DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an enclosing” should be “and enclosing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
For the purposes of examination, the term “folded” in “folded portion” is interpreted to mean a portion that is capable of being folded and unfolded, not merely a portion of the insert that is positioned at some angle with respect to the body of the insert.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (TW-M534734-U).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses package for a curved electronic display device comprising:
a housing (box not shown), translation page 2:
“Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3, an embodiment of the present packaging cushioning article includes a carrier 1 and an upper cover 2. In this embodiment, the carrier 1 and the upper cover 2 are made of a foamed material, and are adapted to be housed in a box type container (not shown) such as a carton for packaging with the container”
an inner portion 2 inserted into the housing, the inner portion comprises a plurality of fixing protrusions, see annotated fig. 3 of Lin, wherein at least a group of the plurality of fixing protrusion portions is arranged in a predetermined curved shape in which corresponding distal surfaces of the group of fixing protrusions are arranged along a curved line.; and
a cover (closure that closes the box type container, not shown) coupled to the housing and enclosing the inner portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 10, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al. (US 8251220) in view of Coppola et al. (US 7815056).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 10, 16, and 19, Ting discloses a package for an electronic display device, the package comprising, fig. 10:
the electronic display device 110 disposed in the package;
a housing (in combination 201, 100, fig. 10) comprising:
a planar portion (210, fig. 6A, bottom wall of 201, fig. 10); and
a side portion (230, fig. 6A, sidewall of 201, fig. 10) extending in a first direction from the planar portion;
cushions 300 (inner portion, fig. 10) inserted into the housing and surrounded by the side portion; and
a cover 202 coupled to the housing and enclosing the inner portion,
wherein each of the cover and the inner portion comprises a plurality of fixing protrusion portions (at 300, fig. 5A, the protrusions form troughs at 301), wherein the display device is fixed by the plurality of fixing protrusion portions, col. 7:47-60.
Ting further discloses that the housing and inner body having coupling means, fig. 6A that includes an aperture (opening 331), fig. 9A, in the inner body and a coupling portion (tongue plate 510), where the coupling portion extends through the aperture to releasably couple the inner portion and the housing, fig. 3.
Ting does not disclose that a group of the plurality of fixing protrusion portions is arranged in a predetermined curved shape in which corresponding distal surfaces of the group contact a curved surface of the curved electronic display device.
However, Coppola is analogous art in regard to supporting sheet shaped display devices, col. 1: 15-20). Coppola teaches, fig. 15, a plurality of fixing protrusions (projections 114) arranged in a predetermined curved (arcuate) shape in which corresponding distal surfaces of the group contact a curved surface of a curved electronic display device 104 such that the curved display device is fixed by the plurality of fixing protrusion portions, col. 7:30-45.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the projections of Ting to a curved shape following the curved path of a curved display device as taught by Coppola in order to ship curved display devices instead of flat display devices as a known alternative display device shape.
Regarding claim 4, Ting further discloses a first set of protrusions extending upwardly and a second set of cover protrusions extending downwardly, fig. 10.
Claim(s) 1-12, 1-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redden (US 6345720) in view of Boire et al. (US 5423422) and Coppola et al. (US 7815056).
Regarding claim 1-3, 15, Redden discloses an insert, packaging tray 10, for housing electronic devices sensitive to physical and/or electrical damage, col. 1: 10-16, the tray is inserted into a box for shipping, col. 1: 35-40.
The insert houses sensitive electronic devices, col. 1: 10-15, the insert disclosed by Redden includes a plurality of fixing protrusions that form channels 100, fig. 1,
Redden discloses no particular housing or cover.
Boire teaches a package 10 made from sturdy rigid plastic, col. 3: 7-15 for housing sensitive electronic devices. The package includes a housing 12 (base), an insert (at 16) inserted into the base, and a cover 14. The housing includes a bottom (planar portion, not numbered, fig. 1) and side walls (portions) extending upwardly (in a first direction) from the bottom and a strength reinforcement portion (at 68 and 78, fig. 2) protruding in a direction from the side portion. The cover of Boire comprises a first strength reinforcement portion at 192, fig. 1 protruding in a first direction and comprising a first coupling portion 190, and the housing comprises a first receiving portion ledge 60 accommodating the first coupling portion and coupled to the first coupling portion to couple the cover and the housing, col. 5:30-40 of Boire: the cover includes a ledge 188 and a lip 190 (Boire uses the same reference characters 190 and 188 for different structure) that projects downwardly over the ledge and an airtight seal is formed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Redden such that the insert disclosed by Redden is placed within a housing and cover that is sturdy and secure in order to provide secure transportation of the electronic devices as per the teaching of Boire, col. 1: 55-60.
Redden houses flat electronic devices, the fixing protrusions are not laid out in a curved shape. However, curved electronic devices are a known alternative to flat electronic devices.
For example, Coppola is analogous art in regard to providing a plurality of protrusions for supporting sensitive electronic devices, col. 1: 15-20.
Coppola teaches, fig. 15, a plurality of fixing protrusions (projections 114) arranged in a predetermined curved (arcuate) shape in which corresponding distal surfaces of the group contact a curved surface of a curved electronic display device 104 such that the curved display device is fixed by the plurality of fixing protrusion portions, col. 7:30-45.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projections of Redden have a plurality of projections offset and aligned in a curved shape for following the curved path of an electronic device as taught by Coppola in order to ship sensitive curved electronic devices.
Regarding claim 4, Redden as modified above further discloses a set of fixing protrusions on a base member 20 of the tray that extend toward the cover (taught by Boire) and second fixing protrusions (projections that form channels at 180) on top members 40, that when the tray folds, extends from the cover toward the base of the inner portion, fig. 1 and 3.
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 18, Redden discloses all of claims 5, 18 and 18, as applied above except for disclosing housing a curved display device. However, as taught by Coppola, it is known that in addition to flat sensitive electronic devices, curved display devices must also be supported, Fig. 15 of Coppola.
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the packaging of Redden as modified above to support and ship a plurality of curved display devices in order to allow curved display devices to be protected and shipped within a single-piece packaging tray, col. 1: 5-41 of Redden.
Regarding claim 6, Redden further discloses that the inner portion comprises a strength reinforcement portion 110 protruding in a first direction, fig. 2.
Regarding claims 7-8, Redden further discloses that the inner body has a plurality of folded portions (side members 30) connected to opposite ends of the inner body; and
a plurality of connection portions (hinges) connecting the folded portions to the inner body; the connection portions comprise hinges with a “w” shape. the w shape includes, a hinge connection portion, outer portions of the “w” shape connected respectively to the inner body and one of the folded portions, a hinge portion, inner strokes of the “w” shape, and a central elastic portion, the peak inside the W shape that is elastic in that the hinge bends around that peak of the “w” and connects the hinge portions, see fig. 2 of Redden.
Regarding claim 9, Redden as modified above by Boire to be placed within a housing, results in the elastic portions be located at corners of the housing where the bottom wall meets the sidewalls.
Regarding claims 10, 19, and 20, the references applied above teach all of claims 1, 16, and 20 as applied above except for a coupling means between the inner portion and the housing.
Boire further teaches, fig. 14 a coupling between the inner portion and the housing that includes a receiving portion (post receiving members 132, 134, 136, and 138) on the inner portion and a coupling portion (posts 90, 92, 94, 96, col. 4: 5-15 on the base/housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing and insert of Redden as modified above to include the coupling means between the housing and inner portion in order to secure the insert to the housing/base as taught by Boire, col. 3: 50-60.
Regarding claims 11, 12, and 17, Redden further discloses a plurality of side fixing protrusions (protrusions that form channels 140, fig. 1) extending from each the plurality of folded portions toward each other (first and second side fixing protrusions) for receiving ends of the electronic device, col. 1: 22-35.
Regarding claim 18, Redden as modified above teaches all of claim 18, as applied above, see rejection of claim
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 10-12, 16, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju (CN 202244652 U) in view of Ting and Coppola.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 10-12, 16, 17, 19, and 20, Ju discloses, fig. 1, packaging for a plurality of flat panel electronic devices with an inner portion at 2 comprises an inner body at 1 and 2, fig. 1, and a plurality of folded portions at 3, extending from respective ends of the inner body in the first direction and a connection portion at 4 between the inner body and folded portion; and
a plurality of side fixing protrusions (on opposing sides of slots 31) extending from the plurality of folded portions toward each other, wherein the display device is fixed by the plurality of side fixing protrusions [0014] of translation.
Ju does not disclose any particular housing or cover.
Ting is analogous art in regard to and discloses holding device for a plurality of electronic flat panel devices 110. Ting teaches a housing 200 with a planar base at 210 and sidewalls at 230, the sidewalls extending in a first direction, fig. 6A, and an inner body 300, the housing and inner body having coupling means, fig. 6A that includes an aperture (opening 331), fig. 9A, in the inner body and a coupling portion (tongue plate 510), where the coupling portion extends through the aperture to releasably couple the inner portion and the housing, fig. 3. Ting further discloses a cover at 202 and engagement means between an upper insert and the cover such that the cover comprises a plurality of fixing protrusion portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper and lower display clamping means of Ju to be securely inserted into a housing and cover, respectively, by securing means as disclosed by Ting in order to secure the cushioning within the housing so that the cushioning remains with the housing as the display devices are being removed from the housing.
Although the protrusions of Ju are intended for a flat panel, it is known that some panels are curved rather than flat. For example, Coppola is analogous art in regard to supporting sheet shaped display devices, col. 1: 15-20). Coppola teaches securing protrusions for flat panels, fig. 10 and alternatively, in fig. 15, a plurality of fixing protrusions (projections 114) arranged in a predetermined curved (arcuate) shape in which corresponding distal surfaces of the group contact a curved surface of a curved electronic display device 104 such that the curved display device is fixed by the plurality of fixing protrusion portions, col. 7:30-45.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the projections of Ju to a curved shape following the curved path of a curved display device as taught by Coppola in order to ship curved display devices instead of flat display devices.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redden, Boire, and Coppola as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Song (US 11367639).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the references applied above teach all of claim 12, as applied above. The references applied above do not teach a first corner of a first side fixing protrusion and a second corner of an adjacent first side fixing protrusion have different shapes from each other, while the adjacent fixing protrusions have a same shape.
Song is analogous art in regard to packaging for display panels and teaches side fixing protrusions 220, fig. 7, each having the same shape, a first corner being inclined (at P1b) and a second corner being rounded (between P2 and P3), fig. 4. Song teaches that when slots between ribs (protrusions) have a uniform or constant width, the ribs/ cassette (insert) can be damaged during a manufacturing process, col. 1: 35-63.
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protrusions of Redden to have a shape such as the shape of the ribs taught by Song with one rounded and one tapered (inclined) edge in order to prevent the insert from being damaged in a manufacturing process as per the teaching of Song.
As modified above, the first corner of the first side fixing protrusion is rounded, and the second corner of the first side fixing protrusion is inclined, fig. 4. The display device is not positively claimed. With this in mind, the fixing protrusions of Redden as modified above are capable of contacting a surface of a curved display device at a rounded corner of the protrusion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOLLIE LLEWELLYN IMPINK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/MOLLIE IMPINK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799