DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/23/2026 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objection
2. Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 7, “an electrical device” should be changed to --- the electrical device ---. Regarding claim 2, line 1, “the harmonic extraction” should be changed to --- a harmonic extraction ---.
Regarding claim 3, line 1, “the non-linear product analysis” should be changed to --- a non-linear product analysis ---.
Examiner Notes
3. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keller et al. (US. Pub. 2016/0112083; hereinafter “Keller”).
Regarding claim 1, Keller discloses a method, comprising: analyzing an emission of electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) spectrum from an electrical device, the electrical device being powered (“A device comprising: … a radio frequency (RF) energy collection and processing apparatus integrated into said die and coupled to said antenna, said RF energy collection and processing apparatus comprising: an emission detection apparatus receiving emission(s) of RF energy emitted, external to said integrated circuit, from said at least one electronic component when said device is supplied with a power signal and/or an oscillating signal, at least one processor coupled to said emission detection apparatus, and algorithms causing said at least one processor to process signature(s) of said emission(s) and determine states(s) of said at least one electronic component attributable to said signature(s) of said emission(s)”, see claim 1), with at least one of a harmonic extraction, a non-linear product analysis, a time correlation, a signature energy distribution, a curve fit and a non-harmonic correlation (see [00112]); and determining, based on an analysis of the emission, at least one of a degree of degradation of an electrical device and a remaining useful life of the electrical device (“the RF energy collection and processing means 18 is configured and operable in this embodiment to provide at least one of tamper detection, anti-tamper monitoring, degradation monitoring, health monitoring”, see [0154]).
Regarding claim 5, Keller discloses a method, comprising steps of: capturing, with a radio frequency (RF) receiver, a frequency bandwidth of an RF unintended emission data from an electrical device under power (“an emission detection apparatus receiving emission(s) of RF energy emitted, external to said integrated circuit, from the electrical device being energized with a signal”, see claim 17); calculating at least one emission signature parameter within the RF unintended emission data (“at least one processor coupled to said emission detection apparatus, and algorithms causing said at least one processor to process signature(s) of said emissions”, see claim 17); associating a condition of the electrical device with the at least one emission signature parameter (determine states/conditions of said at least one electronic component attributable to said signatures of said emissions, see claim 17 and abstract); and filling a matrix with calculated at least one emission signature parameter and an associated condition (see [0114-116]).
Regarding claim 2, Keller discloses the method of claim 1, wherein analyzing with the harmonic extraction comprises utilizing at least one of determining at least one harmonic series of the emission and at least one envelope of harmonic series (see [00112, 126-128]). Regarding claim 3, Keller discloses the method of claim 1, wherein analyzing with the non-linear product analysis comprises determining whether a non-linear product is at least one of an amplitude modulated type, a frequency modulated type and a different modulation type (see [0127, 132]).
Regarding claim 4, Keller discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the at least one of a degree of degradation of an electrical device and the remaining useful life of the electrical device comprises populating at least a two-dimensional matrix with values of at least one signature parameter of the emission (see [0114-116]).
6. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brant et al. (US. Pub. 20180313877; hereinafter “Brant”).
Regarding claim 1, Brant discloses a method, comprising: analyzing an emission of electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) spectrum from an electrical device, the electrical device being powered (“Every electrically powered device gives off electromagnetic emissions when operating or when being simply in a powered state where the electric energy from an energy source is connected to various circuits and/or components within such electrically powered device. When the device is simply powered on, the electromagnetic energy emanates from any one of wires, inter-component connections, and junctions within the electronic device. Exemplary embodiments operate by analyzing the unintended and/or intended emissions of the electronic device”, see at least in paragraph [0213]), with at least one of a harmonic extraction, a non-linear product analysis, a time correlation, a signature energy distribution, a curve fit and a non-harmonic correlation (see [0281-282]); and determining, based on an analysis of the emission, at least one of a degree of degradation of an electrical device and a remaining useful life of the electrical device (“analysis of unintended radiated emissions results in detection, classification of aging, and prognostics of RUL that each manifest from hardware changes, hours of operation, or out-of-specification device(s) from the original manufacturer or that were accidently or intentionally emplaced either by the original manufacturer or a third party.”, see [0209]).
Regarding claim 2, Brant discloses the method of claim 1, wherein analyzing with the harmonic extraction comprises utilizing at least one of determining at least one harmonic series of the emission and at least one envelope of harmonic series (see [0022] and Figs. 11a-b). Regarding claim 3, Brant discloses the method of claim 1, wherein analyzing with the non-linear product analysis comprises determining whether a non-linear product is at least one of an amplitude modulated type, a frequency modulated type and a different modulation type (see Fig. 10 and [0217, 293-294, 389]).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 5-19 are allowed over the prior arts of record.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the cited references, alone or in combination, do not disclose nor fairly suggest:
“ …calculating at least one emission signature parameter within the RF unintended emission data; associating a condition of the electrical device with the at least one emission signature parameter; and filling a matrix with calculated at least one emission signature parameter and an associated condition” in combination with all other elements as claimed in claim 5.
As to claim(s) 6-19, the claims are allowed as they further limit allowed claim 1.
Prior Art of Record
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (KR-20120017988) discloses a system and method for analyzing a risk of a power device are provided to analyze the risk of the power device by sensing and analyzing an electromagnetic wave due to a partial discharge (see specification for more details).
Conclusion
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
6/27/2026