaneous energy is adjusted by a temperature factor associated by the measured temperature before being used to increment the value of the energy variable (abstract).
Treharne et al (US 12210063 B1) teaches, a battery watchdog system for monitoring and managing batteries during short or extended storage and transit while ensuring low drain on a client battery being monitored. The battery watchdog system periodically powers the battery management system (BMS) of the client battery to retrieve battery information. The battery watchdog system can also collect battery information from other sensors (e.g., motion, ambient temperature, humidity, current, voltage, data integrity, and global positioning). The system can integrate data from the client battery and its own sensors to exploit algorithms and assess the battery's state, ambient conditions, potential hazards, and adherence to specific storage or transportation conditions. Further, the battery watchdog system can come equipped with onboard visual and audible indicators. And, in case of hazardous conditions, the system can autonomously activate its indicators to alert personnel (abstract).
Conclusion
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
4/2/2026